Stinson Hunter (Pedophile catcher)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Just wanted the documentary on Channel 4 . Wow it will make any other potential paedophile think twice. His Facebook page Stinson Hunter is gone into Overdrive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

The ultimate in glory hunting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Glock Lesnar

Entrapment/stings are lazy journalism.

Instead of catching someone doing something dodgy, you are leading them into doing something dodgy. I find the whole idea terribly seedy and I've no respect for the people who trick others into a story (make no mistake about this part: these people aren't social crusaders against paedophiles, they are simply trying to invent a story because they can't find one in other places).

No amount of 'leading' could ever make me turn up at a location with the intent of f*cking a child, but if the prospect of being caught up worried you then that's none of my business.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

A list of those convicted due to his actions were published at the end of the programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Stheno wrote: »
    A list of those convicted due to his actions were published at the end of the programme.

Lots and lots of suspended sentences, thought it was Ireland for a moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

If he ever crosses paths with the likes of John Wayne Gacey, Ted Bundy or The Green River Killer he'll probably end up dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I'd imagine, unless you were a paedo, not two fecks would you give what he does. Fire ahead lad, IMO. Deserve all they get.

Your image and Video all over Facebook that's as good if not better than a sentence. Least everyone will know who you are coz Police will always protect the Paedophile first
    His Facebook page has got nearly 200,000 more likes since that programme tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I watched the doc on C4 tonight and it is indeed Englands take on the Dateline NBC programme.
    Fantastic and shocking in equal measures imo.

Fantastic that someone, regardless of your opinion of Mr Hunter personally, has taken it upon themselves to expose the levels of grooming and possible peadophilia(possible as if they hadn't have been there and it was the 13 year old that they intended to meet it was almost a certain outcome that it would have taken place as per the adult in questions intention).

Shocking at how many there and how a lot were non-plussed by it

Smidge wrote: »
    I watched the doc on C4 tonight and it is indeed Englands take on the Dateline NBC programme.

Shocking at how many there and how a lot were non-plussed by it
    And the professions of some of the Paedos he caught out is scary they should know better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

biko wrote: »
    Vigilante Stinson Hunter has hit out at 'copycats', dubbing their work 'a complete shambles'
    A vigilante whose actions has led to the arrest of several suspected sex offenders says he is considering whether to carry on after the suicide of a man who was targeted by another group.

That;s got to be the ultimate hypocrisy considering he's a copycat of Chris Hansen!

The problem with the scenario is that it's very easy to call entrapment, the pedo gets away.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Can't stand the bloke been honest .
    Seem to be a vigilante with a hero complex .

We only get to see one side of his so called investigations .

There is a lot to be said about due process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

SIX PACK wrote: »
    And the professions of some of the Paedos he caught out is scary they should know better

What the hell does job profession have to do with it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

The Th!ng wrote: »
    If he ever crosses paths with the likes of John Wayne Gacey, Ted Bundy or The Green River Killer he'll probably end up dead.

Die of fright, will he? Seeing a couple of ghosts will do that to ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Die of fright, will he? Seeing a couple of ghosts will do that to ya

True, but I'd enjoy the luxary of a smile of one of them got the first punch in and flattened him. Karma.

That said, he probably does just enough research to prove that these guys aren't MMA experts in their spare time or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Caught some of the documentary last night....when the presenter comes across worse than a bunch of paedophiles it's quite the achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

That said, he probably does just enough research to prove that these guys aren't MMA experts in their spare time or something.

He's lucky he's not doing it in the states, with the concealed-carry laws there he could end up brown bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

A copycat sting has been running in Ireland for past six months, looking forward to the prime time special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Entrapment/stings are lazy journalism.

Instead of catching someone doing something dodgy, you are leading them into doing something dodgy. I find the whole idea terribly seedy and I've no respect for the people who trick others into a story (make no mistake about this part: these people aren't social crusaders against paedophiles, they are simply trying to invent a story because they can't find one in other places).

We'll never know if the people on the other side of this carry-on would have done something. In this case, it's an extreme example of a sting and one which a lot of people will have no problem with the means but it is something I have a major problem with and I do not support it.

That said, they can do some good if the potential paedophile get a right shock and it scares them away. If the potential paedophile doesn't do anything illegal, they shouldn't get into any more trouble.

On watching of the show and of reading all the related articles thereof, The peado hunter doesn't actually engage with these people at first, they set up the profile and the guys make contact.
    they also AFAIk don't organise to meet, it is at the suggestion of the older person.

And yes, I would much prefer someone like Stinson Hunter meeting these lads than some 11-14 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

syklops wrote: »
    What happens when some innocent guy gets beaten half to death(or worse) because he is mistaken for the groomer by the vigilantes, and/or gets his name/face in the paper also for being mistaken by the journalist?

The issue with this type of journalism is it needs an ever greater high every series and at some point in order to catch someone a mistake will be made leading to exactly what you say.

THey are playing on the disgust of paedophiles to counter balance the dodgy ness of the sting. Personally the more they catch the better but that means I am falling for the very game they are playing.

The grooming part is where the paedophiles will be in trouble but if I recall the legality of the sting approach is not allowed in many countries. I could be wrong but didn't the Garda plan something on this for car thieves or am I mixing that up?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

biko wrote: »

Come on, surely suicide of the guy being stung is exactly what they're aiming for?

If that was the case, why don't they just go down there and murder the guy?

Pedophilia has been discribed (incorrectly, in my view) as a mental illness and you're advocating driving people with mental illness to suicide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

I would initially have been uneasy about the entrapment part of this programme. As in luring someone into doing something they may never had the nerve to do, but a lot of the suspects featured in the Channel 4 programme were happy enough to send naked pictures of themselves to what they thought were young girls. Now maybe it was clever editing and they were begged first to send the pictures, I don't know either way I have mixed emotions on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Think they would rather string these guys up and cut their balls off first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I would initially have been uneasy about the entrapment part of this programme. As in luring someone into doing something they may never had the nerve to do, but a lot of the suspects featured in the Channel 4 programme were happy enough to send naked pictures of themselves to what they thought were young girls. Now maybe it was clever editing and they were begged first to send the pictures, I don't know either way I have mixed emotions on this.

Again, I think they are very careful about entrapment and make sure that all messages are the older person pushing.

Once entrapment can be shown the case is out of court, but judging on the numbers who have been charged, albeit with suspended sentences, he must be doing something correctly.

As for the thoughts that these lads may not have had the nerve to do it otherwise, the people featured on the documentary got trains/cabs etc to the house, how did they not have the nerve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

The grooming part is where the paedophiles will be in trouble but if I recall the legality of the sting approach is not allowed in many countries. I could be wrong but didn't the Garda plan something on this for car thieves or am I mixing that up?[/QUOTE]

wouldn't worry about the Gardai, they too busy with water meters.

Fantastic that they got so many to court (pity about all the suspended sentences,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Gatling wrote: »
    Can't stand the bloke been honest .
    Seem to be a vigilante with a hero complex .

We only get to see one side of his so called investigations .

There is a lot to be said about due process

Nobody forced the men in question to get into their cars and drive to a house where they suspected there was a child they could rape. He never encouraged them to send naked pictures of themselves to people they believed were underage girls and boys. If ye watch the show, it was the nonces themselves that did all the running. All your man is simply doing is recording their actions, their pictures and their comments. As he said himself, he's only "holding up a mirror". So a few of them have hanged themselves? Good. One less predatory paedophile in the world.

The men in the show aren't victims, they're dangerous predators who deserve everything they get really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,542 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

?????? :eek: do explain!
    The guys name in How I Met Your Mother is Barney Stinson.
    ah ok, when he said main guy i thought he meant ted.
    Is Stinson Hunter his name, or is a Stinson a new word for nonce.

I never liked that How I Met Your Mother rubbish but who knew the main guy was a wordplay name :pac:
    Im still lost, whats the wordplay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Utterly ridiculous comparison. What they're doing is simply recording the actions of men who decide to approach young kids, send them naked pictures of themselves and then subsequently arrange to rape them. Every one of those steps above is a choice that these men make. All Stinson is doing is recording their actions. To compare that with Stinson arbitrarily murdering people is nonsense.
    Pedophilia has been discribed (incorrectly, in my view) as a mental illness and you're advocating driving people with mental illness to suicide?

B*llocks. If someone decides to kill themselves because they've been exposed as a predatory paedophile that's their own tough sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm inclined to say fúck them to be honest.
    I mean the likes of ted bundy and so on weren't able to control what they were doing because of mental illness, does that mean you should have sympathy for him. If you're born a paedo, that's kinda a raw deal for you - but tough shít really, there are more important considerations.