Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Piss poor journalism. I've just been reading a newspaper article about the teenager that had thousands of tax payer euros wasted on a search for her the other night. The article makes it sound like she was seperated from friends in dense woods and got disorientated. Total bull****, she was heard effing and blinding at her friend during her strop. She had a row with her parents and fcuked off threatening to kill herself.:rolleyes:

There is no densely wooded area in this town and the area they described is a favourite haunt of local teens, they often go up there at lunch time on a school day. Still, I suppose they can't say 'thousands wasted searching for stroppy little bitch who threw a tantrum'.

Doesn't mean they shouldn't have searched for her...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

Forget Irish tea, if you want a good strong cup of tea you can't go wrong with a mug of Tetley Yorkshire tea. My husband loves his tea and he hasn't found a strong enough Irish tea(he's English), so he buys Tetley.:) Me, I make the worst cup of tea known to man, my own mother won't even drink a cup of tea that I make. It's a running joke, if she comes to our house and I offer her a cup of tea she'll ask who is making it, if it's me she says no.:D

I've never heard of Tetley Yorkshire tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When I get sensible drunk and I have that moment where I think I probably shouldn't drink so much, but then part of me is telling me "don't listen to yourself. You're drunk".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Doesn't mean they shouldn't have searched for her...

The area she was 'missing' in is a very popular local walking area. There is no possible way that she could have been lost. A simple walk along that stretch by the family or the gardai with flashlights would have found her. Bringing in rescue searchers from 2 counties was a ridiculous response. She was in no danger. If someone has a chimney fire they get sent a bill from the council for calling the fire brigade out. I seriously doubt the family will be billed for that crap. The girl was found sitting under a tree, shouting distance from nearby houses.

There are very few places in this town where you aren't within shouting distance from help. There's a growing trend for people issuing missing person appeals on Facebook for teenagers who've had a row with parents and not come home that night, this is the extreme end where a teenager has a strop, storms out and in this instance a lot of taxpayer money is wasted. If they'd left it a few more hours she'd have gone home when she got hungry. A teenager who hasn't been home for 4 hours after a row is not a missing person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Frynge wrote: »
    Putting the first scratch on my new car thereby making it old. (Even though car was no longer new it didn't have a single mark on the bodywork)

I've been in a foul mood all day because of it.

I don't own a car, I can't drive, I don't care about learning how to drive but I SO get your annoyance. This would really bug me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Leaving up ads on daft.ie and the likes when the apartment is gone. Not only are you wasting my time, I'm sure the non-stop calls would annoy the advertiser. Why not take it down?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

foooking alarm in Portobello , while it lasted. pure noise pollution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Guy reversing blindly in hotel car park. Yes, it's a small car park, and slightly awkward, and yes, it was full. But you can't just reverse back, without looking...there were more cars behind you. And even if there weren't, were you planning to reverse out onto a main road!
    And guess what, two minutes after you went off with a bould face on you, a space came free. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

Unwanted telephone directories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,287 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

When TV cooks say things like Just add a little salt or Just add a splash of olive oil and then they proceed to add vast quantities.

Th e Two Fat Ladies, were always at this :pac:

'eh, yes, add some butter,' ( they add a pound)

'now add some sugar' ( add a whole bag)

They cared not a jot for diabetes nor heartattacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Rumours on Facebook like Chinese whispers, stories grow legs and people talking about things they know nothing about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Jake1 wrote: »
    Th e Two Fat Ladies, were always at this :pac:

'eh, yes, add some butter,' ( they add a pound)

'now add some sugar' ( add a whole bag)

They cared not a jot for diabetes nor heartattacks

I sometimes use allrecipes.com, very good and handy, but some reviews are off the wall

an example would be, "your recipe for fish curry was great, but I used lamb instead of fish, sugar instead of salt, I didnt have a banana so I used an apple, no curry powder so I used pepper, I was out of honey so I used axle grease and I had to substitute porridge for the rice....I liked it but my family were not so keen, maybe I used too much water"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I sometimes use allrecipes.com, very good and handy, but some reviews are off the wall

an example would be, "your recipe for fish curry was great, but I used lamb instead of fish, sugar instead of salt, I didnt have a banana so I used an apple, no curry powder so I used pepper, I was out of honey so I used axle grease and I had to substitute porridge for the rice....I liked it but my family were not so keen, maybe I used too much water"

Can't beat a bit of axle grease... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

c_man wrote: »
    Leaving up ads on daft.ie and the likes when the apartment is gone. Not only are you wasting my time, I'm sure the non-stop calls would annoy the advertiser. Why not take it down?!

In Dublin at the mo, if that's where you are, a good rule of thumb is if the ad is more than a week old, don't bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Not reading the small print. We were looking at pumpkins yesterday in Dunnes, 5 euro for a pumpkin seems extortionate to me, anyways we were in Lidl after that and the big sign above the pumpkins said 99 cent. Great methinks, until my brain kicks in half way to the check out and we go back to read the sign and find that it's 99 cent per kg.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,461 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sunday drivers are bad enough. But Sunday drivers who are barely crawling on a main road leaving a trail of frustrated drivers behind them, who aren't able to overtake due to there being a vintage car rally coming in the opposite direction (counted a couple of hundred cars!!), are the bane of my existence. Keep her lit and everyone will be happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Absolutely none of my business, but it annoys me to see recycling bags put out for collection with feck all in them. There's my bags nearly splitting at the seams, so full I couldn't tie the tops, and had to sit on them to tape them closed. I just don't get putting out half empty bags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

going to county final today...which wasn't great tbh

anywhoo...im in early to get a good seat and next thing a lad from where I used work before comes in and sits beside me and starts asking heap of questions making small talk

now I don't really like this lad (complete and utter arsehole) even less than I like small talk with more or less strangers....so after about five mins of him chit-chatting asking way too many questions
    some were personal enough too....no doubt so he could have a laugh Monday morning about me:mad::mad:(hes that kinda chap-seen him at similar craic)

I just turns around and says would you look after me bottle of water while I go to toilet....so I had to move to other side of the stand
    and am most annoyed by having to lose my good seat and bottle of water because Im way too quite to be putting up with his crap:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

going to county final today...

I just turns around and says would you look after me bottle of water while I go to toilet....so I had to move to other side of the stand
    and am most annoyed by having to lose my good seat and bottle of water because Im way too quite to be putting up with his crap:(

ha ha i wonder how long it took for him to realise you weren't coming back :)

Hope you were cheering for mount sion! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

People who use knifes as screw drivers.

Ruins knifes, ruins screw heads, ruins my propensity for calmness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

deise08 wrote: »
    ha ha i wonder how long it took for him to realise you weren't coming back :)

Hope you were cheering for mount sion! ;)

surly was:D.....though tbf ballygunner deserved it

the referee was terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

surly was:D.....though tbf ballygunner deserved it

the referee was terrible

Didn't get to see it because i was working :(
    I think the refs all need some retraining.
    there's been some atrocious decisions lately in a lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

My biggest fear in life finally happened. Something got stuck in a vending machine.

My hand hurts a bit but I got that pack of crisps out with a punch.

Frynge wrote: »
    People who use knifes as screw drivers.

Ruins knifes, ruins screw heads, ruins my propensity for calmness.

My ex-bf was anal about that too. He was trivially annoying.

Trivially annoying ..... I don't use the bathroom for most of the day. Don't need to. The minute I get in there for a pee, son #2 decides right then he needs to take a crap. I can't even sit in there for a brief few minutes and enjoy myself. Sheesh.

He will, of course, be in there for an hour or longer.He went in there with his water glass, a cup of tea, his game system and a new pack of toilet paper. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

ok lizzie.a man gotta do wat a man gotta do.

gugleguy wrote: »
    ok lizzie.a man gotta do wat a man gotta do.

No need to kick me out of there to do it. I need my bathroom times too plus he had ALL DAY to go in there.

I'm adopting him out. Anyone want a slightly used 24 year old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

No need to kick me out of there to do it. I need my bathroom times too plus he had ALL DAY to go in there.

I'm adopting him out. Anyone want a slightly used 24 year old?

If he would take my narky 21yr old off my hands, I'd gladly take him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Got up this morning at 6am to see that the paper bin had blown over during the night and rubbish was strewn about our garden, the neighbour's gardens and down the road.

Cue 10 minutes of running around frantically trying to pick up everything.

Then I had to drive into work.

And it's Monday.