Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help a cycling newbie out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Beer Assistant

Sounds like that's your problem so, bit miffed why he advised you not to buy a new wheel if the wheel is causing the punctures, And over €100 for new wheel sound's excessive?? although i haven't bought wheels of any sort in year's. How much did this guy charge for fitting new tube?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,336 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

you should post a pic of the rim when you get a chance later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Sounds like that's your problem so, bit miffed why he advised you not to buy a new wheel if the wheel is causing the punctures, And over €100 for new wheel sound's excessive?? although i haven't bought wheels of any sort in year's. How much did this guy charge for fitting new tube?

Yep, 100 quid is what he quoted me. I don't even know if that is just for the metal part of the wheel, or if it included tires. I presume it didn't include tires. I'm sure he would have put a brand new wheel on the bike if I asked him to. I just got the impression that he thought that spending 100 quid on such a cheap bike was false economy. I was charged 7 euros for the everything, including a (unasked for) brake tightening jobbie. Great value, in fairness !
    you should post a pic of the rim when you get a chance later.

Sorry, the wheel is back on the bike now, so I can't see the rim to take a picture of it. (Hopefully I won't be seeing the wheel again, in its naked state, for a very, very long time. :P ) When he was telling me about my rim, he brought one from the back store room and showed me the difference between the two of them. I could see the depth difference with the naked eye, but I'm not sure if it would show up in a picture.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Aldi/Lidl do grand gear for starting off and for anything sportive. Gloves, jackets, tops, under armour there this week I think.
    Pumped the tires to their max PSI though you might have a spoke pushing through, and avoid the potholes! :D Get a stand/floor pump, hand pump won't get you the required PSI.
    Ladies saddle I know nought about but get some chamois cream also for that bit of comfort!

yop wrote: »
    Aldi/Lidl do grand gear for starting off and for anything sportive. Gloves, jackets, tops, under armour there this week I think.
    Pumped the tires to their max PSI though you might have a spoke pushing through, and avoid the potholes! :D Get a stand/floor pump, hand pump won't get you the required PSI.
    Ladies saddle I know nought about but get some chamois cream also for that bit of comfort!

There you go talking $hite again......Cillian O'Connor is not, I repeat NOT a marquee forward..... and for another thing.....oops sorry.......wrong forum...:p

Yeah, I have the bargains thread bookmarked. Aldi & Lidl seem to be a great source of bargains. I already have a decent pump. A better saddle and/or a road bike is the next upgrade. I think it's more about proper weight distribution & not just sore unused muscles, or chaffing in delicate places. The pain is coming from pelvic bones pressing down on a hard surface, in ways that God did not intend pelvic bones to press down ! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

That thing with the rim is certainly a strange one. However I definitely recommend you figure out how to fix a puncture. Even if you never actually fix the tube and just replace it (which is what I do) it's a lot cheaper than getting a bike shop to do it. You can get cheap tubes for €3 online and good quality ones for €6.50.

With a bit of practice it takes 10 minutes or less to replace a tube which is probably less time than you would spend travelling to the bike shop. If you get a box of disposable latex gloves from a chemist you won't even have to wash your hands afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

this inspired me to learn how to change a tube.

Practice a few times at home.

HivemindXX wrote: »
    That thing with the rim is certainly a strange one. However I definitely recommend you figure out how to fix a puncture. Even if you never actually fix the tube and just replace it (which is what I do) it's a lot cheaper than getting a bike shop to do it. You can get cheap tubes for €3 online and good quality ones for €6.50.

Yeah, the rim thing definitely surprised me too. However, as my general knowledge of bikes could be written on the back of a postage stamp, I wasn't really in any great position to argue with the lad. He did try to explain it all in great detail to me, but as he had quite a strong Eastern European accent, I only got about half of what he was saying. :o

Am deffo planning on becoming the worlds leading authority on DIY puncture repairs. I'm even looking up repair stands on the Chain Reaction website, so go me !!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

buy good solution (glue) Rema TipTop is German and I find it perfectly good. Also buy good brand patches. Avoid pound shop examples.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I'm even looking up repair stands on the Chain Reaction website, so go me !!! :D

Wouldn't bother with CRC for that one, the ones in Aldi that come up every now and again are cheap and work well. It is worth browsing the likes of Chain Reaction and Wiggle to get an idea of pricing, where you'd typically expect to pay about 25% more in a local bike shop (which is fair enough). €100 for one wheel for a cheap bike sounds a bit over the top, I'd expect a hybrid wheel to cost about half that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

I think by the time you change wheels you be close to the cost of Carrera bike on sale which would a decent starter and a lot less crap than any Apollo. Then sell the Apollo which makes the Carrera even cheaper. Or just go buy a decent make used bike.

http://www.adverts.ie/ladies-bikes/ladies-trek/6589719

Ok, thanks again for all the great info.

Next round of questions.

Time to get a helmet. Don't wanna be a cheapskate on that, as I know it is important to get a good one. But I also don't need to drop unnecessary dosh on fancy brand names, or bells and whistles that I don't really need for my kind of cycling, which is (for now) fairly low speed, low intensity, city biking.

This is probably a stupid question, but can you wear a baseball cap under a helmet, or does that compromise how it fits? I like how the brim of the baseball cap keeps the wind out of my eyes. Being a glasses wearer, who can't wear contacts or afford prescription Oakleys, that is important. Do you need to get the helmet professionally fitted to your noggin, or do you just pick one out yourself & off you go?

I have a good rain jacket, but what do people do for their lower extremities? I haven't seen any rain proof shorts.

Puncture update - Day two and so far so good. I have yet to take it out for back to back cycles, without having a blown tire, but I'll throw a party when I do.

Bike maintainence & cleaning - what do I need to be doing to keep it in good running order & with what? It only goes (for now) on the Sutton to Fairview Park coastal path, which is pretty clean, so the mud ain't exactly building up. I bought a can of GT85 lubricant at Halfords. The dude there told me to spray it on the bike chain and other moving parts every so often. Is that all I need to do? I've been reading the bike washing thread & my God, its like an episode of McGyver in there ! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭QueensGael

This is probably a stupid question, but can you wear a baseball cap under a helmet, or does that compromise how it fits? I like how the brim of the baseball cap keeps the wind out of my eyes. Being a glasses wearer, who can't wear contacts or afford prescription Oakleys, that is important. Do you need to get the helmet professionally fitted to your noggin, or do you just pick one out yourself & off you go?

I wouldn't wear a baseball cap under a helmet, I think it looks a bit gammy and they're also quite bulky.
    I use a lightweight buff as a hairband to keep by hair back - you can wear them a couple of different ways, one of the handiest things you can get IMHO!
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/buff-original/rp-prod51435.

If you like having peak to keep out the rain/glare, you can wear a cycling cap under your helmet - they're thinner than baseball hats, and you can start a collection before you know it :)
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/nalini-bianchi-cap-2014/rp-prod92940

Finally, you don't need a pro fitting for a helmet. Just try a few models on in the shop. Expect to pay around €50-70 for a decent one.

Good luck with the punctures and wheels, you'll be all tricked out before you know it, and it'll be well worth it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

I've heard Nutcase helmets recommended; keep meaning to get one myself. Helmets are so horribly uncomfortable and ugly…

If you're wearing shorts they don't need to be rainproof, I'd think; if you've longers on, you can get wets that cover them completely. Universally known as 'wets', they probably have a proper name…

As for the baseball cap under the helmet, that's just silly. This is the look you should be going for: stylish, comfortable, sophisticated.

photo_13720_20070624.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭EAD

Re saddle: the notion of toughening up may or may not apply. You may be sore but something's wrong if you're in real pain.
    1. Do not use gel shorts with a gel saddle - does not lead to increased comfort
    2. Softer saddles are not always more comfortable
    3. Women need women's saddles - far too many women are sold men's bikes with men's saddles
    4. Use a spirit level to check that saddle is level - slight tilt upwards will lead to serious pressure and serious pain
    5. Saddle position may need changing - too far forward can be especially painful

Oh...and no underwear!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Velotogo

For commuting and general cycling, I'd recommend Abus helmets. Most of their city and urban designs have an adjustment wheel to ensure the right fit as well as a built-in rear light and reflective strips to make sure you're seen.

If you do decide to upgrade your bike, go to a local, well-established and trusted bike shop. My LBS, Everest Cycles in Bray have been hugely helpful with their advice and expertise and have done quite a few on-the-spot and sometimes free repairs since I began cycling just over a year ago.

As quite a few posters have mentioned on here, Altura Night Vision jackets are really good and reasonably priced. Search for "Altura Night Vision Evo Jacket + tights - short visability test" on YouTube to see how effective the reflective strips are at making sure you're seen.

Cat Eye lights - 2 front and 2 rear is my set-up - are very good if you intend on heading out in darkness and want to be seen. The Rapid 3 type lights with the strobe effect are excellent at getting the attention of motorists, I've found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Hey guys I've just started cycling in cork and I'm not used to city traffic .
    Any tips ? :)

QueensGael wrote: »
    If you like having peak to keep out the rain/glare, you can wear a cycling cap under your helmet - they're thinner than baseball hats, and you can start a collection before you know it :)

That's brilliant, thanks. Something like that would be perfect. I didn't even know that cycling caps existed. I don't need a baseball cap specifically, just something with a brim that I can bend & shape to suit my forehead & how I see as I ride.

As for the baseball cap under the helmet, that's just silly. This is the look you should be going for: stylish, comfortable, sophisticated.

Going on my letter to Santy as we speak ! :D
    Velotogo wrote: »
    Cat Eye lights - 2 front and 2 rear is my set-up - are very good if you intend on heading out in darkness and want to be seen. The Rapid 3 type lights with the strobe effect are excellent at getting the attention of motorists, I've found.

Good to get the Cats Eye endorsement there. A couple of weeks ago, I parted with a massive chunk of change for a set of them. After seeing so many cheaper light sets since then, I have been wondering, did yer man in the shop, see me as an easy mark. (Hence me asking so many slightly paranoid questions on here, about the finances of biking. Ya'll aren't trying to sell me stuff.) But it looks like he wasn't. Oops ! :rolleyes:
    EAD wrote: »
    Re saddle: the notion of toughening up may or may not apply. You may be sore but something's wrong if you're in real pain.
    1. Do not use gel shorts with a gel saddle - does not lead to increased comfort
    2. Softer saddles are not always more comfortable
    3. Women need women's saddles - far too many women are sold men's bikes with men's saddles
    4. Use a spirit level to check that saddle is level - slight tilt upwards will lead to serious pressure and serious pain
    5. Saddle position may need changing - too far forward can be especially painful

Oh...and no underwear!!

Thanks. Lots of good info there. (But I WILL be ignoring the last bit ! :o) Why are gel shorts not a good fit with gel saddles? Is there too much soft gel-ness going on and not enough support? A lad in a bike shop did tell me to get gel shorts if I am getting new shorts, as they mould to the body better, as you ride. Is that not true?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Why are gel shorts not a good fit with gel saddles? Is there too much soft gel-ness going on and not enough support? A lad in a bike shop did tell me to get gel shorts if I am getting new shorts, as they mould to the body better, as you ride. Is that not true?

Too much soft stuff around the crotch area gets compressed into hard stuff, which is going to get sore. The main soft stuff you should pay attention to is your ass, the sit bones of which should fit comfortably on the saddle. Padded shorts are a great help for longer journeys, but a saddle that is set-up to suit you is way more important. Everyone has their own preferences when it comes to saddles, so if you're not comfy on the bike, look at the saddle before the padding. Saddle height, angle and position is also massively important to comfort. Saddle width is also important, so you may need to try more than one if you're still uncomfortable after a number of weeks.

Thanks. Lots of good info there. (But I WILL be ignoring the last bit ! :o)

Seriously, she wasn't messing when she said no underwear. If you're wearing cycling shorts, you don't wear anything underneath or you'll end up with chafing and lots of other discomforts. Lots of women make this mistake when starting as no-one really tells you about it!

Here's more http://totalwomenscycling.com/road-cycling/technique/seven-essential-cycling-tips-379/

So you have to have as many cycling shorts as knickers so you can change them every day?
    This all sounds kind of cracked. I cycle everywhere, every day, and wear ordinary clothes, and underwear.

So you have to have as many cycling shorts as knickers so you can change them every day?

For racing and training, yes.
    I cycle everywhere, every day, and wear ordinary clothes, and underwear.
    For regular commuting, I do the same as you.

I think it's ordinary commuting that Newbie is talking about, yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

...Time to get a helmet. Don't wanna be a cheapskate on that, as I know it is important to get a good one. ....

I just went through every helmet on display till I found a comfy one. First one I had was Lidl, the second a Bell one. I think they are all to the same standard. Make sure it has lots of air holes. They get hot.

The brim/peak on the helmets helps a lot keeping rain off glasses I find, and sun out of your eyes.
    I have a good rain jacket, but what do people do for their lower extremities? I haven't seen any rain proof shorts.

You can get shorts and leggings that are water resistant. For me tts not so much about not getting wet, but more about how quickly they dry. Unless of course you are cycling in work clothes, or going a long distance.
    Bike maintainence & cleaning - what do I need to be doing to keep it in good running order & with what? It only goes (for now) on the Sutton to Fairview Park coastal path, which is pretty clean, so the mud ain't exactly building up. I bought a can of GT85 lubricant at Halfords. The dude there told me to spray it on the bike chain and other moving parts every so often. Is that all I need to do? I've been reading the bike washing thread & my God, its like an episode of McGyver in there ! :eek:

I dry mine off on a wet day. I only actually clean it once or twice a year. If you're on a cycle path it probably won't get that dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

A cheap helmet (under a tenner) from Argos, Lidl or Aldi gives just as much protection as a more expensive helmet. If you do want to splash out you sometimes get bargains for sale here, hey look, I'm selling this:).

Hopefully your puncture problems are a thing of the past but bear in mind that cheap tyres are a false economy. A cheap tyre costs €10, a top notch tyre costs €30-35. At €12 to fix a puncture plus all the hassle it doesn't take long to make up the difference!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,336 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

A cheap helmet (under a tenner) from Argos, Lidl or Aldi gives just as much protection as a more expensive helmet.
    while i'll leave the argument about protection to one side, there can be a huge difference in fit, ventilation, etc.

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    be more assertive than you probably think should be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

EoghanIRL wrote: »

This book is brilliant and covers everything you need to know about cycling in traffic - http://www.cyclecraft.co.uk/

I don't want to say it for fear the Puncture Gods are listening and sniggering, but I haven't had a puncture in two years…

They were listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

I don't know whether to split out into my own thread or not so mods feel free if ye think I shoulda.

I am hoping to return to cycling - last time I was on a bike I was about 12 and I got twatted by an old fella in a car!!!!

I used to love it, it is great exercise, getting from a 2 b etc.

Now I am a somewhat 'larger' lady and don't have the first clue with purchasing myself a new cycle. I'd be pretty much 95% cycling on roads, perhaps the odd bit of slightly offroad - nothing mental or the likes. HEEEELP