Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Anyone know whats happening with the IRA story line, that seems to have just disappeared, Nidge not having bring in guns anymore.They killed Lizzie and nothing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Imagine if Nidge was actually a rat working with the police to bring down Terence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I remember hearing that your man who played Paulie had a chance to audition for a character in the first season but turned it down because he was doing a film or something. Anyone have any idea which character he had a chance to audition for? If it was a long term character I'd say he's a bit disappointed he turned it down now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DynamiteC101

dave1982 wrote: »
    Anyone know whats happening with the IRA story line, that seems to have just disappeared, Nidge not having bring in guns anymore.They killed Lizzie and nothing

Tony's happy to keep Nidge alive as long as he keeps paying him up. Wouldn't surprise me if the IRA never appeared again, although the 'Git's bone' storyline should be interesting in the next two episodes.

It could be looked upon in this way too? Nidge was raging with temper because he saw his grip on the situation slipping badly, and it has in this season?

Yeah, fair point. Still wasn't that impressed with that ending though, despite the argument that it has a deeper meaning.

It's all shaping up for Nidge to be killed or sent down for a long time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Just thinking back to the end of season 4 when Nidge lost his marbles in jail, and everyone was saying that it symbolises Nidge reaching a whole new level of madness.

Has it really culminated into that? He's still Nidge - a self-serving scum-bag who is only out for himself - but he hasn't reached a level of total invincibility either. He clearly feels like a choir boy around Terence, and his character is generally the same as it was in the first 4 seasons.

I'm not nit-picking, and I know the general purpose of season 4 was to build up story-lines for this season - which it has done, fantastically; but does that ending with Nidge in the cell now seem more like poor script writing or a lazy cop-out?

I have been thinking about that scene and wondering where it fits into the overall story arc. My thoughts are that the meltdown in the jail cell has not yet happened and was simply a flash forward geared towards whetting our appetites for season 5. That scene came out of nowhere at the end of season 4. I just don't buy that Nidge would do it after the warehouse raid. Plus there has been no subsequent mention of it this season by either the cops or Nidge himself. Perhaps this season will lead us directly to that scene, who knows maybe it will close with it except this time we get the full background as to why he got himself arrested in the first place.

I expect Tony and his cohorts will be back into it at some point. Im sure with Gits finger will be the catalyst for that. As for Lizzie, she was a loose cannon who backed up Dano on his solo run last season. Chances are if Nidge hadn't got to her, the RIRA would have for her disobedience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,216 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Just watched King of the Travellers last night which is a pretty good film, it features 4 from the cast of Love/Hate, Peter Coonan (Fran), John Connors (Patrick), Noely (Stephen Clinch) and a small cameo from Wayne (Barry Keoghan). Worth checking out.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Remember what the RA said to Dano when they shot him last season? "The movement does not need Riff-Raff like you".
    Same goes for Lizzie who was in Cahoots with Dano to get Nidge in what was an unsanctioned attack.

Tony didnt give a shíte about Lizzie, her brothers, Dano or Git. They were useful when they were using their muscle to get funds in for the IRA but when they started to draw negative attention to them they were disposed of (well Lizzie, Dano and Wayne at least)

mzungu wrote: »
    I have been thinking about that scene and wondering where it fits into the overall story arc. My thoughts are that the meltdown in the jail cell has not yet happened and was simply a flash forward geared towards whetting our appetites for season 5. That scene came out of nowhere at the end of season 4. I just don't buy that Nidge would do it after the warehouse raid. Plus there has been no subsequent mention of it this season by either the cops or Nidge himself. Perhaps this season will lead us directly to that scene, who knows maybe it will close with it except this time we get the full background as to why he got himself arrested in the first place..

Good shout, sounds very plausible.

You're right, it doesn't make sense for him to just piss on milk and get himself arrested. People said that it was his way of giving the 2 fingers to the guards by getting arrested for a minor offence, as they were about to catch him with gear which would have sent him down for years. That's definitely a legit theory, but as you say, there has been no mention of it since.

+ Nidge looked very serious in his house and in the car on the way to the police station, didn't look like he was just going there ''for the laugh''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Adamocovic wrote: »
    I remember hearing that your man who played Paulie had a chance to audition for a character in the first season but turned it down because he was doing a film or something. Anyone have any idea which character he had a chance to audition for? If it was a long term character I'd say he's a bit disappointed he turned it down now!

Dollhouse (2012): Directed by Kirsten Sheridan - Jim Sheridan's daughter

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Got okay reviews... Good idea for a movie...

Johnny Ward mixed it up a bit in this movie by playing a scanger with a dublin accent..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

So annoyed at The Sun newspaper for revealing a massive spoiler for tonight's episode!! Didn't say anything on the front cover, came across the article a few pages in. I wish the producers/whoever is in charge of the press getting hold of these leaks, would stop letting spoilers get out! Think I'm going to avoid the papers ahead of next week's final so nothing gets spoilt

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    So annoyed at The Sun newspaper for revealing a massive spoiler for tonight's episode!! Didn't say anything on the front cover, came across the article a few pages in. I wish the producers/whoever is in charge of the press getting hold of these leaks, would stop letting spoilers get out! Think I'm going to avoid the papers ahead of next week's final so nothing gets spoilt

Are Love/Hate and RTE also responsible here? By that I mean, are they cutting a deal with the newspapers where they sell them a few pictures and stories, or is there a 'snake on the inside' providing the info. Interesting to know, because it's so annoying having it spoilt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Can't see it tonight myself, not in the jurisdiction of rte player :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Sun Newspaper still as classy as ever I see.

Are Love/Hate and RTE also responsible here? By that I mean, are they cutting a deal with the newspapers where they sell them a few pictures and stories, or is there a 'snake on the inside' providing the info. Interesting to know, because it's so annoying having it spoilt!

There's always Rats Nidge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,811 ✭✭✭el diablo

realies wrote: »
    Can't see it tonight myself, not in the jurisdiction of rte player :-(

Use the Hola Unblocker extension on Google Chrome.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I bet it's Siobhan :pac:

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

It is assumed Nidge helps Tony get in arms and Tony considered Nidge more valuable and thus got rid of Nidge's season 3 and 4 arch enemy Dano. Tony also probably oked the killing of the likes of Lizzie too. These would be considered worthless to the IRA whereas Nidge is considered valuable.

The storyline has moved away from this almost entirely. But fallout like the mention of Git's finger and Tommy's condition (caused by Nidge's fury that Tommy was seeing Dano's wife) do remain. I have a feeling Nidge may need Tony again to do in maybe Terence in exchange for more money (perhaps Terence's money from the loan)?

There's always Rats Nidge!

Haha, love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Next week is only the penultimate episode, this series has 7 episodes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭limericklad87

My sister read it and decided to tell me... When I protested she said "sure it's in the paper"

😠

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,811 ✭✭✭el diablo

Next week is only the penultimate episode, this series has 7 episodes!

Attention seeker.

Orange pilled.

el diablo wrote: »
    Attention seeker.

My real name is Tom Vaughan-Lawlor!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Is it 6 or 7 or 8 episodes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,213 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Watched S5E04 this morning, then just had 1300 posts to get through on the thread!
    The location stuff was quite bizarre, I'd always assumed that people knew that 'in-show' locations aren't the same as filming locations.
    That in TV show world you could drive down the SCR, turn right at Corduff and have the docks straight ahead. i.e. entirely unique geography like in every American show. Hopefully people understand now that the zoo isn't necessarily beside the GHQ in this fictional world.
    Ye should watch Eck Da Tiger, the Bollywood flick set in Dublin with the Luas going down the north quays!

Episode itself fantastic, a tour de force, the best since S3E1.
    You know what, we actually have a true ensemble piece this season - in previous seasons Darren, Nidge and Fran were the clear lead turns but this time theres been 10 or 12 seemingly getting equal screen and story time. Program has been the better for this.
    Shame on the admins for not fast-tracking an L/H forum a long time ago. This watershed program deserved to have a one thread per ep setup that we could have looked back on, plus all the other threads that could have gone with it (filming locations, faqs, character analysis)

Is it 6 or 7 or 8 episodes ?

7 according to imdb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

el diablo wrote: »
    Use the Hola Unblocker extension on Google Chrome.

Does this actually work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,216 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Does this actually work?

Or Mediahint, I used that to watch Glastonbury performances on the BBC Iplayer during the summer, this app should work for you too to receive RTE where ever you are.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,470 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Who's the Cigre lads?