Group of Irish J1 Students trash San Fran rental house, then leave the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

On the evidence that is in front of us, you can file that theory in with the faked moon landings.

What evidence though ?
    As I said, I don't really take a news report as evidence of much at all.
    I'm not too bothered mind you, just took a peep at that report and the thread and thought Gee, that's a bit hasty, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Colinf1212 wrote: »
    Yes yet donkey oaty can post constant hyperbole and sarcasm galore throughout?

Signing out meant I want my account closed. If you could do that I would be thankful.

Report any post you have a problem with. There are far too many threads and posts for the mods to read each one.

I cannot close your account.

Any other questions regarding modding PM me

Back on topic please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

Thanks for admitting.

Yawn, I suppose deflection is the only tactic you have at this point given idle speculation has gone down so poorly. Perhaps while you're looking up Occam's Razor you might give Sarcasm a glance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

cena wrote: »
    There needs to be a serious look at who gets these j1 visas after this story. Unfair to those people that really want to make a good time and experience the states at a young age. Even though I think some are way to young to understand what they are doing. The j1 should really be for manture students those that well respect the place they stay in.

It also doesn't help the Irish that want to move to the states and landlords well have a second think of letting a place out to young Irish people after this.

I will say, though, that I was mature enuogh going and we had a very hard time finding accommodation once I got there and we were left with no choice but to lie or else we had to go home (I'd saved the Summer previously for it and was really looking for to it the whole year). Who wants to rent out accommodation on a short-term lease to a gang of young people there to party? I was also exploited by my boss and didn't get paid a bean by the company for my 3 months of work (lived off tips). I even did staff training as I was considered one of the best waitresses there. I was always punctual and raked in huge profits for that business during that Summer.I wasn't the only one, we all were.

I'd a great time there but the whole thing was a mess (this was 13 years ago - can't imagine how it is now). It needs to be more organised instead of sending over 1000s of young people willy nilly to a country with little life experience to do what they like as well as cracking down on the exploitation of them. Perhaps special accommodation for J1ers but bigger deposits handed over along with parents acting as guarantors and references given etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

What evidence though ?

You are right - let's ignore any so-called evidence.

Instead, why not continue as we are, discussing the situation that was reported on a regulated US news site, with all the caveats that entails, including witness testimony, video/photography and social media corroboration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

What evidence though ?
    I'm not too bothered mind you, just took a peep at that report and the thread and thought Gee, that's a bit hasty, that's all.
    So the photos of a trashed property, which became trashed after these people stayed in it... are not evidence, and the media network is risking a defamation suit for the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,387 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Not everyone is without facts.

Do tell.

Yes yet donkey oaty can post constant hyperbole and sarcasm galore throughout?

How very dare you.

I get through the filters on the grounds that I take my used condoms with me and leave the bannisters more or less where they were when I arrived.

You might very well consider the same approach, sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I clicked on this thread expecting generalisations and I wasn't disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,075 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Kneemos must clearly be one of the idiots who wrecked the house. No other reason to be defending them so much. It was quite clear from the report and checking their Facebooks that they would have caused damage there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I would normally disagree with witch-hunts, but I think we all know the type these lads are: savages with no respect for anyone or anything. They clearly thought they could escape the consequences by fleeing back to Ireland like it was the 1970s. Social media has come a long way since then.

People give respect and get respect - it has always been like that in any village, town, city. Otherwise the village, town, city ostracises them. People travel further than in the past, but the world is a smaller place. They deserve what they get, they are reaping what they sowed. Disrespectful savages like these people will find the world can be a pretty mean and hurtful place.

If this chap with the name on the lease is innocent, then why didn't he contact the landlady after the first party got out of hand? Why doesn't his name the people who actually did the damage if it wasn't him and his mates? Why doesn't he offer to compensate her for the damage caused plus a healthy compensation for the hassle and stress? He didn't and doesn't because he figured he could escape the consequences.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,609 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

titan18 wrote: »
    Kneemos must clearly be one of the idiots who wrecked the house. No other reason to be defending them so much. It was quite clear from the report and checking their Facebooks that they would have caused damage there

Who needs judges eh? Titan18 has it all figured.

Well put, Sand.

Not much more to say about this very sad situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,075 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Who needs judges eh? Titan18 has it all figured.

Sh1t like them make it harder for everyone else going abroad looking for work/places to rent. There were photos of them in the apartment, having beds on the ground and the place looking a mess. Some guys did the ice bucket challenge inside one of the rooms. There were comments of them saying they left the place in a state. They obviously did it.

I'm of a similar age to them, and I'd never do something like that, but have lived and been in college with people who had the same lack of respect for other people's property, and it pisses me off.

Others end up paying for their actions, so hopefully, they'll end up suffering.

titan18 wrote: »
    Sh1t like them make it harder for everyone else going abroad looking for work/places to rent. There were photos of them in the apartment, having beds on the ground and the place looking a mess. Some guys did the ice bucket challenge inside one of the rooms. There were comments of them saying they left the place in a state. They obviously did it.

I'm of a similar age to them, and I'd never do something like that, but have lived and been in college with people who had the same lack of respect for other people's property, and it pisses me off.

Others end up paying for their actions, so hopefully, they'll end up suffering.

I don't disagree with you. Still, I feel the "suffering" is best apportioned by a judge and not an internet mob. I'm sure they're going to regret their actions before long (if they haven't already).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

They're spoilt, entitled scumbags and they should be made to pay for the damage and learn a thing or two about responsibility and respect. All they've done is make things so much more difficult for future J1ers to get a place to live and further damaging the already bad reputation of Irish students over there. They should be made to stand up and take responsibility.

That all said, the Reddit crusades are ridiculous. They should never be allowed to live down their witch hunt of the Boston bombers which ended up with them accusing some guy who was later found dead. A serious amount of dumbasses on that website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Was there a deposit ? What's a "break in the rent" for that matter ? I don't understand that phrase, is it that she wanted to give them a chance to rent ? So maybe she didn't ask for a deposit, or it was so little that they didn't bother asking for it back ?

She was giving them a break by giving them a good deal on the rent.

Surely you've heard the phrase to give someone a break?

There was a deposit because she mentions it wont even cover the amount of glass broken, nevermind the rest of the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

What a scummy thing to do. I think everyone knows people like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I don't disagree with you. Still, I feel the "suffering" is best apportioned by a judge and not an internet mob. I'm sure they're going to regret their actions before long (if they haven't already).

Because everyone in this thread is deciding the punishment? Most of us are just saying they are scumbags for doing this.

Besides our judges wouldn't even punish them. The US judges would be severe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

San Francisco, go way to fkuc, the same type of scum comedown to college in Waterford and do the same thing.

A serious good hiding is what they need

EyeSight wrote: »
    Because everyone in this thread is deciding the punishment? Most of us are just saying they are scumbags for doing this.

Besides our judges wouldn't even punish them. The US judges would be severe

I'm primarily referring to Reddit, whereon some have taken to apportioning punishment.

Well, one would hope our judges wouldn't punish them - they haven't committed any crimes in Ireland. If you're speaking hypothetically, then of course they would, financially or otherwise.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

SantryRed wrote: »
    100% guarantee they're culchies. Whenever there's an over the top group on a J1, they're always culchie lads who have zero respect.

Really?I remember that well publicised case from about ten years ago when a bunch of middle class Dublin J1 students did pretty much the same thing to the apartment of an elderly woman they were renting from.They trashed the sh!te out of the place and wrote sick graffiti about the Soham murder case on the walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Really?I remember that well publicised case from about ten years ago when a bunch of middle class Dublin J1 students did pretty much the same thing to the apartment of an elderly woman they were renting from.They trashed the sh!te out of the place and wrote sick graffiti about the Soham murder case on the walls.

They only pretended to be from Dublin to give Dublin a bad name. Rascals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

There has to be more stringent rules for students from Ireland applying for J1's to go to the US because of what these scumbags did to this lady's house.

Damaging someone else's property should not be accepted or tolerated by any means by these thugs. And running away from that damage does not make it better, it makes it worse. They should have to face the music and pay every cent back as damages to the landlord as a way of compensating for her loss from living peacefully in her home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,103 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Buncha Numpties.

Google may be getting a few 'right to be forgotten' requests soon.

If a paper names them is the online edition under any obligation to remove any mention?

kowloon wrote: »
    If a paper names them is the online edition under any obligation to remove any mention?

It just relates to search engines I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

Down with this sort of thing! You truly learn nothing from these boards. No intellectual debate whatsoever. The Irish DailyMail in a forum. Just people to moan and pretend they're above everyone else. Signing out.
    That's the first time I've talked about others on the boards thinking they're better than others. Why else do you think they say those things? To feel worse than them?
    You'll never win a debate sympathizing with discrimination on specifications like race/ethnicity/nationality.
    So you're just a bigot then basically?
    Signing out meant I want my account closed. If you could do that I would be thankful.

Do you actually read anything you post? :confused:

Can you honestly say you read what you typed, and thought "Yeah, this is a worthwhile contribution to the discussion". Instead of having your little rant about no intellectual discussion going on here, why not try and start one. Should be easy. It would just involve you actually posting something intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭Packrat

So I wonder how the weekend is going for those scumbags who disgraced their country abroad...
    Am I the only one who thinks the redditers are 100% right?

But of course it's a WITCHUNT !!!

Fcuk em - actions have consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Witch hunt be damned, they need to pay every cent to have it repaired and I hope they are barred from entering the states for the next 10-20 years.

As above actions have consequences and entitled little sh1tebags like this need to learn it the hard way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Packrat wrote: »
    So I wonder how the weekend is going for those scumbags who disgraced their country abroad...
    Am I the only one who thinks the redditers are 100% right?

But of course it's a WITCHUNT !!!

Fcuk em - actions have consequences.

Cant help but think these are the types who'll think making it onto CNN, TheJournal, causing a Reddit stir etc makes them "legends" rather than idiots.

I don't agree with the redditors though. Sharing the story and their friends and family getting wind of it are consequences. Angry strangers trying to dole out justice by distributing their personal information, harassing them and trying to get them fired is another thing entirely.