Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭honeygirl

Have you called over? That's completely out of order.

When it happened I was on my own with the kids, my son was a mess and I didn't want to go over with them so I phoned the house. They wouldn't answer but she would answer her texts. When I did get her on the phone she said that her apology on his behalf should be enough. I called over yesterday and got no answer. She text and asked would I come for a cup of tea with her next week because she wants to keep my friendship. She said all we can do is say sorry but I have not been allowed to speak to him. I just want five minutes and I am not a big woman!

I also should add that I am not a person who would go after him with all guns blazing, I just want to talk to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

honeygirl wrote: »
    When it happened I was on my own with the kids, my son was a mess and I didn't want to go over with them so I phoned the house. They wouldn't answer but she would answer her texts. When I did get her on the phone she said that her apology on his behalf should be enough. I called over yesterday and got no answer. She text and asked would I come for a cup of tea with her next week because she wants to keep my friendship. She said all we can do is say sorry but I have not been allowed to speak to him. I just want five minutes and I am not a big woman!

What are you hoping to achieve by talking to him? I'm not being smart, but he is clearly just a sh1thead and a forced apology means very little.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Bang on the money Mr Goose, as always.

My advice , for what it is worth, let the kids play away, your son will get over it. As for the other child's father, ignore the pr1ck.

That is usually my motto and I never get involved, but when an adult does something like that! Yes you are right I will just ignore the prick. The woman herself is usually lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

A teenage girl goes missing for a few hours, no big deal one would think. One would be wrong. It triggered 2 different Coastal Rescue teams plus a police search. For the love of Jesus could parents and the emergency services please get a grip. How much money was wasted because a 15 year old had a fcuking strop. Am exhausted after being awake til gone 1 listening to a rescue helicopter hovering overhead. Where was she? Lying low at a well known wooded teen drinking spot. Seriously, a 15 year old wasn't home by 11.45pm and it resulted in all that chaos.:mad:

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    What are you hoping to achieve by talking to him? I'm not being smart, but he is clearly just a sh1thead and a forced apology means very little.

I don't want a forced apology from anyone. I want to tell him that the only reason the guards are not involved is because of his wife. I don't really want to cause her anymore stress. According to another neighbour he was full on at the time.

Ashton kutcher posting on his blog that he has a new daughter, and posting pictures of several babies, one of which might be his, and saying "may your life be filled with blah, blah and privacy" -hmmmmmm well you got that one off to a good start!

honeygirl wrote: »
    I don't want a forced apology from anyone. I want to tell him that the only reason the guards are not involved is because of his wife. I don't really want to cause her anymore stress. According to another neighbour he was full on at the time.

I can understand that, I just dont know what you stand to achieve from it, thats all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

A teenage girl goes missing for a few hours, no big deal one would think. One would be wrong. It triggered 2 different Coastal Rescue teams plus a police search. For the love of Jesus could parents and the emergency services please get a grip. How much money was wasted because a 15 year old had a fcuking strop. Am exhausted after being awake til gone 1 listening to a rescue helicopter hovering overhead. Where was she? Lying low at a well known wooded teen drinking spot. Seriously, a 15 year old wasn't home by 11.45pm and it resulted in all that chaos.:mad:

Have to say I've noticed this a lot in recent years. The amount of times missing persons reports go up on breakingnews or the RTE website only for the person to reappear either by teatime the same day or sometimes the next morning.

I know teens going missing is a bad thing but it seems like media overkill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

jimgoose wrote: »
    Ursula Halligan slightly annoys me.

When I heard that FG TD John Deasy was marrying Maura Derrane from TV3 (as she was at the time) the only female tv3 news person I could picture was Halligan - had myself convinced that he was marrying someone old enough to be his mother - kind of admired that he was keeping up the renegade I'll-do-what-the-fcuk-I-like attitude :o

You just know Ursala would be great craic in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

Like,I know we live in Ireland, lads, but this rain is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Seriously?

The man should be made to apologise in person to the little boy he reduced to tears at the very least. Why should he be allowed to get away with this kind of behaviour to "keep the peace".

Gob****es like this have to be made sure in no uncertain terms that what he done is completely unnaceptable and there are consequences.

If he wont accept that he has a further part to play in resolving this then the guards should be called to explain it to him

Seriously?

The man should be made to apologise in person to the little boy he reduced to tears at the very least. Why should he be allowed to get away with this kind of behaviour to "keep the peace".

Gob****es like this have to be made sure in no uncertain terms that what he done is completely unnaceptable and there are consequences.

If he wont accept that he has a further part to play in resolving this then the guards should be called to explain it to him

Then the guards should be called (I would have done that anyway in the first instance). You dont need to lecture me about his moral ineptitude - I think I already clearly stated he was out of line, I asked what the poster hoped to achieve by talking to him - he is clearly not a reasonable man.

ps who mentioned keeping the peace?

The ERSI released a report today stating that women and married couples were the hardest hit during the downturn so now there are calls arising to 'gender-proof' the upcoming budget for women.

In any situation with only 2 variables (in this case gender, male or female) on of the variables has to be the 'losing' one. It's no ones fault, it's just how things are going to work out logically.

Should we really be changing economic policy because of it? What happens if we swing it too far back the other way. Do we just keep changing policy?

We just need to learn to accept that inequality is inevitable in some situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Then the guards should be called (I would have done that anyway in the first instance). You dont need to lecture me about his moral ineptitude - I think I already clearly stated he was out of line, I asked what the poster hoped to achieve by talking to him - he is clearly not a reasonable man.

ps who mentioned keeping the peace?

You asked "what do you hope to achieve" in a way that could intimate its pointless and why carry on otherwise you would have offered options as to what could be achieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I agree it would be pointless, he's clearly a horrible coward if he's in the face of a small child, upsetting him. Soft boy, having his wife apologise on his behalf.

But that said, i personally don't think he should be allowed ignore it ever happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

That fucking upc ad, that prick on the scooter, that cunt in the hat singing and that fucking song...

Breathe in...

exhale...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Jaysus, paying an ESB bill over the phone using their automated system has to be the most frustratingly pointlessly irritating things to do.

'Please enter your account number'

'You have entered ... is this correct?'

I KNOW what I have entered - I can see it here on the screen of my phone

'How much do you want to pay'

YES, IT'S CORRECT I'M NOT AN IDIOT

'please enter your payment card number'

AGGGGGHHHHHH!

'Thanks, I have everything I need to proceed with this payment of €x. Do you want to proceed?'

'Are you sure?'

'Last chance now, I'm going to charge €x. Do you want to proceed?'

FCUK YOU, FCUK YOU.

You can interupt her in some places, but not in others - just so maddening!

Blocked number calling me.

"Hello?"
    - Hello am I speaking to Lexie?
    "Yes?"
    - this is XXX calling from XXX
    "Ok?"
    - for security purposes can you confirm your date of birth?
    "You called me. I'm not confirming anything."

Seriously, that drives me mad. I know I'm being contrary refusing to tell them anything but only because it annoys me so much that they're the ones who called me and then they're asking me to confirm my own identify. **** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...Seriously, that drives me mad. I know I'm being contrary refusing to tell them anything but only because it annoys me so much that they're the ones who called me and then they're asking me to confirm my own identify. **** off

I agree with you. They have a bloody bare-faced cheek, and it's the quaaarest way of doing business I ever saw. Personally, I like to bark back immediately, in an American accent, "How did you get this number? Cut the sht lady, where's Assange?? Stay right there, do NOT move, wait for my colleagues!!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭CPSW

Asian Tourists......

I've only returned from Las Vegas on holidays, and jesus they are unreal. Very rude bunch of folk who were rushing and basically fighting with each other to see who could get the best position to take a photo with either their phone, tablet, small camera or large camera that they had with them. It's not as if the sights that they were taking pics of were going to up and leave and not be there two seconds later!

You just know Ursala would be great craic in bed.

"This is Ursula Halligan for TV3 News, taking length like a champ. Back to you Alan!!" :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    "This is Ursula Halligan for TV3 News, taking length like a champ. Back to you Alan!!" :D

That made me actually snort hahaha

Jim did you say you teach people how to drive for a living? I think I would legit crash the car listening to you if you were teaching me!!

That made me actually snort hahaha

Jim did you say you teach people how to drive for a living? I think I would legit crash the car listening to you if you were teaching me!!

No, I'm an IT engineer. The ADI thing is a sideline that I do purely out of interest. I don't actually do it much but I've trained a few young Grasshoppers. :D

You asked "what do you hope to achieve" in a way that could intimate its pointless and why carry on otherwise you would have offered options as to what could be achieved.

I asked "what do you hope to achieve" in a genuinely curious way, and I believe that was perfectly clear from my post. I thank you not to put words in my mouth or try to infer double meanings where there are none.

"Hello?"
    "Yes?"
    "Ok?"

Seriously, that drives me mad. I know I'm being contrary refusing to tell them anything but only because it annoys me so much that they're the ones who called me and then they're asking me to confirm my own identify. **** off

No I think you are right. I hate when people call and ask if they can confirm if they are speaking with me. I'm like, you called me remember!?

Edit: which reminds me, I need to register with Revenue. Applied online for PIN and because I have moved address they emailed me asking to confirm my new address but I am inherently suspicious of such emails "Hi we are from Revenue, can you give us information?" er....no fúck off... but they send the email everytime I apply so I know its genuine but I just cant bring myself to do it...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

"Hello?"
    "Yes?"
    "Ok?"

Vin Diesel called you! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

longshanks wrote: »
    That fucking upc ad, that prick on the scooter, that cunt in the hat singing and that fucking song...

Breathe in...

exhale...

I'd say it's one of the ads most mentioned on the 'adverts you despise' thread. The dweeb on the scooter...aaargh, and you can almost see his tiny brain trying to process the words on the billboard. Hate that ad.

quote from Irish Water protesters

'Irish Blood is thicker than water'

foook right off:(