Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

We went to Greystones yesterday, to a really secluded part of the beach. We sat on a log and were enjoying the sun with our puppy who was on a lead.

A woman with 3 dogs so big they could have been white horses comes along, stands about 50ft away and lets her dogs off their leads. They ran into the water, got all scruffy and mucky and then ran over to us. They were jumping up on us and shaking themselves dry. We were destroyed. my husband had sand in his eyes, my light coloured trousers were soaked in brown water all they way up to my knees. I had paw prints on my clothes, the dogs got tangled in our lead and my top was ruined and mucky trying to detangle them.

I was furious, to an extent that all I could do was glare at her shaking my head. If I even opened my mouth I would have screamed at her. She just stared back, almost in a smug way. 3 times they did it while we were getting up to go and packing our stuff. We were absolutely drenched, filthy dirty and our puppy was terrified.

Stupid stupid woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

People who quote a post, and place their own reply above the quoted text.

Perverts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

People who call me a pervert. :mad:

Perverts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Sleepless nights, can do nothing to get a good sleep anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Waking up with fecking toothache on a Monday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭JP85

People who walk up to a traffic light, press the button knowing full well that they are still going to cross the road regardless of the colour of the light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Humidity, AGAIN. I'm sick of the humidity. I've only just dried and straightened my hair and I'm all unpleasantly sticky already. It'll be worse on the bus. I can only hope that the driver doesn't have the heat turned on this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Perverts.
    It even takes more effort as when you quote a post it's automatically at the top of the comment box. Why do people do it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭JP85

Shows that put on their ads "Back by popular demand", seen this on a diversity ad on tv last night. What! Do people get a petition signed so that they come back to perform??:eek::confused:

Spiders.

Between reading about people's fingers falling off from spiderbites, or about how someone bit into a banana, that 80 odd spiders had got into, and how a woman was heard screaming from a coffin because she was being buried alive, it's absolutely no wonder at all that I can't sleep at night.

The sheer size of them too, good lord. I got out of the shower this morning, grabbed a towel to wrap myself up in and one for my hair. I bent my head to wrap my hair and just as I had it around my head, I'm looking down at this big giant spider with elephant legs racing up towards my face.

I would not be surprised if my heart stopped for a second. I got such a fright I couldn't even get any screams/words out.

Where are they coming from? Why are they so big? I've read that peppermint oil gets rid of them. I know what I'll be buying a gallon of today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Sitting on those flip down seats on the luas. If you keep your eyes at a normal level, they are directly in line with the crotch area of average sized men who may be standing in front of you so you either 1) sit with eyes lowered, 2) stare at a couple of stranger's crotches or 3) stare up at the roof like a weirdo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

That most irritating 'slip-slop-slap' sound from lazy arsed people dragging their feet along polished floors (eg supermarkets).

FRO, slack jawed dullards!

That most irritating 'slip-slop-slap' sound from lazy arsed people dragging their feet along polished floors (eg supermarkets).

Impending interviews. "Tell me about yourself" strikes fear in my heart. After a few bottles of wine I could talk about it for hours..."well let's see, I'm an emotionally crippled and artistically muted narcissist and you've just gotta have me!" .... but in the cold light of day it's more like "erm...I like to, you know, um....bake" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

That my boss thinks she has any say in the type of vehicle I choose to drive.
    She said to me yesterday "are you any good at reversing cars?" I said no simply because you always get a good giggle out of her trying to reverse her tiny car out of our carpark. She then said "You'll really need to get rid of that bike and buy a car, what if I needed to be driven home from court one day?" Me: "That's where taxis come in handy". Driving her home?! Eh what :confused: I then said "Sure I'll throw you up on the back of the bike, be grand", she did not like that :P

(Off topic but mini mexican wave in celebration of the fact that my husband got a job! He hasn't worked since Waterford Crystal shut up shop a good few years ago now so he went back to college and got his Honours Degree in Manufacturing Engineering and he's just after getting a job in exactly the area he wants to work in :D )

:mad::mad::mad:
    My husband was told at the interview for this job that the HR person was on annual leave for 2 weeks but would be in touch with him as soon as she had returned and had drawn up the paperwork etc. My husband had heard nothing so he rang her on Monday, Tuesday and Friday last week and each time she was in a meeting. He rang again today and eventually got through to her to be told "X said nothing to me about drawing up paperwork, I didn't know anything about this, I'll have to speak to him".
    So now there either is no job or his potential new employer is a complete moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

It bugs me that Walkers Cheese and Onion flavour are in a blue bag, and Salt and Vinegar in a green one. It should clearly be the other way around...

My husband and his colleagues were due to get a bonus this month, quite a nice one, based on the companies global performance. But the company decided that they aren't getting it until December and the amount that they actually receive will be based on their assessed performance over that time. They're all expecting to be royally fcuked up the arse by management in order to pay as little of it as possible.:mad:

Peer pressure and weak boyfriends. His two brothers and his two future sister in laws are going on a boozy holiday tomorrow. They've booked it ages, and we said we wouldn't go because we went to New York during the summer. Now they've been hounding him all yesterday and have almost worn him down, so now he's texting me trying to convince me it's a good idea. He's 28. A bit long in the tooth for last minute rash decisions, when we have jobs and responsibilities. He's not going to be able to swing it so he should just stop torturing himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Drinking wine on sunday night :( I'm wrecked today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Pumpkinseeds that's a really rotten thing to do. Your poor husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,011 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

My mate always used to say to them..."if you lift them, they'll fall themselves"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Peer pressure and weak boyfriends. His two brothers and his two future sister in laws are going on a boozy holiday tomorrow. They've booked it ages, and we said we wouldn't go because we went to New York during the summer. Now they've been hounding him all yesterday and have almost worn him down, so now he's texting me trying to convince me it's a good idea. He's 28. A bit long in the tooth for last minute rash decisions, when we have jobs and responsibilities. He's not going to be able to swing it so he should just stop torturing himself

Maybe you should listen to him and talk about it together sensibly.

You come across like his mother in this post, these are his brothers and you are only a girlfriend.

crybaby wrote: »
    Maybe you should listen to him and talk about it together sensibly.

You come across like his mother in this post, these are his brothers and you are only a girlfriend.

Only his girlfriend?!

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Pumpkinseeds that's a really rotten thing to do. Your poor husband.

Yeah, if he didn't already hate his job it might not feel so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭JapaneseLove

People walking slow on the street. Especially old people.
    Huffy da fu*k up!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Slathering moisturising cream all over my feet, then forgetting and walking.
    And slipping.

fussyonion wrote: »
    Slathering moisturising cream all over my feet, then forgetting and walking.
    And slipping.

I usually leave it til last thing before I get into bed. Too many near falls in the past.:D

False information. I've always been led to believe there's an outrageous amount of calories in alcohol. So imagine my surprise after an entire weekend of binge drinking, I'm 4lbs lighter than I was on Friday.

I've just read 'weary' where it should have been 'wary' for the fourth time in the last 15 minutes. "In spite of the evidence, I was weary of concluding...". :(

It trivially annoys much how much that enrages me.

Me too, candie