Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

ecoli wrote: »
    Ill drop in a few yoyo's to the chip timing company or shunt him over the line for a PB if needed don't worry ;)

I spent a summer in myrtle beach! FACT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

bollox!! if you're not targeting a national record in your age category at a minimum, you're wasting your time!

How long has ecoli left before he's ineligible for the Junior NR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Sorry Bahanaman, don't know how I missed it but I didn't realise you were running Amsterdam?

TbL

Oh jaysus it's me who's sorry tbl! I've been so nosey following so many logs that I've lost track of who's doing what.... I thought you were doing Dublin. Doh! Well anyway all I've said before still stands! (Except that bit about forming a group!) Oh yeah, I'm sure the "announcement" is imminent! Still not letting you away with that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Plan today called for 6/4 easy miles an/pm.

Was caught up in work so didn't get out for the first run till after work.

Got 6 easy miles in lovely sunshine on a hilly route @ 8.07

Just back in from a 3.8 mile loop around the house, first time in months that I've run with the head torch and high vis jacket. Didn't bother with the watch but it was nice and easy.

I'm starting so get so cranky I'm starting to make Q look like Mother feckin Theresa :)

A lad sneezed at a meeting I was at today, I made a excuse to leave, went out to the car to get my hand sanitiser as I'd shook the bastards hand at the start of the meeting!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Plan today called for 6/4 easy miles an/pm.

Was caught up in work so didn't get out for the first run till after work.

Got 6 easy miles in lovely sunshine on a hilly route @ 8.07

Just back in from a 3.8 mile loop around the house, first time in months that I've run with the head torch and high vis jacket. Didn't bother with the watch but it was nice and easy.

I'm starting so get so cranky I'm starting to make Q look like Mother feckin Theresa :)

A lad sneezed at a meeting I was at today, I made a excuse to leave, went out to the car to get my hand sanitiser as I shook the bastards hand at the start of the meeting!

TbL
    Good stuff lad - nearly there now, just keep it between the ditches for the week. You know the progress you've made this cycle. Remember you're only 10 months in to a 2 year plan and you're there or there abouts at you're initial time target already.
    How's the work schedule shaping up for next week?

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Good stuff lad - nearly there now, just keep it between the ditches for the week. You know the progress you've made this cycle. Remember you're only 10 months in to a 2 year plan and you're there or there abouts at you're initial time target already.
    How's the work schedule shaping up for next week?

Tnx J,

My head is melting with phantom ailments, after been sneezed all over today I thought I had phantom Ebola!

In London Monday & Tuesday, Dublin Wednesday and home for the rest of the week. I'll probably wear a plastic bag over my head when I'm on the plane (I'll look like a fat Rubber Bandit :))

You're flying yourself.

TbL

Tnx J,

My head is melting with phantom ailments, after been sneezed all over today I thought I had phantom Ebola!

In London Monday & Tuesday, Dublin Wednesday and home for the rest of the week. I'll probably wear a plastic bag over my head when I'm on the plane (I'll look like a fat Rubber Bandit :))

You're flying yourself.

TbL

Take the anxiety as a good sign - it's part of the mental preparation required, imo.
    At least the travel is in the early part of the week & shouldn't impact the prep too much.

Plan today called for 4 miles Fartlek.

2 mins on (alternating between HM and MP) off 2 mins easy.

Did a half mile warm up and started the session. Was all over the place, pace wise, first way too slow and the others a bit too fast. I'll need to be much more disciplined next weekend.

Total miles 4.5

TbL

Plan today called for 4 miles Fartlek.

2 mins on (alternating between HM and MP) off 2 mins easy.

Did a half mile warm up and started the session. Was all over the place, pace wise, first way too slow and the others a bit too fast. I'll need to be much more disciplined next weekend.

Total miles 4.5

TbL

Just to be pedantic and annoy ecoli ;) this "2 mins on (alternating between HM and MP) off 2 mins easy" is not technically fartlek

however this "Was all over the place, pace wise, first way too slow and the others a bit too fast"

is closer to fartlek except rep time wouldn't be predefined.

I like to demonstrate, at every moment, the very little I know about athletics :)

Just to be pedantic and annoy ecoli ;) this "2 mins on (alternating between HM and MP) off 2 mins easy" is not technically fartlek

however this "Was all over the place, pace wise, first way too slow and the others a bit too fast"

is closer to fartlek except rep time wouldn't be predefined.

I like to demonstrate, at every moment, the very little I know about athletics :)

Hey TRR,

In fairness to Ecoli that was my interpretation/recollection of what he explained to me in PP after the mile reps, and at my age my recall faculty is poor at best :) So I probably fecked it up.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

So I probably fecked it up.

TbL

So, have you been fecking up all those MP runs too?
    Running them at sub 3 hour pace? :p

yaboya1 wrote: »
    So, have you been fecking up all those MP runs too?
    Running them at sub 3 hour pace? :p

Haha P,

Not at all, see KU's advise/post on Dublin Runners log about running those sessions slightly faster than PMP :)

Might see you next week for a few miles.

How about this:

If I run sub 3 next weekend I'll put a guaranteed €500 behind the bar after DCM for drinks for Boardsies!

That should tell you all you need to know as I'm a tight fecker :)

TbL

How about this:

If I run sub 3 next weekend I'll put a guaranteed €500 behind the bar after DCM for drinks for Boardsies!

Don't think anyone will object to that :pac:

Plan today called for 13 miles easy.

Planned to do this in Galway as I had to drop the daughter in.

Forgot the Garmin and decided to just do a RC special 105 mins by feel.

I obviously need practice coz I felt ****e :)

Cracking day for a run but around Westside there was pretty thick fog and it got quite cold. Running along the Prom was a pain in the hole, it was packed with kids, kids on bikes, kids on skates, kids with dogs, kids on scooters, auld wans, auld wans on bikes, auld wans on skates...you get the picture!

Hopefully this time next week I'll be eating my way through Willie Wonka's chocolate factory :)

My missus has a head cold, told her I was sleeping in the spare room and if she comes within 3 feet of me I'll be getting a restraining order!

6 more days of madness!!

TbL

Yesterday: planned rest day.

Was on a plane full of snottin, coughin, & sneezin people. I used so much alcohol sanitizer yesterday that this morning my hands were the colour and texture of a baboons hole!

Today: plan called for 4 miles easy. Got back from London and went to the PP for this. Got loads of abuse from lads with stabilizers could I was running on the edge of the cycle lane, was surprised how poorly lit it is and the small bit of light there is, is over the feckin cycle lane.

Forgot the Garmin so just ran mainly easy ( threw in a few surges to keep the legs honest) for just under 40 mins.

Typical the weather is starting to pick up in Amsterdam with some forecasts showing sun and temps of 20-22* FFS!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Well feck you , that imagine of your hands been like a baboons ..... Is now etched on my mind. I feel slightly sick.

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Well feck you , that imagine of your hands been like a baboons ..... Is now etched on my mind. I feel slightly sick.

You should have seen the look on the face of the lad I was meeting today when I put out my baboon hole hand to shake his. Priceless :)

Luckily it's returned to normal SfM!

TbL

Yesterday: planned rest day.

Was on a plane full of snottin, coughin, & sneezin people. I used so much alcohol sanitizer yesterday that this morning my hands were the colour and texture of a baboons hole!

Today: plan called for 4 miles easy. Got back from London and went to the PP for this. Got loads of abuse from lads with stabilizers could I was running on the edge of the cycle lane, was surprised how poorly lit it is and the small bit of light there is, is over the feckin cycle lane.

Forgot the Garmin so just ran mainly easy ( threw in a few surges to keep the legs honest) for just under 40 mins.

Typical the weather is starting to pick up in Amsterdam with some forecasts showing sun and temps of 20-22* FFS!

TbL

How do you know what the texture of a baboons hole feels like???

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    How do you know what the texture of a baboons hole feels like???

Did I never tell you the story about the 6 months I spent living with a troupe of baboons in the Namibian rain forest in '85... :)

TbL

Did I never tell you the story about the 6 months I spent living with a troupe of baboons in the Namibian rain forest in '85... :)

TbL

You're no Sigourney Weaver
    #gorillasintheconnemaramist

Plan today called for a couple of easy miles with a mile or two at PMP.

Got a text from Yaboya early this morning and we met up in the PP. Nice to catch up after his sub 3 run in Berlin and as always much much easier running when you have someone to chat to. He paced a 6.59 mile as again I'd no watch. Was a little concerned at how I felt after the MPM, didn't feel as comfortable as it should have and I decided not to attempt another one.

Only two short runs before the battle of Amsterdam.

TbL

I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,790 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

For me, MP has always felt uncomfortable during the taper, so nothing to worry about. Keep it going, maestro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

I'm sure you know yourself TbL but it will often take a few miles at any pace to settle into a rhythm etc - those old legs of yours probably just need a bit of time to wind up, no bother to them once they get going though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I was meeting today when I put out my baboon hole hand to shake his.

TbL

You should be easily recognisable Sunday morning on Eurosport so with those paws!!

He paced a 6.59 mile as again I'd no watch. Was a little concerned at how I felt after the MPM, didn't feel as comfortable as it should have and I decided not to attempt another one.

I've decided to come on board TBL and help with your taper madness now ecoli has deserted you and all the other people he coaches on boards ;)

As Murph says above, PMP during taper always feels hard. It's a mental thing. Adrenaline, nerves and the two white lines of a race will sort that out for you the weekend! But sure you already know this!

You also failed to mention we were running straight into a strong wind ;)

Tnx lads, all makes sense and hopefully the auld legs will spark up on Sunday.

Don't remember the head been this melted before Limerick though!

I'm checking weather forecast sites now on the hour, different sites are showing drastically different forecasts from 19-23*, cloudy to bright sunshine FFS.

The Bitter Lemon

I've decided to come on board TBL and help with your taper madness now ecoli has deserted you and all the other people he coaches on boards ;)

As Murph says above, PMP during taper always feels hard. It's a mental thing. Adrenaline, nerves and the two white lines of a race will sort that out for you the weekend! But sure you already know this!

Tnx TRR the faecal fecker, can I now add you as an executive advisor to my backroom staff :)

Hopefully the Salmon Eile will rejoin, he gave me huge confidence in myself and irrespective of Sundays result I'll be planning to go quicker with his guidance!

TbL

Hopefully the Salmon Eile will rejoin, he gave me huge confidence in myself and irrespective of Sundays result I'll be planning to go quicker with his guidance!

I was actually going to suggest that you change coaches after the weekend ;)

I'm checking weather forecast sites now on the hour, different sites are showing drastically different forecasts from 19-23*, cloudy to bright sunshine FFS.

The Bitter Lemon

I'm sure Dr Raoul Q Mills the 5th is on Boards.nl sussing the weather forum ;)