Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

DVDM93 wrote: »
    Skrtel bosses Costa as he captains his side to a historic 1-0 victory over Spain.

The Slovakian Skrtel
    The French Sakho
    The Southampton Lovren

It's beyond me how we haven't tried to sign any of these players given out problems at CB.

That's toooooo subtle for me!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

It's a funny anecdote but it's not what I expected out of Carragher. It's fairly unprofessional and a little harsh to be bashing ex teammates like that. The sort of stuff you expect out of Keane because he's like that but although it made me chuckle, I thought Carragher was better than that.

He really has it in for diao and diouf. He keeps talking about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

They deserve it, for different reasons. Well played Carra, fair play for being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,927 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Kirby wrote: »
    It's a funny anecdote but it's not what I expected out of Carragher. It's fairly unprofessional and a little harsh to be bashing ex teammates like that. The sort of stuff you expect out of Keane because he's like that but although it made me chuckle, I thought Carragher was better than that.

I take it you haven't read Carragher's autobiography then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I don't know, have you ever worked with somebody so useless at their job that after a while their presence simply becomes offensive. Even if they're nice people you can't help but think, "Fuck off".

Absolutely but I keep it to myself. I grumble to myself and complain to my friends. I don't tweet it for the world to read or write about how much I hate him in a newspaper. That's beyond crass.

I realise this comparison wont be that popular in here but compare him to his sky counterpart, Gary Neville. He wont bash his past teammates good or bad and refuses to talk about the current English players because of his involvement in the England set up.

As useless as Diao may or may not have been, it's not very professional to write things like that. Listen, it's not a huge deal and he's not the first and wont be the last to do so.....I just thought he was a classier individual than that. Obviously not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Absolutely but I keep it to myself. I grumble to myself and complain to my friends. I don't tweet it for the world to read or write about how much I hate him in a newspaper. That's beyond crass.

I realise this comparison wont be that popular in here but compare him to his sky counterpart, Gary Neville. He wont bash his past teammates good or bad and refuses to talk about the current English players because of his involvement in the England set up.

As useless as Diao may or may not have been, it's not very professional to write things like that. Listen, it's not a huge deal and he's not the first and wont be the last to do so.....I just thought he was a classier individual than that. Obviously not.

What exactly is unprofessional about being honest?

"Borini isn't good enough for my squad, I never wanted Balotelli as he was forced on me, and I'm terrified to drop Steve G and am forced to shoe horn him into the team, sometimes to its detriment."

If Rodgers said that tomorrow would you be hailing his honesty or calling him unprofessional?

There are things you say in public and things you don't. I really shouldn't have to explain why Carragher bashing former Liverpool players is unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

I don't know, have you ever worked with somebody so useless at their job that after a while their presence simply becomes offensive. Even if they're nice people you can't help but think, "Fuck off".

Having just handed in my notice this week I can relate to this x1000. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

"Borini isn't good enough for my squad, I never wanted Balotelli as he was forced on me, and I'm terrified to drop Steve G and am forced to shoe horn him into the team, sometimes to its detriment."

If Rodgers said that tomorrow would you be hailing his honesty or calling him unprofessional?

There are things you say in public and things you don't. I really shouldn't have to explain why Carragher bashing former Liverpool players is unprofessional.

2 things with this.

One, the dynamic completely changes when its a manager saying this and not another team mate. Two, BR is currently working with those players.

The above situation is completely different than JC situation.

I think JC saying those things are meant to be a light hearted take on a player who was widely regarded as awful. Personally I wouldn't do it, but when your job is to analyze players how is it unprofessional to say when a player is poor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,007 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

rob316 wrote: »
    Diouf and Diao two examples of why you shouldn't buy players on the back of the world cup. Diao cost about £5m if I remember, that was 12 years ago and wasn't small money.

To think Houllier chose Diouf over Anelka at cost of 12M or so.

NukaCola wrote: »
    2 things with this.

One, the dynamic completely changes when its a manager saying this and not another team mate. Two, BR is currently working with those players.

The above situation is completely different than JC situation.

I think JC saying those things are meant to be a light hearted take on a player who was widely regarded as awful. Personally I wouldn't do it, but when your job is to analyze players how is it unprofessional to say when a player is poor?

I take your point but if you sit down and think about it, he's not saying a player was "poor". Look at the words he's used in that paragraph. He isn't calling him poor....he slagging the sh*t out of him because he's an easy target.

As I said there are things you say in public and things you don't. Do you honestly think Daio was the only player Liverpool signed that carragher hought was a waste of space and a waste of money?

Privately I'm sure he thinks Andy Caroll was a disaster and Kenny was foolish to sign him. But Carroll is English and Kenny is a club legend so is he "honestly" going to give his opinion on that? Like hell he is.

Daio was useless but he wasn't the only useless player Liverpool signed. It's unprofessional to start bashing your ex teammates and he did it because Daio was an easy target. It made people laugh and we all move on. If he had been honest about Carroll, there would be waves so ask yourself how "honest" is he being?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Its a cheap shot at an easy target.
    Carra wasnt happy when the shoe was on the other foot and he was being called a bottler a few years back.
    There's no need for any footballer to have a go and belittle another after the event, other than to sell a few books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,703 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

A bit more honesty is what is needed. Theres nothing more awful than the bloody vapid interviews players give where they say precisely nothing and look pained to do it.

Fair play to Carragher. Also, I bet if you asked him his opinion on Carroll he would tell you he was a poor signing and was never going to be good enough.

Makes me think a bit of Scholes recent comments on Wilshere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭The Mulk

gafferino wrote: »
    Having just handed in my notice this week I can relate to this x1000. :D

Since you've handed in your notice what do we call you now, just. ...ino
    Or will you be the Gaffer elsewhere:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

The Mulk wrote: »
    Since you've handed in your notice what do we call you now, just. ...ino
    Or will you be the Gaffer elsewhere:)

I'll be waiting for offers from other clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Does anyone know what's happened to Kess?

He hasn't posted on this site for a month. Is he ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Origi leads the line against er Andorra. No Lukaku, is he injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Origi leads the line against er Andorra. No Lukaku, is he injured?

Has hit the woodwork twice already, he'll fit right in here so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,193 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

rob316 wrote: »
    Diouf and Diao two examples of why you shouldn't buy players on the back of the world cup. Diao cost about £5m if I remember, that was 12 years ago and wasn't small money.

Not sure about Diao, but we definitely had the deal agreed for Diouf before the world cup, hence a lot of the excitement in watching him. I think it was rubber stamped after, but it always looked like it was going to happen, rather than being a result of his WC performances. He'd already been African Player of the Year twice in a row at that point, and had been brilliant in the African nations cup. Looked at the time like we were going to move for Diop as well, but it never happened.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

klose wrote: »
    Has hit the woodwork twice already, he'll fit right in here so.

Should have scored, Andorra are doing well defence wise, but they'll tire - probably just after Origi is subbed. His movement across the line is very good - always looking to make himself available.

Edit 2-0 Kevin De Bruyne twice. Origi out! (edit edit - he got the assist for the 2nd!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Should have scored, Andorra are doing well defence wise, but they'll tire - probably just after Origi is subbed. His movement across the line is very good - always looking to make himself available.

Edit 2-0 Kevin De Bruyne twice. Origi out!

A nice ball by him to set up de bruynes 2nd goal although he did most of the work for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Does anyone know what's happened to Kess?

He hasn't posted on this site for a month. Is he ok?

Hasn't posted a month on here or on the entire site?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Origi's goal tonight

http://vine.co/v/OAvKapdlV15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Been very impressed when ive seen Origi this season. I think he will turn out to be a bragain for 10m.

Nice goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

That is a good goal.

Everything I have seen of him since the world cup looks like we a top player in out hands.

Lads, it's Andorra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Augmerson wrote: »
    Lads, it's Andorra.

So what, he's 19.

Tusky wrote: »
    So what, he's 19.

Ah let's not get carried away a mate of mine won the Champions League in Championship Manager at 15 with Port Vale.