Group of Irish J1 Students trash San Fran rental house, then leave the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Jesus this island produces some absolute clowns. Interesting to see some of them have decent jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,386 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

rawn wrote: »
    It also clearly says they have returned home to Ireland.

No it doesn't,it was some place called Ireiland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭h2005

You'd imagine this will follow them around for a while. Hopefully they will be made pay for the damage and loss of rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

kneemos wrote: »
    No it doesn't,it was some place called Ireiland.

Damn those Ireish, constantly giving us a bad name among dyslexics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Jesus this island produces some absolute clowns. Interesting to see some of them have decent jobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭Lnaa

The lads were doing well for themselves shagging them girlies though. The boys in that picture are a fairly motley crew... the girls, at least by Irish standards, aren't half bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Why is everyone blaming the Irish for this? The TV report clearly states that the house was rented out to foreign students.

Go watch the video again and listen carefully at 21 seconds into the report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Lnaa wrote: »
    The lads were doing well for themselves shagging them girlies though. The boys in that picture are a fairly motley crew... the girls, at least by Irish standards, aren't half bad.

That is completely irrelevant.

It's the landlady that's the real hottie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Why is everyone blaming the Irish for this? The TV report clearly states that the house was rented out to foreign students.

Funny joke, please tell me it's humour.

If you look carefully at that picture, Shauna has a bit of a camel toe going on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Buncha Numpties.

Google may be getting a few 'right to be forgotten' requests soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Go watch the video again and listen carefully at 21 seconds into the report.

I'm getting an ad for "Orchard Supply Hardware".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

wazky wrote: »
    Rascals, throw fruit at them, they won't know what hit them.

And waste food in this economy? Jaysus lad, do you think I work in the public sector or something? :P

That is completely irrelevant.

It's the landlady that's the real hottie.

I said by Irish standards.

A lot of it is superficial in fairness,anybody with basic DIY ability could fix it up rightly.
    Probably high spirits rather than anything malicious.

A lot of it is superficial in fairness,anybody with basic DIY ability could fix it up rightly.

They bust through a wall and broke railings off the bannister... how do you do that merely being in a party mode?

Its also not the point. Why should that poor lady have her home returned to her like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭OU812

If still in college, they should be expelled & their grant money used to make repairs. If out of college, their salaries/dole should be garnered.

hfallada wrote: »
    Like non-nationals have never damaged a property before in Ireland? I know plenty of landlords who have had their houses destroyed by non-nationals. One Landlord had a group of eastern Europeans, who had a falling out. So one of them went around the house with a bottle of lighter fluid and burnt the house to the ground. The whole house had to be built from the foundations up.

American media still loves to portray stereotypes of certain nationalities. Im sure if they were Italian, the house damage would have been mafia linked. Tens of thousands of Irish go on J1s with no issues at all. There will always be pricks out their in life.

Why start on non-nationals? Sure Irish people in Ireland never do anything wrong :rolleyes:.

It will take some amount of cash and skilled tradesmen to fix that place up. Lots of replacement glass needed, lots of replastering, replace the frame on the frond door, new bannisters on the stairs etc.
    More than simple DIY work.

And besides, why should the landlady be left with that responsibility. The animals should never have left the place in that state.

OU812 wrote: »
    If still in college, they should be expelled & their grant money used to make repairs. If out of college, their salaries/dole should be garnered.

If you are expelled you dont get grant money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Why start on non-nationals? Sure Irish people in Ireland never do anything wrong :rolleyes:.

Because these guys are non-nationals in the US? Both your response and his argument are what aboutary.

Anybody work out if these guys were Dubliners yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

The consequences for other Irish students on J1 need to be considered. The right to a passport should be conditional. You **** up abroad in a way that compromises others opportunities then you lose the passport. Go trash Your mothers house / flat/ caravan.

They bust through a wall and broke railings off the bannister... how do you do that merely being in a party mode?

Its also not the point. Why should that poor lady have her home returned to her like that?

I'd move in as is,nice looking crib.
    Of course it shouldn't have happened but things het out of hand,plus we don't know what kind of deposit she has or if she'll be out of pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Theres a GAA jersey of some sort in the group pic, it's not a blue one.

SantryRed wrote: »
    100% guarantee they're culchies. Whenever there's an over the top group on a J1, they're always culchie lads who have zero respect.

100%? I don't know yet but I would go for 80% dubs, first time living away from mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

plus we don't know what kind of deposit she has or if she'll be out of pocket.
    Some of us do (those that read words) It says the deposit wont even cover replacing the broken glass.

Because these guys are non-nationals in the US? Both your response and his argument are what aboutary.

It doesn't matter whether they were American, Irish or Moomin, they are scumbags. His argument was just a thinly veiled racist attack. And what you're at now looking to blame it on Dubs is showing your bigotted side also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

zarquon wrote: »
    Sitting on the steps of the house as shown in the CBS video. Not saying that anyone is this pic is involved, but draw your own conclusion especially considering one of the tagged people is also referenced in the CBS video

<mod snip.

looks like it is gone now;

It doesn't matter whether they were American, Irish or Moomin, they are scumbags. His argument was just a thinly veiled racist attack. And what you're at now looking to blame it on Dubs is showing your bigotted side also.

I was responding to someone who said he was "100% sure" it was Culchies. Any reason that you didn't notice that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Danger781 wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/san-francisco-apartment-1681381-Sep2014/

Disgraceful behavior. The house has been well and truly destroyed. How can you be okay with doing that? :confused:

What kind of Irish terrorists were they, real IRA or some new group? ;)