Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox One General Discussion - Part 2 (Please Read 1st Post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

tripperman wrote: »
    is it worth getting the kinect version of the xbo, or just get a bunndle without???

You can buy the kinect for €28 in CEX if you really want it.with the next update, their bringing quicker ways of navigating the menu's without using the kinect anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

If I disconnect my kinect, will the icon on the home screen saying your kinect is disconnected, eventually disappear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭tripperman

thanks lads, just starting to look around at upgrading in next couple of months

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

GrumPy wrote: »
    One huge downside to the game I've noticed so far (lvl. 9 - early days, I know) is they explain almost nothing about the enemies, the planet, the conflict, why you are doing what you are doing etc... :rolleyes:

As you play, you unlock "Grimore Cards" which can be viewed on Bungie.net, which apparently serve as some "bonus reading" covering that sort of stuff.

Mind, it's pretty stupid forcing you to a website to do it, but it is there, kind of....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Lord TSC wrote: »
    As you play, you unlock "Grimore Cards" which can be viewed on Bungie.net, which apparently serve as some "bonus reading" covering that sort of stuff.

Mind, it's pretty stupid forcing you to a website to do it, but it is there, kind of....

I was wondering what they was... thanks.
    Pretty lazy to me is: Bioshock pick-up recordings (still kinda cool), outright lazy is books in Skyrim... but publishing info to a website for reading outside of the actual game-world? Plain cheeky if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It was the same in Halo 4, which was hugely disappointing. Just smacked of a developer who didn't know how to integrate their story into their game. I wonder how much 343 followed Bungie's template there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 neonic75

Any idea when voice commands will be supported?

neonic75 wrote: »
    Any idea when voice commands will be supported?

Working for me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 neonic75

Fescue wrote: »
    Working for me now.

Did you need to enable it somewhere?
    I cant get it working for me...

Not as far as I'm aware. I just noticed it was working a few months back. Just say "Xbox" and see if a command prompt comes up. There are no doubt better people in here to give you the full details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

You have to choose a spoken language. Just go to Settings and in where you change region, you choose spoken language beside Ireland, set to English and save. Should work then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Was able to pre order, and pre install fifa 15 the other night. So my understanding is, the minute the clock strikes 12 on the release date, I'm able to play it. Very very cool feature. This feature has probably been around for ages but I'm relatively naive with these things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

dulux99 wrote: »
    Was able to pre order, and pre install fifa 15 the other night. So my understanding is, the minute the clock strikes 12 on the release date, I'm able to play it. Very very cool feature. This feature has probably been around for ages but I'm relatively naive with these things

Correct - as long as you bought it from the marketplace you live in. - if you bought it from the US marketplace, you wont be able to access it until midnight in america.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Must be going blind here, can't find an option to turn off controller vibration anywhere. Used to it off from the 360 and it's way over the top in destiny so my hands feel like I've been using a Jack Hammer all week :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Headset discussion moved to the headset thread. rottie 11, are you using an unofficial boards app, all your posts are being doubled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭rottie 11

Myrddin wrote: »
    Headset discussion moved to the headset thread. rottie 11, are you using an unofficial boards app, all your posts are being doubled

I am using the browser in my phone. I noticed that happening tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Are people still playing Titanfall online? Planning on picking it up with Destiny and a new console but there's not much point if there's no community there.

Its hard to tell, but from my friends list, it seems like people stopped playing it overnight. Its still a really good game, but your mileage may vary with randomers. If you have an option of buying a different game, be sure not to take any ea ones, almost everything they've released at launch is now available in the vault for about €25 a year. - Battlefield 4, fifa 14, need for speed rivals, peggle 2, madden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Does anyone use their box as a through put for TV?
    I noticed that the OneGuide is now supported in Ireland yesterday.
    Not sure how long that's been the case, but it's a welcome addition!

Now for some fooking voice recognition support ... ... ... :pac:

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Does anyone use their box as a through put for TV?
    I noticed that the OneGuide is now supported in Ireland yesterday.
    Not sure how long that's been the case, but it's a welcome addition!

Now for some fooking voice recognition support ... ... ... :pac:

I use it, works grand, the free to air / saorview combo box that i use was recognised as well, the only downside is that the oneguide only covers the saorview channels - and if your set top box isn't programmed in the order it expects, it picks wrong channels.
    for example on my set top box its rte 1, rte 2, tv3, tg4,3e , rte junior, but as far as I remember the oneguide expects it to be rte1, rte1+1, rte2 etc.

the voice recognition is up and running - you just have to turn it on.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,797 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Anyone else having trouble signing in this morning? I can't log in and my NAT seems to have magically become strict overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,477 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Anyone else having trouble signing in this morning? I can't log in and my NAT seems to have magically become strict overnight.

My Nat was always moderate since I got the One. I set up a DMZ on my vodafone router and static IP on the One on Wednesday and managed to get an open Nat for the first time since launch day.
    I'll check and lunch time and see if it's still open and let you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

I use it, works grand, the free to air / saorview combo box that i use was recognised as well, the only downside is that the oneguide only covers the saorview channels - and if your set top box isn't programmed in the order it expects, it picks wrong channels.
    for example on my set top box its rte 1, rte 2, tv3, tg4,3e , rte junior, but as far as I remember the oneguide expects it to be rte1, rte1+1, rte2 etc.

the voice recognition is up and running - you just have to turn it on.

Yeah, there's not much you can do when you have a cross country set up like that. It's a pity it doesn't allow manual channel selection. One guide is missing channels from the UPC lineup alright, but I hope that get's fixed.

Seriously, voice is active? This is good news :D

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,797 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Got the NAT open again but still can't log in.

Edit: Working now, logged into the 360 no problem turned it off, then when I booted up the One it was grand again. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Regarding NAT configuration: My current setup is a nightmare. I have 10MB Eircom line, delivered through an ancient netopia router. However, the guy who owns the house used to complain of the crappy WiFi signal, so disabled it, and connected a Dlink router to the Eircom box, essentially using the Eircom box purely as a means of receiving the phone cable. Thus, creating a mindfúck of pain regarding NAT settings/port forwarding.
    Since I got my Xbox ONE last week, and despite having spent 2 hours trying various settings on both admin pages of both routers, I've had no luck. However, efibre just became available... so I've ordered it and they will be providing a shiny new router. Is there a boardies guide to correct NAT settings specifically configured with Eircom efibre in mind?

I'm aware of what ports need to be opened, my main concern is the actual router UI, and having to correctly navigate it and configure the static IP for example, or the DMZ if that is required! Any tips/links welcome. :)

EDIT: Just found this link, and couldn't find it initially - which resulted in much frustration! http://portforward.com/networking/static-ip-xbox-one/ I'll review this when I finish work! :)

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Got the NAT open again but still can't log in.

Edit: Working now, logged into the 360 no problem turned it off, then when I booted up the One it was grand again. Weird.

Ah here, once I was logged in I then couldn't log in to Destiny, so I switched the console off again, now it's back to not letting me log in at all. Wtf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Raymond Pest

D4 launched today. Downloaded it earlier and it's a fantastic game, good reason to dust off the kinect aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

I'm interested, but €15 an episode seems a bit steep

Might wait for a collected edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,401 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

There are a few requests on the Xbox Feedback site for creating personal channel lists (i.e. in the order you want and with the channels you want).

It's fairly low at the moment, with only 100 votes

If we could select the channels we like (i.e. from Freesat / Saorview) and put them in the order we would like (e.g. channel 1, 2, 3 and not 801, 802, etc.) that would be great.

There are a few requests on the Xbox Feedback site for creating personal channel lists (i.e. in the order you want and with the channels you want).

It's fairly low at the moment, with only 100 votes

If we could select the channels we like (i.e. from Freesat / Saorview) and put them in the order we would like (e.g. channel 1, 2, 3 and not 801, 802, etc.) that would be great.

i'd be happy with a voice command "xbox, channel up / down" or "xbox, go to channel (channel number)"