Black stereotypes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

Robsweezie wrote: »
    you know the ones....

-black fathers don't support their children
    -they love fried chicken, kool aid and watermelon
    -women are portrayed as loud, opinionated and named laquisha,shaniqua etc.
    -they have trouble with the police

point is, are these humorous or racist? what side of the fence are you on? we often see these kindve things played out in social media in the form of memes and vines and to be honest I would find them harmless and quite funny, so long as they don't promote hatred or intolerance.

i know a few black (not African ) family that live in my area . i ve known them for years and i can vouch that all this is true ,
    one of them are like a stereotype bonanza
    father and mother split up
    father in jail for murder . two son have done time for various things too, the mother even went to jail for a few weeks a few years ago.
    mother and sister loud obnoxious and have African names despite being mostly English and Caribbean.

on the flip side i know black south African guy who is a lovely friendly genuine guy never been in bother as far as i know, one parent house too no father .

so with evidence and facts is it still racist or just a statistical fact ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

you know the ones....

point is, are these humorous or racist? what side of the fence are you on? we often see these kindve things played out in social media in the form of memes and vines and to be honest I would find them harmless and quite funny, so long as they don't promote hatred or intolerance.

I think theses traits are more to do with poor people. It just happens that in America, a lot of poor people are black.

If you look at Ireland. Skangers dont support their children, they love Chicken nuggets and Skanger women are loud, opinionated and have stupid names. Skangers are also in trouble with police a lot. These people are predominantly white.

The thing that intertwines the social cultural demographic of being a bit rough is that in America, a lot of black people are also poor/rough.

The stereotypical accusations that you highlight above should really just be thrown at the poor rather than just black people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

marketty wrote: »
    Black fellas have big mickeys.

What a terrible prejudiced stereotype to have hanging over you.
    There's... got to be a better way to put that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

i know a few black (not African ) family that live in my area . i ve known them for years and i can vouch that all this is true ,
    one of them are like a stereotype bonanza
    father and mother split up
    father in jail for murder . two son have done time for various things too, the mother even went to jail for a few weeks a few years ago.
    mother and sister loud obnoxious and have African names despite being mostly English and Caribbean.

on the flip side i know black south African guy who is a lovely friendly genuine guy never been in bother as far as i know, one parent house too no father .

so with evidence and facts is it still racist or just a statistical fact ?

You never mentioned if they like fried chicken.
    I've seen similar situations countless times with white tracksuit wearing scumbags too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

You never mentioned if they like fried chicken.
    I've seen similar situations countless times with white tracksuit wearing scumbags too.

i don't know what their feelings on fried chicken are tbh,

ya its a ghetto / scumbag way of life but it does seem to go together with black people regardless of what country they are in . Asians or Arabs do not seem to have the same issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

If you have the time, this is a brilliant article about how certain viral videos play a part in stereotyping black people. It refers to the "ain't nobody got time for that!" and the bed intruder song etc. It is a very interesting article and really made me think.

http://chicagomonitor.com/2013/07/the-re-imagining-of-african-american-stereotypes-in-internet-culture/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I think theses traits are more to do with poor people. It just happens that in America, a lot of poor people are black.
    ....The stereotypical accusations that you highlight above should really just be thrown at the poor rather than just black people.

What of Mexicans or Guatemalans though?

If those fathers are absent from the family home, it's so often because they're busting a gut in a menial job somewhere to provide for those at home. There's undoubtedly some cultural element at play within a sub-section of African-American society, where criminality as a lifestyle choice and inherited dysfunction within the family unit are accepted as the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Black has been replaced by Orange as the New

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Yamanoto wrote: »
    What of Mexicans or Guatemalans though?

If those fathers are absent from the family home, it's so often because they're busting a gut in a menial job somewhere to provide for those at home. There's undoubtedly some cultural element at play within a sub-section of African-American society, where criminality as a lifestyle choice and inherited dysfunction within the family unit are accepted as the norm.
    It's almost like they are a product of their environment or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Is is racist to call all coloureds "African-American"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

KungPao wrote: »

No it's just silly.

Not all of them are American.

I think coloured is meant to be a racist term now? Gah, can't keep up.

If you look at Ireland. Skangers dont support their children, they love Chicken nuggets and Skanger women are loud, opinionated and have stupid names. Skangers are also in trouble with police a lot. These people are predominantly white.

The thing that intertwines the social cultural demographic of being a bit rough is that in America, a lot of black people are also poor/rough.

The stereotypical accusations that you highlight above should really just be thrown at the poor rather than just black people.

This n*gger gets it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

gladrags wrote: »
    Irish stereotypes

Stupid
    Drunks
    Always fighting
    Red headed
    Corrupt
    Mad
    Great Laugh( craic)
    Leprechauns
    Fiddlers
    Sad

You omitted the main one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

What ever happened to love thy neighbour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

KungPao wrote: »

We don't call blonde Irish people Scandinavian-Irish, do we?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Beef Curtains

The fried chicken and the 'sassy black woman who don't need no man' stereotypes are funny and harmless.

The absent fathers and crime rates, when talking about black Americans, are not funny but there is a good deal of truth to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

wazky wrote: »
    We don't call blonde Irish people Scandinavian-Irish, do we?
    We don't?

Bugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Vegetarians, I hear.

You know what they say about Vegetarians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Johnny D. Mudd

old_aussie wrote: »

They stopped after series 7.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Beef Curtains

marketty wrote: »
    Black fellas have big mickeys.

What a terrible prejudiced stereotype to have hanging over you.

But imagine you're average or below average and you score some white chick. She's going to expect you to be hung.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

old_aussie wrote: »

I'm glad you asked :)

All this stuff's in the bible, people!

The cultural blindspots we now find ourselves encumbered with are temporary illusions!

When GOD said to Cain "Where is your brother?" and Cain replied to GOD "Am I my brother's keeper?" and GOD said "Oh, Cain, what have you done, I hear the voice of your brother Abel's blood cry to ME from the earth!" how can we deny our responsibility to each other!!?

Down with this sort of thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

you know the ones....

long dong silver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

This thread will end well.

P.S. - Who doesn't like fried chicken?
    I was surprised to see the Barack Obama Plaza Supermacs, who are known for their fried chicken. I did see some comment about it on twitter or something.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/supermacs-chief-hits-road-with-7m-obama-plaza-30316133.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Supermacs is the last place any sane person would go if they wanted fried chicken!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Believing in these generalisations demonstrates a limited mind unable to conceive of people as individuals with diverse personalities.

It has nothing to do with PC or brigades of any sort, just a cognitive issue which creates an impulse to group together people based on the most immediate criteria and assign perceived behaviours. It's a mental security blanket for the weak.

Sorry for your troubles OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't think they have cool aid or chickens in Africa so I don't think you can say all black people like those things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Blacks (and Latinos) are over-represented in the poorest sections of American society so the cliches about prison, single parent families and diet do have a grounding in reality. Like all stereotypes do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

OneArt wrote: »
    No it's just silly.

Not all of them are American.

I think coloured is meant to be a racist term now? Gah, can't keep up.

Person of colour is grand though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,453 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

nullzero wrote: »
    You know what they say about Vegetarians.

They eat vegetables exclusively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Alot of Nigerian women used to drive 92 Micras and jam on in front of you.

Not so much anymore.