Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

I can understand how people can get confused by Love/Hate as the writing is fairly nonsensical at times.

I can't.

Any confusion is an indictment of the viewer rather than the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

I can understand how people can get confused by Love/Hate as people can be fairly nonsensical at times.

Fyp don't know how to bold text on phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Nidge can read and write.
    Another time he was researching how to take down, clean and re-assemble a glock.

Maybe he was looking for a youtube video of how to do it, and it brought him to a page with a PDF file, which was of no use to him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I can't.

Any confusion is an indictment of the viewer rather than the show.

I disagree. There are some bits that don't make sense at all. The whole bit about the zoo being a good place to spot coppers. The place is literally next door to Garda HQ. Loads of them working in there go jogging around the park. There is constantly off duty members going there for training and medical assessments. Gardaí park there when going to the courts and often walk back through the park. I would be amazed if you could go to the zoo and not see a copper to be honest.

To be honest, I think they are trying to cram too much into too few episodes and it can feel a little disjointed at times. I can certainly understand why this can lead to confusion amongst people if they aren't well up on their crime stories in the papers because so much of the show seems to be "inspired" by real events.

Finally got down to seeing the episode

Delighted Patricks little lad pulled through and that Patrick remains at large. He's a good guy and a brilliant actor. Delighted to see that back of that Paulie reptile. Nidges empire is crumbling. Terrence, Patrick, Fran, and possibly maybe still the RA, all gunning for him. His gang members, ie, Aido, are becoming increasingly disinfranchised with him

The language is the Irish Traveller language also known as Cant, Gamon, or Shelta.
    It is a song called Lashún Gália or 'beautiful child'

Any online resources for it? I tried to learn a bit of it a while back but couldn't find much in the way of learning resources online.

bleach94 wrote: »
    Really enjoyed tonight's episode, along with ep 2 probably the best of the series so far.

How did Siobhan actually know about the zoo though?
    Also, what did the Scottish dude have to do with it, if anything?

Scottish lad is an undercover detective.

Yer man panicked too much when he was going to shoot Patrick, its the second time hes been shot in the vest, the guy should have given time to take a proper aim and shoot to the head, thats the only way to get Patrick.

Wow...Dont fúck with BodhranDude folks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I disagree. There are some bits that don't make sense at all. The whole bit about the zoo being a good place to spot coppers. The place is literally next door to Garda HQ. Loads of them working in there go jogging around the park. There is constantly off duty members going there for training and medical assessments. Gardaí park there when going to the courts and often walk back through the park. I would be amazed if you could go to the zoo and not see a copper to be honest.

To be honest, I think they are trying to cram too much into too few episodes and it can feel a little disjointed at times. I can certainly understand why this can lead to confusion amongst people if they aren't well up on their crime stories in the papers because so much of the show seems to be "inspired" by real events.

gardai hq could be in cork as far as the tv show is concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Maybe that's the whole idea? They can't see what's right under their noses.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭baldbear

Any online resources for it? I tried to learn a bit of it a while back but couldn't find much in the way of learning resources online.

Master Greene in Longford used to teach it. Google him.
    My dad/grandfather used to hear travellers speak cant back in the 40's,50's in their shop. It usually meant keep a close eye on the speakers.

gardai hq could be in cork as far as the tv show is concerned

When your target audience is Ireland and you are trying to be realistic you can't make glaring omissions like that. They could have easily picked somewhere that made sense.
    Maybe that's the whole idea? They can't see what's right under their noses.

Nah the idea was to be able to spot Gardaí as they are the ones without kids. I'm pretty sure they said as much in the last episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Maybe he was looking for a youtube video of how to do it, and it brought him to a page with a PDF file, which was of no use to him?

He would still have to type in what he was looking for, wouldn't he?
    I think its been clearly established that Nidge can read.
    Maybe if people watched all of the earlier episodes they would not be questioning Nidge's literacy skills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

DG7 wrote: »
    I cant understand why the Gardai have never raided the brothel.

Also do places like that exist.

For sure they exist, the Guards raided a few last year iirc ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭radharc

When your target audience is Ireland and you are trying to be realistic you can't make glaring omissions like that. They could have easily picked somewhere that made sense.

No. No you don't. Do you think the makers of the Sopranos or The Wire were haunted by fans claiming they shouldn't have used a certain location as everyone knows Sergeant Nitpick and Detective Detail regularly drink coffee next door?

It is a fictional drama. If you spend the hour searching for 'holes' or 'errors' versus real life I am sure you can find as many as you like. Everyone else is focusing on the plot and the actors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

There's an Arnold Schwarzenegger film called Eraser where he's a witness protection US Marshal. The zoo is his preferred emergency meeting point...multiple exits, etc.

radharc wrote: »
    No. No you don't. Do you think the makers of the Sopranos or The Wire were haunted by fans claiming they shouldn't have used a certain location as everyone knows Sergeant Nitpick and Detective Detail regularly drink coffee next door?

It is a fictional drama. If you spend the hour searching for 'holes' or 'errors' versus real life I am sure you can find as many as you like. Everyone else is focusing on the plot and the actors.

It may be a fictional drama but it used a real location, a national landmark, that made no sense to anyone who knew where it was because it ignored it's surroundings. It'd be like The Sopranos using the zoo in Central Park and ignoring the fact it was surrounded by Central Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

Not everyone is familiar with the locations in the series....we're not all from Dublin you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

baldbear wrote: »
    Just because he can sign his signature doesn't mean he can read.
    :confused: Where did I mention his signature? We've seen him writing and reading text messages for the past 5 seasons.

irishejit wrote: »
    Not everyone is familiar with the locations in the series....we're not all from Dublin you know.

I'd understand if people didn't recognise a shopping center or something but Dublin zoo is particularly well known, as is it's proximity to Garda HQ and the Aras. If you are going to use a real setting then you shouldn't really be ignoring it's setting.

Siobhan interrogating Deano was painfully cringey to listen to. Sure surely even in Deano's drug induced state he'd have the cop on to realise that Siobhan could be a potential rat who could land them all in it.

For the love of me i cannot fathom how Siobhans suspicions were arose from that comment to begin with. It certainly wouldnt dwell on the average persons head although siobhan knowing the boys and their occupational hazards may have twigged that the term 'Bone to pick with you Nidgey' could have a whole extra dimension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BlibBlab

I'd understand if people didn't recognise a shopping center or something but Dublin zoo is particularly well known, as is it's proximity to Garda HQ and the Aras. If you are going to use a real setting then you shouldn't really be ignoring it's setting.

Well I for one haven't a clue where the Garda HQ is despite living in Dublin for 4 years. Honestly think people are getting their knickers in a twist over nothing, its a TV show not a documentary

Siobhan interrogating Deano was painfully cringey to listen to. Sure surely even in Deano's drug induced state he'd have the cop on to realise that Siobhan could be a potential rat who could land them all in it.

For the love of me i cannot fathom how Siobhans suspicions were arose from that comment to begin with. It certainly wouldnt dwell on the average persons head although siobhan knowing the boys and their occupational hazards may have twigged that the term 'Bone to pick with you Nidgey' could have a whole extra dimension.

I don't think the interrogation bit began til he mentioned Git. Before that she was just being nosey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

G'wan Siobhan!

Patrick is a great character, the way his rationale develops on screen, slow methodical like how he moves physically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭maniac2003

maybe its a case of nidges eyesight deteriorating doubt he can't read very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,278 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Of all the nitpicking that goes on about the show, it's the picking holes in the continuity is what drives me most mad.

Fine, show off that you know where the locations are, good for you. I know where almost all of them are as I grew up close to Dublin city centre, and a lot of them definitely don't make sense if this were real life.

But it's FICTION ffs! If they want to come off the M50 and head through the Jack Lynch tunnel and come out at the Spanish Arch - so what? If it serves the story to have them doing that (if it just bloody costs less because they can have access to those places and knit them together afterwards in the editing room) then let them off.

You could literally pick most of each episode apart on that basis if you were so inclined.

There's a thing when watching fiction called suspension of disbelief. I'd suggest that a lot of posters on this thread should learn that trick.

:mad:

Now what I WOULD have a problem with is the same Gardai doing "surveillance" (if that's what it's intended to be, and not just disruption by showing up all the time) with the same faces in the same cars the whole time. Not surprising they keep getting rumbled.

On the good side - what an episode!!! Shocking body count by the end of it, but by golly it fairly kicked off. Patrick was fantastic, as was Siobhan as per usual.

Cannot WAIT to see where it goes next week!

The cops made it far too fúckin obvious they were watching. Granted they were only watching Elmo and perhaps didnt factor in that Paulie and Paul 'Frank Subotka' Ronan would also be present :D

BlibBlab wrote: »
    Well I for one haven't a clue where the Garda HQ is despite living in Dublin for 4 years. Honestly think people are getting their knickers in a twist over nothing, its a TV show not a documentary

It certainly draws a lot from real life in it's story though. I just don't see why they had to make such a ridiculous selection for their meeting spot. Just spoiled it a bit for me is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Paddy2012

Paddy2012 wrote: »
    I think something will happen to Paulie creating a situation like season 3

Its a bit sad bumping an old post but I'm not usually this close when predicting the plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

radharc wrote: »

In fairness location was vital to the Wire as it was a drama about the city. Love hate is not a drama about Dublin. It is cops v robbers with a slight sociological view of Ireland as a whole (travellers, gardai resources, long term unemployed, addiction, violent criminals) rather than inner city Dublin. The characters from the Wire are based on actual people with some starring in the show.