Group of Irish J1 Students trash San Fran rental house, then leave the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You're not trying to be fair, you're just going against the grain for the craic. Pity the people who rented her property weren't so fair.

And since when is "superficial damage" to someone else's property not akin to trashing it?

So you're making assumptions about my actions now as well?

I've requested the thread be closed and started a thread about it in Feedback...just to fill in the other side.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,609 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

dirtyden wrote: »
    We have heard from the landlady who claims to be a saint who put these kids up as an act of philanthropy.

That she said this makes me immediately question her credibility.

A lot of US media (TV in particular) reports follow this pattern. They like to paint things as good/evil rather than given as impartial a view as possible. Not entirely dissimilar to newspapers in the UK and Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Colinf1212

Down with this sort of thing! You truly learn nothing from these boards. No intellectual debate whatsoever. The Irish DailyMail in a forum. Just people to moan and pretend they're above everyone else. Signing out.
    Danger781 wrote: »
    Disgraceful behavior.
    deadybai wrote: »
    Disgusting.
    Mickey H wrote: »
    Shower of bastards.
    SantryRed wrote: »
    100% guarantee they're culchies. Whenever there's an over the top group on a J1, they're always culchie lads who have zero respect.
    biko wrote: »
    Culchies or jackeens, they are a group of effing ****. Other landlords will see that news and not rent to Irish because someone thought it might be fun to vandalise.
    Chinasea wrote: »
    Absolute savages.
    it's disgusting, reprehensible behaviour.
    Scummy students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

kneemos wrote: »
    It wasn't "trashed"there was some superficial damage carried out by who knows who as we only have one side of the story.

"Superficial"

Leaving their rubbish and clothes laying around for her to clean up is superficial.
    Holes in the wall, one wall completely destroyed, banisters knocked out of the railings, chandelier almost ripped out of the ceiling, broken glass, broken door panels... None of that is superficial. The deposit won't cover all of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Who is going out of their way to ruin a person's life? It's a serious question.

Guys on redditt. Emails to social clubs, employers, family etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Colinf1212 wrote: »
    Down with this sort of thing! You truly learn nothing from these boards. No intellectual debate whatsoever. The Irish DailyMail in a forum. Just people to moan and pretend they're above everyone else. Signing out.
    "Other landlords will see that news and not rent to Irish because someone thought it might be fun to vandalise" - this is a valid point surely? (Although I think it's unfair and thick of people to discriminate based on nationality, no matter how many instances of problems with that nationality they've had).

I don't see it as being particularly conducive to discussion just to post "Pack of bastards" etc and nothing more, but why does someone always have to say "You think you're better than everyone else" etc to people for making valid criticism? It's dishonest to say these guys didn't do anything much and that everyone else is the same. Everyone else is not the same.
    Most people are considerate, most people don't have a sense of entitlement to the point of thinking they can do what they like... but a minority of people do. I'm guessing the naysayers on this thread are included in that minority.

They did awful damage to the property - broken bannisters like! It's extremely dishonest to say they didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ABC101

Ah... I think there is a difference between informing the proper authorities in a confidential manner and then personally getting involved i.e. sending emails to the college or workplace or sports club.

If I saw a person committing a criminal act, i.e. property damage, theft, assault etc etc... then I would be obliged to inform AGS.

AGS would then carry out an investigation in a private and confidential manner, respecting the rights of the person who is deemed innocent until proven guilty.

I mean that is why we have crime line etc. In fact I think under the law, if you have knowledge of a criminal act, you are duty bound to report it.

It's our job to obey the law... not keep the law, unless you are part of a law enforcement agency.

If people / posters know who is involved in this criminal damage... and some are saying they do on the reddit site... then they should inform the authorities and not get involved in the case.

Innocent people could get caught up in the crossfire as somebody posted over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

Bollocks.

What great intellectual discourse is there to have about this situation? Why exactly should I consider myself to be on the same level as the type of little **** who'll wreck someone else's property, and then rather than take responsibility for it ****s back over to this side of the Atlantic? What excuse can be made for this behaviour that doesn't sound pathetic when it's attributed to an adult? Put yourself in that woman's shoes, how would you like to walk into that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

What intellectual debate can be had about this?

Why are so many accusing these people without the facts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Guys on redditt. Emails to social clubs, employers, family etc.

Sorry, thought it was directed at AH.

It might be as well to take it up with Redditt and their ilk.

People rent someone's place, then move out and the owner discovers the place is destroyed (broken banister rails but of course a few edgy folks saying it's not much damage).
    Why are you pretending that's not enough to go on? What vested interest do you have in the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭cena

There needs to be a serious look at who gets these j1 visas after this story. Unfair to those people that really want to make a good time and experience the states at a young age. Even though I think some are way to young to understand what they are doing. The j1 should really be for manture students those that well respect the place they stay in.

It also doesn't help the Irish that want to move to the states and landlords well have a second think of letting a place out to young Irish people after this.

"Other landlords will see that news and not rent to Irish because someone thought it might be fun to vandalise" - this is a valid point surely? (Although I think it's unfair and thick of people to discriminate based on nationality, no matter how many instances of problems with that nationality they've had).

So they'll see this story and a couple of others a few years ago (supposedly) and now not rent to Irish people? This is a valid point? Not to mention it's blatant discrimination and I doubt would be put up with for a second in America.
    I don't see it as being particularly conducive to discussion just to post "Pack of bastards" etc and nothing more, but why does someone always have to say "You think you're better than everyone else" etc to people for making valid criticism? It's dishonest to say these guys didn't do anything much and that everyone else is the same. Everyone else is not the same.
    Most people are considerate, most people don't have a sense of entitlement to the point of thinking they can do what they like... but a minority of people do. I'm guessing the naysayers on this thread are included in that minority.

They did awful damage to the property - broken bannisters like! It's extremely dishonest to say they didn't.

That's the first time I've talked about others on the boards thinking they're better than others. Why else do you think they say those things? To feel worse than them?

Have both sides of the story came out yet? I've been screwed over by landlords countless times so I'm not listening to it until both sides have been told like any reasonable individual would.

I'd start with the Lockean theory of property rights myself, with lots of footnotes, and then we'd become post-Nozikian, while eventually agreeing that there is a need for pictorial evidence or exiting forthwith.

People rent someone's place, then move out and the owner discovers the place is destroyed (broken banister rails but of course a few edgy folks saying it's not much damage).
    Why are you pretending that's not enough to go on? What vested interest do you have in the story?

Because there's a million and one different possibilities to the one you've pointed out.
    Why are you so eager to accept the guilt of these people?

What do you mean "without the facts"? If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck then it's probably a duck.

In this case if it's a house formerly inhabited by J1ers that got trashed, when J1ers from Ireland have a bad reputation for doing exactly that while abroad, then I'm not going to go out of my way to establish alternate theories of what may have occurred to migrate the blame to another party.

About the only thing I would say of that landlady is had I been in her shoes I would've been there the morning they were to depart to inspect the house but then again maybe this is her first bad experience.

cena wrote: »
    It also doesn't help the Irish that want to move to the states and landlords well have a second think of letting a place out to young Irish people after this.

You'll never win a debate sympathizing with discrimination on specifications like race/ethnicity/nationality.

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/fighting-rental-housing-discrimination-faq-29064.html
    What types of housing discrimination are renters protected from?

The federal Fair Housing Act and Fair Housing Amendments Act (42 U.S. Code §§ 3601-3619, 3631) prohibit landlords from choosing tenants on the basis of a group characteristic such as:

>race
    >religion
    >ethnic background or national origin
    >sex
    >familial status, including having children or being pregnant (except in certain designated senior housing), or
    >a mental or physical disability.

In addition, some state and local laws prohibit discrimination based on a person's marital status, age, or sexual orientation.

So they'll see this story and a couple of others a few years ago (supposedly) and now not rent to Irish people? This is a valid point? Not to mention it's blatant discrimination and I doubt would be put up with for a second in America.
    I agree it is, but could happen. It's been happening in Australia.
    That's the first time I've talked about others on the boards thinking they're better than others
    I didn't say you always do it, but someone always does it.
    Because there's a million and one different possibilities to the one you've pointed out.
    Why are you so eager to accept the guilt of these people?
    A "million and one"? Well if they did do it (and it's highly likely they did) then they behaved deplorably and they did a lot of damage to the property, and people who say they weren't too bad and it's only minor damage are just being contrarian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I believe it was difficult for Irish students to find accommodation in San Diego the year after the last time we had an incident like this.

Irish students will get a bad reputation for this, and like it or not, landlords won't rent to them. They won't be forced to either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

If it comes to that, we don't know that the whole think isn't a prank by the TV station or landlord for publicity purposes.

Perhaps we have all been hypnotised into even thinking about it in the first place.

You are right that we don't know what actually happened, but if they asked for their deposit back it would be very strange if that wasn't mentioned in the report.

Was there a deposit ? What's a "break in the rent" for that matter ? I don't understand that phrase, is it that she wanted to give them a chance to rent ? So maybe she didn't ask for a deposit, or it was so little that they didn't bother asking for it back ?
    Perhaps we have all been hypnotised into even thinking about it in the first place.
    That's just silly hyperbole.

We just don't know what was the story there. Did the landlady never ask for a deposit, and get annoyed when she discovered some bit of damage (not that much) after they left ? Did she settle with them without checking the place, and call up a week later realizing she should have checked ?
    We just don't know the situation, if there was no deposit she might have told them they were grand, and they headed off, only for the place to get trashed in the meantime. After all, she is making it clear that she was trying to be kind to them.

If they did it, yes, it's totally shameful imo.
    But I'm not sure I trust the report to be 100% hand on heart transparent, and to be proof that these younsters did it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,609 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Not everyone is without facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

And yet you are still here. Post constructively or don't post.

In this case if it's a house formerly inhabited by J1ers that got trashed, when J1ers from Ireland have a bad reputation for doing exactly that while abroad, then I'm not going to go out of my way to establish alternate theories of what may have occurred to migrate the blame to another party.

So you're just a bigot then basically?

Did the landlady never ask for a deposit, and get annoyed when she discovered some bit of damage (not that much) after they left ?

On the evidence that is in front of us, you can file that theory in with the faked moon landings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

This is not an isolated case. Have you done the J1? I did 13 years ago in Chicago and even then many J1ers wreaked their accommodation. My brother lives in California and is the captain of a GAA team and has a lot of young players doing the J1s who play for the Summer on his team and he told me about the state some people leave their accommodation. There was a newstory a few years ago there as well.

I was evicted from my flat, in fact. Not for wreaking it (we left the place spotless when we left and kept it tidy the whole time) but for having more people stay there than we said there'd be (only way we could get accommodation). I look back and I cringe but we were fairly tame in comparison to other situations of friends we'd made.

Have both sides of the story came out yet? I've been screwed over by landlords countless times so I'm not listening to it until both sides have been told like any reasonable individual would.

It still doesn't excuse their behaviour though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭cena

You'll never win a debate sympathizing with discrimination on specifications like race/ethnicity/nationality.

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/fighting-rental-housing-discrimination-faq-29064.html

Just pointing out a view landlords well think

So you're just a bigot then basically?

Yes. I'm a bigot for not engaging in pointless speculation about how it was really a group of Americans who broke in, had a gangbang and then destroyed the house while the innocent Irish J1ers were in the local Catholic Church getting mass before their flight, and that they didn't even realise all that damage had been done. That makes much more sense, my sincere apologies.

Acquaint yourself with Occam's Razor and come back to me.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    MOD

And yet you are still here. Post constructively or don't post.

Yes yet donkey oaty can post constant hyperbole and sarcasm galore throughout?

Signing out meant I want my account closed. If you could do that I would be thankful.

Yes. I'm a bigot

Thanks for admitting.