Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

K.Flyer wrote: »
    He would still have to type in what he was looking for, wouldn't he?
    I think its been clearly established that Nidge can read.
    Maybe if people watched all of the earlier episodes they would not be questioning Nidge's literacy skills.

I agree - where is all this rubbish about Nidge not being able to read coming from?? The clip with Noahs ark is obviously just a filler to have the poignant picture on the fridge to show when we start to think Warren is in danger. And Nidge couldn't be bothered reading it - not that he wasn't able to- I suppose as someone else says it showed the contrast in his parenting and how Patrick was with his son.

Anyway a really brilliant episode - superb performance from John Connors. The tension in that last scene was unreal. And some great scenes with Neili Conroy.

Love Hate keeps bringing different characters to the fore - this series Patrick. It loses huge characters - John Boy, Darren, Dano, Debbie, Tommy (more or less) and it just goes from strength to strength. Even Nidge and Fran are almost in the background now.
    Think I have to watch it again for the third time, if only for that Christian drug group - brilliant casting there too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Finally got down to seeing the episode

Delighted Patricks little lad pulled through and that Patrick remains at large. He's a good guy and a brilliant actor. Delighted to see that back of that Paulie reptile. Nidges empire is crumbling. Terrence, Patrick, Fran, and possibly maybe still the RA, all gunning for him. His gang members, ie, Aido, are becoming increasingly disinfranchised with him

Good episode, especially the ending. Paulie exited early (we can assume he is dead I am sure). So much for him being the new Dano. From the start, Paulie was more talk than action and by episode 3 was clearly more besotted with Siobhan than looking after Nidge: ultimately, this is what killed him. However, I wonder what Terence will make of it and yes, Nidge has a lot of enemies and potential enemies. The travellers, Fran the man, Terence, Ado, etc. all potential threats to his existence.

Next week will be all about Fran and Noelie I am sure. And Nidge and the travellers. Ado seems the most likely to betray Nidge. We see a funeral scene for the next clip. My guess is it is Paulie? But could be Ado too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Why is it such a ridiculous meeting place?

Where could you meet that has multiple exits and that doesn't tend to have adults on their own (making cops easy to spot)? Somewhere that people travelling from all directions can easily find. Somewhere open air that makes bugging difficult. Accessible from the M50. Accessible from the city centre.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Of all the nitpicking that goes on about the show, it's the picking holes in the continuity is what drives me most mad.

Fine, show off that you know where the locations are, good for you. I know where almost all of them are as I grew up close to Dublin city centre, and a lot of them definitely don't make sense if this were real life.

But it's FICTION ffs! If they want to come off the M50 and head through the Jack Lynch tunnel and come out at the Spanish Arch - so what? If it serves the story to have them doing that (if it just bloody costs less because they can have access to those places and knit them together afterwards in the editing room) then let them off.

You could literally pick most of each episode apart on that basis if you were so inclined.

There's a thing when watching fiction called suspension of disbelief. I'd suggest that a lot of posters on this thread should learn that trick.

:mad:

On the good side - what an episode!!! Shocking body count by the end of it, but by golly it fairly kicked off. Patrick was fantastic, as was Siobhan as per usual.

Cannot WAIT to see where it goes next week!

The location stuff doesnt really bother me to be honest but the dialog can be weak in areas at times. Small little thing to pick on considering the tour de force we were treated to last night

Where could you meet that has multiple exits and that doesn't tend to have adults on their own (making cops easy to spot)? Somewhere that people travelling from all directions can easily find. Somewhere open air that makes bugging difficult.

In what is generally a predominatley family/children environment though id personally think it a little fishy to 3 men loitering around if i was there myself with the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Good episode, especially the ending. Paulie exited early (we can assume he is dead I am sure). So much for him being the new Dano. From the start, Paulie was more talk than action and by episode 3 was clearly more besotted with Siobhan than looking after Nidge: ultimately, this is what killed him. However, I wonder what Terence will make of it and yes, Nidge has a lot of enemies and potential enemies. The travellers, Fran the man, Terence, Ado, etc. all potential threats to his existence.

Next week will be all about Fran and Noelie I am sure. And Nidge and the travellers. Ado seems the most likely to betray Nidge. We see a funeral scene for the next clip. My guess is it is Paulie? But could be Ado too.

I think Nidges biggest enemy will be the RA. He will manage to sort out the feud with the travelers and Terrence after some tense scenes and then begin to relax a bit. The cops will find Gits finger and it will all come out leading to a demise not unlike the ending of the General.

Where could you meet that has multiple exits and that doesn't tend to have adults on their own (making cops easy to spot)? Somewhere that people travelling from all directions can easily find. Somewhere open air that makes bugging difficult. Accessible from the M50. Accessible from the city centre.

Like I said, it's ridiculous because cops pass through their all the time due to its proximity to the HQ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,280 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Like I said, it's ridiculous because cops pass through their all the time due to its proximity to the HQ.

In real life.

This is fiction.

It's not real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭C__MC

Will Tony have any part to play in this series?

But in fictional world we have to assume that its nowhere near HQ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,280 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm wondering what'll happen with Scottie. I'm getting rather fond of him now, he's awfully cute!

Hope he doesn't wind up in a messy heap somewhere when Nidge finds out.....

(and to someone who asked a good few pages ago where Nidge found him, Nidge had specifically left it up to Aido to find a driver for the job, said he didn't want to know but it was up to Aido to establish that he was clean and had a licence etc etc. So Scottie had obviously befriended Aido somewhere along the way)

They pass through the zoo, do they?

Do Moynihan and the real life cop and overtime man spend their time up at Garda HQ with the Commissioner and all those admin staff?

And even if you're right, this is Elmo and Paulie we're talking about...not exactly Carlos the Jackal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Waaay too much going on now, its running its course.

But in fictional world we have to assume that its nowhere near HQ.

Yes that has also been mentioned. But even if you allow for that, their reasoning is that the Gardaí would be easy to spot as they had no children. But the same reasoning would equally apply to them. Three grown men with no children having a chat in a childrens area will draw attention. I just think it was a bad choice of location overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

How many episodes are left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

Dublin Zoo should offer a gangster day pass, buy tickets for 3 drug dealers get a 4th for free

Yes that has also been mentioned. But even if you allow for that, their reasoning is that the Gardaí would be easy to spot as they had no children. But the same reasoning would equally apply to them. Three grown men with no children having a chat in a childrens area will draw attention. I just think it was a bad choice of location overall.

That i actually agree with tbf.

Hitchens wrote: »
    He has a head on him like a wing nut ?

Still cute!

Dublin Zoo should offer a gangster day pass, buy tickets for 3 drug dealers get a 4th for free

Or a free cuddly toy :D Pity poor Paulie is fúcked

People saying that there's too much going on would be complaining if the episodes were slower. There's only 6 shows to write so a quicker pace than Breaking Bad/The Wire is essential. Even owing to that, we got good character development from Patrick and Aido, an even some with Noelie Hughes too. Thought Stephen Clinch was great in his short scenes.

As for "The zoo is right beside Garda HQ"... So what? A young lad from Sligo isn't gonna necessarily know that is he? Hell, some of my family and friends don't know that and it's but a half hour drive from my road. Sure in an episode a couple of weeks ago Nidge and Paulie went into the Phoenix Motor Company on Conyngham Road and came out the back exit... Except in reality there's nothing there but the River Liffey! Doesn't have to mirror real life Dublin.

I don't know who's worse, the pedants or the droolers asking who's who every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

So its "cuddly toy " going to become the new "fizzy orange" joke? With Siobhan requesting a lifetime supply of them to set Nidge up

Isn't this a chicken and egg thing though? These guys are worried about being under surveillance. Therefore they chose the zoo. If some "bacon and cabbage" sees three lads chatting at the zoo, so what? They'll have already had their meeting. The point must be to be able to spot cops watching them. And it worked - They spotted them.

People seem to delight in nitpicking when it comes to this show..."he said 'old bill'". So what? In the modern world, people adopt American and British phraseology. Sure "cop" is an English phrase yet it's used all the time!

This is a great show, probably the greatest to ever come from these shores. But like U2, Roy Keane, Padraig Harrington, etc, the begrudgers are out en masse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Omackeral wrote: »
    People saying that there's too much going on would be complaining if the episodes were slower. There's only 6 shows to write so a quicker pace than Breaking Bad/The Wire is essential. Even owing to that, we got good character development from Patrick and Aido, an even some with Noelie Hughes too. Thought Stephen Clinch was great in his short scenes.

As for "The zoo is right beside Garda HQ"... So what? A young lad from Sligo isn't gonna necessarily know that is he? Hell, some of my family and friends don't know that and it's but a half hour drive from my road. Sure in an episode a couple of weeks ago Nidge and Paulie went into the Phoenix Motor Company on Conyngham Road and came out the back exit... Except in reality there's nothing there but the River Liffey! Doesn't have to mirror real life Dublin.

I don't know who's worse, the pedants or the droolers asking who's who every week.
    I agree, I always thought it should be more than 6 episodes a series, but its just not rte to do things properly.

There is too many stories going in, its shock after shock, just for the sake if it.

Its just too easy at this stage.

Omackeral wrote: »

Read a very honest and candid interview in one of the papers with Stephen Clinch. Evidence that anyone who really wants to can turn their life around. Not that it will ever quite cover it with regards to his victims who he robbed on the street, but he apologised profusely to those he hurt while he was a heroin addict and the regret is evidenced by the changes he made to his life and his words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Interesting to see how siobhan will get out of killing paulie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

lufties wrote: »
    Interesting to see how siobhan will get out of killing paulie
    drugs get people out of trouble all the time...."he off his head officer.....thought he could fly lol"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

See I knew she'd let it slip :)

drugs get people out of trouble all the time...."he off his head officer.....thought he could fly lol"

She has got away with the perfect crime really. As well as that if she was really pushed (no pun intended) she could say that Paulie wanted to marry her and jumped when she turned him down.

Wasnt Paulie a bit of an idiot to get violent with her while sitting on a balcony all the same? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭doughef

Sorry if this was covered before,

but at the begining where Patrick vuts his hand over the childs grave.

Who is the dead child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The cops made it far too fúckin obvious they were watching. Granted they were only watching Elmo and perhaps didnt factor in that Paulie and Paul 'Frank Subotka' Ronan would also be present :D

As if guard would be on a handheld walkie talkie while on surveillance.a hands free one might be better.