Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Cormac... wrote: »
    Are you that kind of Housewife-Daytime-Wine tipsy that I used to see in stuff like desperate housewives? :pac:

More like Onslow from keeping up appearances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

jimgoose wrote: »
    Mmm. How about some Ford gauges that usually work well enough, but sometimes when you put in a couple of tenners take not a tack of notice for about ten minutes, only to suddenly move as if to say "Mmm? Oh, some fuel. Right, sorry, I was miles away!". :D

On my Mondeo the gauge occasionally drops from near full to empty in seconds and back again - no rhyme or reason that I can see for it. Always scares the shite out of me for a second or two - convinced I'm leaving a trail of fuel down the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

Trying to find a replacement charging cord online for my cell phone as well as one for my tablet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

The dark, the cold and the fog this morning all annoyed me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Off topic here but from the start of this thread, why is there a 10k post limit on threads? I use another forum and they have a similar rule but 8-9k posts instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Off topic here but from the start of this thread, why is there a 10k post limit on threads? I use another forum and they have a similar rule but 8-9k posts instead.

Not many people know this, but if you post a one-line reply saying "All moderators are ****, especially Boom_Bap!" to a thread with more than 10,000 posts it causes a buffer overflow and the entire beards.ie server crashes. Sorting this out involves a reboot of the Universe, with the Big Bang and a molten Earth for a couple of billion years, ice ages, etc. It really is such a faff, just don't go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Colds :( I was in Penney's at the weekend and the girl on the til was sneezing all over me I woke up yesterday with a cold. Thanks for nutting

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Not many people know this, but if you post a one-line reply saying "All moderators are ****, especially Boom_Bap!" to a thread with more than 10,000 posts it causes a buffer overflow and the entire beards.ie server crashes. Sorting this out involves a reboot of the Universe, with the Big Bang and a molten Earth for a couple of billion years, ice ages, etc. It really is such a faff, just don't go there.

You just caused a buffer underflow. Nobody talks about the underflows! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Having to get stuck into my inbox after coming back from a week's holiday. Almost takes all the good out of it.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    You just caused a buffer underflow. Nobody talks about the underflows! :pac:

Values of B will give rise to dom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

People having loud, obnoxious conversations on the phone on the bus.

"And then he was like...and then I was like...and oh my god! I couldn't believe she did that!"

It's too early in the morning for your shìt. Never mind the fact that we're in Finglas, not Foxrock...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

"And then he was like...and then I was like...and oh my god! I couldn't believe she did that!"

It's too early in the morning for your shìt. Never mind the fact that we're in Finglas, not Foxrock...

A fellow Finglasonian?
    I have a neighbour in my 'hood in Finglas that talks like this, it's painful to have a conversation with her. Particularly that she will say L.O.L. wheh she is clearly not laughing out loud, and will say 'Oh my G', instead of 'Oh My God'. I havnt yet heard her shorted it to OMG yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Just join in the conversation, with a random "oh my god!!! she did that???"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭andala

You drop one kid off to school, come back to the car to find the other one in tears saying they need to pee so you plan a quick escape from the school parking lot (it has 3 lanes, 2 for parking and the middle one being the exit lane) when this horizontally challenged mummy pulls over right in front of you and makes a show of saying goodbye to her horizontally challenged kid like he was about to be deployed to war zone instead of going to school. Your kid is almost paper white trying to hold it in because the idiot cannot walk past 3 cars, she'd rather block the whole traffic behind her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Just join in the conversation, with a random "oh my god!!! she did that???"

if you bear in mind it will be 2 against 1 if they disagree with you and you have to erm defend your point of view. You might be clobbered with a smartphone. Best use of an iPhone 6 imho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Forgetting to defrost stuff for tonights dinner, now I'm gonna have to wash my hair and go to the corner shop to buy something. I feel all viral and I don't wanna go out.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I hate people being all superior and scornful, just because you happen to like something that they don't. For example, I had someone harping on the other day, how they couldn't bring themselves to watch Love /Hate. The scorn was dripping off her, telling me this. She obviously sees herself as much more cultured and intelligent. F**k off!!. I don't have any time for soaps, but it doesn't bother me in the slightest if another person enjoys them.
    Another time I was talking to a girl I hadn't seen in awhile, and told her I'd recently been to see a band I really like. Her face was a picture, as she says "Why??", scorn oozing out of her. Eh, because I like them! What the f**k??

Where the deuce has Czarky gone?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

People who drag their heels while walking

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Ya want trivial? here it is.
    As a part time musician Im often trawling the internet looking for lyrics and chords and it bugs the crap out of me when a song is credited to the most recent or poppy cover rather than the original artist.
    Today i was looking for There she goes by The Las to find most of the versions credited to Six pence none the richer
    JESUS IM SO ANGRY RIGHT NOW!!!!!!

Forgetting to defrost stuff for tonights dinner, now I'm gonna have to wash my hair and go to the corner shop to buy something. I feel all viral and I don't wanna go out.:(

You get shared a lot?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Saw him hanging around in some other thread - I'm sure he'll be back soon.

Trivial annoyance: Why do we still have the hour change in Autumn / Spring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

73Cat wrote: »
    Another time I was talking to a girl I hadn't seen in awhile, and told her I'd recently been to see a band I really like. Her face was a picture, as she says "Why??", scorn oozing out of her. Eh, because I like them! What the f**k??

One Direction?

Mean people.

I go to the same Chinese all the time because I am a creature of habit, I don't like change and I like their curry. I've been going to the same place with the same owners for the past 13 years.

Anytime I go in she's always complaining that its quiet, that they're not doing well, that places are running ridiculous offers (like early birds) that are ruining them. They're the most expensive Chinese in town. She charges about 30% more than the Chinese the oh goes to. Anyway, she's running this promo from 5-6 the past few weeks, everything except cans and crackers are 1/2 price. I got this a few times when we didn't feel like cooking, and she makes you feel so bad ordering from it. Each time she stresses that they're not making money from it, and that it's just to entice new customers who might not usually go there, to try them out. Then last night we ordered from there, there was a man in front who spent a fortune (obviously ordered for entire family) and asked for crackers and she said that's an extra two euro so the mans like oh ok I'll leave it, as soon as he left she started giving out that he didn't buy them, saying that "you give something half price they still want something free". And our Chinese was only little more than a half portion.

I don't know what I'll do for Chinese if I stop going there!

Mean people.

I go to the same Chinese all the time because I am a creature of habit, I don't like change and I like their curry. I've been going to the same place with the same owners for the past 13 years.

Anytime I go in she's always complaining that its quiet, that they're not doing well, that places are running ridiculous offers (like early birds) that are ruining them. They're the most expensive Chinese in town. She charges about 30% more than the Chinese the oh goes to. Anyway, she's running this promo from 5-6 the past few weeks, everything except cans and crackers are 1/2 price. I got this a few times when we didn't feel like cooking, and she makes you feel so bad ordering from it. Each time she stresses that they're not making money from it, and that it's just to entice new customers who might not usually go there, to try them out. Then last night we ordered from there, there was a man in front who spent a fortune (obviously ordered for entire family) and asked for crackers and she said that's an extra two euro so the mans like oh ok I'll leave it, as soon as he left she started giving out that he didn't buy them, saying that "you give something half price they still want something free". And our Chinese was only little more than a half portion.

I don't know what I'll do for Chinese if I stop going there!
    Thats dinner and a show. Why would you stop going!

Mean people.

I go to the same Chinese all the time...

Heh. There's a little farting-jacket Chinese place beside the pub here as well, I occasionally get a half-duck and such there. Anyway, I'm nearly always offered a "free" can of soft drink with my order, which I hate - I'd rather drink engine-oil - so my usual answer is "No, but you can take a Euro off the bill instead, if you want to delight and satisfy me.". This invariably results in a horrified "No!". "Didn't think so. Ah well - no soft drink thanks, it'd be wasted. Take it hawndy noy!" :D

Because I feel like I'm inconveniencing and robbing her!

Take it hawndy noy!" :D

:D:D

I can't stop saying that in real life since you posted it a few weeks ago. It's actually the funniest phrase and I don't even know why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

There are one or two AWOL alright.

I might do a roll call in the morning.