210lbs 6'2 progress (pics)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,906 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

That may well be the case, and thanks for actually addressing a point I made.
    I think a persons view of self can be framed largely by so many external forces though, that a lot of the time people are peddling to social pressure vicariously. I'm not sure I even know what improving yourself for yourself means if I'm being perfectly honest. It's the line trotted out when people get plastic surgery. I'm doing it for myself, to make myself feel better, not for anyone else. It amounts to the same thing - a woman getting a boob job for herself to make herself feel better, is really doing it because she has spent a lifetime feeling inadequate due to social pressure.
    Threads like this add to people feeling insecure in my opinion, as can be seen by everyone wanting to know the secret sauce he's eating. It 'MOTIVATES' me I hear you cry - like its a good thing.

I can't speak for everyone else.

Doing it for myself is nothing more noble than doing something because I enjoy it. It doesn't give me any extra sense of self worth. I don't look at more muscular people or people more ripped and want to work towards that. It's not about benching/squatting/deadlifting more than others. It's about improving my technique and lifting more than I have previously.

I like doing an exercise and thinking how it no longer feels as difficult to do as it used to.

But it ultimately comes down to the fact that I enjoy it. It's that pure and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Desmonddoyle

Neither the OP, nor anyone else on here is my enemy Lukilylloyd, nore do I have any 'ire' towards anyone. I'm just saddened by what is considered valuable by society these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Neither the OP, nor anyone else on here is my enemy Lukilylloyd, nore do I have any 'ire' towards anyone. I'm just saddened by what is considered valuable by society these days.

This isn't 'society'. It's a specific thread on a special interest forum on a discussion site. Beyond the few tens of people who have viewed it/posted on it, it really isn't representative of society in any way.

I, for example, think airsoft is a bit daft, but I wouldn't dream of hopping onto a thread on the airsoft forum telling posters that I think its unfortunate that society's values have become so skewed that everybody wants to play soldiers instead of volunteering in charity shops.

I'm sure you wouldn't either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

Half the world is starving, the other half are consuming ridiculous amounts of calories to get bigger because some guy on the net done it

I'm carb cycling at the moment and if you saw how low my calories were you'd include me in the 'half the world is starving' category

Thanks for taking all the effort to write that. Haven't read a book that long since March

RomanGod wrote: »
    I'm carb cycling at the moment and if you saw how low my calories were you'd include me in the 'half the world is starving' category

Thanks for taking all the effort to right that. Haven't read a book that long since March

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

I also find this thread embarrassing. What would motivate a grown man to post pictures of themselves looking in a mirror I'll never know.

Most of the people I encounter who are into 'bodybuilding' would be better served visiting a psychologist rather than a gym.

I also find this thread embarrassing. What would motivate a grown man to post pictures of themselves looking in a mirror I'll never know.

Most of the people I encounter who are into 'bodybuilding' would be better served visiting a psychologist rather than a gym.

My missus is one. Psychologist, that is. No issues to report. Of course, I'm not a 'bodybuilder' as such. I just enjoy working out. I know quite a few though. Grand bunch a lads. Always happy to spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Whats it to you? I don't know what motivates guys to sit on a couch watching other men kick a ball around and throwing themselves on the ground repeatedly but i don't get my knickers in a twist over what other people do in their spare time.

If you are embarrassed by this thread then your own insecurities are showing tbh. Worry less about what others are doing.

endacl wrote: »
    My missus is one. Psychologist, that is. No issues to report. Of course, I'm not a 'bodybuilder' as such. I just enjoy working out. I know quite a few though. Grand bunch a lads. Always happy to spot.

Always quick with the too school for cool replies. I enjoy working out too. Cheers.

2 kool 4 skool, I think you'll find.

Whats it to you? I don't know what motivates guys to sit on a couch watching other men kick a ball around and throwing themselves on the ground repeatedly but i don't get my knickers in a twist over what other people do in their spare time.

If you are embarrassed by this thread then your own insecurities are showing tbh. Worry less about what others are doing.

Thanks for the generic response. I'm sure you'll get plenty of thanks for that.

How exactly have I got my knickers in a twist? This is a discussion forum.

Your last point makes no sense.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Did you know that there is a forum on this very board called the detailing forum where people will post photos of their car that they spent hours paint correcting / polishing / waxing.

You should head over there for a spot of trolling next

I post here quite often. Cool reply though. Very witty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Thanks for the generic response. I'm sure you'll get plenty of thanks for that.

How exactly have I got my knickers in a twist? This is a discussion forum.

Your last point makes no sense.

You think I post for thanks do you? Again, says more about you than me (which was also my last point, a pretty clear point as well).

You seem to be feeling strong emotions for something someone else is doing that has literally 0 bearing on your life.

Thats not what generic means btw.

You think I post for thanks do you? Again, says more about you than me (which was also my last point, a pretty clear point as well).

You seem to be feeling strong emotions for something someone else is doing that has literally 0 bearing on your life.

Thats not what generic means btw.

I didn't say you post for thanks. It's just the type of generic (yes generic) nonsense that gets thanks on Boards.ie

I think you're the first perfect person I've encountered. Perhaps the first in history. Have no negative feelings towards anything that doesn't affect your life directly. Fair play.

Why?

And how closely do you interact with them to judge them so?

As regards Desmonddoyle's point about doing something for the betterment of humanity, the world would be a better place of fewer people were so judgemental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

131 posts in fair city forum and lecturing on time well spent.....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

"...first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother's eye." Matthew 7:5

Whining and bitching about what someone else does with their own fcuking time, in totally begnign pursuit of self improvement, both physical and therefore psychological, is bollöx.

And by the way, anybody training 20 hours a week, for anything, if they're not a full time athlete, has got my unreserved respect. In fairness even if they're a full time athlete it's fair fūcking play.

OP looks hutious. Fair play.

Why?

And how closely do you interact with them to judge them so?

As regards Desmonddoyle's point about doing something for the betterment of humanity, the world would be a better place of fewer people were so judgemental.
    o

Firstly, I admire your contributions and helpful posts here.

I'm typing on a phone so will do the best I can.

Off the top of my head, I can think of 6-7 people I would consider friends who are into bodybuilding (or have been at one point) and many more who are acquaintances/former workmates.

All good decent people who I have never had any problem with. However, all of them have things in common. Low self esteem, were small/skinny when they were kids or were bullied in one form or another.

The op has even made mention of similar on this thread.

Does it apply to everyone? Obviously not. Nothing in life is that simple.

ford2600 wrote: »

Where did I lecture on time well spent? If only I was as cool as you posting on the internet. I also post on the pro wrestling forum.

I'll leave it there anyway, not really into internet wars. Just wanted to post in support of Desmond.

His main point was about putting one's time to something more meaningful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

popcorn_gif.gif

His main point was about putting one's time to something more meaningful.

I would see his main point quite differently. Anyway, for another day.

Differently to him, then.

Look back at his response to fitzgeme and you'll see exactly what the main point was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Where did I lecture on time well spent? If only I was as cool as you posting on the internet. I also post on the pro wrestling forum.

A joke to lighten things up, apologies for any offence.

I think many, non weight lifters myself included, would find OP's posing somewhat vain. But so what? As a race Irish men for the most part are probably to reserved in that way. Is OP Italian? Different culture there, the only queue in an Italian pub would be at mirror in toilet!

Way take just that from the OP though? I see a guy, who got picked on getting his act together and doing something about it. For an obese person, someone looking to get stronger wandering into thread, could they not get a story about what is possible with dedication?

You can nit pick and find the negative in OP's story and reaction here or do the opposite and take something positive out of it. Same with an situation in life I suppose.

:D:D:D:D:D

A joke to lighten things up, apologies for any offence.

I think many, non weight lifters myself included, would find OP's posing somewhat vain. But so what? As a race Irish men for the most part are probably to reserved in that way. Is OP Italian? Different culture there, the o8nly queue in an Italian pub would be at mirror in toilet!

Way take just that from the OP though? I see a guy, who got picked on getting his act together and doing something about it. For an obese person, someone looking to get stronger wandering into thread, could they not get a story about what is possible with dedication?

You can nit pick and find the negative in OP's story and reaction here or do the opposite and take something positive out of it. Same with an situation in life I suppose.

Thanks for the reasoned response.

I agree with every single word of that. I have lived in Italy for 3/4 months of the last 4 years and will probably be living there permanently in the next 18 months and you are absolutely correct.

It's just something I admire about a lot of Irish people - they are not as weak chinned and vain as most nationalities.

I admire the op's dedication. I just think that lifting weights isn't the answer to your shortcomings and psychological problems.

Not aimed at anybody in particular.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I hate people who have different interests/activities to me too. how dare they

If your argument is based around putting words in people's mouths - something is askew.

Thanks for the reasoned response.

I agree with every single word of that. I have lived in Italy for 3/4 months of the last 4 years and will probably be living there permanently in the next 18 months and you are absolutely correct.

It's just something I admire about a lot of Irish people - they are not as weak chinned and vain as most nationalities.

I admire the op's dedication. I just think that lifting weights isn't the answer to your shortcomings and psychological problems.

Not aimed at anybody in particular.

I didn't get that it was the OP's way of overcoming psychological issues. Maybe it was but I didn't take that from it.

But we differ in that where you see the positive in a lack of vanity in Irish people, it all too often manifests itself as begrudgery. So I found a certain positivity in this thread.

To each his own but I just don't find it embarrassing or anything like it.