Have you ever been broken into?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭Minjor

Drawers pulled out, stuff scattered all over the place, possessions stolen. You feel like your privacy has been invaded, not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

Yes a good few years ago.

Happened whilst I was in bed and didn't hear a thing.
    Downstairs the kitchen and sitting room were all messed from where they were searching for money.
    All presses and drawers open, all pockets in coats and other clothing turned inside out.

They got a mobile phone, wallet and even more cash.

I am usually the type if I hear a strange noise, I have to go investigate it or else I know I won't sleep.
    I didn't hear a thing that night and the Guards said probably best that I hadn't woken to confront the group. They found different footprints in the kitchen under the window they jemmied open. Some came in the back door too, and also found a few fingerprints on the window itself.

Nobody ever caught though.

It's a strange creepy feeling to wonder if they came upstairs and saw me sleeping. What would have happened if I woke up, would they have ran or attacked me? Why didn't I wake up to all that commotion?

I can still sleep through a tv being on or people talking, but nowadays it's like my brain is hardwired to hear out of place noises even in my sleep. The tiniest little creak from a door, a very low little thud if someone drops even something light and I will wake,my eyes shoot open and I am bolt upright in the bed listening to hear more.

If I don't hear people I still go to investigate noises but am a bit more cautious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Where I live is very quiet so fingers crossed. But I still sleep with a massive knife under the bed......as in Crocodile Dundee "that's not a knife, that's a knife" type knife.

Was broken into when I lived in Derry. Heard the door being pushed in in the middle of the night. I always kept a big handful of coins on bedroom table so grabbed them and headed out. Met this young pr1ck in the hallway and fecked the coins at his face while screaming abuse. Didn't stay in that place much longer - main door security was crap despite a "security guard" being on duty at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Birneybau wrote: »
    Did they nick your glasses?

No, but the idea of waking up and needing to put on glasses really worried me, I was blind as a bat without them. In those kinds of situations a few seconds to find and put on glasses is a long time.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Ava_e wrote: »
    Tormented by scummy people

Yep, my dad had a large house and a bit of land that backed onto a not very nice estate. They would regularly drink behind his wall, and smash bottles against it every night. Fight, scream abuse, the Gaurds called all the time.

My dads a gentle soul, lived on his own liked box sets, music, good people and animals for company. But scum would regularly taunt him and abuse him, when he used to go and clean up the broken bottles outside his house. He was fed up enough that he confronted them one night, told them to clear off. They knocked at his door 1 day later and punched him in the face, knocking his teeth into his gums, and his mind into next week. They threatened more. He planned to move out within the month. He was that stressed.

House was on sale, he had the cash, it was all good.

He had a sudden heart attack at home later that month, it killed him on the living room floor despite the best efforts of my brother and the Dublin paramedics, he was pronounced dead on arrival at hospital. His house was vacant for 3 days while my mother, bother and myself, made funeral arrangements for our dad. Within that time his house was raided of all it's belongings, (they were drinking by the back wall while dad was being carried out to the ambulance) they even tried to set fire to his bedroom to hide all traces.

Yea, there are scummy people about, my sympathy goes out to anyone who has been broken into.

My God Ava_e :( that makes me sick to my stomach!!! I hope they rot in hell who ever they were.. shocking!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Once, two years ago in rented accommodation. It was one of the only times I went home and my housemates were all gone that weekend too. Came back to find a brick through the kitchen window and my housemates laptop gone. The landlord was almost as scummy though because he tried to blame us for it, telling us it didn't add up and that it was a bit odd that someone would try and rob us, despite the fact that we were in the middle of a bad estate where there were break ins every day of the week. It was only when the guards had a word with him about it, that he stopped trying to charge us for damages. Laptop was never recovered though and it was a few weeks before the window was replaced. Needless to say, we had more problems with that landlord as the year progressed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Thanks for posting these.
    Are they worth purchasing? Any problems?

The motion sensor seems to trigger during the day, not sure if its the light changing. Im using them so Ill have pictures if broken into rather that a constant alert. The company dont want to store private data so you have to set it up to mail via smtp. There are youtube videos for this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Yep, Easter weekend last year, on the Thursday, my boyfriend had come over to pick me up from work so the house had been empty 40 mins max in total, got home and they had put the front door through. Took a few seconds for it to hit what had actually happened, then just felt physically sick, went in and the c*nts had took so much, Tv, laptops, Tablet, digital cameras, Games consoles, games, medication , money, all my jewellery , including a locket with a pic a close deceased relative. The took his runners from the living room (ones he had worn, not like new in a box or anything) the scum even took a big bag of easter eggs I had there for my nephews/nieces. We called the guards and when the did eventually come the told us they had a fair idea who it was as there "was a group of people they were keeping their eye on" not keeping a great eye on them if the got into my house!! Nothhing was ever done about it and I never got any of my stuff back. Horrible horrible feeling, I was terrified in the house for ages afterwards, couldn't sleep unless there was a light on and was so jumpy at every single noise, even now over a year later, I am quite weary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Its scary reading all this. I hope it never happens to me. But if it does, they can take anything but the laptop, I've got my life on that. Where do people hide stuff, just in case, the attic?

Or perhaps, create a little diversion for the scumbags and keep one of the small locked safes. The small carry ones but an empty one, off with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

we were broken into a few years back,I was awake.Grabbed portable tv and stood on top of the stairs,ready to smash it into the head of the intruder,

lol :pac:

i've heard of baseball bats and hurley sticks but a TV now thats original

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭columf

Its scary reading all this. I hope it never happens to me. But if it does, they can take anything but the laptop, I've got my life on that. Where do people hide stuff, just in case, the attic?

Or perhaps, create a little diversion for the scumbags and keep one of the small locked safes. The small carry ones but an empty one, off with them.

Not a bad Idea A neighbor had a safe in his bedroom closet for years and he never bothered to use it. Same man is in his 60's and was out the front cutting his lawn one day and left the back door of the house open the little ****ers went in the house searched the house while he was out the front they found the safe and must have taught they had the money of the house as that's all they took. I had to grin they passed up small mobile electronics like tablets phone laptop and good cameras like a eos 1d and a Leica they even passed by a Breitling watch. He got me to fit cctv to the house as a deterrent. I'm just glad he did not walk into the house on them as he forgets he is not in his 30's anymore and he would have a go.
    Same little ****s went on a spree around Nenagh hit 5 or 6 places all of them the targets were over 60. Guards were nice enough the found the safe in a ditch pried open. Bobby said he hope it broke their hearts trying to open it. I said he should have left a note in it saying "ha ha"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭bluestrattos

once (which is more than enough).

I didn't pay attention to the signs like calling the intercom apartment, just to check if someone was living there.

So one Friday as I was getting out of work, I got a call from the landlord saying someone broke into the apartment. One of my neighbours noticed the damage at the door, and then rung the landlord, who called the Gardai and later the forensic guy also dropped buy to collect evidence, but of course they never got the culprit.
    It's been 5 years now, I moved since then, but now, if someone ring the intercom, I will always check from the balcony first, or if someone knocks at the doors I open it holding a hockey stick in my hand (but hidden behind the door - I don't want to scare my neighbours :) )

I am pretty security conscious and a DIY freak. I have never really been "broken" into as a result - I think if anyone has considered it they probably scoped out the house and then just moved on.

But one night we did leave a garden sliding door open and the security blinds open. A rare over sight.

I just happened to wake up that night and feel the need for a glass of water. I proceeded through the room with the garden door as my route to the kitchen where I found a not altogether unpleasant young man (not a total junkie by any means) sitting with his back against the wall with my pet wolf glaring him out of it with the occasional baring of teeth.

In a broken and quiet voice - having seen me - he just said "Dude - been here - hours - get this thing - away from me - pleeeeeeease". Seemingly the faithful hound had threatened him not only if he tried to move - but if he made any moves to sleep either. So he was kept there in a permanent state of fear and wakefulness for some time.

I calmly proceeded to the kitchen - had my water - stuck the kettle on - called the police - made the young reprobate a nice tea - gave it to him - sat down on a couch near by and turned late night television on - and basically we both watched TV until the Guards arrived.

As a break in goes - it was about as pleasant and cordial as it gets. Still I installed a sensor/timer thing on all my doors. If one is open at a certain time - a polite but insistent buzzer now goes off. Have not left a door open since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Do burglars really care about alarms in this day and age? we have one on the house but the amount of times we hear them going off and nobody gives it a second thought. If anything, alot of people are of the opinion that hopefully it will be switched off (presume its a fault) rather than presuming its a burglary.

Did the burglars see you guys had an alarm? and if so did they chance it even though they didn't know ye didn't set it? If so, this indicates zero fear of setting the thing off

I don't think the majority of them care about alarms no, I don't have an alarm in my house I'd like one to be honest but I think it's more a deterrent than anything. I have two German shepherds which I think is more off putting for a burglar than an alarm as it means rather than getting caught they probably won't leave without pieces of them missing.

Touch wood I haven't been broken into yet, but I know a lot of houses in my area have and houses that have decent alarm systems.

Last year two scumbags tried to climb over my back wall late one night. I was sitting out the back garden having a smoke and heard them rummaging up the shed and on to the wall, the dogs were straight down to greet them though and they didn't stay long...I didn't even need to get up!

Horrible thing to happen to anyone who's been victim of it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭TheJackAttack

ONE TIME I HEARD SOMETHING DOWNSTAIRS AND I WENT DOWN THERE WAS NOTHING THERE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

Had my back door smashed in once.

was grand!

Never had the house broken into but was robbed in temple bar about 10 years ago. Was walking along where Dorans used to be texting missus dude when a junkie grabbed me, pushed me against the wall & took my phone. Him & his decrepit junkie girlfriend then started screaming & shouting about how I'd raped his sister (obviously I didn't, I wouldn't put my knob anywhere near a zombie).

Scared the ****e out of me. A little while later I went around to the O2 on Westmoreland street to get the phone blacklisted. Mr & missus junkie where in there trying to get a price on my phone. Security grabbed them & they both got arrested. I was fairly lucky to be fair. Just before I'd entered Temple bar I'd taken a few hundred quid out of an atm to go buy a new bass. I didn't care too much about the phone but would have been going ape **** if he had of taken the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Never had the house broken into but was robbed in temple bar about 10 years ago. Was walking along where Dorans used to be texting missus dude when a junkie grabbed me, pushed me against the wall & took my phone. Him & his decrepit junkie girlfriend then started screaming & shouting about how I'd raped his sister (obviously I didn't, I wouldn't put my knob anywhere near a zombie).

Scared the ****e out of me. A little while later I went around to the O2 on Westmoreland street to get the phone blacklisted. Mr & missus junkie where in there trying to get a price on my phone. Security grabbed them & they both got arrested. I was fairly lucky to be fair. Just before I'd entered Temple bar I'd taken a few hundred quid out of an atm to go buy a new bass. I didn't care too much about the phone but would have been going ape **** if he had of taken the money.

Read a good tip online a couple of months ago. Get yourself a pound shop wallet, use some old credit cards or an old debit card, get a tesco club card or something, put some receipts in, and put some money into it like a small amount, like 15 euro or something. It looks like a real wallet and if you're ever robbed give them that.

I should probably make this myself cause I walk alone a lot and I'm terrified of being robbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Got broken into about 10 years ago on Christmas Eve morning, but we got woken up and thankfully they only got away with a camcorder after legging it out the front (looked like teenagers on the glimpse I got). Only about 3 hours later when was looking for a t-shirt I washed the day before did I notice it was missing, then we note ed a few other things missing. Then in one of the cars out the front, we noticed it had been opened, keys still in the door, and was literally packed with about half the house inside it. Also all the large knives were missing from the kitchen.

Maybe the most disturbing part of it was that I was a teenager at the time, had been out in town, and got to sleep around 4.45-5am, no more than 20 minutes or so before they broke in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Another one was about 7 years ago in Dundalk, right along the river. I was 20 and doing door to door sales for (ironically enough) Eircom Phonewatch alarms, knocked in a door a little before 5pm, saw people in the sitting room (terraced houses, no/small front gardens) but there was no answer. It was a few guys so I figured they were either students and the likes no bothered answering, or with the amount of movement going on they may have been doing the house up, the white lace blinds were drawn so I only saw a few silhouettes.

Anyway, we had a system where you called to a certain amount of houses in the afternoon and went back around to the ones that didn't answer in the evening (since they were likely people at work). Knocked back around half seven, and a woman in her early 30s come out in a flood of tears because her house had been robbed and pretty much completely cleared out, even most of the carpets.

Gave statements to the Gards, but apart from times and knowing there were at least 3 people in there couldn't be of much use. Felt pretty awful about it.

Then I got sh*t for not hard selling the alarm on her from some people above me... quit within 2 weeks of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BlibBlab

myshirt wrote: »
    Ava_e - sorry to hear about your father. That is a very sad set of circumstances.

You reminded me of a chap who's son died at 19.
    3 little **** broke into the house, knowing it was vacant during the funeral, and amongst other things tore up this chap's youngest sons communion suit for his communion that saturday. As if they hadn't enough heartache.

This is the mentality that I just don't understand at all. I mean you can understand to an extent the motive of robbing a place for cash or valuables, but to destroy things just for the sake of it is just mindless. I hope they were caught.
    We've never been robbed, thankfully, but unfortunately every one of our neighbours has. We live in a rural area and there's 4 houses, including ours, on one side of the road and 1 house on the other side of the road and all of them have been broke into, one of them has been done twice. Only difference between us and the neighbours is that we have 2 german shepherds, who aren't very fond of strangers and very vocal about that, and a shotgun.
    The neighbour right beside us was broke into in the middle of last year and she had a stroke towards the end of last year and she's not great since then so we keep an eye on her. Late last year she was at home and she heard someone pull up outside and start poking around trying to find a way into the house, she said our dogs kicked off barking like maniacs and whoever it was legged it, they couldn't get back into the car fast enough, and no sign of them since.
    All our neighbours are elderly so we try to keep an eye out for them.

I live in a rural area too, we've two good guard dogs that spot anyone coming near the house. We've never been broken into, but a few of our neighbours have, one has been hit a few times over the years. The one thing they all had in common was they didn't have a dog. Anyone with a dog on the road has never been hit, I'd highly recommend a decent sized dog where possible for anyone living in the country. There was a lad caught a few years back with a list of houses in the area and whether they had dogs and alarms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

ONE TIME I HEARD SOMETHING DOWNSTAIRS AND I WENT DOWN THERE WAS NOTHING THERE.

Would have been better if it was a skeleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Yep, quite surprised myself the speed and aggression with which I flipped into chasing them down the stairs shouting blue bloody murder.
    Didn't sleep right till after I moved though. Scumbags.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 Moist Mittens

Someone is always smashing my back door in :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭markc1184

How did he get caught?

He was seen getting over fences at the back of the house and he left fingerprints around the house. All in all he was done for breaking into 7 houses in the local area.