Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    mmmm yeah I'm in agreement with you though so like I said I just didnt get why the "mangey mutt" reference, if mutts and purebreds are equally annoying when loose. :)

Call it a personality assessment of the animal.
    When they attack me or mine, that's the point at which they become mangey ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Smidge wrote: »
    When they attack me or mine, that's the point at which they become mangey get their holes broken by a hoof of a giant hob-nailed boot, hill-farmer style. ;-)

FYP. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

LexieonRale Could you please pm the hun are you ok fb page ? I've tried loads of times to find it and can't.

If you're on twitter have a look at Dublin Girlo @dublin_girlo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

British fucjing Telecom , twenty five years causing me grief can 't go elsewhere as the option is a bankrupt NTL mascarading as ****ing Virgin

also that smarny decking hippy (VAT smindler ) Richard Branson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Especially when you are not even driving:D

I remember years again my oh (we were only friends at the time) got rear ended. I used to always make gay jokes at him. So the conversation went something like
    Him: some bollox rear ended me
    Me: *snort* did you enjoy it
    Him: *unimpressed* in the car, you eejit.
    Me: oh right did you get out?
    Him: yeah.
    Me: did you use your angry voice?
    Him: I did.
    Me: rawr, if you used your angry voice I'd rear end you too.

Now - when the shoe is on the other foot, I'd hope he's a bit nicer. Not too much damage done to me but the young lads car was ****ed.
    http://tinypic.com/r/1z2do4w/8

Ouch that's a bad knock. I reckon that's Mammy's car and he's in big trouble

...ot too much damage done to me but the young lads car was ****ed.

Hee-hee! Back in 2006, about two weeks after I bought the Jaguar I've been driving since, a young wan with L-plates, unaccompanied, reversed a bockety little Opel Corsa into the front of it at about 2mph. The back of the Corsa crumpled like an accordion, while the Jag's number-plate took the belt without being scratched. Years later I dropped the bumper skin to replace a bit of chrome trim, and found the reason for this - a giant steel girder just inside the skin which wouldn't look out of place holding up the Viaduct! :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I remember years again my oh (we were only friends at the time) got rear ended. I used to always make gay jokes at him. So the conversation went something like
    Him: some bollox rear ended me
    Me: *snort* did you enjoy it
    Him: *unimpressed* in the car, you eejit.
    Me: oh right did you get out?
    Him: yeah.
    Me: did you use your angry voice?
    Him: I did.
    Me: rawr, if you used your angry voice I'd rear end you too.

Now - when the shoe is on the other foot, I'd hope he's a bit nicer. Not too much damage done to me but the young lads car was ****ed.

Would be very wise to have you car checked even if no obvious damage is done.

Happened to me a few years ago, guy wrote off his car and not even a broken rear light on mine, but still had 2,500 quids worth of damage to my car...twisted chassis.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Jaysus that's some smash, I'd still get yours looked at, there could be crumple zones that have been mashed that are not visible. I had someone knock into me a few months back and there was only a small ding, but the bumber bar (or whateer it's called) that's not visible needed to be replaced.

Hope you got all the insurance details.

"Ouch, me bleedin back, I can hardly walk"

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Ouch that's a bad knock. I reckon that's Mammy's car and he's in big trouble

It was his mams. I felt terrible for him he was shaking and usually I'd be the emotional one in those situations but he got out of the car and started roaring at me. There was nothing I could have done, a tractor swung out of a field, in front of me, I stuck my car to the road, and the next thing, pure walloped from behind. He was ranting for stopping suddenly but it was either take my chances getting hit from behind or crashing into a massive tractor.

The guards came and all so at least we have each others details

"Ouch, me bleedin back, I can hardly walk"

He better not!! I have full no claims bonus.

He can go and swing. You don't hit what's in front of you.

I wasnt talking about him;)

LexieOnRale #KantKope

I wasnt talking about him;)

Ahh god, the poor little ****er. L driver, mammys car, I'd say he's in enough trouble with his mother and the guards. Insurance company wouldn't touch him after a claim. I'll claim if my car is expensive but I'm lucky I didn't get hurt and neither was he.

It's worse than that. A lot of insurance companies these days will settle up any third-party claims arising like this, but will then recoup costs from the driver where said driver voids his policy by doing something like driving unaccompanied on a learner permit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I'm not excusing him for shouting, but twas probably shock.
    Hope you are okay.

jimgoose wrote: »
    It's worse than that. A lot of insurance companies these days will settle up any third-party claims arising like this, but will then recoup costs from the driver where said driver voids his policy by doing something like driving unaccompanied on a learner permit.

So if my car is damaged and I have to claim on his insurance to fix it, that could cause his insurance to be cancelled?

Not quite - it could cause him to have to reimburse his insurance company for whatever the claim costs. If I were him, even if that were to happen I should consider it a cheap lesson.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

No, he'll just get a massive quote on renewal.

Make sure to report the incident with your insurance company if you haven't already.

Will I be in trouble with my insurers?

Absolutely not.

LexieonRale No. You're fine. The other driver is at fault

I will put it this way, if the total damage bill is less than 3K, leave the insurance companies out of it...he would be better off to pay from his own pocket. If he claims via insurance, his next premium will be circa 2K.

No chance, but reporting with them is to protect you. If there is any hassle with his insurer, which I would doubt given that it's a rear ender and obviously not your fault, it will just allow your insurance co and his to duke it out.

When did "ideation" become a word? Specifically, the latest word-du-jour of all these gibbering macaques who want to sound educated? What Knobjockey Committee decided we needed a new word for "thinking about things"?? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Smidge wrote: »
    When they attack me or mine, that's the point at which they become mangey ;-)

Indeed, I believe that too is the breed standard crtierion utilised by the IKC ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

My stupidly, ridiculously rude neighbours who don't understand the concept of noise levels. SHUT UP!

Those two annoying knobs from "The Happy Pear"