If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Be still my beating heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Ososlo wrote: »
    yeah hard to believe really! I'll pay for it yet!

Think positive, you may have turned a corner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Think positive, you may have turned a corner!

I paid for it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I paid for it :(

Feck it, hope you had a good book!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

You've passed your insomnia on to me instead. I haven't had a decent nights sleep in over a week

Thanks for that! :cool:

Laois_Man wrote: »
    You've passed your insomnia on to me instead. I haven't had a decent nights sleep in over a week

Thanks for that! :cool:

Sorry Laois_Man :(
    As if you don't have enough to contend with already :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Sorry Laois_Man :(
    As if you don't have enough to contend with already :(

Ha! Shur I'm grand!

Monday 6 October
    AIS, Lunge Matrix pre run
    45 min run w/25 mins at 10mile-10k effort
    First time I had to wear gloves and boy was i glad I had them. Arms were frozen in my teeshirt but delighted to be finally cold when running! Did this in Phoenix Park and it was starting to get dark when I started and I stupidly didn't have anything luminous on. I also parked the car in a very quiet dark area which was really dumb as when I was finished the run it was pitch black and I could have been murdered or worse heading back to the car without anyone seeing or hearing a thing. Lesson learned.
    10 min warm up and then into the tempo. If I'm honest I was a bit scared of this run as I haven't done anything longish and fastish in quite a while. Got into the faster bit and ignored the watch and just held a pace that was comfortably hard. Gradually took the pace from 8:35 to 8:18. 23 mins into the run I was crossing over the road by the Aras and there were cops holding up the traffic so I had to come to an abrupt halt. I didn't bother picking it up for the remaining 2 mins as the momentum was gone. 12 mins cool down at too fast a pace as my mind was a wanderin that there were scary men lurching in the bushes about to attack me so I kept a steady pace back to the car. Job done. Looking forward to the next one.
    5 miles at 9min/mile avg pace
    Myrtl post run

Tuesday 7 October
    Ais, Lunge Matrix pre run
    50 mins easy w/1 angry mile and a faster finish
    Today was to be 2 x 35 mins but it just couldn't be done. Awake all night so no chance of running before work as I only started getting to sleep at 6 and had to be up at 8 so was a bit of a wreck. I'm still paying for that 9 hours sleep on Saturday:(
    Fantabulous night for a run. Went on my merry way on the local paths and was really enjoying it and keeping it all relaxed. However, I had yet another altercation with some local packs of club runners. Some auld lads at the back of the group running towards me on a very narrow path were chatting away. They were running 3 abreast on a very narrow path by a busy road. Was almost knocked off the path onto the road with fast traffic as yer man closest to me was having a bit of banter with some other old codgers. I let a big culchie curse out of me that I don't think he'll forget in a hurry. How dangerous. Really really not on....
    Really enjoyable despite the rude interruption to my flow!
    5 miles at 9:49 avg pace
    heading West on Thursday for a few days so it'll be nice to do some running in areas I've never run in before. :)

Wednesday 8 October
    am: 35 min run
    Lashing rain. Love running along the paths with cars and trucks coming towards me and when they purposely drive really close to the path and drown me with splashes of water I just laugh it off and wave ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. I'm wet anyways so what's a few splashes more. They're not expecting that reaction!
    9:47 avg pace. Picked it up as I went along. 3 mins at 10kish effort towards end.

pm: 35 min run w/ 6 x 25 sec strides
    Crappy day with some crappy news :(
    Forgot to drink much water and ate well but very small portions, so maybe that's why I didn't feel great. Very sluggish but it's my first bad-ish run in a while. Felt grand towards the end though so threw in very purposely and carefully executed each stride with precision and aplomb.
    Just over 10min pace.
    Myrtl post run

7+ miles total

Longer run in the morning and then a few days hols (with lots of running:D)

Thursday 9 October
    AIS & Lunge Matrix pre run
    80 min longer run at easy effort
    Nice and chilly and drizzly. 8 laps of local park. Around and around and around I went. Delighted when I checked the watch afterwards to see my easy effort today was well under 10 min/miles. This climate suits me perfectly!
    Longest run in a quite a while and no problems covering the distance at all. Looking forward to eventually extending this run to 2 hours. Had another 30 mins or more in me today with no issues.
    Happy with progress and body and legs feel very strong and supple. All the daily exercises seem to be paying off and I'm slowly but surely turning into the bionic woman:cool:
    8ish miles at 9:51min/mile avg

Friday 11 October
    50 mins easy

Away in the Whest for 3 nights and using Sligo as a base. The weather was out of this world.
    Did this on Rossnowlagh beach in Donegal. Stunning beach and lovely compact sand so perfect for a run. Lunge Matrix before hand but forgot my rope so no AIS :( Originally I had planned to take a rest day today and passed it by the boss who encouraged it but I couldn't resist running in this weather. Had been feeling a bit selfish about running while on hols but came to an agreement with my bf so he fished on the beach while I ran on it so a happy equilibrium was reached:)
    Pace was 10:15min/mile for easy effort today which is slower than other recent runs. I was very dehydrated and hadn't slept at all the previous night. I'm never good when sleeping away from home. I'm never good at sleeping at home either but it's even worse when away:rolleyes:

Saturday 12 October
    50 mins with 6 x 25 sec strides

Did this on Dunmoran beach in Sligo. Didn't sleep at all previous night either so that was 2 nights on the trot with no sleep. Feeling pretty dreadful all day. Thought this run would be a nightmare but I felt surprisingly sprightly and energetic. Lunge Matrix and beforehand. Note to self, don't leave home again without rope and foam roller.
    9:36 min/mile

Sunday 13 October
    am 35 mins easy

Blissful 7 hours sleep followed by a blissful 35 min early morning dewey crisp run down by the river side towards Doorley Park. Wish I had done this one a few more times which had been the original plan but I'll be back there again soon.
    9:43 min/mile

pm 35 mins
    Back home and reunited with my rope:D
    Foam Roll, AIS and Lunge Matrix pre run.
    Local run. Feeling good so did this progressively.
    9:52, 9:16, 8:52, 9:54 (c/d)

43 miles weekly total
    Happy with the week but I did miss a 45 min run w/25min tempo (replaced by 35 min easy run) and a double day (replaced by 1 x 50 min run).
    Looking forward to getting everything done properly next week:)
    Work is going to be a lot less hectic from now on and I'll be working from home a lot more so more running can be accommodated:)
    Thanks dna and wb for all the running, eating and drinking suggestions. Best veggie burger I've had in years in Hargadon's Pub last night!

Once-off footage of Ososlo running (on Rossnowlagh):D
    :D324969.gif:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Beach in Rossnowlagh is glorious place to run, make it my business to get a run done there when up visiting the in-laws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

ive seen clearer pictures of the loch ness monster

tang1 wrote: »
    Beach in Rossnowlagh is glorious place to run, make it my business to get a run done there when up visiting the in-laws.

I've earmarked 2 more. Enniscrone and Streedlagh strand. Both fabulous places and just perfect for running. Luckily they're good for fishing too:D
    The last 3 days over that direction were as enjoyable as any foreign holiday I've been on if not more. The weather helps of course but the scenery is just stunning. Fantastic view of Ben Bulben out my bedroom window!

ive seen clearer pictures of the loch ness monster

lol! So you won't recognise me if you meet me out running then? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

lol! So you won't recognise me if you meet me out running then? :)
    sure ill see ya at camp:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Yeah, Ben Bulben is spectacular alright, they run a quality 10mile race up that way in March, some of the scenery on it is glorious. Theres a section along the back of Bundoran golf course where you think you'll run out of road and run off the cliffs edge there.

tang1 wrote: »
    Yeah, Ben Bulben is spectacular alright, they run a quality 10mile race up that way in March, some of the scenery on it is glorious. Theres a section along the back of Bundoran golf course where you think you'll run out of road and run off the cliffs edge there.

Sounds cool! So much to see around there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ah yes, hope to do the Bundoran 10 again next year. Love that downhill finish :)

Monday 13 October
    Foam roll, AIS, Lunge Matrix pre run
    45 mins w/25mins @ 10mile to 10k effort

Got a new 'Phoenix Park Transporter' car sorted today thankfully but won't have it for another few days so stayed local once again for the run.
    Warm up was grand. 10 mins at 9:57 then started on the faster bit. Immediately I injected a bit of pace I got this horrible stitch. I haven't had anything like it for a long time so don't know where it came from or why. I htfu'd for the first mile but it was a real struggle and I debated just turning it into an easy one. Stitch left me in the 2nd mile thankfully and I felt really good - 8:29 pace and the last .94 of a mile was at 8:16 pace. Cooldown at 9:30 was weird as it was so 'fast' (it's all relative!) but it felt very easy effort-wise.
    Avg pace for the run 9:02min/mile
    Myrtl post run.
    Feel a bit paranoid posting the exercises I do now as some folks seem to be taking the p1ss on some logs. Not sure what's so wrong with working on general strength and mobility and it's certainly not doing me any harm and I haven't had so much as a niggle since I started doing AIS, LM and Myrtl so ... thanks Stazza for introducing them to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Monday 13 October
    45 mins w/25mins @ 10mile to 10k effort

Got a new 'Phoenix Park Transporter' car sorted today thankfully but won't have it for another few days so stayed local once again for the run.
    Warm up was grand. 10 mins at 9:57 then started on the faster bit. Immediately I injected a bit of pace I got this horrible stitch. I haven't had anything like it for a long time so don't know where it came from or why. I htfu'd for the first mile but it was a real struggle and I debated just turning it into an easy one. Stitch left me in the 2nd mile thankfully and I felt really good - 8:29 pace and the last .94 of a mile was at 8:16 pace. Cooldown at 9:30 was weird as it was so 'fast' (it's all relative!) but it felt very easy effort-wise.
    Avg pace for the run 9:02min/mile
    Myrtl post run.
    Feel a bit paranoid posting the exercises I do now as some folks seem to be taking the p1ss on some logs. Not sure what's so wrong with working on general strength and mobility and it's certainly not doing me any harm and I haven't had so much as a niggle since I started doing AIS, LM and Myrtl so ... thanks Stazza for introducing them to me.

If they work for you and you get benefit from them and enjoy them then keep posting! An area I probably need to improve on post marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Got a bit of a laugh from that - you're paranoid about posting actually 'training' but feel ok posting about your car, sleep deprivation, womens issues, wedding dress shopping etc :D:D:D

Not a thing wrong with it, dont feel paranoid - If the exercises work for you, keep it going - its all part of your training and this is a training log :)
    I'm a few weeks into a good routine myself and love it - posting it keeps me at it.

Got a bit of a laugh from that - you're paranoid about posting actually 'training' but feel ok posting about your car, sleep deprivation, womens issues, wedding dress shopping etc :D:D:D

Not a thing wrong with it, dont feel paranoid - If the exercises work for you, keep it going - its all part of your training and this is a training log :)
    I'm a few weeks into a good routine myself and love it - posting it keeps me at it.

ha ha
    I still don't like people laffin' at me;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

You're lucky we aren't in medieval times- with all your "strange" training they'd have thrown you in a lake to see if you'd sink or swim......and you know how that one turns out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Couldn't agree more with AMK's post - people take different things from different logs....you're sharing your ideas and techniques which is a great resource for people to have at their disposal. They can take it or leave it which is the beauty of the training logs on boards.

And sure the other stuff you share is good craic too :pac:

Tuesday 14 October
    Foam roll, Lunge Matrix pre run
    am: 35 mins easy
    Kept this all very relaxed as I was wired all night and just couldn't settle. Luckily I'm reading a very good book to help while away the hours... I think I was a little bit excited too about picking up my new Phoenix Park Transporter car tomorrow!
    No pick ups, no nothing, just plain old easy run.
    avg pace: 10:14min/mile

Afternoon at the hairdressers where I was stuck in a chair not able to move for 3 fecking hours just to cover up the fact that I'm not really a blonde:eek: The things we do! I actually feel a bit silly for part of what I posted on quirky's latest closing post about being 'upset' over what he posted and pmd to me over the months. Ultrapercy is completely right, there are WAY too many FAR more important things to worry about in life and I regret posting my feelings but it was how I felt at the time. My excuse is that I'm a bit hormonal today;) Thanks for the reality check and I will "Cop on".

The fact that ecoli is gone is an absolute shame. He has been personally very supportive of me in many capacities since I started posting on boards. I really hope he's back soon. And sure you're no one around these parts unless you've had at least one account closure and a second coming! Come back Luke.

Back to training....

pm: 35 mins easy w/6x25 sec strides
    Wasn't sure how it'd go with the old pains. Felt very sluggish starting out but perked up a little as I went along.
    9:38min/mile avg pace

and for the record, nobody pulls my strings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

I've earmarked 2 more. Enniscrone and Streedlagh strand. Both fabulous places and just perfect for running. Luckily they're good for fishing too:D
    The last 3 days over that direction were as enjoyable as any foreign holiday I've been on if not more. The weather helps of course but the scenery is just stunning. Fantastic view of Ben Bulben out my bedroom window!

Streedagh is where the club does all its xc training. Lovely 1 mile hilly loop on the headland between first and second cattle grids. Another 900m loop on a trail at the foot of benbulben. Great views from up there on a clear day. Will send you a few map s one of the days

conavitzky wrote: »
    Streedagh is where the club does all its xc training. Lovely 1 mile hilly loop on the headland between first and second cattle grids. Another 900m loop on a trail at the foot of benbulben. Great views from up there on a clear day. Will send you a few map s one of the days

that'd be super thanks! Can't wait to go back!!!

... and next thing you know...

Wednesday 15 October 2014
    Rest day

2 nights with absolutely no sleep so decided to take my first day off running/exercise in over 3 weeks as a run was not going to do anything to help matters. I was so tired I was disorientated and my thinking was quite disjointed. Tiredness can do very strange things to ones mind!
    Went to bed at 11 and woke at 9am! I don't think that's ever happened me in my life before! I don't think I even moved position all night! I was no good to man nor beast :eek:

Thursday 16 October

It's amazing what over 10 hours sleep and a good ole virtual chin-wag with your brother can do to help you see things clearly again ;)
    AIS and LM pre run
    am: 35 min run
    Did this progressively as I was feeling good. My legs wanted to take off from the beginning but I held back and went from 9:50 pace to 8:30 pace very gradually.
    Finally got me new motor sorted and took it for a little spin and celebrated with a glass of something sparkly :)

pm: AIS & LM
    35 mins w/6x25 sec strides

A little wet but extremely mild. Felt nice and bouncy and glided along this evening. Lit it rip on the strides.

Friday 17 October
    90 min longer run

Felt very strange heading off. Very lightheaded even though I had eaten breakfast. Guess it's the effects of the painkillers from the last few days. Never really got going if I'm honest and kept it all very easy. It was a bit of a 'meh' run and I can't remember ever having one of those before! Felt stronger at the end so picked it up a little bit.
    9 miles at 10min/mile

Saturday 18 October
    45 mins w/25 min tempo

AIS, Lunge Matrix pre run.
    Tried this without breakfast (something I haven't done in a long time) but have been getting little stitches lately so wanted to see if it made any difference running on an empty stomach. I didn't notice any loss in energy for the duration so that's good. I did get a really bad stitch at the very end of the tempo part of the run though so had to stop for about a minute to recover.
    Beautiful if blustery morning. A lot of runners out and a few local club runners and Gary O' H whizzed by me a few times at lighteneing speed. Great to see the pros at work. That's one thing I really love about running in my local park. You really never know what runners you might see on any given day because of it's close proximity to Santry Stadium. I've seen many running stars over the last few years.
    Felt pretty damn good this morning. I always take my time easing into the tempo so I do the first 10 mins or so at 10 mile isn race effort and gradually work up to 10k effort. Suits me better this way so I don't shoot my load too early on and die a death.
    Warm up 10mins at 9:56 pace, then worked from 8:35 to 8:19 pace. Felt good but was working hard throughout. It felt 'fast' but relaxed (ish).
    Happy out with that as it worked out faster than recent tempo efforts.
    5.03 miles at 8:59 avg pace

Sunday 19 October
    Foam roll, AIS, Lunge Matrix
    7 miles easy
    Superb night away in Waterford Castle partaking in a 5 course meal tasting and of course lots of alcohol had to be sampled too. 2 x different white wines, 2 x red wines, sparkling wines and lots of g&ts and more wine to finish off and a very very close encounter with a cigarette but I didn't succumb. I never fail to amaze myself that even when off my face, that I can still see sense as far as smoking is concerned. Plan was to do a run around the island this morning... ha ha ha ha ha...
    Today was to be 2 x 35 mins but no way could I do that with any kind of a decent break in-between so decided to do the replacement run of 50 mins easy instead. This run was fuelled by a very naughty Supermacs meal on the way back to Dublin followed by some m&ms. Somehting I never do!
    Thought the run would be a complete mess like I was earlier today but oddly I felt great. My breathing has never been better, my legs felt great and I was thoroughly enjoying it. For some very strange reason, 9:40ish min/miles felt very easy for me today. Yeah I ran a few miles more than I should have but I was just listening to my body and it wanted to go a little bit further day :)
    7 miles at 9:39min/mile
    Weekly total 41 miles (missed one run due to unscheduled rest day)
    A few more spicy bits will be added in next week and I can't ****ing wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

.Suits me better this way so I don't shoot my load too early on!
    As the bishop said to the actress:pac:
    Sorry, my dirty mind couldn't resist.
    edit: I think the phrase you meant was shoot your bolt.

gerard_65 wrote: »
    As the bishop said to the actress:pac:
    Sorry, my dirty mind couldn't resist.
    edit: I think the phrase you meant was shoot your bolt.

:o
    same thing? I better stop using that phrase as people regularly take it up incorrectly! I thought it was an acceptable turn of phrase!!!
    From now on it's 'shoot my bolt' then!