Group of Irish J1 Students trash San Fran rental house, then leave the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

They destroyed the house so i don't get why people are saying it's only minor damage,Its going to take a lot of hours of cleaning,plastering,painting and installing new fittings.
    If they just pay up the witch hunt should be dropped but until such time as they do i see no harm in reminding them that there actions have consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    They destroyed the house so i don't get why people are saying it's only minor damage,Its going to take a lot of hours of cleaning,plastering,painting and installing new fittings.
    If they just pay up the witch hunt should be dropped but until such time as they do i see no harm in reminding them that there actions have consequences.
    They didn't destroy the house. Trust me. I have seen houses been destroyed after parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭RQ2013

Anyone trying to defend their actions as kids just blowing off steam etc.. would want to take a long hard look at themselves... Trashing someone else's property is a scummy thing to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

SantryRed wrote: »
    100% guarantee they're culchies. Whenever there's an over the top group on a J1, they're always culchie lads who have zero respect.

Where do you get off making a comment like that. What an ass of a comment to make. And if your profile name has anything to do with where you are from I wouldn't be bragging about it too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

viztopia wrote: »
    Where do you get off making a comment like that. What an ass of a comment to make. And if your profile name has anything to do with where you are from I wouldn't be bragging about it too much

It's the truth. Been on two J1s now and it's always the same. Don't get the different mentalities but it definitely happens. I knew before even having a quick Facebook search, and sure enough, I was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Lnaa wrote: »
    Died why?

If it was suicide then obviously its related, if he died of something else then its very unfortunate but has no bearing on the story.

He committed suicide after years of it going through the courts and as it was so well publicized he had trouble finding work, and it affected his social life too. I remember reading about it a while back and feeling desperately sad over it. He did something stupid and it ruined his whole life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Terrorism :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

If I was one of their parents I'd make them apologise publicly and pay for all damages. It was a ****ty thing to do, and they could end up paying for it for a long time. Everyone now knows who they are, they'll find it hard starting new jobs etc. The only thing they can do is some sort of damage limitation, admit that they were wrong and pay up. That landlady should not have to foot the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No fear they would wreck their own houses but sure it's ok to do it to someone else.

They should be made pay for every bit of damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,386 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Few light fittings,bit of plastering and some glass.Well under a grands worth of damage.The tidying and painting she could do herself.

Far from wrecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kneemos wrote: »
    Few light fittings,bit of plastering and some glass.Well under a grands worth of damage.The tidying and painting she could do herself.

Far from wrecked.

Send her a grand and head over for a weekend to do the tidying so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

kneemos wrote: »

Far from wrecked.
    I've had houses damaged, from being gutted for the copper to having a window pane broken. It's not the cost, it's the hassle of having to get it fixed because some scummy bastard has no respect for you or your property.

I had to laugh when she said "This is an act of terrorism on me".

The word terrorism has lost all its meaning at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭dirtyden

You would swear there was nothing going on in America. A 2 minute news slot on some kids doing some superficial damage to an apartment.

The place is not wrecked and your one calling it an act of terrorism is ridiculous. It was piss poor behaviour by the students but the place would not take too much to sort out.

Her story about wanting to give some students a break! Pull the other one, no landlord/lady ever was a philanthropist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

As somebody who did 2 J1's this pisses me off. In some parts landlords are anti-irish students because of people like this. It makes it incredibly tough for future J1 people to find places.
    On my second J1 in a city where it's very tough to find a place, let alone an affordable place, one landlord took loads of J1 people in and gave a really great deal on the rent. He was a lovely man. But of course some of our neighbors had to trash their apartments(his wife had to clean up the excrement they left on the floor) before leaving. He said he will never rent to irish again.

In saying that, i've seen the same behavior in college. Some people just have no respect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

This really disgusts me. When I was In the states on J1, a lot of people looked down their nose at me for being Irish. I can see why now. As long as people keep going over and doing stuff like this, we are going to get treated disrespectfully in return. There is no excuse for anyone to behave like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Aww i missed all the facebook profiles.

Whoever they work for here needs to be emailed and sent a report of the story, bunch of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭breadmonster

looks like a party/gangbang that got out of hand.
    Still though they should probably all chip in and send that lady some money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

looks like a party/gangbang that got out of hand.
    Still though they should probably all chip in and send that lady some money.

Or a box of chocolates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

"...........bunch of scum.’
    that suffices. Regardless of who they culchies, jackeens, leesiders , whatever

Nothing new here to be honest. This happens every summer. I've witnessed it first hand.

dirtyden wrote: »
    You would swear there was nothing going on in America. A 2 minute news slot on some kids doing some superficial damage to an apartment.

The place is not wrecked and your one calling it an act of terrorism is ridiculous. It was piss poor behaviour by the students but the place would not take too much to sort out.

Her story about wanting to give some students a break! Pull the other one, no landlord/lady ever was a philanthropist.

Hard to believe whatever deposit she got wouldn't cover most or all of that damage.
    Even the best landlords are ruthless when it comes to money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nothing new here to be honest. This happens every summer. I've witnessed it first hand.

This happens every summer too. :)

By way of contrast...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,418 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

It's not the cost, it's the hassle of having to get it fixed because some scummy bastard has no respect for you or your property.

The disturbing thing is that the landlady gave these savages a break by renting them a nice property at well below market cost in one of the most expensive cities in the US.
    Her reward was to be treated like dirt .

It seems Irish colleges will admit any sort of imbeciles nowadays ,standards have dropped alarmingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Can any of these people actually be fired from their jobs due to non-workplace events and behavior though? Im pretty sure there isnt a law that states you have to be a decent person outside the office or company. But i guess that if any of them are on contract, then they will find themselves not renewed for any number of reasons.....poor performance, not required anymore etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ABC101

Destruction of somebody's property is a criminal matter. There will be costs for repairing the damage, costs for disposal of the waste, and costs for loss of earnings whilst the repairs are ongoing.

If posters on here have information about these tenants then they should phone the Garda Confidential phone line and pass on the info.

Having said that... if one of the tenants has actually left a police report on the property.. and the report clearly states the person's name, DOB etc... then that really is a very very stupid thing to do. Should be easy to track the person down.... even if it turns out they are completely innocent of any wrong doing... they still might know the identity of the other tenants.

Bit like robbing a bank... and leaving your driving license on the counter.:pac:

Strangely enough... there was a recent article a few days ago about a facebook user... who read up about a Gay man having been severely beaten up by a group of 15 people. I think it was in the states, Philadelphia... he tracked down the group and gave the details to the police.

http://www.queerty.com/phillys-gay-bashing-gang-of-well-dressed-straight-assholes-has-been-identified-20140917

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

dirtyden wrote: »

Local news in the states is nothing but stuff like this and cats stuck in trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

ABC101 wrote: »
    If posters on here have information about these tenants then they should phone the Garda Confidential phone line and pass on the info.

This. Not looking to start a witch hunt by starting this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

lertsnim wrote: »
    Local news in the states is nothing but stuff like this and cats stuck in trees.

Kind of like national news here. Some of the ****e that makes it on to the end of the main news on tv and radio here is fairly cringeworthy.

Danger781 wrote: »
    This. Not looking to start a witch hunt by starting this thread.

Much good phoning the Guards for something that happened I'm America.
    Anybody would think these people had killed someone rather than broke a couple of Windows.