The brits with their yachts full of coke, oh dear will they ever learn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

I remember many years ago, the early eighties on Tramore Beach, a group of us were camping & motor boats came in from a boat further out & Landrovers were there to meet them. This was during the height of the summer season before the airport was built. I never saw though what was brought in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

The level of drinking on the Aran islands by the local fishermen has to be seen to be believed. Many of them can't remember where they parked the boat.
    Some of them break into Spanish when they should be doing Irish for the tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I think it is Inis Beag that the State has been trying for several years to buy just a tiny parcel of land so they can build the islands first ever Garda station. No islander will sell them even a blade of grass because they fear the Garda will put an end to virtual 24 hour drinking on the island. If any man sells land for a Garda station to be set up he'll be like a pariah in the community.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I think it is Inis Beag that the State has been trying for several years to buy just a tiny parcel of land so they can build the islands first ever Garda station. No islander will sell them even a blade of grass because they fear the Garda will put an end to virtual 24 hour drinking on the island. If any man sells land for a Garda station to be set up he'll be like a pariah in the community.

Inish Thiar. And the crucifix and petrol are ready for the first bastard who sells out to the mainlanders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Jogathon wrote: »
    Here on the South Coast drug boats are common. Of course, the local shopkeepers and publicans can only guess and assume, but it can be quite obvious when sailors don't know much about local fishing etc.

And I suppose nobody considers it their business to pass their suspicions on to the Gardai. :rolleyes:

Sure the guards get great work looking the other way and even doing a few nixers loading / unloading. Its only when some cowboy with a career plan gets involved that things go pear shaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭bur

Difference this will make.

None.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Good user name... Very judgemental.

Would we have to report every British tourist who doesn't know much about fishing? The guys that stay here would not be the sailors who come across the Atlantic. I think that they are the meet and greet party. Certainties are one thing, hunches are another. Also, there are many lovely and innocent tourists here who come for the fishing. These drugs guys have a brilliant excuse to be here. I am not someone who comes in contact with them in my job, but I would think that if the hunch was strong enough then the gardai would be informed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Armelodie wrote: »
    even better though as its now being counted as part of our GDP!!

More giveaways in the budget :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

but it can be quite obvious when sailors don't know much about local fishing etc.

They're in good company, plenty clueless 'sailors' around our waters, whether it's fellas with more money than sense in big yachts and speedboats or lads putting to sea with kids playthings purchased from Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

Great job by the Navy, shows the new ships have been a good investment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Eh, that would make it more difficult to get cocaine... duh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,319 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Muahahaha wrote: »

Brilliant, but surely just a pub legend.
    Presumably it would be straightforward enough to just CPO some land if they really wanted to build a garda station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Good user name... Very judgemental.

Would we have to report every British tourist who doesn't know much about fishing? The guys that stay here would not be the sailors who come across the Atlantic. I think that they are the meet and greet party. Certainties are one thing, hunches are another. Also, there are many lovely and innocent tourists here who come for the fishing. These drugs guys have a brilliant excuse to be here. I am not someone who comes in contact with them in my job, but I would think that if the hunch was strong enough then the gardai would be informed.

Your post that I commented on seemed to indicate that it was obvious who the drug importers were and now you're backtracking...