Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Those Utd fans are going to be broke half expecting a plane over anfield next week to let us know they have gone ahead of us in the table ☺

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Those Utd fans are going to be broke half expecting a plane over anfield next week to let us know they have gone ahead of us in the table ☺

60402000.jpg

Next week is a must win imo.

It's time to start our league season properly.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Next week is a must win imo.

It's time to start our league season properly.

West Brom coming into good form now as well, 3 wins on the spin (including the cup) after a bad start and they are actually ahead of us, like most of the division actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

The team needs to get its sh1t together pronto just to even lay down its credentials for top 4. A win next week is no use unless it's the beginning of a run.

5starpool wrote: »
    West Brom coming into good form now as well, 3 wins on the spin (including the cup) after a bad start and they are actually ahead of us, like most of the division actually.

It's a game that needs to be won by us and kick start the season. I'd be seriously worried if we fail to win again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Any word at all on Sturridge and Allen? CL this week will prob mean Gerrard will be boll@xed on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

LOAN WATCH

Texieria - Unused sub for Brighton & HA in 0-0 away draw against Nottm Forest
    Wisdom - played full game in 4-0 home win over Burnley
    Alberto - Played 72 mins for Malaga in 1-0 defeat away (also played in 0-0 Barca game midweek)
    Ibe - played 76 mins in 2-0 away win for Derby (plenty of good notices)
    Origi - Played full game scoring only goal in 1-0 win for Lille (3rd in Ligue 1)
    Smith - No game for Swindon Town (slight hammy twinge, should be back next game)
    Ilori - Full game for Bordeaux in 2-1 win (top of Ligue 1 table)
    Ossiadi - Stoke play tomorrow
    Coates - no game for Sunderland

Okay get ready for some goals! :D

gafferino wrote: »
    Any word at all on Sturridge and Allen? CL this week will prob mean Gerrard will be boll@xed on Saturday.

They sure do miss a lot of games for us between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭klose

Not going too well for coates, seems to sitting in the stands most of the time, his only start and game was in the league cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

It's a game that needs to be won by us and kick start the season. I'd be seriously worried if we fail to win again

I'd agree entirely. I suspect if we fail to win again opinions of the fans on Rodgers will start to turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Mr Alan wrote: »
    I'd agree entirely. I suspect if we fail to win again opinions of the fans on Rodgers will start to turn.

Ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,416 ✭✭✭mosstin

Mr Alan wrote: »

Indeed but then every club has its quota of idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

mosstin wrote: »
    Indeed but then every club has its quota of idiots.

Agreed. However, starting to lose fans, rightly or wrongly (definitely be wrongly in this instance), can be difficult to recover from. Bottom line, we need a win to keep the wolves away from the door.

I don't think anyone will be turning on Rodgers. Maybe a few on soccer forums across the world, but do they really count in the grand scheme of things?

A win is needed on Saturday tbh, as on current form top 4 will be a serious struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

If we lose there will be growing pressure to bring in a defensive coach more than anything else would be my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Anyone else really happy with out shape in the last 15mins trying to see out the game v Everton? I mean ... until they scored of course! ;). But seriously, you could see Gerard bringing in the players around him and sitting deep, making them go wide and restricting the space - something we've been guilty of not doing in recent times when we need to close the game out, still attacking and overlapping. It is something i've criticized Rodgers many times over it defencively but at least it show he is learning from it ... can't stop the wonder goals no matter what you do but that's football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,657 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I don't think anyone will be turning on Rodgers. Maybe a few on soccer forums across the world, but do they really count in the grand scheme of things?

A win is needed on Saturday tbh, as on current form top 4 will be a serious struggle.

Yes they do, well this one any way, sure isn't where all the papers get their article ideas?

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Yes they do, well this one any way, sure isn't where all the papers get their article ideas?

And identify their transfer targets.

gafferino wrote: »
    And identify their transfer targets.

Higuain, Varane, Reus, Schneiderlin & Neuer for those reading :P

The sooner he can come back, the better for Rodgers and Liverpool. Sturridge was in training on Sunday and joined by the Liverpool manager, who also took part in a series of sprints, slaloms, jogs and agility drills using rope ladders under the eye of two of the club’s coaching staff.

The forward looked pain-free as he completed the workout but the midweek Champions League trip to Basle may be too soon.
    ‘We needed to see if he was going to train on the Friday to get him through to the Saturday but the message on Thursday was that he would struggle,’ said Rodgers. ‘He wasn’t close to playing. I will see how he is (for Basle).

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2772806/Liverpool-need-Daniel-Sturridge-kit-not-suit-bury-chances-wasteful-Mario-Balotelli-missing.html?ITO=1490&ns_mchannel=rss&ns_campaign=1490

If he wasn't close to playing on Saturday I can't see how he will be ready for Wednesday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Best not to play him in Basle, and give him 45 against West Brom, that way he can be plausibly kept back from the England squad.

Either that or Rodgers could tell Hodgson to "feck off, its only San Marino & Estonia"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,909 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Best not to play him in Basle, and give him 45 against West Brom, that way he can be plausibly kept back from the England squad.

Either that or Rodgers could tell Hodgson to "feck off, its only San Marino & Estonia"

If what Nicky Butt said is true Rodgers should just do a Ferguson and tell him he's not going to the England squad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭xabi

dogbert27 wrote: »
    If what Nicky Butt said is true Rodgers should just do a Ferguson and tell him he's not going to the England squad!

What did Butt say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

xabi wrote: »
    What did Butt say?

I thought it was Scholes, but whoever it was said Ferguson never made excuses like fake injuries etc for United players not joining up with the England squad, but outright said you're not going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

dogbert27 wrote: »

I doubt BR has the cojones for that tbh.

It also has the potential to get Sturridge pissed off, and the last thing we need is our best players to be unhappy with management.