Abducted/Missing 15 year old Wexford boy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

lukesmom wrote: »
    Well the CRI alert app shows the alert is still active and mentions him being abducted.

Its on radio 1 now. He got into a car of he's own free will. Alert has been stood down.

Weird case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

RTE News reporting its not active.

Yeah they removed it just after I posted. It's a strange story but I suppose this is a positive development.

Skid X wrote: »
    Yeah they removed it just after I posted. It's a strange story but I suppose this is a positive development.

I wonder did the mother say hr was abducted by balaclava wearing men, just to get the Gardai to act quickly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

Link to latest development http://indo.ie/BtKTu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Well this has turned into a very odd story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Hmmm, so he got into a car with 2 men wearing balaclavas willingly....WTF? Very strange.....

EDIT: Only noticed that they are now saying he wasn't abducted by masked men. It is still a very odd case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

They could have staged it as a kidnapping for some strange reason that I cannot think of

Maybe he got into the car with the lads wearing balaclavas because he was going to put one on and visit an ATM?

Who knows, but there a lot of this story we arent being told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

"Gardai have stood down a Child Rescue Ireland Alert after they said they were satisfied a 15-year-old boy earlier believed to have been abducted did not in fact vanish against his own will.

Investigators said they are satisfied Sait Canbullu was not snatched by masked men in Wexford town yesterday afternoon, however his whereabouts is still being treated as a missing persons case and are appealing for witnesses."

WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

I suppose what happened is.

1) he ran away with people who knew him, and:
    2) They wore balaclavas to protect themselves from being seen, or:
    3) The balaclava thing was made up by the mother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭EmilyHoward

Wasting the Gardai's time and lying to them should carry a severe punishment. It undermines the whole CRI alert system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Just speculating here and don't in any way want to pre-judge anything, but could it be that the kid was part of whatever gang the balaclava wearing guys were part of, and got in to the car to join them on a job?

Would be astoundingly stupid though as he would now be identifiable as part of it and would put the others at risk. Still, I've heard of far more ridiculous cock ups by gangs before - remember when that guy was abducted a few years ago in East Wall and the gang burned out the wrong car in the parking complex, leaving the getaway car with all its forensics to be found by the Gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Delighted that this probably means the boy is alright at least.

There was a very odd interview on the radio with a guard who said they had reports of a struggle, a boy screaming and being bungled into a car by masked men but that other witnesses have been interviewed and they no longer believe this is the case.
    Then they said the boy is still missing and considered to be at risk and are still appealing for reports of sightings and want everyone to check the pic online so they can identify him.

I think the lesson of this case is that the CRI thing doesn't work and they need to rename it to something like amber alert so we all know what it means, and to step it up with text alerts in this sort of situation. If this was the real thing we would have failed a child in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Just speculating here and don't in any way want to pre-judge anything, but could it be that the kid was part of whatever gang the balaclava wearing guys were part of, and got in to the car to join them on a job?

Would be astoundingly stupid though as he would now be identifiable as part of it and would put the others at risk. Still, I've heard of far more ridiculous cock ups by gangs before - remember when that guy was abducted a few years ago in East Wall and the gang burned out the wrong car in the parking complex, leaving the getaway car with all its forensics to be found by the Gardai?

Its not the systems fault that people in this case have lied about certain details!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Bit strange his family are on FB giving out to people who comment on the case there, if a member of my family was missing the last place I would be is logged onto FB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I think a lot of people confuse stupidity with not giving a ****. A lot of younger criminals in Ireland are completely overt about their activities as they know they'll have to kill someone, or come close to it, before getting any kind of time behind bars. While I do believe in rehabilitation, especially of younger people, the give a hug mentality in the justice system is beyond a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I saw two people fighting over a kid in a city centre location maybe 5+ years ago.

There was a lot of screaming and an attempt to take the kid away. I called the Gardai and they responded extremely rapidly. They seemed to be on the scene in about 1 minute and immediately intervened.

It's hard for anyone to prejudge this kind of thing, including the Gardaí. They can only respond to what's in front of them.

Irish policing works to a large degree because people all cooperate to ensure the place is safe. The Gardaí need to be able to crowdsource help like this from time to time and I think it's something that we could probably make a lot more use of through Twitter, Facebook and social media.

You could have extreme alerts like this where people should probably be alerted by SMS.

However, it should be possible to subscribe to your local area's alert system, so for example when a burglary gets reported or a car gets stolen, everyone knows what to look out for.

All it would take is a national Emergency Alert app or even a specialised Twitter client.

There are some early adopters of this type of stuff already. For example, Cork City Council alerts me anytime there's a risk of severe weather / flooding in the city centre. You just sign up for their free alert service and you get an SMS. It probably prevents a lot of property damage and people parking on the quays / low lying areas at risky times.

We should be using this kind of technology a lot more.
    Smartphone usage in Ireland is pretty much in line with the US and elsewhere at present. Roughly between 61% and 70% (there are a few different surveys) of the population currently use smartphones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I saw two people fighting over a kid in a city centre location maybe 5+ years ago.

There was a lot of screaming and an attempt to take the kid away. I called the Gardai and they responded extremely rapidly. They seemed to be on the scene in about 1 minute and immediately intervened.

It's hard for anyone to prejudge this kind of thing, including the Gardaí. They can only respond to what's in front of them.

Irish policing works to a large degree because people all cooperate to ensure the place is safe. The Gardaí need to be able to crowdsource help like this from time to time and I think it's something that we could probably make a lot more use of through Twitter, Facebook and social media.

You could have extreme alerts like this where people should probably be alerted by SMS.

However, it should be possible to subscribe to your local area's alert system, so for example when a burglary gets reported or a car gets stolen, everyone knows what to look out for.

All it would take is a national Emergency Alert app or even a specialised Twitter client.

There are some early adopters of this type of stuff already. For example, Cork City Council alerts me anytime there's a risk of severe weather / flooding in the city centre. You just sign up for their free alert service and you get an SMS. It probably prevents a lot of property damage and people parking on the quays / low lying areas at risky times.

We should be using this kind of technology a lot more.
    Smartphone usage in Ireland is pretty much in line with the US and elsewhere at present. Roughly between 61% and 70% (there are a few different surveys) of the population currently use smartphones.

There's a lot of ways technology could be used but data protection concerns prevent it. There's enough cctv footage of crimes to fill up a 24 hour channel but we only see one hour a month on crimewatch. I'd be full sure that local bookies, postal workers and barmen could identify over half the people caught on cctv but I doubt there'd be support for circulating cctv stills to them on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

So now it's a high risk missing person alert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭chooey

I hope he's found ok and not harmed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 JimBobPlayer

Seems it must be family removing him from HSE care?

Interesting, where did ya hear that? (my curiosity is peaking)

Read it somewhere. He's in HSE care. His family lives in Sligo, he lives in Wexford recently. He left his most recent home and was transferred or something?

Cheers

He has been found safe and well in Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Well, that's a positive ending.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0914/643584-cri-wexford/
    RTE Tweet wrote:
    Gardaí say 15-year-old Sait Canbullu who had been reported missing has been located safe and well in Sligo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Yes, it is a flippant remark to make, and it was a flippant thing to think, which is why I posted my regret at not paying attention to the story when I first saw it, and added some details from the linked article in the hope that others wouldn't make the mistake I did.

Don't bother feeding them Lingua. Too many high horse around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭chooey

Very strange outcome but glad he's been found!