If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Be still my beating heart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

our coach gives out to us for not focusing during strides.
    He'll tell us twice a week, every week, how to do them properly and then give out to us afterwards 'cos we didn't do them properly. Without fail!!

How does he tell you to do them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Ososlo wrote: »
    How does he tell you to do them?

And are these strides in the middle/end of a run or strides as part of a warm up before a (speed) session?

Cleanman wrote: »
    And are these strides in the middle/end of a run or strides as part of a warm up before a (speed) session?

At the moment I'm doing them mid run a few times a week on my second run just on double days.

just interested to hear how AMK's coach tells them to approach them and how he might have been doing them wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

At the moment I'm doing them mid run a few times a week on my second run just on double days.

just interested to hear how AMK's coach tells them to approach them and how he might have been doing them wrong.

That's why I asked. I suspect that AMK is talking about doing strides before a session as the coach probably doesn't see the strides done mid run?

Strides were an integral part of our warm up before any repeats session. Some guys did them completely half arsed and you could see it annoying the coach. We were never thought any particular form (possibly given little tips from time to time) but coach would delay the session until he was happy everyone had done 8-10 proper strides. And if we were doing 400's or less, he would wait until everyone had done a full set of drills too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Our strides are part of the warm up to a session as Cleanman says.
    generally 1-2 miles warm up, then 6-8 strides, drills, then the session then cool down.

Typical strides.......
    Take the 1st one or two slower
    Build the pace for each one - accelerate - maintain pace - decelerate
    Build the pace for each one - but the sequence stays the same.
    Last one is faster. Under no circumstances do we 'race' the last stride :)

Sounds easy - but theres always messing going on during the strides and not for the session.
    The coach wants the strides as focused as the session. (and not racing them!)

Thursday 18 September
    55 min run

AIS and Lunge Matrix pre run
    Phoenix Park again. Just couldn't resist. It draws me to it. Very unfriendly runners there this evening though compared to yesterday:( No one returned my 'good evenings' except for the hot girl I brushed past on the North Road who winked at me. Yes I'm a straight female but I can still appreciate a thing of beauty:) ....
    First time doing anything longer than 35 mins since my comeback. I did it in a progressive manner again working from 10:08 pace to 8:18 pace and a bit of a cool down jog. I was only supposed to do 50 mins but I finished far away from the car again and it was too cold to walk as I only had a light top and shorts on so sorry about that boss but I don't think any great harm was done :)
    Felt super after it and maybe it was the cooler weather but I felt like I was gliding along this evening without much effort at all. Wore the Puma Faas to give them a bit of an outing.
    When I got back to the car a radio show was playing some excerpts from the new Leonard Cohen album which is out tomorrow. The man is a genius. He hasn't lost it and he's almost 80 but he is starting to eerily sound more and more like Tom Waits!
    A lovely end to a lovely evening :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

except for the hot girl I brushed past on the North Road who winked at me.

I'd spend a lot more time running in the PP if that happened me on my sessions :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I dont even get within touchin distance of the auld dears :)

TbL

I dont even get within touchin distance of the auld dears :)

TbL

In all fairness TbL, if you go farting around the city what do you expect:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

All this chat about frottin'* is getting me all worked up into a frenzy - be back in a minute...

...That's much better. Well done on the run today.

*slang: verb from the noun frottage meaning the practice of rubbing against the clothed body of another person in a public/crowded place as a means of obtaining sexual gratification.

Stazza wrote: »
    All this chat about frottin'* is getting me all worked up into a frenzy - be back in a minute...

...That's much better. Well done on the run today.

*slang: verb from the noun frottage meaning the practice of rubbing against the clothed body of another person in a public/crowded place as a means of obtaining sexual gratification.

Great thanks for that explanation boss. I'm learning a lot these days:eek:

Thought I'd better explain it - a certain group might have thought it was some sort of new tempo.

Stazza wrote: »
    Thought I'd better explain it - a certain group might have thought it was some sort of new tempo.

ha ha ha you're a funny man, a funny funny man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

But surely excessive frottin would ultimately lead to a crest load explosion :)

TbL

ha ha ha you're a funny man, a funny funny man :D

"You mean, let me understand this cause, ya know maybe it's me, I'm a little fcuked up maybe, but I'm funny how, I mean funny like I'm a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I'm here to fcukin' amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Ososlo, I am reading the start and the end of this to catch up. One question, did you ever join a running club..? I know a lad who is also trying to get me to join one of the Dublin clubs (Raheny) but not sure if its for me.

Dub13 wrote: »
    Ososlo, I am reading the start and the end of this to catch up. One question, did you ever join a running club..? I know a lad who is also trying to get me to join one of the Dublin clubs (Raheny) but not sure if its for me.

Any question except that..........:D

Nope I didn't for a few personal reasons. I'm happy as I am at the moment as I'm getting one-to-one online coaching but won't rule it out in the future.
    I've heard good things about Raheny and I think that's the one I'd join if I was to pick one, from what I've heard about it and for convenience reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Any question except that..........:D

Nope I didn't for a few personal reasons. I'm happy as I am at the moment as I'm getting one-to-one online coaching but won't rule it out in the future.
    I've heard good things about Raheny and I think that's the one I'd join if I was to pick one, from what I've heard about it and for convenience reasons.

Thinking about joining a club next year myself after this marathon journey - raheny would be one of the options due to locality as well. Interesting to hear the above - do you mind me asking what kind of positive things you've heard? Can pm me if you prefer. I'm on the slower end of the running scale as you probably know from the novice thread but want to improve on that. Bit nervous though that I'd be too slow and way out of my depth if that makes sense!

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Thinking about joining a club next year myself after this marathon journey - raheny would be one of the options due to locality as well. Interesting to hear the above - do you mind me asking what kind of positive things you've heard? Can pm me if you prefer. I'm on the slower end of the running scale as you probably know from the novice thread but want to improve on that. Bit nervous though that I'd be too slow and way out of my depth if that makes sense!

they appear to cater for a wide array of running abilities and they seem very welcoming going by what I've read on other logs. They or any other club would be delighted to have you and I don't think you'd have anything to be nervous about at all.
    I'll pm you details of a few people who are members and they can give you more details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

they appear to cater for a wide array of running abilities and they seem very welcoming going by what I've read on other logs. They or any other club would be delighted to have you and I don't think you'd have anything to be nervous about at all.
    I'll pm you details of a few people who are members and they can give you more details.

That's great, thanks a million Ososlo.

Friday 19 September
    35 min run

Raining and cold for this - way hay! The most god-awful day in work made this a very welcome run. Very lucky to have a way to release the stress and tension.
    9:51, 9:38, 9:19, 3 mins at 8:40 and cooldown at 9:36
    Myrtl routine post run

Saturday 20 September
    am: 35 min run

Had to drag myself away from the reports coming in from the Half marathon to get out for this. I had a real pep in my step seeing so many of the novices doing so well and went out too hard. This was a progression run in reverse by accident. Started feeling a bit sick when I started doing the faster 10k effort bit near the end. Then reaslied that my sports bra was too tight and was making me feel like puking. Had to stop for a few mins and reel in the pace for the remainer of the run.

pm: 35 min run
    This is beginning to sound a little bit boring!

Sunday 21 September
    35 min run

AIS and Lunge Matrix pre run (I really am starting to feel like the bionic woman with all this strength stuff!)
    9.39, 9.29, 9.20, 8.25 (3 mins) 9.43 cd
    Felt a billions dollars this evening.
    35 miles for the week (including 2 x controversial doubles ;) )
    The comeback is working out very nicely and I'm looking forward to stepping it up a bit again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Oh Yeah...come to Raheny boys and girls! :-)

Sorry to use you log as recruiting opportunity Oso nice ;-)

RedRunner wrote: »

ha ha be my guest R! I was going to pass on your username to the guy and gal asking about Raheny anyways but was going to wait until after DCM.
    Thanks! So feel free to PM RedRunner guys!

RedRunner wrote: »

I am in Donaghmede so its only around the corner, if I do decide to join a club it would be the logical choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

Just catching up on your summer of running to get some inspiration for when Im allowed to can get back out running (couch to 5k to be exact, will be like staring from scratch) in 2weeks time! Not to be back slapping but you're doing great, well jealous of your times...doubt I'll ever be likely to catch up with you, I'll blame my short legs:)

Jaysus good to hear from you! Delighted you're getting back to it in 2 weeks! Get that log going again for sure. Maybe see you in Santry in December again! Be good for you to work towards something like that in a few months.
    My maths aren't very good but is there a junior shortstuff at this point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

Yeah Santry 5km wouldn't be a bad idea, be interesting to compare times since it was my last race!

Yep a little boy, he'll be 4weeks on Tuesday:) He got his daddy's long legs! Had a section so recovery has been a bit slower than I had planned! Our walks are up to 4miles though:) Plan to get up to 6mile buggy walks by 6weeks (have the garmin on the handlebars already) & then add in C25K workouts & see how I find it - there's no maternity training plans out there, so a log wouldn't be a bad idea!

Yeah Santry 5km wouldn't be a bad idea, be interesting to compare times since it was my last race!

Yep a little boy, he'll be 4weeks on Tuesday:) He got his daddy's long legs! Had a section so recovery has been a bit slower than I had planned! Our walks are up to 4miles though:) Plan to get up to 6mile buggy walks by 6weeks (have the garmin on the handlebars already) & then add in C25K workouts & see how I find it - there's no maternity training plans out there, so a log wouldn't be a bad idea!

Ah congrats! Great news!
    That walking will serve you well in the build up! You can't really go wrong with the C25k then but I'm sure you'll fly through it! Best of luck

Monday 22 September
    am 35 min run

AIS, Lunge Matrix pre run

Phoenix Park for this. Was a bit groggy from half a sleeping tablet last night but it was great to really feel completely asleep for once. (not while I was running!!!)
    Beautiful morning. Time for the suncream again!
    Neck very sore from work these days. Particularly bad in the last week. Might need to see someone about it. Felt grand during the run and picked it up a bit as I went along. 10.02 9:59 9:28 8:38-(3 mins) 9:54 c/d

pm
    35 min run w/ 6 x 25 second strides
    (forgot to do them yesterday pm oops)
    AIS, Lunge Matrix pre run
    10.07 9:33-(strides) 9:38 9:51
    Supposed to be leaving 2 days between doubles but I thought I'd get away with one day as I left a good space between them and I felt grand today. Fighting fit! Plus I was working from home so it made more sense for the sake of convenience.
    Myrtl after the run. I can do it really fast now without the video :)

Had a chat with my brother in NZ. He's only recently got back into his running. Ran with Gowran AC when he lived here a few years ago. Delighted he's starting to enjoy it again. He's training a lot with an ex NZ pro Joe Forde and did a relay in a marathon at the weekend. His times are coming down nicely again and he's getting near his old pbs again. He could be really good and was a fairly decent cross country runner with Gowran. Really hope he sticks with it this time! He's the kind of runner who can knock out a sub 40min 10k off next to no training (less than 20 miles a week). Sickens me...:mad: but I'm still happy for him:D

I am learning so much from this log. I think I am were you were last year as in I am addicted to getting the miles in, I am approaching 1,200 miles for the year so far. But already looking mid term and into 2015 once I get DCM 14 out of the way, I can see myself working on speed like you this year. My PB's are not great 5k 22:13, 10k 48:02, Half 1:43:54.

I see you workout a lot twice a day, is this a lifestyle/time thing or is there a solid reason for this..? I often thought of going out twice a day but was never sure if it would be counterproductive, I know the Mrs would not be happy with more washing she is already doing 6 sets of running gear a week.

Anyway keep up the great log some super stuff in it, maybe this time next year we will both be kitted out in the Raheny colours for a race...:)