The Irish relationship with strong language

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,696 ✭✭✭✭rob316

There just words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    For the vast majority of people it is down to a limited vocabulary and a fear of expressing oneself articulately in case they would be ridiculed. There are few Armando Iannucci's among us.

jesus mary joesph and all the saints in heaven, you actually believe that sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

A perception exists that Irish people are unusually fond of doing "strong" language, i.e. cursing. It's a trait we share with the Scots.

So my question is this? Why? We are a nation of literary big-hitters, yet often find ourselves reduced to dropping f-bombs, rudely cursing at each other down the pub or telling people to 'ask my ass" when a simple no would do.

So; why?

It's just banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I never curse but I don't have any problem with other people using such language, within reason. If the situation is appropriate, say what you want. My parents and four siblings have no problem swearing (well, my youngest sister doesn't do it much) so I don't know what happened to me.

The odd time, I pretend to be offended but that's only for effect, and only with certain (female) people I work with. "That's shocking language stuff you're talkin'! It'll be straight to Hell with ya!!". By the tone, they should know that I'm not serious (although I'd tend to say that stuff with a very serious face, just to leave a bit of doubt with them...).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

You can't beat a well-placed swear word now and then. I have a particular fondness for "bollocks" and calling someone the classic, "****head" behind their backs relieves a little tension when I'm annoyed. My own invention of, "shiteyfuckyface!!" when I'm angry is a fave as well. I'm happy swearing is so accepted in Ireland I think it sounds charming in our accents.

Edit: Oh and "gob****e" and "arsehole" are also effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I don't think Joe Pesci got through one sentence in Goodfellas without calling someone a motherfooker, so going by that the Mafia beat us hands down for cursing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

That's not really true though, is it.

Ah it is man, big time. Rodney Doyle and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

kupus wrote: »
    jesus mary joesph and all the saints in heaven, you actually believe that sh1t.

That few can swear in a way that is even mildly funny or pleasing to the ear and not just hyperbolic and juvenile; yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Coz we're a bunch of cunts.

blatant re reg knows the [nofilter] tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Thread needs more sh!tehawk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

That few can swear in a way that is even mildly funny or pleasing to the ear and not just hyperbolic and juvenile; yes.

People who use swearing in an attempt to be funny are doing it wrong. I hate those comedians who just swear and swear because they think it makes them funnier.

They're also not intended to be pleasing to the ear, at least not in the sense you're talking about. Billy Connelly does an excellent bit on how to say "fúck off" properly, you have to elongate the 'f'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

krudler wrote: »
    I was told before moving to Canada that people here don't swear, my ass they don't.

I swear that we swear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

Have never cursed in front of a boss/lecturer/doctor/worker in a shop or restaurant etc, and also try to never curse around young kids although I've accidentally said "shiit" in front of kids once or twice. I also tend to not curse in the presence of people I don't know that well in case they are the type who are easily offended. I'm not including Boardsies due to this post.

Apart from that, I curse fairly freely with people I am comfortable around. Never in an "every second word" type of way, but would say "fcuk it", "fckin something or other", "loada shiite","fcuks sake", "fcuk off", "gob****e", "prick", "fckin bollix", "oh shiit" etc. fairly regularly.
    These are mild enough imo, although I would use much worse language when really really mad.

It looks much worse when written down all together!

The Bearded Lady:
    "****ey****yface!!"
    I love this! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

One expletive crutch I hear people using over and over is forgetting something and saying;" where's the f**king, the f**king, you know the f**king yoke, where the f**k did I leave the f**king yoke for f**k's sake".
    When a lot of irish people have a mental block they turn into tourettes sufferers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Why attach a stigma to swearing? At the end of the day, it's only a word. I find it farcical how Yanks will flip out at the word **** but accept the word dick easily enough. Same way how ****e and feck are more acceptable than **** and ****.

As one of the lads pointed out, the Spanish swear all the time. You'll hear kids say joder and puta just as filler in conversation. Why let the words bother you? I like having the freedom to not have my vocabulary restricted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Reiver wrote: »
    Why let the words bother you? I like having the freedom to not have my vocabulary restricted.

because its ignorant & vile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

For the vast majority of people it is down to a limited vocabulary and a fear of expressing oneself articulately in case they would be ridiculed. There are few Armando Iannucci's among us.

Armando Iannucci? The creator of Malcolm Tucker? Staggeringly bad example for you to pick out, the guy who created the funniest, most articulate, brilliantly sweary character in British comedy in about forty years.

Come the fck in or fck the fck off.

fryup wrote: »
    because its ignorant & vile

I personally find the word ignorant vile. Please don't use it around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

A perception exists that Irish people are unusually fond of doing "strong" language, i.e. cursing. It's a trait we share with the Scots.

So my question is this? Why? We are a nation of literary big-hitters, yet often find ourselves reduced to dropping f-bombs, rudely cursing at each other down the pub or telling people to 'ask my ass" when a simple no would do.

So; why?

It's not really deemed as strong language here. If people in general swear more liberally then it's not really strong language. Colourful, maybe and surprising depending on who is using it but I assume less offensive.
    The F-bomb isn't a bomb if it's commonly used

It's culturally accepted here so somewhat incorporated into everyday language.

For the most part I don't think people swear at it each other or use curse words in an aggressive way.
    Maybe it's not nice but it's just crept into usage and not used in a harsh way.

It's not something I cringe about we could be known for a lot worse things
    so being a bit sweary is ok with me

Armando Iannucci? The creator of Malcolm Tucker? Staggeringly bad example for you to pick out, the guy who created the funniest, most articulate, brilliantly sweary character in British comedy in about forty years.

I think that was his point. Iannucci knew how to use swearing but there are very few Iannuccis out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"Fuckity bye!"

Everyone should watch In The Loop ,it's how to swear properly and be utterly hilarious as you do it.

FunLover18 wrote: »
    I think that was his point. Iannucci knew how to use swearing but there are very few Iannuccis out there.

Me balls. Lad was offended by swearing on principle. Is he arguing that unless you're Malcolm Tucker you can't swear? Because Tucker didn't just emerge fully formed, he's a product of a sweary culture. You can't just have Malcolm, and a society of monks who don't understand him. He is a product of our fantastic cu#tacularity. It's either both or neither.

I think his definitely flawed argument is that the majority of people who use swear words (the likes of you and me) just have a limited … you knew, that thing … knowledge of words. Whereas there is a … an opposite of majority which includes Iannucci who knows how to fúcking swear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

A lot of people think the c-word is never acceptable. However, apparently the euphemism 'axe-wound' is fine.

What gives with that?

Hints are always better, e.g. do you know the Five Lamps?

Fowl (sic) language has a place. Duck, cock, bird, hen. Breast, thigh, goose, pen. Chick, jay, booby, wren. Tit, hawk, land, (a)men.

It is all about c*ntext, and whether the word is spoken or written. If writing, you had better not be sh!teing; if spoken, don't make it about poking.

Anyway, OP: How's your gabhal, bud?

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 man on a BOAT

Strong language? Like the mighty fag'got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

I'm not offended by swearing at all in fact I think most swearing is so banal that there is little point to it unlike Ianucci. The other poster is correct.