The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭dibkins

Making some confit duck leg for dinner. My brother made a lovely salad with them a while back - peppers, tiny toast and pine nuts. There was an orange dressing too, but i'm not a huge fan.
    I was going to have them with the peppers and pine nuts, and maybe do some balsamic red onion too. Anything else that would be good alongside? (also, little gem lettuce).

Just seen the butternut squash above, might be good for the sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Aldi have silicon baking moulds on special this week. Just made a banana loaf without having to grease and then line the tin with baking parchment.

It just fell out of the mould..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Srsly. How hard is it to make butter dishes the size of actual butter?

and because of this, I'm limited to buying the smaller butter blocks, which by weight, works out more expensive to buy than the larger blocks (well, this applies to virtually everything in a grocery store)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

B0jangles wrote: »
    I made these last night:

http://damndelicious.net/2014/02/14/garlic-smashed-potatoes/

But I used homemade garlic butter instead of oiland I forgot the thyme; they were very very tasty indeed.

What potatoes did you use? baby?
    These look epic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

What potatoes did you use? baby?
    These look epic.

I used the baby potatoes Dunnes have in their special offer at the moment - they are labelled either "Emily" or "Maris Peer" depending on which batch it is. Both are lovely little spuds, not like the watery "Cultra" that most other places have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭Moody_mona

They sound gorgeous bojangles, gonna try them out later!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

janmaree wrote: »
    To Faith:

I know from your posts that you try to limit sugar indulgence but I just wondered, now that you're in Canada, if you've discovered "Butter Tarts" yet? I spent my early childhood there and Mum always made them, even when we moved back home. I make them now and they're dangerous.........I have discovered that they can even be eaten straight from the freezer. God help me. Must make a batch now because I've got them in my head again! Hope you're settling in happily. J.

I have never heard of these! What are they, and where would I find them?

I'm back to being a sugar monster at the moment. The stress of emigrating and the stress of being unemployed was too much for us. We couldn't add the stress of a restrictive diet to the mix! So until I'm gainfully employed, I'll stuff my face with Canadian treats :D

Speaking of (kind of), we were in the US on Monday and I got my grubby paws on a Cinnabon. Holy god, it is truly the stuff of dreams. It had been 7 years since I last had one, and it was every bit as amazing as I remembered. I'll edit the post with a picture momentarily (stoopid ipad will lose this post if I leave the tab :rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

alie wrote: »
    On a whim i bought a butternut squash but now i dont know what to do with it. Im thinking soup but i also saw you can use it for muffins. Anyone have a tried and tested recepie.

Butternut squash filled with a brown lentils and rice, covered in crumbled feta and pine nuts and baked.

It's very simple : cut the butternut squash in half and scoop out the seeds.
    Rub some salt and pepper into it, sit the two halves on a baking tray and bake for about 30 minutes.

In the meantime, cook some rice (brown rice works well), and cook the brown lentils the way you would a risotto - sweat off an onion, add the lentils and add stock to cover them, then keep adding stock and let it simmer until the lentils are soft. Mix with the rice and season with salt and pepper.

Fill the mixture into the squash halves, crumble some feta over everything and finally some pine nuts.
    Return to the oven for another 10-15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

and because of this, I'm limited to buying the smaller butter blocks, which by weight, works out more expensive to buy than the larger blocks (well, this applies to virtually everything in a grocery store)

I just use the butter dish to portion out the butter...

I keep the block of butter in the fridge, and a thick slice of butter in the butter dish on the counter. That way, the butter stays fresh longer, and you still have spreadable butter when you need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

Faith wrote: »
    I have never heard of these! What are they, and where would I find them?

They're little shortcrust pastry tartlets, usually with a few currants or raisins in the bottom and a butter, brown sugar, vanilla, egg mixture poured on top and baked. A bit like a pecan pie filling, without the pecans and a little sharper in flavour. Some people cook the filling before baking but I don't, they bake fine with a bit of care. You should be able to find them in local bakeries but if not, there are lots of recipes out there, "Best of Bridge" have one on their website, "Joy of Baking" and Canadian Living both have recipes, there are loads of them out there. If you find them or get a chance to make them, I'd be surprised if you didn't become a fan. I believe it's easy to find frozen pastry shells in the supermarkets out there too so you don't even have to make pastry!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Faith wrote: »
    Speaking of (kind of), we were in the US on Monday and I got my grubby paws on a Cinnabon. Holy god, it is truly the stuff of dreams. It had been 7 years since I last had one, and it was every bit as amazing as I remembered. I'll edit the post with a picture momentarily (stoopid ipad will lose this post if I leave the tab :rolleyes: )

The upload wouldn't cooperate earlier, so here it is now, in all its glory:

My5rCcsl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

Heaven on a fork, that's what cinnamon buns are! I'm getting homesick.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,487 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

They are nom nom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Shenshen wrote: »
    I just use the butter dish to portion out the butter...

I keep the block of butter in the fridge, and a thick slice of butter in the butter dish on the counter. That way, the butter stays fresh longer, and you still have spreadable butter when you need it.

I do something this too, as I'm the only butter eater in the house, I fill 3-4 Glass dishes (Glen Ilen I love you) from 1 Lb butter, I skim the tops over to keep them from oxidising, wrap in cling film and take one out for counter use as required. It's then in a very unstylish Co-Op glass butterdish for daily use.

P.S. The Co-Op dish will tale a 1lb block no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,950 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

That's yet another thing I forgot to eat when I was in the states a few weeks ago. Dammit :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I bought some chorizo sausages because I'm doing the Chorizo and Chicken Rice dish featured in the Cooking Club, but what will I do with the rest of the chorizo once I've used the amount I require?

I'm fairly new to chorizo...I don't want to waste what's left, so what can I do with it?

I bought this type: http://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=268558488

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I just chop up chorizo finely and fry on a low heat in a dry pan so all the fat comes out of it. Then mix an egg in ontop of it, the oil from it is lovely.

The stuff you pointed to is raw soft chorizo, I only noticed this in tesco recently. The cured stuff is more common so be careful of what recipies you find as most might be talking about the harder cured stuff.

I am not sure what differnce it will make to recipes just noting it has to be cooked.

I often just eat the cured stuff in slices with no further cooking.

I always planned on mixing raw stuff into burger patties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭emaleth

fussyonion wrote: »
    I bought some chorizo sausages because I'm doing the Chorizo and Chicken Rice dish featured in the Cooking Club, but what will I do with the rest of the chorizo once I've used the amount I require?

I'm fairly new to chorizo...I don't want to waste what's left, so what can I do with it?

I bought this type: http://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=268558488

I would cut it into chunks or thick slices, and sauté on a medium high heat until crispy around the edges. Pour in enough red wine to come half to three quarters of the way up the side of your chorizo, bubble like mad for a few minutes and then dig in with a baguette. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

I'd probably go ahead and just put it all in the chorizo & rice dish because I love chorizo so, so much (but that might make the final product oilier than you are happier with so maybe don't follow in my hungry, hungry hippo footsteps).

Chorizo is the best friend of pulses. Chickpea or Butterbean & chorizo stew is a lazy tins-from-the-press dinner in my place. It's lovely in homemade baked beans or, as iwantmydinner did the other day, roasted with potatoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭dibkins

Chorizo and red pepper scrambled eggs. Nom.

Just be careful frying it, if the heat is too high it will burn pronto.

Ah here lads I'm dribbling here! All those ideas sound fab-loving the egg idea, rubadub, and MissFlitworth I REALLY like that idea....*runs away to start cooking*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Fry some chorizo in a pan, add some chopped red onions, then some cubed pre-cooked potatoes (or halved pre-cooked new potatoes), add some greens (mangetout, green beans, green pepper), then serve with a runny fried egg! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Definitely a staple in the Merkin house! Chorizo is great in paella and other Spanish dishes. I also put in Spaghetti bolognese. Also good with baked eggs done in the oven and my personal favourite is a salted pollock and chorizo dish which is the first thing Mr. Merkin cooked for me. It's a great ingredient and keeps well so don't worry about it going off quickly or anything.

Merkin wrote: »
    Definitely a staple in the Merkin house! Chorizo is great in paella and other Spanish dishes. I also put in Spaghetti bolognese. Also good with baked eggs done in the oven and my personal favourite is a salted pollock and chorizo dish which is the first thing Mr. Merkin cooked for me. It's a great ingredient and keeps well so don't worry about it going off quickly or anything.

The only thing is, on the packet it says "Keep refridgerated. Once open, use within 2 days" :confused:

I'm pretty sure you can freeze it; I have a pack in my freezer anyway:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

fussyonion wrote: »
    The only thing is, on the packet it says "Keep refridgerated. Once open, use within 2 days" :confused:

I've left it in there for a couple of weeks at a time and am still here! Cured meats tend to keep quite well but best to err on the side of caution I suppose.

I'm sure you will all want to hear my one story about chorizo, so here it goes:

Last christmas, my good friend who is a professional chef gave me a very high quality raw chorizo sausage. When I finally opened it, I only used it in small pieces in scrambled eggs and tortillas so as to make it last longer. One night, over the christmas period My Brother found my beautiful chorizo while in a late-night drunken haze and proceeded to hack off chunks to eat while watching bad movies. Not only did he eat a pile of my chorizo, he used the knife so badly that he poked holes in the membrane all over it so that it went bad really quickly. I texted him the next morning to ask had he seriously been eating my wonderful chorizo "like it was fúcking billy roll" and he admitted his crime.

Punishment? Squitters for 3 days as a result of eating fecking Raw Chorizo.

Merkin wrote: »
    I've left it in there for a couple of weeks at a time and am still here! Cured meats tend to keep quite well but best to err on the side of caution I suppose.

The chorizo I bought is raw though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Mrs Fox

Chorizo goes superbly well with prawns. Yum.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Chorizo freezes very well :)