Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

If only there was a forum to discuss legal things. Like a Legal Discussion forum or some such...

Moderator: Please leave off the Nally/Ward discussion now and bring the conversation back around to radio. Thanks.

If Nally and Ward were listening to the radio would that help ;)

I'm kidding, won't continue the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Fantastic interview, best I've heard in ages ... Johnny Rotten just made my weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,103 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Callan57 wrote: »
    Fantastic interview, best I've heard in ages ... Johnny Rotten just made my weekend

Same here, was thoroughly enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭Yakuza

"Paul" sounds like he was married to a complete harridan. Poor bloke.
    Just heard "Kate"'s story, Jesus wept.

I know spouse abuse has been around forever, but to hear first-hand accounts of it is a sharp reminder of its viciousness :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Nobody said this.

The fault of that lies with the Gardai for not helping out the guy.

Did someone not point out that the man had over 80 convictions?
    If so then that proves otherwise.
    Anyway back on topic.

MLOD that's me gone :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Oh God MLOD doing impressions of people with stutters and stammers, how patronising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

SOR just asked BOD was he the only 'white guy' in the holding cell !
    That should go down well.

Noreen Hegarty is rapidly getting as OTT as MLOD - if she isn't careful I may have to add her to my "move the dial" list :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 Yellow Cat

IrishHomer wrote: »
    Same here, was thoroughly enjoyable

Professional rebel in my opinion ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,156 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Oh God MLOD doing impressions of people with stutters and stammers, how patronising.

Didn't know what you were on about till now. Just listening to the repeat.

I am honestly shocked. That is embarrassing to me the way she is doing it.
    Is it being discussed on the stammering/stuttering forum? (not checked yet).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Well done to Gordon the jock baker ,putting the other d4 attention seeker in his place ...possibly a signof irish times journalism standards in terminal decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Oops69 wrote: »
    Well done to Gordon the jock baker ,putting the other d4 attention seeker in his place ...possibly a signof irish times journalism standards in terminal decline.

Oh I dunno, I think I'd fall on the side of John McKenna, your average sliced pan is full of nothingness.

Can't say I agree with his flippant comment that price doesn't matter to anyone, and everyone can afford artisan bread - he'll live to regret that comment I reckon - but overall I agree fully with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I've never understood how pawnbrokers work in reality - if you don't have fifty quid today, what makes you think you'll have 55 or 60 in the next few weeks?

I wonder what percentage of stuff is actually re-bought?

"Have you a man?" ... for the love of the Lord TOG sounds like a sleezy oul fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I've never understood how pawnbrokers work in reality - if you don't have fifty quid today, what makes you think you'll have 55 or 60 in the next few weeks?

I wonder what percentage of stuff is actually re-bought?

They are the kind of people who never have money so stuff is never rebought but what they buy falls off the back of a lorry. In reality its called living outside your means.

Interesting positioning of items: People dependent on pawnbrokers followed by item about making a will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Oh I dunno, I think I'd fall on the side of John McKenna, your average sliced pan is full of nothingness....
    His complaint is that it is full of E-numbers. He had no case, and resorted to rhetoric. He shouldn't have been given airtime to peddle nonsense like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

He overstated his case, however white sliced pan is nutritionally poor in comparison to home made brown bread or even McCambridges brown bread.

His complaint is that it is full of E-numbers. He had no case, and resorted to rhetoric. He shouldn't have been given airtime to peddle nonsense like that.

I don't think he expected to get an argument - like all these claims that organic = healthier.
    I love an occasional cheese & tayto on sliced pan with loads of BUTTER :)

if your going to build a house or even buy wouldnt asking questions about the area and what the local development plans are be one of the first things youd ask before handing out thousands to buy a house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Oops69 wrote: »

He mustn't have much to worry him if he's getting his knickers in a twist over a sliced pan. If people want to bake their own bread or go to artisan bakers and pay extortionate prices, then let them. If the rest of us want to buy cheap bread for a quick hang sangwich, then feck off and leave us alone, John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

He mustn't have much to worry him if he's getting his knickers in a twist over a sliced pan. If people want to bake their own bread or go to artisan bakers and pay extortionate prices, then let them. If the rest of us want to buy cheap bread for a quick hang sangwich, then feck off and leave us alone, John.

'White and unhealthy' is great - occasionally - but most of us eat too much bread anyway so eating less and marginally more expensive bread from the local bakery is the way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You can't make a good crisp sandwich with anything other than white sliced bread and a pile of butter.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    You can't make a good crisp sandwich with anything other than white sliced bread and a pile of butter.

And you can't make toast without white sliced bread and lashings of BUTTER and heaped spoonfulls of Chivers Marmalade ... oh ye have me starving now ;)

What are they talking about the moment? Sounds like some scam pulled by a charity or support group but the one getting interviewed is waffling

OMG didn't take long for the "entitlement" argument to appear.

Some legacy for Bridget McCole!

Callan57 wrote: »
    "entitlement"

Stealing & Fraud more like it

"Im afraid of saying anything incase I incriminate myself jepordise things"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭touts

It seems to be yet another charity let down by "poor" leadership. You can bet just as with Rehab the people who will suffer most are the people who need the services while the people who suffer least will be those who benefitted from the loose expenses culture.