Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Queue Jumpers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,438 ✭✭✭corner of hells

donna35 wrote: »
    This happened to us yesterday. My little boy just started in Junior Infants and they have the different class lines painted out in the yard, first child tends to stand on the classroom number and everyone else falls in behind and the teacher holds the hand of the first child going in.

We happened to be there first yesterday and there were quite a few children in the line when a Polish lady came along with her child and buggy with baby in it. She proceeded to march to the top of the line, parked the buggy sideways in front of me and spoke rapidly to the child in Polish, I assume telling her to get in front of my son as this is what she did. My son asked why she wasn't in the line, I told him some of the kids just weren't in line yet but would when the teacher came out (there were a few other kids playing and running about too). The mother was listening but didn't react, not sure if her English was good or not but I said nothing to her about the queue in case it wasn't.

Teacher came out, said good morning and told the little girl to get into the line properly, nudging her past the other children. This morning the same little girl came into the yard, came over and looked as if she was heading over to do the same again but her mum headed in different direction to talk to someone so she went over there too.

If she was to do this again then I wouldn't hesitate to ask her to please get in line. I understand she might have just wanted to hold teacher's hand but if that's the case then they just need to get there sooner really.

Can't stand queue jumping it's so ignorant no matter who does it.

Maybe the five year old is a little shy , maybe mum lacks confidence and is lonely , maybe she might want to make friends with you ..... who knows ?
    How bout saying hi and asking how her little girl is getting on and stop worrying about five year olds queueing in a school yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

queues generally are there to be skipped!
    trolls generally are there to be ignored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Donald73

Maybe the five year old is a little shy , maybe mum lacks confidence and is lonely , maybe she might want to make friends with you ..... who knows ?
    How bout saying hi and asking how her little girl is getting on and stop worrying about five year olds queueing in a school yard.

She didn't look at, speak to or interact with me in any way when she came up. I should also say that another Polish mum came up behind her and they started chatting in Polish. She has a couple of friends with children in the school that I've noticed her chatting with in the last couple of days. I talk to some of the mums and have no problem doing so, she didn't seem like that was what she wanted though.

The thread is about queue jumping and this does fall under that, the child seemed to be told by her mum to get in front regardless that there were a few children already in line waiting. It doesn't teach her child, nor the others watching, anything about manners and waiting your turn when she encouraged this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

I was with the wife at the GNIB office one morning, and if youve ever had to queue for the GNIB youd know the queue starts at about 6am and stretches halfway round the building. We were there from 7am and as were nearing the door this ****ing young indian looking couple walk up, pretending to be confused about where the line for the GNIB office starts, you know, the gigantic line thats stretching around the corner of the building. Pricks try and just jump in in front of me, but after queuing for 40 mins i was in no mood and told them to get tae **** and get to the back of the line. They left, but i saw them sneaking in again soon after we got in, the sly cnuts

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

I dislike queue jumpers generally....but unless it's really blatant or if the queue is a long one that I've been in for a while I'll usually let it slide.

I do dislike people that come up behind you in the supermarket when you have half a trolley unpacked on the conveyor belt and just because they only have a few items in their arms they give you this plaintive look of "Oh please , let me skip ahead...please, I'll die if I have to wait the 90 seconds it will take for you to complete your purchases"... It's always older ladies too , never younger people or men.....hmmmm

I also hate people who wildly over-react to perceived queue jumping...Especially in cars...

The scenario that gets me is where you have a two lane road that filters down to one lane...

As far as I'm concerned , there's absolutely nothing wrong whatsoever in driving all the way to the end of the right lane (assuming that the left lane is the one that becomes the single lane) and then filtering in - I'l wait my turn politely at that point, people should filter in in alternate lanes..but no , here in Ireland that's seen as some from of blasphemy..

Everyone starts moving into the left lane 2 miles back, joining a giant queue and woe betide you if you have the temerity to drive to the end of the now empty right lane.. I've even had a guy swerve out into the right lane and throw open his car door to try block me on one occasion!!...Life is just too short for that crap...

She didn't look at, speak to or interact with me in any way when she came up. I should also say that another Polish mum came up behind her and they started chatting in Polish. She has a couple of friends with children in the school that I've noticed her chatting with in the last couple of days. I talk to some of the mums and have no problem doing so, she didn't seem like that was what she wanted though.

The thread is about queue jumping and this does fall under that, the child seemed to be told by her mum to get in front regardless that there were a few children already in line waiting. It doesn't teach her child, nor the others watching, anything about manners and waiting your turn when she encouraged this.

Sounds a terrible experience for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,862 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I hate queue jumpers they piss me right off but what pisses me off more is people who blatantly push past kids as if they are not there. Was in the shop on Sunday with my little lad and heading to the queue where there was 2 young girls (7 or 8 years old) and this fella in his 40's walks past us all straight in front of the 2 little girls. I never had chance to say anything as the girl behind the counter just said "There's people ahead of you" and then he acts like he didn't see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

This happened to us yesterday. My little boy just started in Junior Infants and they have the different class lines painted out in the yard, first child tends to stand on the classroom number and everyone else falls in behind and the teacher holds the hand of the first child going in.

We happened to be there first yesterday and there were quite a few children in the line when a Polish lady came along with her child and buggy with baby in it. She proceeded to march to the top of the line, parked the buggy sideways in front of me and spoke rapidly to the child in Polish, I assume telling her to get in front of my son as this is what she did. My son asked why she wasn't in the line, I told him some of the kids just weren't in line yet but would when the teacher came out (there were a few other kids playing and running about too). The mother was listening but didn't react, not sure if her English was good or not but I said nothing to her about the queue in case it wasn't.

Teacher came out, said good morning and told the little girl to get into the line properly, nudging her past the other children. This morning the same little girl came into the yard, came over and looked as if she was heading over to do the same again but her mum headed in different direction to talk to someone so she went over there too.

If she was to do this again then I wouldn't hesitate to ask her to please get in line. I understand she might have just wanted to hold teacher's hand but if that's the case then they just need to get there sooner really.

you seem more interested in the fact that this woman was Polish than anything else. why do you even need to mention her nationality?

the fact that you are getting annoyed over a 5 year old girl standing at the top of a school queue is pathetic to be honest, as is your very poor attempt to have several digs at the woman, again based on her nationality.

there was a lot of ignorance going on in that play ground alright and it wasnt from the other people there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭stimpson

Feckin Greeks.

stimpson wrote: »
    Feckin Greeks.

They invented queue skipping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I remember queuing one night in abrakebabra really really drunk, when these lads pushed right in ahead of me. It was a college town so it was pretty busy, I was after waiting for ages but I didn't say anything. As we got closer to the top this girl pushed in in front of me so I tell her that's the front of the que not the back, she ignored me so I told her again and she's saying she was with the lads and they had minded her space. She wouldn't move and we were almost at the top of the que so I say again "here I thought it was only pretty girls who got to skip ques". I was delighted with myself but even more so when the guy behind te counter told her to drop on down to the back

you seem more interested in the fact that this woman was Polish than anything else. why do you even need to mention her nationality?

the fact that you are getting annoyed over a 5 year old girl standing at the top of a school queue is pathetic to be honest, as is your very poor attempt to have several digs at the woman, again based on her nationality.

there was a lot of ignorance going on in that play ground alright and it wasnt from the other people there.

I only mentioned her nationality to make the point that I didn't think she would understand me were I to speak to her so I left it and said nothing to her. I have absolutely no problem with people's nationalities just to be clear - I chat most days to another Polish lady at the school and others of different nationality too for that matter (the school is multi-racial which I think is a good thing), worked with and am friends with people of many different nationalities and my aunt was married to a Jamaican who was the loveliest man ever just as a few examples...I am not racist, far from it.

I would have felt and said the same had the mother in question been Irish. It was the fact that SHE sent the child in to queue-hop which bothered me. Had the child stood in there herself I'd have just seen it as a child not knowing and wanting to stand there, as kids do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Maybe she's a queue jumping bitch.

Jesus, talk shi*te much?

I remember queuing one night in abrakebabra really really drunk, when these lads pushed right in ahead of me. It was a college town so it was pretty busy, I was after waiting for ages but I didn't say anything. As we got closer to the top this girl pushed in in front of me so I tell her that's the front of the que not the back, she ignored me so I told her again and she's saying she was with the lads and they had minded her space. She wouldn't move and we were almost at the top of the que so I say again "here I thought it was only pretty girls who got to skip ques". I was delighted with myself but even more so when the guy behind te counter told her to drop on down to the back

So you were brave enough to say it to a girl on her own but not the lads who jumped in earlier?

Of course she'd feel more comfortable challenging a girl rather than a group of guys, most women would. The queue jumping girl had been challenged and was acting the bitch, she had it coming.

And the lads just get away with it. Cool.

I can understand that. The group of lads would be intimidating IMO. I reckon the girl might have been with the lads though, all jumping the queue. Maybe they went on ahead to the chipper and she was catching them up. In which case the poster was brave as they could have all turned on her/him.

And the lads just get away with it. Cool.

It's not cool that anyone jumps the queue. It's also not cool to take cheap shots at a woman for not wanting to challenge a group of strange lads.

Does she have an (F) after her name or am i supposed to be psychic when it comes to poster gender? :rolleyes:

Nope, it's an easy mistake to make, although Lexie is usually a ladies name.:)

Christy is usually a mans name but i recently found out a poster on here with that name is female.

Perhaps we should be gender specific with the (M) (F) after our usernames.:D

I'll start the feedback thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Emmacash

I worked with a girl once who had some slight anger management issues. Lovely girl but god help you if you crossed her on a bad day.

So, one day on our break I walked down to the shop with her so she could get an apple. She was first in the Que but for some reason the man behind the counter started serving the lady behind her (who had about 10 items)

No bother, she just pointed out that actually, she was next in line and we were in a bit of a rush so could she pay for her apple first.
    The shopguy sneered something at her like 'for God's sake relax and I'll deal with you in a minute.'

Next thing I knew she just bounced the apple off his head and walked off!!!

All I could do was pick my jaw up off the ground and say a meager 'bye' to the shopkeeper and the people left in the Que and trail after her.

So to sum up...wait your turn!! You never know who it's going to affect :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,243 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Slightly different scenario but something that gets on my tits is when I'm in a pub and the barman goes and serves people he knows even though I might have been there before them, happened once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Slightly off topic.....
    When your at a gig and everyone is hemmed in tight near the front. There's obviously no more room and yet some couple of Fckwits will try to move up the front via barging their way through. THERE'S NO MORE ****ING ROOM. If you want to be up the front come earlier!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

Emmacash wrote: »
    I worked with a girl once who had some slight anger management issues. Lovely girl but god help you if you crossed her on a bad day.

So, one day on our break I walked down to the shop with her so she could get an apple. She was first in the Que but for some reason the man behind the counter started serving the lady behind her (who had about 10 items)

No bother, she just pointed out that actually, she was next in line and we were in a bit of a rush so could she pay for her apple first.
    The shopguy sneered something at her like 'for God's sake relax and I'll deal with you in a minute.'

Next thing I knew she just bounced the apple off his head and walked off!!!

All I could do was pick my jaw up off the ground and say a meager 'bye' to the shopkeeper and the people left in the Que and trail after her.

So to sum up...wait your turn!! You never know who it's going to affect :/

I have a wonderful image of an apple richocheting off the guys head.

Customer feedback: negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

What about drivers?

The sheet amount of ignorant ***** out there is staggering

What gives them the right to skip a line of traffic that I've been 10 minutes in? I never let them in and I blast the horn at them. If nobody says anything, they carry on again in their own ignorant bubble

At least 10 drivers did it today, driving up the bus lane knowing full well they were going to cut in at the end. That's 10 cars who'll get their turn before me which could be 1 or 2 sequences of lights which again just delays me even further

Would love a 3 point fine for this but sadly unless people refuse to let them in they'll keep at it. Please please please folks, next time just say no to them

That drives me nuts!!
    I usually keep an eye out for it in the passenger wing-mirror and when I see one of these selfish ignorant c***s coming down the bus lane I edge forward and left into the lane to block them getting any further than me ........ the look of frustration and embarrassment on their mush as they stick out like a sore thumb!! Nobody will let them back in and I won't let them past me so they just sit there looking stupid!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

If you've ever been to Poland (as I have) you'd find that the Polish just do not queue!?!!
    They seem obsessed with just being at the top of a queue no matter how rude and ignorant they have to be to achieve it ........ it started in Dublin airport and continued to the final queue in Wroclaw airport coming home ........... the amount of arguments (almost physical at the times!) I got in was unreal but I wouldn't relent, I would/could not let them skip me!! :mad: