Your Fantasy Budget. After Hours style

• Administrators Posts: 56,574 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's AH, so here goes.

Do away with road tax by putting the equivalent on fuel costs, with a bias in favour of diesel to help the cost of distribution of goods.

This would cost the state a fortune when people could simply travel to NI to buy fuel tax free. A sizable portion of the population is within an hours drive of the border.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Burn them, BURN THE ALL, THE BEASTS!

Wait, what, finances?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Increase tax for high earners, decrease tax for low earners.

Make children's allowance means tested.

Someone making €800+ a week shouldn't get the same amount of children's allowance vs someone earning €200 a week and scraping by.

IMO anyway!
    no one earns 200 week they get it for nothing
    give a children tax credit and srcop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

awec wrote: »
    This would cost the state a fortune when people could simply travel to NI to buy fuel tax free. A sizable portion of the population is within an hours drive of the border.

Blow up all the roads marrying them together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Since it's After Hours:

A maximum of 1 year only payment of Rent Allowance for unskilled people who have never worked or who are unemployed and not on training courses.

A cap on benefits so that nobody is better off on Social Welfare than they would be in full-time employment.

Means testing of benefits, so that people are only getting what they genuinely need, running a car is not a basic neccessity of life.

Means testing of child benefit

Means testing of state benefits for pensioners. Anyone with a large private pension should not be in receipt of free state benefits of any kind.

A 50% cut in benefits for any parents who have never worked to support their families and who are unwilling to pursue any training courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

100% tax and you get basic everything from the government. I'll even throw in an old Nokia phone as part of the package.

Increase the cost of imported bottled water by 50% it's an inappropriate luxury item that's not needed, and the cost of shipping it all over the place is unsustainable

This one gave me a laugh. Suppose its a luxury if the world runs out of water one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

IvaBigWun wrote: »

All political positions capped at €75k a year, including expenses and including the Taoiseach.

You?

Jaysus, this sounds good to say but in reality if you only paid government leaders that much you would have pure eejits running the country (yes they are all eejits right now, I know, but they would be even more eejity!) you get what you pay for I reckon and I think to get someone good you have to pay well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

I agree with the charging drunk and disorderly people for using public services like A & E.

In addition to this I think that anyone who is on social welfare should not be recieving benefits while they are in the care of a public body. So those in hospital (of any type) are already getting food and accommodation and all needs catered for so there is no need to be paid welfare, this is paying people on the double! there would be consideration made for other circumstances of the individual though,like if they had young family who needed care etc..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

This one gave me a laugh. Suppose its a luxury if the world runs out of water one day.

Yes. If the world runs out of water then bottled water will be the only solution.

No, it will then be a luxury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

awec wrote: »

So a two hour drive to fill the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

If I was charged 70% income tax if earning more than €200k i'd move to Andorra quicker than you could say "income" :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Get rid of USC.

Ah here they're closing enough cinemas as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Jaysus, this sounds good to say but in reality if you only paid government leaders that much you would have pure eejits running the country (yes they are all eejits right now, I know, but they would be even more eejity!) you get what you pay for I reckon and I think to get someone good you have to pay well!

If actual baboons ran the country they wouldn't have stuffed it up as much as FF / FG did.

If you had lower wages you might attract people who are interested in the job and not the salary.

Look at volunteers in sports and other areas. Unpaid. They're there for the love of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Creative Juices

I heard today that the budget has been full leaked, is that the case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

mathie wrote: »

If you had lower wages you might attract people who are interested in the job and not the salary.

Look at volunteers in sports and other areas. Unpaid. They're there for the love of it.

Some of them are there for the kiddy fiddling too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Flat rate of tax for everyone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Reduce VAT to 20%

Increase plastic bag levy to 50c

Only get children's allowance for first child.

On the spot €500 fine for anyone throwing their cigarette butt on the ground.

Double college fees, with half refunded when you complete the course, will make people take it more serious.

Dedicated transport police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

I'd love to know what happens to all the homeless and starving...

They could get a job?...

Jesus this thread is so full of facepalm, and it's not even entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Decrease VAT to 19/20%.
    Flat rate motor tax of €500.
    Drop VRT.
    Decrease dole and introduce food stamps for people living in government accommodation/council houses.
    Drop USC.

Probably lots more but can't think right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 hiFidelity

Contact Irish Water, they will fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

On the spot €500 fine for anyone throwing their cigarette butt on the ground.

Double college fees, with half refunded when you complete the course, will make people take it more serious.
    Lol @ the cigarette one. What happens if there is no bins?. College one very good idea tho.

Contact Irish Water, they will fix it.

v appropriate boards name by the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Run a surplus.

I'll leave the nuts & bolts to my subordinates to trash out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

Dole Scroungers would finally get their comeuppense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

srm23 wrote: »
    Dole Scroungers would finally get their comeuppense

They are all on disability benefit so can't be touched.

joggers should be made run on giant treadmills to generate power to heat the homes of the elderly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭LordNorbury

I am magically made Taoiseach for a month on budget day, legislation is rushed through immediately terminating all pension payments and seizing money in the bank accounts of those politicians and senior civil servants who are responsible for the economic collapse, including but not restricted to:

Bertie Ahern, Brian Cowen, and all the FF stoogies who ran this country into the ground over the 10 years prior to the recession. Charlie Mc Creevey, Mary Harney, every single pig with their snout still in the pension trough would not receive another cent from the state regardless of contractual obligations, including all previous FF cabinet ministers, senior civil servants and heads of local authorities who have since retired in disgrace with massive pension entitlements.