Wedding invite comparable to a summons

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Sitting here bored off my hole watching awkward 50 year old white women dancing awkwardly to the killers fcuk me

White women!In Ireland!Never!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Weddings are great crack normally. What can let them down is a bunch of dry arses sitting in the corner supping their drink judging people for how they dance or what they are wearing the kind of people who have no idea how to have fun unless it centers around them.... OP stay at home next time as you sound like a right miserable git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

People say if you don't wanna go then just simply don't go... as if the reality of the situation was that simple.

The truth is that every single person who gets an invite has some kinda relationship with the bride and groom. In most cases it's the B & G's parents who are the closest to the couple and then other siblings and so on and on until you finally get to the partner of some guy they kinda know from work.

Usually the closer you are to the person/couple getting married the more pressure you are under to go to the wedding, if you love weddings or even can force yourself to enjoy them, then you're grand, but if hate them it is like a summons. you've gotta make a decision as to how much "not going" will impact your life after the wedding and how much you really hate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

My sister got married in Rome a few years ago. I didn't bother my arse going what with the cost of flights, hotels, etc. I stayed at home to mind the dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

There's been a spate of weddings locally over the past few months. Most of the guests know each other, they'd be at the same weddings and a lot of the weddings have been at the same venue. So essentially the guests have had to shell out to go to the same place and probably eat the same food at each wedding while making the same small talk with the same people at each and every wedding.

Tedious affairs weddings. You could have a nice weekend away for what it costs to attend someone's wedding. We couldn't be bothered with all the fuss and just got married quietly in a registry office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The Th!ng wrote: »
    My sister got married in Rome a few years ago. I didn't bother my arse going what with the cost of flights, hotels, etc. I stayed at home to mind the dogs.

Did you not feel bad missing your own sister's wedding wedding? Like cousins and the rest, far enough. But siblings? Not judging or anything, just something I find surprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭thrashmetalfan

i wish I was going to a wedding. my cousin is getting married on the 18th of October and I was not asked. he does not like me for some reason and he routinely ignores me. I remember going to his fathers wedding back in the early 80's but for some reason he does not like me and I am left out. I feel kinda sad about it all and I wish we could be friends but he is not like that.

if someone gets a wedding invitation and you can afford to go and buy a wedding present you should go and not complain about it online. you only enjoy yourself at weddings if you have the right attitude and you may meet someone nice. don't treat an invite like a summons or a bill its a good way to meet relatives you have not seen in a long time and its a lot of fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

Foxmint and Pumkinseeds, give it a rest or leave the thread. Simples. Like a pair of 10 year olds bickering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

c_man wrote: »
    Did you not feel bad missing your own sister's wedding wedding? Like cousins and the rest, far enough. But siblings? Not judging or anything, just something I find surprising.

Not really, seemed like an awful lot of hassle. I did give her and the groom a wedding present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Once the wedding is not on a school day that is fine with me, these tuesday or thursday weddings are a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Foxmint

There's been a spate of weddings locally over the past few months. Most of the guests know each other, they'd be at the same weddings and a lot of the weddings have been at the same venue. So essentially the guests have had to shell out to go to the same place and probably eat the same food at each wedding while making the same small talk with the same people at each and every wedding.

Tedious affairs weddings. You could have a nice weekend away for what it costs to attend someone's wedding. We couldn't be bothered with all the fuss and just got married quietly in a registry office.

Why do you decide to go, and then whine about going when you get there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

darkdubh wrote: »
    White women!In Ireland!Never!

I wonder would have been any less boring if it had been a black woman dancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Do you really think the bride and groom are looking around seeing who came or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Nasty auld bitches wearing white to a wedding, unless the OP is in a cult and at a mass wedding, playing the killers might mean it is almost time for the mass suicide, if so OP we hardly knew ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Packrat wrote: »
    Any summons I've ever got only cost me about 250 euro. Last wedding cost me 800 plus.

Breakdown: Card money - 200, diesel - 100, Accom x 2 pax - 100, Two days work lost - 300, Food on journey plus drinks etc x 2 pax - 100

The bride is a longterm friend of mine from tye past, but with 400 at the wedding my other half never even got to meet her (they've never met) I didn't meet the groom. I don't drink, other half is 8 months pregnant so no dancing, We left "early" ie 1am.

Fcuking next invitation is going in the bin. Fcuk that for a game of soldiers.

Dont blame u one bit was invited to a wedding a few months ago The bride and groom both live abroad but came home to get married. Married in local church but receotion was a two hour drive away. They didnt even provide transport for guests to get to reception. The venue was that expensive that everyone was sober because no one would pay the prices for the drink

Foxmint wrote: »
    Read it again. If you don't like weddings, don't go to them or man up if you do go to them, and don't sit at the wedding like a spoiled whining little girl. Simples.

You are just as annoying as the ads thats taken from.

Sitting here bored off my hole watching awkward 50 year old white women dancing awkwardly to the killers fcuk me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭better call saul

Mah nigga

Weddings are great crack normally. What can let them down is a bunch of dry arses sitting in the corner supping their drink judging people for how they dance or what they are wearing the kind of people who have no idea how to have fun unless it centers around them.... OP stay at home next time as you sound like a right miserable git.

Dear lord being mocked on the Internet well I never!

I'm mighty craic, take me to one of my mates weddings and I'll rock the fcuking place

However take me to one of these cnuting mandatory aul fcukers weddings and this thread will be the result

Mah nigga

Where the 50 year old white women at Dog?

darkdubh wrote: »
    Where the 50 year old white women at Dog?

Lol. I didn't mean anything by pointing out their race, few too many drinks on my part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Lol. I didn't mean anything by pointing out their race, few too many drinks on my part

Quite frankly I'm appalled that you had to bring their age and gender into it as well. Have you no shame. And your affront to a common societal occasion is galling.

Not to mention the fact that you thought those people were dancing awkwardly. I mean, if they thought that you thought that, they could feel quite awkward, so it's very self-fulfilling. You should be ashamed of yourself.

"I saw some people dancing in a place" is what you should have said.

You big meanie.

Mah nigga

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I love weddings :)

If you don't want to be there, I don't understand why you'd put yourself out to go when you're clearly not going to enjoy it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

LizT wrote: »

If you don't want to be there, I don't understand why you'd put yourself out to go when you're clearly not going to enjoy it?

Bridezilla and Groomzilla tend to flip when the rsvps start coming in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Icepick

The stupidity of inviting distant relatives and acquaintances is only outdone by their accepting them.

I don't begrudge people their weddings, it's all very exciting for the couple involved. It's just that after a while, most weddings blend into a blur for guests. Most guests accept invitations more out of a sense of obligation than of any real desire to go to a wedding. We all have events we'd rather not attend, but do because we don't want to offend people or upset anyone.

The OP was bored, it's hardly a crime. What's wrong with being bored, it's not like we have to be constantly entertained/entertaining:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

The Th!ng wrote: »

You stayed at home in Antarctica?
    A long way from Rome that is anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

At a wedding and on boards.ie....jayyyyysus if you weren't at that shindig the place would be dead :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

LizT wrote: »

Let's not pretend there isn't a social obligation in many cases, and not just for family members, friends too. I've witnessed serious grudges held against people for not attending weddings, even if a good reason like not being able to afford to attend a foreign wedding.