Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Smidge wrote: »
    Eh no.
    Its not best in show when its annoying other people.
    No-one cares. Its just another dog.

Also, imo opinion dog shows/the showing of dogs is cruel. I have a pedigree dog who's parents were champions. I have never breed her or shown her. She is a family pet and not a trophy item for the vanity of the owner.
    She isn't here for my amusement. I would never dream of treating my dog that way.

Quite, which is why your "mangey mongrel" reference confused me somewhat. I thought perhaps there was some distinction to be drawn.

I agree with you 100% wrt shows and breeding. All our animals have always been rescues. We attended a dog show a number of years ago with a friend who was showing his, and I walked in with my little JRT that I'd found dumped/straying some time before. As soon as we went in we were lit on by some silly cow fussing and fawning over her and saying "oooh she's just delightful, does she have any babies at home?! Oh look she has Queen Anne legs!" - she doesn't, of course but if she had, that's a strong indication of a genetic disorder. What a numpty.

People commenting on the fact that it's Friday. Waltzing around shouting, "it's Friday! Yay!" - just fúck off :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Have you got your Friday face on ONW?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I for one am delighted its Friday. Turn that frown upside down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭caolfx

If you're able to wear gigantic, Godawful beats headphones in the gym, you're not working hard enough! Get the f*ck out!! :mad:

Jesus Christ. Spiders, spiders everywhere. Sitting on edge of bath after my shower, felt something on my arm. Look down and this big bastard is running up my arm with thighs on him as big as my own. Ugh! Can still feel things crawling on me even though there's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 biancab

roro1990 wrote: »
    Nevin Maguire's overuse of the word "chiffonade". Makes him sound like a pretentious bellend!

neven McGuire full stop! and the way he pronounces words,
    ie food possesser! ooh and restrant it's fupping RESTAURANT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My extremely sensitive throat bugs the crap out of me. I have massive tonsils, the doctor told me she'd never seen ones so "mechanically large". That did make me a little proud :). However this morning, running late for the school, I knocked back the end of my tea, and headed out the door with the child. Whatever way it hit the back of the throat, I start choking coughing. Every time I tried to swallow, it irritated it more. I'm coughing so much, I start wretching, eyes streaming down my face, terrified I'm going to puke/wet myself :(. Yeah , I'm definitely one of those Yummy Mummies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

jimgoose wrote: »
    So I went into Ye Olde NDLS yesterday morning to renew my driver's license...

With completely unexpected efficiency this popped in the letterbox this morning, only two days late (according to the ETA I was given) and with everything tickety-boo. It is trivially annoying that it's not annoying at all. I suppose I should be grateful that they didn't accidentally mail it to a 15-year-old forger in Irkutsk, bury it in a peat bog for three weeks, then dig it up, set fire to it and tell me that a dog belonging to someone at An Post must've eaten it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I lost my laser card last Sat. night...gave it until Wednesday to turn up and then reported it lost...put on a jacket this morn and lo and behold theres the fecking card in my pocket:rolleyes:
    Also went to the hairdressers this morn and the girl Ive been going to for years has left ffs....Thinks its gonna be one of those days....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

"Split Acting, or as I call it - Splacting"

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Cormac... wrote: »
    "Split Acting, or as I call it - Splacting"

:mad:

Enlighten me please:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

Probably been mentioned before - People listening to music on their headphones on public transport, and it's so loud that you can actually understand the lyrics of the song they're listening to. Are they almost deaf or something?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

miezekatze wrote: »
    Probably been mentioned before - People listening to music on their headphones on public transport, and it's so loud that you can actually understand the lyrics of the song they're listening to. Are they almost deaf or something?!

No, probably not yet, but they will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Quite, which is why your "mangey mongrel" reference confused me somewhat. I thought perhaps there was some distinction to be drawn.

I agree with you 100% wrt shows and breeding. All our animals have always been rescues. We attended a dog show a number of years ago with a friend who was showing his, and I walked in with my little JRT that I'd found dumped/straying some time before. As soon as we went in we were lit on by some silly cow fussing and fawning over her and saying "oooh she's just delightful, does she have any babies at home?! Oh look she has Queen Anne legs!" - she doesn't, of course but if she had, that's a strong indication of a genetic disorder. What a numpty.

It doesn't matter to me in the slightest (although admittedly if the dog did look mangey and dirty it would concern me more)if the dog is a pure breed champion or a mongrel. I have serious problems with people allowing their dogs to be unleashed in public areas and to wander/roam off their property.
    As an owner you are responsible for your animal. I have had problems with people letting their dogs off in parks and the beach while my dog is walking with me on a leash and a small child.
    Next thing you know some bloody great big yoke of a dog is galloping directly for you with a hapless owner roars it's name (to which the loose dog completely ignores)
    I'm left with a frightened child and an intimidated pet (shes a sweetheart). On a couple of occasions I was also nearly left with brown trousers when one couldn't get her dog under control at all and another with a seriously aggressive dog where two strangers had to intervene.
    This happens a fair bit and it is not on.
    As for people letting dogs roam?
    I would need a thread that wasn't about " trivial things".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Enlighten me please:confused:

It's an Ad on Youtube and Facebook for some chocolate bar I think, it's all over the place at the moment

Cormac... wrote: »
    It's an Ad on Youtube and Facebook for some chocolate bar I think, it's all over the place at the moment

Is it an ad for Caramac, Cormac?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Going to the supermarket, intending to use the discount voucher I got, and leaving the voucher at home... Trivially annoying.

Getting crashed into from behind by an unaccompanied L driver and then getting yelled at even though, hey, it's not my fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Make-up testers.

I was in Penneys today looking for a lipstick and they had loads of testers.
    All opened and used. Why would I want to use a tester which has been used by dozens of other people beforehand?!

I have no solution to this dilemma, but it's trivially annoying nonetheless!

Smidge wrote: »
    It doesn't matter to me in the slightest (although admittedly if the dog did look mangey and dirty it would concern me more)if the dog is a pure breed champion or a mongrel. I have serious problems with people allowing their dogs to be unleashed in public areas and to wander/roam off their property.
    As an owner you are responsible for your animal. I have had problems with people letting their dogs off in parks and the beach while my dog is walking with me on a leash and a small child.
    Next thing you know some bloody great big yoke of a dog is galloping directly for you with a hapless owner roars it's name (to which the loose dog completely ignores)
    I'm left with a frightened child and an intimidated pet (shes a sweetheart). On a couple of occasions I was also nearly left with brown trousers when one couldn't get her dog under control at all and another with a seriously aggressive dog where two strangers had to intervene.
    This happens a fair bit and it is not on.
    As for people letting dogs roam?
    I would need a thread that wasn't about " trivial things".

mmmm yeah I'm in agreement with you though so like I said I just didnt get why the "mangey mutt" reference, if mutts and purebreds are equally annoying when loose. :)

fussyonion wrote: »
    Make-up testers.

I was in Penneys today looking for a lipstick and they had loads of testers.
    All opened and used. Why would I want to use a tester which has been used by dozens of other people beforehand?!

I have no solution to this dilemma, but it's trivially annoying nonetheless!

Anyone for herpes? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,085 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Getting crashed into from behind by an unaccompanied L driver and then getting yelled at even though, hey, it's not my fault

Nail them up for that !

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Saying 'it has to be done' or 'it would be rude not to' when telling someone your going on the piss/to a gig/festival etc for the weekend.

My favourite page on Facebook is 'Hope ur ok hun xxxx'. I love it. It's the funniest page ever. I manage to work in a Hun reference into most things I post. But seriously, I just heard her interview with spin there and verdy sorry an all but #kantkope with the disappointment.

She sounds so posh. I bet she doesn't even say windits in real life!

My favourite page on Facebook is 'Hope ur ok hun xxxx'. I love it. It's the funniest page ever. I manage to work in a Hun reference into most things I post. But seriously, I just heard her interview with spin there and verdy sorry an all but #kantkope with the disappointment.

She sounds so posh. I bet she doesn't even say windits in real life!

I'm trying hard to understand here. Is she something like The Rubberbandits of pixie-headed young wans on Facebook??

jimgoose wrote: »
    I'm trying hard to understand here. Is she something like The Rubberbandits of pixie-headed young wans on Facebook??

She's a ledgebag. She just takes the piss out of mickey money hunnies, I can't even explain, she's hilarious

I just had a look there. I think she's Ross O'Carroll-Kelly's youngfella, Ronan! :pac:

EDIT: Oh, and "mickey money hunnies" - <SNORT> :pac::pac::pac:

The karmakameeeeeleon is duin his stretches for all d haturs

Especially when you are not even driving:D