210lbs 6'2 progress (pics)

If your argument is based around putting words in people's mouths - something is askew.

It was aimed at the des lad but I deleted it anyway - not gonna get into it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Thanks for the reasoned response.

I agree with every single word of that. I have lived in Italy for 3/4 months of the last 4 years and will probably be living there permanently in the next 18 months and you are absolutely correct.

It's just something I admire about a lot of Irish people - they are not as weak chinned and vain as most nationalities.

I admire the op's dedication. I just think that lifting weights isn't the answer to your shortcomings and psychological problems.

I don't think you can say lifting weights/kite surfing/road bowling/audax cycling (my current poison) cannot be beneficial for mental health in the right proportion for that person.

I've no doubt people I meet in the middle of a 300/400/1200km cycle think I'm nuts, so what. Funny thing is if I say it's for charity I'm a great fella!

I don't expect others to cycle like I do, but if my approach allows some obese 30 something to lift his self imposed ceiling, through a little encouragement, then I'll take the crazy jibes for that.

Tom Crean/Shackleton etc were a little crazy no? Is it not that absence of fear in being an outlier which people find so inspiring a century latter?

As for Des, coming onto a forum mostly occupied by lifters with that line is really either trolling or fitting a particular world view to very specific case.

Anyway I'm after an 1.5hrs spin in woods with mountain bike, creamy pints await. Fcuk lchf for the next few hrs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

Alf - just a difference of opinion.

Bluewolf - sorry. Paranoia :)

Ford - I am 100% in suppport of people using weights for health and fitness purposes. I do it myself. It won't change your personality or mental problems though.

I think there are more effective ways of helping yourself and I've been right down to the bottom of the barrel. So,I'm far from perfect.

I'm using a phone so doing my best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,906 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I think there are more effective ways of helping yourself and I've been right down to the bottom of the barrel.

As have I. Maybe a different barrel, mind but a barrel nonetheless. I've had to look at why I go to the gym and lift weights and found it to be enormously positive and actually not linked to aesthetics.

But sure look, East is East, West is West and never the twain shall meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭daRobot

It won't change your personality or mental problems though.

No offence, but that's absolute nonsense.

Confidence in one's image can completely transform a personality, and regular exercise is wonderful prevention, and often a cure for depression/anxiety.

As have I. Maybe a different barrel, mind but a barrel nonetheless. I've had to look at why I go to the gym and lift weights and found it to be enormously positive and actually not linked to aesthetics.

But sure look, East is East, West is West and never the twain shall meet.

You've obviously done your research re: the barrel! :)

It's easy to be mean spirited with the anonymity of the internet. I stand by what I said but it wasn't anything personal, RomanGod. I wish I was 22 for what it's worth!

daRobot wrote: »
    No offence, but that's absolute nonsense.

Confidence in one's image can completely transform a personality, and regular exercise is wonderful prevention, and often a cure for depression/anxiety.

Also no offence meant to you, but the word change is key. Of course it helps but the underlying problems will remain.

I think your beliefs are exactly what I dispute. You can become as muscular as you want. It will not change you (not you personally).

We could go around in circles. Waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭daRobot

Also no offence meant to you, but the word change is key. Of course it helps but the underlying problems will remain.

I think your beliefs are exactly what I dispute. You can become as muscular as you want. It will not change you (not you personally).

Ok, answer this one for me:

Could a reduction in your looks change your personality? As in, you're a good looking girl/guy and are involved in car crash and get a facial disfigurement, that absolutely crushes your self image and confidence.

Do you consider this a viable situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

I know he's not the best example, but Zyzz talked a lot about how his personality and confidence changed after he started lifting. On the outside many (including myself for a while) thought of him as an obnoxious d*ck who was obsessed with himself, but he also inspired thousands of people to live a healthier lifestyle (yes I know he was on all sorts of gear too). Most of his videos were just an act, and he liked to troll people alot, but he was still an incredibly confident guy, which he claims, came directly as a result of bodybuilding.

Again, I think you two lads are exactly the example I'm talking about. Bodybuilding isn't for health purposes it's for trying to solve self esteem issues. It's a mask for something,

Does it make people with self esteem and confidence issues feel better about themselves? Yes, of course, that's why so many do it.

I do not believe it is a cure though. It's an unhealthy obsession.

Again, I think you two lads are exactly the example I'm talking about. Bodybuilding isn't for health purposes it's for trying to solve self esteem issues. It's a mask for something,

Does it make people with self esteem and confidence issues feel better about themselves? Yes, of course, that's why so many do it.

It only becomes unhealthy if you decide to go on gear. Otherwise I can't see how building your strength and cardiovascular health, whilst adhering to, for the most part, good nutrition and a healthy diet, is 'unhealthy' at all. I'd much rather live this lifestyle which you claim is 'an unhealthy obsession', than sit on the couch eating bags of taytos every evening.

I never suggested anybody avoid gyms, weights. Or exercise. Certainly not eat taytos instead. Pointless argument.

We're never going to agree so I'll leave it there.

* I edited my post. Not trying to be argumentative. I average a couple of hundred posts a year, life is fleeting.

I never suggested anybody avoid gyms, weights. Or exercise. Certainly not eat taytos instead. Pointless argument.

We're never going to agree so I might aswell talk to myself.

So you want us to go to the gym, eat well, but not build a decent physique, or god forbid, be caught 'mirin ourselves.

You're right, it is a pointless argument because it shouldn't be an argument. I don't care what lifestyle choose to live, be it bodybuilding or otherwise. Who am I to judge the way anyone chooses to live, be it healthy or not. It's not my place, or anyone elses, to judge people like that

So you want us to go to the gym, eat well, but not build a decent physique, or god forbid, be caught 'mirin ourselves.

You're right, it is a pointless argument because it shouldn't be an argument. I don't care what lifestyle choose to live, be it bodybuilding or otherwise. Who am I to judge the way anyone chooses to live, be it healthy or not. It's not my place, or anyone elses, to judge people like that

But you do judge people, just like every other human being on the planet.

Moderation. An important word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭tastyt

I know he's not the best example, but Zyzz talked a lot about how his personality and confidence changed after he started lifting. On the outside many (including myself for a while) thought of him as an obnoxious d*ck who was obsessed with himself, but he also inspired thousands of people to live a healthier lifestyle (yes I know he was on all sorts of gear too). Most of his videos were just an act, and he liked to troll people alot, but he was still an incredibly confident guy, which he claims, came directly as a result of bodybuilding.

Totally agree with you on confidence and self image having a huge huge effect on people's mental health and therefore there whole life. That Zyzz though, what a ****ing clown 😊😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

tastyt wrote: »
    Totally agree with you on confidence and self image having a huge huge effect on people's mental health and therefore there whole life. That Zyzz though, what a ****ing clown 😊😊

I'm not a big supporter of Zyzzz or anything but pretty much everything he posted on t he internet was an act. In real life he's meant to be a pretty normal guy and not at all how he comes across on his videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Good thread until all the b*llox talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Take Your Pants Off

Any chance of your workout schedule ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭colman1212

I had a read through this forum yesterday and I thought this post was ridiculous.
    I think the best motivation you can possibly get is from not having something and if someone then uses that to be the best they can be at something, who cares?
    For example:
    Joe bloggs grows up poor and skinny. Hates being skinny and hates being poor.
    He then has choices:
    A) Do something about it, train like crazy, work like crazy, get rich, get big and love life. They had self esteem issues because they didn't like who they were and didn't feel comfortable being poor and skinny any more. They did something about it and are now a lot happier. Who wants to be poor and skinny?!
    B) Did nothing about it, remained poor and skinny, too negative to do anything about it, Deals with depression and addiction issues for the rest of their lives. Hates themselves.

My point being we all have issues and things that drive us. It's called MOTIVATION. If you don't have it, life wouldn't be worth living in my view. I love seeing anyone pushing hard and giving anything their all. Negativity bores me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Blacktie. wrote: »
    I'm not a big supporter of Zyzzz or anything but pretty much everything he posted on t he internet was an act. In real life he's meant to be a pretty normal guy and not at all how he comes across on his videos.

Was* he's dead, unfortunately. The zyzz persona was majestic, just a pity it was so short lived! He'd easily be famous these days if he was still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

Any chance of your workout schedule ?

I switch my split around but this is what it generally looks like

Monday Legs
    Squats....5 sets
    Front Squats.... 3 sets
    Leg Press..... 3 sets
    Hamstring curls.... 3 sets
    Leg Extensions.....3 sets
    Seated Calf Raises.....4 sets
    Standing calf raises......4 sets

Tuesday Shoulders Triceps
    Seated Overhead Press.... 4 sets
    Arnold press..... 3 sets
    Face pulls..... 3 sets
    Lateral raises.... 3 sets
    Tricep Pullover....3 sets
    Tricep Cable Pull down...3 sets
    Dumbell Kickbacks.... 3 sets

Wednesday Off

Thursday Back Biceps
    Weighted Pull Ups...... 5 sets
    Deadlift..... 3 sets
    Dumbell rows..... 4 sets
    Close grip pull ups....3 sets
    Standing Dumbell bicep curls... 4 sets
    Hammer curls.... 3 sets
    Concentration curls.... 3 sets
    Cable curls...3 sets
    Trap raises with dumbells.... 3 sets
    Upright rows..... 3 sets

Friday Abs
    Weighted sit ups....3 sets
    Hanging Leg raises... 5 sets
    Oblique turns.... 3 sets
    Ab wheel.....3 sets
    Dumbell side bends.... 3 sets

Saturday Chest Triceps
    Incline bench.... 4 sets
    Weighted dips.... 4 sets
    Dumbell pullover.... 3 sets
    Cable flyes. ... 4 sets
    Seated Chest Press.... 3 sets
    Cable Tricep Pull down.... 3 sets
    Reverse Cable Tricep Pull down ... 3 sets
    Close grip Bench.... 4 sets

Sunday Off

When I bulk I follow Wendlers 5/3/1 principles and do mostly compound exercises

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 82 ✭✭Dub_Steve

Fair play, amazing transformation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭assetcolum

How did the cycle go mate??

What dose did you run the test at?? and how much anavar per day ?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

assetcolum wrote: »
    How did the cycle go mate??

What dose did you run the test at?? and how much anavar per day ?

MOD NOTE: no more of this nonsense. OP, please don't respond to this.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭assetcolum

daRobot wrote: »
    Fair play to you, you're in incredible shape.

An average 10kgs of muscle per year, is a massive amount to put on. Not trying to knock your achievements whatsoever, but was it done naturally?

10kg of muscle per year

assetcolum wrote: »
    10kg of muscle per year

assetcolumn infracted for not following mod instruction. One more allegation and it's a ban.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

Brian? wrote: »
    MOD NOTE: no more of this nonsense. OP, please don't respond to this.

I get these remarks from time to time and I've learnt to ignore them. I take it as a compliment tbh

Just to address the 10kg per year remark, I grew 3 inches in height in those 4 years, overcame my poor eating habits to get to my normal weight and I have good genetics. With all that considered it was nowhere near 10kg of muscle per year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Is there any way of training to bulk up on the legs?
    I've quite skinny legs compared to rest if me. Just doesn't look right.
    Any tips?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Any tips?

Friends don't let friends skip leg day :P

Any tips?

Squat heavy, squat often. Eat cows and cow derivatives.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky