Be honest. Is "mail order bride" one of your reactions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Foxmint wrote: »
    That might fit you better than whining about people with better, younger, wives than you have.

I perfer to have my partners be with me because they enjoy my company.

And, as things stand, I cannot have a wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

That might fit you better than whining about people with better, younger, wives than you have.

Better younger wives?? Wow.

What makes a wife 'better''? And why does younger equal better to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

No, but if there is a huge discrepancy in looks then I'd be thinking perhaps it is a marriage of convenience. Although, I'd probably think that about any couple regardless of race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Views human beings as products... but is "a nice guy".

http://lupchan.org/s4s/src/1373535370182.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Another thread gone to sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

osarusan wrote: »
    Another thread gone to sh!t.

It wasn't destined for brilliance to begin with in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Foxmint

Views human beings as products... but is "a nice guy".

Out of arguements so trys to attack the poster . . .

Human beings are not products, some are fitter, younger, sexier, and better partners than others. Simples. That's life. You'll have to get over the jealousy and begrudgery. It's your problem, not theirs.

where as saying "jealous" over and over again is the height of sophisticated debate...

It doesn't require one, it's a very simple case of same, and you're the one that will have to get over it, not the couple.

I am afraid you will have to prove it, unless you are content with your argument only rising to the level seen on playgrounds.

Tourettes type involuntary spasm. Involves zero thought whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Whoah, what's happened AH? I wake up and this place has turned all feminist on me. I've got a warm fuzzy feeling all of a sudden :D

Tourettes type involuntary spasm. Involves zero thought whatsoever.

You've desribed attacking the poster again perfectly.

Unlike yourself I wish such mixed couples all the best, and fair play to them.

Dunno if it's feminist. Just challenging the tiresome over-use and incorrect use of "jealousy" and "begrudgery" as a "debating tactic" when there is zero proof of it, and it is often completely incorrect.

The Fox person is resorting to trolling and putting words in people's mouths now - their debating gets even better.

I am afraid you will have to prove it, unless you are content with your argument only rising to the level seen on playgrounds.

Prove what ? You're the one with the problem, not the couple.

It's her adult choice how she betters her life, not yours, and none of your business.

You know, Bodice Ripper did have a pretty valid question that you outright dodged. How would you feel if you had a daughter, and people viewed her in the way some folks here view women?

Links234 wrote: »
    You know, Bodice Ripper did have a pretty valid question that you outright dodged. How would you feel if you had a daughter, and people viewed her in the way some folks here view women?

I answered it, its her life and her choice how she betters herself, not yours.

How would you feel if you had a son, and people viewed him the same way some folks here view men ?

and you believe sleeping with someone for their money is bettering yourself, if you are female?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Very catty, Wibbs. Very catty indeed.
    Not really. I was talking about a particular kind of individual, not all women, nor most indeed.
    Word. Can't have an opinion on what seems to be an exploitative arrangement without it being about your age and desirability as a woman. Why not go the whole hog and say "your pussy is all dried up and no one wants it."
    Nope. As I said I was speaking of a particular type of woman. I also referenced a particular kind of jealous man in the same post, but that seems to have been missed in the rush for taking offence on behalf of a gender.
    amazing what money can buy.
    And apparently I'm being "catty"?

In any event money is a value added factor in attraction, just as looks are. An accomplished man with a few quid casts a wider net than a man who is not. Few would begrudge a very beautiful woman from "trading up", but apparently some men are to be scolded for doing similar with money.
    why am I envious? I can get a hooker down the road here in two minutes.
    Right so let's compare a whore with what we're talking about here.
    Human beings are not products, some are fitter, younger, sexier, and better partners than others. Simples.
    Pretty much and that goes for both genders with it. There are plenty of men younger, fitter, better looking and more accomplished than me. They have to coin a phrase a "higher market value" than me. So? That's life and the nature of things.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Throw us out some examples of people showing a negative attitude towards men here cheers. Challenging the anti women stuff doesn't count btw.

Stop making sh-t up too - it looks like trolling, you wouldn't be a troll now would you?

I couldn't care less about the mail order bride arrangement thing - I just object when women saying they don't view it as a good thing are told they're jealous/unattractive. It would be fairer to think it through a bit more but that would involve not being unpleasant towards women I suppose.

Telling a guy he's jealous of such an arrangement if he criticised it would be stupid too. People can have negative opinions on things without being jealous like - doesn't matter that there's a fashion of calling people jealous in relation to absolutely anything now; it may not actually be true.

Except that's not even remotely an answer, it's an avoidance

Depends on which views? I'd feel horrible for example if I had a son and he was being viewed in terms of alpha/beta PUA bull****, if that's what you mean?

Wibbs wrote: »

Pretty much and that goes for both genders with it. There are plenty of men younger, fitter, better looking and more accomplished than me. They have to coin a phrase a "higher market value" than me. So? That's life and the nature of things.

Exactly, pleanty of older Irish women bring sexier younger turks home from holiday, and pleanty of older gay irish men bring younger sexier asians home with them. Fair play to them. It's their choice, and they are both adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Demonique wrote: »
    Being from a poorer country doesn't necessarily mean someone is from a poor family themselves.

Most of the people from outside the EU (which includes people from Africa and Asia as well as Americans and Aussies) who are studying at Irish universities would be from well-off families as it costs a lot more for them to study here than it does for a student from the EU.

Lots of my nigerian, middle eatsern and east asian friends studying in UCD pay about ten times the fees I pay

Better younger wives?? Wow.

What makes a wife 'better''? And why does younger equal better to you?

Im so sick of all the ageism online. I see it so much it has me worried about ageing already and Im not even 19 yet

Human beings are not products, some are fitter, younger, sexier, and better partners than others. Simples. That's life. You'll have to get over the jealousy and begrudgery. It's your problem, not theirs.

Not everyone finds younger people attractive

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

and you believe sleeping with someone for their money is bettering yourself, if you are female?
    There's quite the bit of diff between sleeping with someone and marrying them.

Forget money here for a sec and take physical looks. The plain fact is a man or woman going with/marrying someone very good looking is "bettering themselves". Like with money, it isn't the whole picture and it's dodgy if it is, however it's a part of that picture, quite the large part at the start. Good looking = reproductive fitness, an outward expression of genetics and growth in formative years. Goes for both men and women. The only difference between men and women is that men can more easily "earn" reproductive fitness. Being wealthy means any children that are produced have a better start and more options in life. This went double in the past when women were unequal, though even today it still tends to hold. The richer a man is the wider net he can cast and the more beautiful a woman is the wider net she can cast. Now that will likely change somewhat as more and more women become richer and it'll balance out but it seems pretty dug in as a tendency.

From this wiki link .

"Studies of heterosexual mate selection in dozens of countries around the world have found men and women report prioritizing different traits when it comes to choosing a mate, with men tending to prefer women who are young and attractive and women tending to prefer men who are rich, well-educated, ambitious, and attractive.[8] Evolutionary psychologists contend this is an inherent sex difference arising out of sexual selection, with men driven to seek women who will give birth to healthy babies and women driven to seek men who will be able to provide the necessary resources for the family's survival."

But this may change:

"Social learning theorists, however, say women value men with high earning capacity because women's own ability to earn is constrained by their disadvantaged status in a male-dominated society[citation needed]. They argue that as societies shift towards becoming more gender-equal, women's mate selection preferences will shift as well. Some research supports that theory,[9] including a 2012 analysis of a survey of 8,953 people in 37 countries, which found that the more gender-equal a country, the likelier male and female respondents were to report seeking the same qualities as each other rather than different ones"

However even among the more educated and accomplished the old saw seems to still hold:

Townsend (1989) surveyed medical students regarding their perception of how the availability of marriage partners changed as their educational careers advanced. Eighty-five percent of the women indicated that "As my status increases, my pool of acceptable partners decreases" (p. 246). In contrast, 90% of men felt that "As my status increases, my pool of acceptable partners increases" (p. 246).[11]

That's one helluva contrast.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

bb1234567 wrote: »

That's true. But pretty much every single study, ever, shows that the vast majority of men do prefer younger women.

OkCupid compiles and releases all sorts of data and it's all pretty clear.
    http://readwrite.com/2010/02/22/old_guys_dig_young_women_other_creepy_facts_from_o

bb1234567 wrote: »

You left out the fitter and sexier bit. Not everyone finds jealous, or begrudging, or bitter or old worn out Irish gold diggers attractive either. It's other peoples problem, not the couples.

Everyone finds fitter and sexier people more attractive because thats what those words mean. But you put younger in there like as if young =sexier. You can be older and still sexy and fit

If you sleep with someone for their money, yous a hooker. If you marry some based on their looks alone, you're shallow, and if that person takes off in favor of a better deal, you got what you deserved.