If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Robbed from twitter

When the last penalty was taken

ByQNaamIYAAYhmZ.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Should have kept him this season IMO , with the current form of markovic and lallana I'd throw him in for a few games

What's wrong with the form of Lallana? He was one of our best players tonight. I think he will be very very good for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Only really caught the second half of normal time but despite it not being a great performance there were probably one or two positives we could take from it, Lallana being the biggest, I thought he looked a class above everyone else on the pitch. Enrique also had a good game, if you include Flanagan we are now extremely well stocked at left back. We didn't seem to give away too many chances, but then again it was weaker opposition that we faced, very disappointing to concede from a set piece again. Was keeping a close eye on Sakho and didn't think he done too badly, he hit one beautiful cross field pass to Sterling late on.

Was it just me or did we line up slightly different tonight with Rossiter and Lucas operating as two deeper midfielders? Again hard to know because it was against championship opposition but it seemed to work out a bit better than playing just the one anchorman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

gafferino wrote: »
    What's wrong with the form of Lallana? He was one of our best players tonight. I think he will be very very good for us.

Didn't see the game tonight but from what I've seen so far lallana looks rusty, Ibe was immense in post season and pre season and I think he deserves a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Didn't see the game tonight but from what I've seen so far lallana looks rusty, Ibe was immense in post season and pre season and I think he deserves a shot.

Of course Lallana has looked rusty. He had no pre season and is only back 2 weeks. He has gradually gotten better over those games and put in a good performance last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Ratings for last night:

Mignolet - No control over the box, making me very nervous every time the ball comes in to the box

Enrique - Great to have him back, adds a bit more pace going forward

Sakho - Had a good game, solid at the back for the most part

Toure - Insane first half, followed by a solid second half (apart from his leroy jenkins moment for the second boro goal)

Manquillo - Good performance, is starting to settle in.

Lallana - Brilliant game and no where near full fitness, exciting times ahead

Lucas - Decent performance, cant complain

Rossiter - Made up for him, great performance.

Markovic - Pretty quiet game, he's still only young so im not that worried just yet

Sterling - Great performance apart from the second goal brain fart

Lambert - Eh....... no, hes a impact striker. Not a game starter

Subs:

Williams - Solid performance, cool peno for his debut

Ballotelli - Tried to impact on the game but got no service, had to make it work for himself.

Suso - Great return game, nice goal too. I reckon he should be ahead of Borini/Lambert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,905 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Of course Lallana has looked rusty. He had no pre season and is only back 2 weeks. He has gradually gotten better over those games and put in a good performance last night.

Yeah, looked like he was getting his form back from his Southampton days and took his two penalties really well.

After the first few games there was the fear of the move and price tag affecting him like Henderson but I don't see that now.

Think he will be a great player for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Thought Lallana has a decent game myself. We do have a serious goal keeping problem that needs to be sorted ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭slingerz

Thought Suso looked more of an option than Markovic ever did anyway

Would have Suso in the squad/team more often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Vicxas wrote: »
    Ratings for last night:

Mignolet - No control over the box, making me very nervous every time the ball comes in to the box
    Enrique - Great to have him back, adds a bit more pace going forward
    Sakho - Had a good game, solid at the back for the most part
    Toure - Insane first half, followed by a solid second half (apart from his leroy jenkins moment for the second boro goal)
    Manquillo - Good performance, is starting to settle in.
    Lallana - Brilliant game and no where near full fitness, exciting times ahead
    Lucas - Decent performance, cant complain
    Rossiter - Made up for him, great performance.
    Markovic - Pretty quiet game, he's still only young so im not that worried just yet
    Sterling - Great performance apart from the second goal brain fart
    Lambert - Eh....... no, hes a impact striker. Not a game starter
    Subs:
    Williams - Solid performance, cool peno for his debut
    Ballotelli - Tried to impact on the game but got no service, had to make it work for himself.
    Suso - Great return game, nice goal too. I reckon he should be ahead of Borini/Lambert

Can't argue with any of that. I think we c*cked up as a team for their first, just didn't set up well to defend that cross. The second was two mistakes from two tired players, should never have been in that position.

Manquillo, Lallana and Sterling were my top 3. Lambert was pure awful, and Markovic really needs to get to the tune of his team-mates, which I am sure he will. But despite going to penos, we were pretty decent. With Sturridge instead of Lambert, we win by a couple...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Marckovic reminded me of modric last ngt..his playing style..hopefully be just as good..its very hard for the midfielders to be effective when there are no darting runs made by the forwards for them to use their talents to pass to them..

Prob why cout has looked bad tbh..nobody to pass to regulary..

Well he was excellent last night (I think he got MOTM?). I dont think he has done himself any discredit in the other games he played either. Remember this is a player who had virtually no pre-season so it is no surprise he could be a bit rusty. A couple of weeks and he should be up to speed hopefully.

Imagine if this fella goes on to be half as good as the other lad. Fair play to him he did well last night.

0707__7212__jord8_513X307.jpg

hqdefault.jpg

http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/latest-news/171258-br-tonight-was-about-our-young-stars

"Tonight was a good night for our young players," Rodgers told reporters during his post-match press conference. "Young Jordan Rossiter could walk to Anfield; he just lives round the corner. I was delighted for him. He got the opportunity and showed wonderful composure to get his finish.

"I was also impressed with young Jordan Williams, he came on and showed really good stature and composure in the game. He is a wonderful footballer and a young player that is developing well.

A mention for young Suso," insisted Rodgers. "He hasn't had a lot of game time but he has kept working every day and I thought when he came on he was really bright for us and took his goal really well."

http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/latest-news/171243-rodgers-we-are-showing-our-fight

"I was obviously pleased to get through and that experience, even though it was a long night for everyone, was great for our young players. It's good to win, no matter how you win.

"We played OK in the game; we didn't create a great deal, to be honest, but we showed good perseverance to keep going. Like the way it is at the moment, we made too many mistakes and we got punished for that in the game.

"We're making mistakes at the moment - too many mistakes. The first goal I was disappointed with, and even more so the second goal.

"Tonight is good for our spirit and camaraderie in the group, to win like that. Now we have a bit of time to prepare and get ready for a massive game at the weekend."

"Adam is still probably in his pre-season phase because he hasn't played over the course of pre-season due to injury," the boss added. "So for him to get the game time was really good.

"I was really impressed with Jose Enrique, because I watched Albert Adomah [his opposite number] in the Championship when I was with Swansea City and I know how good a player he is and how fast he is. There's not many fitter than Albert. Jose came in and played the whole game against him. I thought he was outstanding."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You'd swear 'Young' was their first names :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Based on current form, Suso is probably a better option than Markovic at minute.

Give him a new deal Brendao!
    Super-Rush wrote: »

Sterling, 19, is currently on £30,000-a-week, his deal expires in 2017 and Liverpool were expected to reward his progress with a new deal.

The Mirror reported in April that Sterling was in line for a new deal after his impressive form for the Reds which helped forced his way into England’s World Cup set-up. He is currently one of the smaller earners in the Liverpool set-up and his contract is dwarfed by almost all of his England team mates.

But boss Brendan Rodgers last month insisted Sterling must wait for a new deal - and that has encouraged Real Madrid.

Rodgers said last month: “When you reward young players too quickly – Raheem’s still only 19 – you give them too much too early and that will be their downfall. It’s a big problem because they lose their hunger.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭tok9

Bloody hell. My laptop died on the 119th minute so I thought to myself grand, off to play some Destiny.

It was only at about 12 or so when I found out the match had gone to penalties :P

I'm some sap.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

A few comments from last night....and I missed the first half.

Williams - looks solid, the thing that impressed me the most is how he strikes the ball, effortless and accurate.

Suso - Glad he came on and made a difference. I still rate him, but there is something that is not right behind the scenes with him which is keeping him away.

Markovic - He looks like he could be really exciting. Gets his head down and runs, his off the ball runs are real good as well. Once he gets more game time under his belt I think he'll be a quality addition, i'm willing to give him time.

Mignolet - One thing that sruck me, he was shouting the whole match and audible over the crowd at times.

Toure - why u barge into man in box?

Dry Cleaners - They will be getting a couple of pairs of my pants to get stains out of after that ending and shootout.

Ball retention and decision making mainly. He was a very tidy player before he left us, became a headless chicken when he came back.

I think Suso was very good when he came on for us. Was creative, looked to get on the ball, looked composed, worked hard, nabbed a goal and scored 2 penalties. I go back to what I said to you the other day - in the paltry minutes he has played with us including pre-season he has looked good.

I would rather he stay with us and see what happens then go to Milan. He has something to offer for sure. Himself and Sterling seemed to have a good connection and seemed to be looking for eachother as soon as one of them got the ball.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jordan-rossiter-dream-start-liverpool-7822002

“It was brilliant. I’m made up,” a jubilant Rossiter told the ECHO.

“To score on my debut, I couldn’t have asked for any more. It’s a dream come true to be honest.

“I got told by the manager at training on Monday that I’d be starting. I was a bit shocked but I couldn’t wait to get out here.

“I was a bit nervous but playing with some of the best players in the world helped.

“I was speaking to a few of the senior players before kick-off who just told me to enjoy it. It was a great opportunity for me and they helped me through.”

---

“We did have a bit of practise in training on Monday. That paid off with the way the boys put the penalties away.

“I thought Jordan Williams was brilliant when he came on. He’s had a tough couple of years with injuries but I was made up to see him out there on the pitch.

“The gaffer is willing to give youngsters an opportunity. He showed that again tonight by giving debuts to both Jordan and myself.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Just thought this needed to be posted again! :D

ByPE2cLCQAAkcfi.png

Gerrard could only dream of being as good as Rossiter is at his age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Just thought this needed to be posted again! :D

ByPE2cLCQAAkcfi.png

Gerrard could only dream of being as good as Rossiter is at his age.

Hopefully he can go on to be at least a quarter of the player Gerrard is.

Suso absolutely deserves his chance on the bench at least.

Did well last season, had a decent pre season and then barely gets a kick since the season began.

Right now he is a better option to have on the bench instead of Markovic imo.

Just so we're clear I'm not writing off Markovic but I really think Suso is getting a raw deal here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Hopefully he can go on to be at least a quarter of the player Gerrard is.

Need to get some growth hormones into him though, as a CM he could do with being a few inches taller. I know that small CMs do make it occasionaly (Masc?), but even in covering the ground, it would make his life easier.

Best truly homegrown player since Stevie, no doubt...

And a bonus, which suggests to be that he's a humble lad (good parenting) - he wears black boots.
    In an era of white and yellow and red, they actually stand out the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Mignolet - One thing that sruck me, he was shouting the whole match and audible over the crowd at times.

He's been doing that since the Southampton game. All he ever shouts is "Away, away!!!" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Rossiter was great for the most part, what struck me was how fast he is to move the ball on, this season possession has been ponderous to say the least but with him (and the U21s generally) first touch is control and second touch is the pass. I reckon if the kids had been sent out last night they'd have won that game in 90 through sheer speed of thought and action.

Really? I thought he did very well for a 17 year old debutant. He was tidy and composed - nothing more nothing less imo - and thats probably the best I would have expected from him. Delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

gafferino wrote: »
    Really? I thought he did very well for a 17 year old debutant. He was tidy and composed - nothing more nothing less imo - and thats probably the best I would have expected from him. Delighted for him.

This,

For a first team debutant he was very composed and didnt shy away from the ball.

I think we saw the issue again as Harry just said. We are way too slow.

Having Lucas and Rossiter playing is the same as Lucas and Gerrard really.

Maybe I'm a bit naive and the game would have been too open but I would have preferred to see something like Lallana in Lucas position. It may have been too open but that alone would have made us a lot quicker on the ball for me.