Why is there so a big deal made over body odour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

You smell of sweat after exercise or legging it for the bus or if you forget to put deodorant on to a clean body etc.

Mens sweat is worse than womens. Men need to be more conscious of their b.o. more than women. Women's sweat is not normally stomach turning! On the otherhand womens sweat does not have the same repugnant smell as mens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

moxin wrote: »
    On the otherhand womens sweat does not have the same repugnant smell as mens.

My commuting nostrils would disagree :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Women's sweat is not normally stomach turning! On the otherhand womens sweat does not have the same repugnant smell as mens.

Not sure about that. In a previous job I was sat beside an overweight chick who reeked of BO. The bang was stomach churning, so bad that I reported her to senior management.

Of course it's a very delicate situation but sometimes you have to be upfront. Even after a conversation with senior mngt she didn't change her ways. I eventually moved desks.

Maybe ye encountered women who never showered, like extreme cases? Generally men and women who shower every day, men do smell more than women, its natural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Id be very cautious about BO. was gf once left me scared since. i cant pin point what it was but just natural smell was nope. so now if i smell any bit on myself its half bottle of axe. I'd rather smell like Citrus than natural odour

Jhcx wrote: »
    Id be very cautious about BO. was gf once left me scared since. i cant pin point what it was but just natural smell was nope. so now if i smell any bit on myself its half bottle of axe. I'd rather smell like Citrus than natural odour

Did she have time of mth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I was at my course last week after making dinner just before it. The smell of garlic off my hands was revolting. I was absolutely mortified :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

I remember encountering some poor lad with some skin disorder...he smelled like cadaver that had been in the sun for a few days. It was really bad.

Hopefully he has since found a solution.

As an ex-smoker, I can say that smokers stink. The ones that wear the same coat for months are even worse...good god.

And a bit of Wrigley's Extra doesn't help...makes it worse, if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Sweat means they dont wash themselves, which is disgusting.

Well if that's the case then nobody washes themselves. Is there some way of magically stopping yourself from sweating? Anti-perspirant doesn't count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Henlars67 wrote: »
    Too lazy to wash herself. Pretty common among fat people.

Excuse me? :mad:

I wash myself!!:mad:

No problem with fresh sweat, it's stale sweat that is rank. Also people putting on dirty clothes after showering, why? Oh gawd!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Did she have time of mth?

That's definitely a cause alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Mens sweat is worse than womens. Men need to be more conscious of their b.o. more than women. Women's sweat is not normally stomach turning! On the otherhand womens sweat does not have the same repugnant smell as mens.

This is untrue. Female BO is every bit as bad if not worse than men's; it's a different type of smell altogether but it seems to attack the senses more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I was at my course last week after making dinner just before it. The smell of garlic off my hands was revolting. I was absolutely mortified :o

Always wash your hands in cold water if you've handled garlic or onions. Hot water opens the pores and makes the smell much worse!

I don't encounter too many people who stink of BO, in fairness. Bad breath is another story, though....

That's quite possibly the worst smell there is....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

RayM wrote: »
    I've never understood why so many people very obviously don't shower daily. You might not notice it yourself, but if you're in an enclosed space with other people (on public transport, in a workplace, etc), and you haven't bothered showering, there's a good chance that they can smell you.

Thats ridiculous. There are things like deodorant. If you're sitting in an office all day you're hardly sweatin like a pig. I'd shower probably every other day a lot of the time and daily sometimes but you do not need to shower every single day religiously. Its not even good for you (skin).

I don't encounter too many people who stink of BO, in fairness. Bad breath is another story, though....

That's quite possibly the worst smell there is....

The reason why I wouldn't date a smoker. As has been mentioned, no amount of wrigleys can cover it up. The smell lingers for ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Was served in a shop during the week by a guy who absolutely stank.
    I felt sorry for his co-worker stuck behind the counter with him, and he called him over to check something. I'd say the other guy couldn't wait to get away again.

The reason why I wouldn't date a smoker. As has been mentioned, no amount of wrigleys can cover it up. The smell lingers for ages.

I'm talking more of bad breath from "natural" causes. That rotten food/teeth smell. *Gag* But yeah, cigarette breath is not great but as an ex smoker, I'd be slightly more tolerant of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭rosedream

What scares me more is now with these water charges, more people will have more excuses not to bother with showering or bathing

rosedream wrote: »
    What scares me more is now with these water charges, more people will have more excuses not to bother with showering or bathing

I can't imagine people who cleaned themselves regularly would just stop, in fairness.

I'm talking more of bad breath from "natural" causes. That rotten food/teeth smell. *Gag* But yeah, cigarette breath is not great but as an ex smoker, I'd be slightly more tolerant of it.

Yeah that's not nice either, especially when its one of those people that goes right into your face when they're talking to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Boskowski wrote: »
    Thats ridiculous. There are things like deodorant. If you're sitting in an office all day you're hardly sweatin like a pig. I'd shower probably every other day a lot of the time and daily sometimes but you do not need to shower every single day religiously. Its not even good for you (skin).

No I'm sorry, any healthy adult (even anti-perspirant wearing) will smell a bit funky if they don't shower every day. The point is, just because YOU can't smell it (to be fair, most people are a bit immune to their own smell) doesn't mean that you don't smell.

Would you wear the same jocks and socks the next day? The same shirt? If not, why not? By your reasoning you're not dirty after just one day. But if your clothes wouldn't last the 2 days without a change I guarantee you that you aren't smelling fresh for 2 days.

If you are only changing your clothes (particularly underwear and shirts) every second day, do your office mates a favour and up the ante with showering and changing clothes :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭rosedream

I can't imagine people who cleaned themselves regularly would just stop, in fairness.

I know that, I'm talking about people who already rarely wash themselves, whether it due to laziness or not, will find even more excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,294 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

There is a chap in my place who (thankfully) i only have to interact with maybe once a week but his breath is VILE! He drinks about 10 bottles of lucozade a day and i think this is the cause of it. Come to a head on Wednesday when we were in a meeting (lot of senior management there) and he was sat next to me and turned to say something and breathed in my face

I just gagged and felt like puking, turned away from him held hand over my face and said "FFS ****** get some gum or mints please your breath is ****ing rank" He went bright red and apologised. Am expecting HR to give me a bell on Monday but **** it, i shouldn't have to be assaulted by his skanky breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

So... uhm... am I the only person in the world that likes the smell of cigarettes then? Never smoked and was hardly ever around any smokers until I moved for uni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I used to work with a guy that obviously didn't wipe after going to the toilet. A constant and strong smell of feces from him.

I remember a visitor was being shown around and she asked if someone had brought their baby into the office. Everyone just went quiet and tried not to look in this guys direction.

So... uhm... am I the only person in the world that likes the smell of cigarettes then? Never smoked and was hardly ever around any smokers until I moved for uni.

I think its one of the worst smells known to man. A pile of steaming manure would be more pleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Bring back the once a week Sunday Bath!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

I find people eating smelly rolls/sandwiches at lunch in front of me repulsive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

No I'm sorry, any healthy adult (even anti-perspirant wearing) will smell a bit funky if they don't shower every day. The point is, just because YOU can't smell it (to be fair, most people are a bit immune to their own smell) doesn't mean that you don't smell.

Would you wear the same jocks and socks the next day? The same shirt? If not, why not? By your reasoning you're not dirty after just one day. But if your clothes wouldn't last the 2 days without a change I guarantee you that you aren't smelling fresh for 2 days.

If you are only changing your clothes (particularly underwear and shirts) every second day, do your office mates a favour and up the ante with showering and changing clothes :eek:

I'm obviously one of those stinkers then because yes I would sometimes wear the same jocks next day.

Seriously lads there stinking, there is paranoia and compulsive showering and then there's common sense.

Can you please explain to me why ones jocks would smell to an extent after one day that someone else would notice?

I do r know about you but I don't sh1t or p1ss into my jocks and through a normal day I'd never break a sweat. I'm not lucky enough to get laid every day either.
    If you asked my peers including the GF they'd tell you I'm a hygienic person and come across as well looking after myself. Maybe I'm fooling myself...

Ps there is a difference between summer and winter obviously and also I would wear a tshirt under my shirt and I'd change that every day. I'd hate sweating into my good garments.