What's the Story - GAA Club names

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

antoobrien wrote: »
    It's often a compromise where clubs cover more than one parish e.g. since Athenry covers parts of several parishes its actual name is St Marys Athenry (but nobody calls it that).

I just hope nobody else gets amalgamated with Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry - a 4 barrelled name will be too much.

Castletown-Finea-Coole-Whitehall GAA club in Westmeath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    most clubs in Roscommon have no saint names

Boyle
    Pearses
    Fuerty
    Athleague
    Four Roads
    Tremane
    Ros Gaels
    Strokestown
    Elphin
    Tulsk
    Glaveys
    Shannon Gaels
    Oran
    Kilbride
    Kilglass
    Clann na nGael
    Western Gaels
    Eire Og
    Creggs
    Ballinameen
    Kilmore

I stand corrected ....well sort of..... I didn't realise there were as many, but a lot of what you mentioned are hurling clubs that hadn't come to mind.

Also, Ballinameen is officially known as St Attracta's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭rpurfield

is it eastern harps or gaels in sligo??i know theyre in the east of the county but you could take it up as founded by a bunch of lads from the pale that got lost :D i could be wrong here but there was a club called flathouse in meath years ago, think they folded after some major row at a match, ref attacked and all that!!

come down the grades in meath to minor amalgmations and theres some mad names obviously named after border rivers, streams or whatever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

DazMarz wrote: »
    My hometown club is Baile Uí gCearnaigh, but the Irish translation that is on maps/road-signs, etc. is Baile an Chinnéidigh.

I know the story of the Irish translation for the town (which is 'The Town Of Kennedy') but I'm not sure what the meaning of the CLG name is...
    nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Town/Village of Kearney

Cheers. I'm also a bit curious as to why the GAA club uses a different Irish translation for its name than the town itself uses. In English, the club is simply "Newtown GAA", not "Newtownmountkennedy GAA" (probably for convenience's sake).

Might look into it a bit more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Davin Stand

I would say that in most cases the GAA cl;ubs have the correct Irish version of names of towns and villages as these clubs were founded before some Civil Servants started their "traslation" of Irish place names from English to Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Gneevguilla (phoenetic:Geneev-gwilla)would probably be the most "exotic" club name in Kerry. Most are just named after the parrishes they are in. Knocknagoshel (Cnoc na h-Eaglaise) is another unique name I suppose.

Some of the names of the clubs in Kerry would give me pause for thought when you learn of the history of the people.
    Kerins O'Rahillys for example, named after Charlie Kerins who shot a Garda detective dead during WW2. Hmmm.

Austin Stack (after whom a famous GAA club AND the county grounds in Tralee are named) doesn't exactly inspire awe in me either the more I read about him to be honest, he seemed like a total yes-man of Cathal Brugha's.

Thats my Tralee-bashing done for the day anyway. (dusts hands..walks away)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭CD-R 80

ciarang85 wrote: »
    Good Counsel (Dublin)

Thats my club :D

The Parish Church of Our Lady of Good Counsel, Mourne Road Drimnagh,opened 9th April 1943 and situated just three miles fromO Connell bridge. ;)

Club were founded in 1954 I think and used the Parish name.

Hon' the Counsel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I'm always interested in the names of amalgamated teams in the GAA and where they pull the name from. Sometimes with names that have no relevance to the area.

Eg Cuchullains must be the most overused combo team name ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,075 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What about Kevin Lynch hurling club in Dungiven, Co. Derry, named after a dead paramilitary.

They love a good bit of controversy up North, don't they!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Longford Slashers is a name i remember from my younger days, we played them in the u-14 Feile!

now thats a f*cking daycent name for a team!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 nicepoint

Longford Slashers is a name i remember from my younger days, we played them in the u-14 Feile!

now thats a f*cking daycent name for a team!!

I remember them too, had they base in ballybunion that year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

NIMAN wrote: »
    What about Kevin Lynch hurling club in Dungiven, Co. Derry, named after a dead paramilitary.

They love a good bit of controversy up North, don't they!

Good hurler in his day seemingly captained Derry to U16 AI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,075 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Good hurler in his day seemingly captained Derry to U16 AI

He did indeed, and the reason why the club was named after him - well thats what the club and nationalists would say, whereas the Unionists would say its because he was a hunger striker.

As I say, thats NI for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Lorrha and Dorrha in Tipperary, combination of 2 villages of the same name.
    But pronounced Lurrha and Durrha by most Tipp die-hards...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Kkboy

James Stephens, John Locke's, Railyard and Kilmacow are good names in Kilkenny, the latter two are names of villages the clubs are based in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

I've always found the difference in club naming traditions between different counties to be quite interesting. I come from the Louth/Meath border where I feel the differences to be particularly striking.

For example my own home club like most others in Meath (Syddan) is named simply after an area. In our case the area is in the middle of where two old parishes merged. It's also the name the local church of Ireland parish.

The vast majority of clubs in Meath from what I can gather are simply the name of the area. Eg. Castletown, Slane, Rathoath, Trim etc etc. Only a handful of saint someone's and a couple that were given "names". The only ones I can think of being Wolfe Tones, Na Fianna and Gaeil Colmcille.

In contrast in Louth the majority of clubs seem to be either "named" or named after a saint. Eg. Geraldines, Dreadnoughts, O'Connells etc.

And in the cases where the club is named after the area it seems like they can't just name it after the area on its own. Eg Hunterstown Rovers, Stabannon Parnells, Cooley Kickhams etc.

I don't know why this is but I've just always found the contrast interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

CD-R 80 wrote: »

The Parish Church of Our Lady of Good Counsel, Mourne Road Drimnagh,opened 9th April 1943 and situated just three miles fromO Connell bridge. ;)

Used to pass by the grounds on the luas everyday and wondered where the feck you got that name from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Templeogue Synge Street must be the only club named after a street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Hibbeler wrote: »
    I've always found the difference in club naming traditions between different counties to be quite interesting. I come from the Louth/Meath border where I feel the differences to be particularly striking.

For example my own home club like most others in Meath (Syddan) is named simply after an area. In our case the area is in the middle of where two old parishes merged. It's also the name the local church of Ireland parish.

The vast majority of clubs in Meath from what I can gather are simply the name of the area. Eg. Castletown, Slane, Ratoath, Trim etc etc. Only a handful of saint someone's and a couple that were given "names". The only ones I can think of being Wolfe Tones, Na Fianna and Gaeil Colmcille.

In contrast in Louth the majority of clubs seem to be either "named" or named after a saint. Eg. Geraldines, Dreadnoughts, O'Connells etc.

And in the cases where the club is named after the area it seems like they can't just name it after the area on its own. Eg Hunterstown Rovers, Stabannon Parnells, Cooley Kickhams etc.

I don't know why this is but I've just always found the contrast interesting

True, we arent fond of "names" in Meath, and even in those instances you named, they are all amalgamations or a number of parishes put together. Clann na nGael, Blackhall Gaels are another 2, but again are amalgamations of former clubs.

Drumbaragh seem to be officially called Drumbaragh Emmets, but you only occasionaly see that. Then there's Navan O'Mahonys and Simonstown Gaels . Aside from those 3 though, ever other club is just a location or a saint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,595 ✭✭✭zetecescort

whats the history behind the Sarsfields name? one in a lot of counties (Glanmire, Lucan, Newbridge, Thurles to name a few)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,719 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

whats the history behind the Sarsfields name? one in a lot of counties (Glanmire, Lucan, Newbridge, Thurles to name a few)

Probably called after Patrick Sarsfield -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick_Sarsfield,_1st_Earl_of_Lucan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭rpurfield

True, we arent fond of "names" in Meath, and even in those instances you named, they are all amalgamations or a number of parishes put together. Clann na nGael, Blackhall Gaels are another 2, but again are amalgamations of former clubs.

Drumbaragh seem to be officially called Drumbaragh Emmets, but you only occasionaly see that. Then there's Navan O'Mahonys and Simonstown Gaels . Aside from those 3 though, ever other club is just a location or a saint.

Yep, personally I was a bit disappointed Duleek/Bellewstown didn't come up with something a bit more exciting than sticking a slash in between the names when they merged a few years ago now.

I know this is an old thread but if a team has an unusual name because it's named after their village/town its not that unusual. It's the likes of Tulsk Lord Edwards and Starlights in Dublin I'd be more interested in finding out the origins of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

CD-R 80 wrote: »

My auld club. Le sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭krazyklown

From Mayo
    Eastern Gaels - club based near Ballyhaunis
    Castlebar Mitchells
    Kilmovee Shamrocks
    Charlestown Sarsfields
    Ballina Stephenites
    Bohola Moy Davitts
    Moytura Hurling club in Cong

Ballyvary Blue Bombers is the catchy name of a soccer club in Ballyvary

Four Roads in Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Kkboy

Blacks and Whites in Kilkenny

krazyklown wrote: »
    From Mayo
    Castlebar Mitchells
    Kilmovee Shamrocks
    Charlestown Sarsfields
    Ballina Stephenites
    Bohola Moy Davitts

Four Roads in Roscommon

By the waythe full name for another Mayo club Crosmilona, is Crosmilona Deel Rovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

krazyklown wrote: »
    From Mayo
    Castlebar Mitchells
    Kilmovee Shamrocks
    Charlestown Sarsfields
    Ballina Stephenites
    Bohola Moy Davitts

Four Roads in Roscommon

Good friend of mine is from Ballyvary and the name has always cracked me up and then I discovered the CFL and the Winnipeg Bluebombers, there has to be a strange connection somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Radio5

I presume Boherlan-Dualla in Tipp is called after 2 villages or parishes? It's one of my favourites along with Lattin-Cullen.

In Kerry there is Dr. Crowes and in Dublin they have Kilmacud Crowes. At least that is how they should be pronounced if you listen to 95% of the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Most clubs in Clare have their location in their names. Only two with half exotic names I can think of are Kilmurry Ibrickane and St. Josephs Doora Barefield but again they include their parishes.

We might be able to claim the shortest name though with the Moy GAA club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,595 ✭✭✭zetecescort

there's a Moy in one of the Ulster counties afaik, Tyrone I think