'Only in Ireland'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

'Ill do it now in a minute' means it could take hours or possibly never at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

Laughing their asses off at us, more like

I know I would be. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Ah shur jaysus I haven't a clue!
    FFS if ye can't bea' em
    join 'em!:)

myshirt wrote: »
    Come on man.. the connections between Ireland and Liverpool are far reaching; as recent as the famine.

Fine. What about Chelsea. One of the most anti-Irish clubs over there historically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Last orders are the biggest orders of the night...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

gugleguy wrote: »
    FFS if ye can't bea' em
    join 'em!:)

Shur jaysus ain't that the truth!

Will I see ye at the Bingo tonight Marty? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I bet the Canadians living in Ireland get a kick out of that. :)
    They'd understand the difference between Ireland's rate of snowfall and Canada's (vast).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

The organisation responsible for facilitating the majority of child abuse in the country over the last century still being the organisation in charge of running the majority of schools in the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Having to pass an exam in a language that something like 1% of the population speak on a daily basis to get into a third level institution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    The organisation responsible for facilitating the majority of child abuse in the country over the last century still being the organisation in charge of running the majority of schools in the land.

Ah sure it's only 90% of schools, what could possibly go wrong there.

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Having to pass an exam in a language that something like 1% of the population speak on a daily basis to get into a third level institution.

Similar in a few countries with politically inspired language policies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

I'm not sure if it is a uniquely Irish thing but when the Celtic Tiger came in I noticed a sudden compulsion in cafes across the country to fill any blank space on a plate with crisps.

Order a sandwich/bagel/panino and 100 guaranteed you get a few crisps scattered on the plate.

It's fcuking bizarre.:confused:

I'm not sure if it is a uniquely Irish thing but when the Celtic Tiger came in I noticed a sudden compulsion in cafes across the country to fill any blank space on a plate with crisps.

Order a sandwich/bagel/panino and 100 guaranteed you get a few crisps scattered on the plate.

It's fcuking bizarre.:confused:

If you like crisps it's great!

I've been told that in the pre-tiger era it was coleslaw!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Where you can fail your driving test and drive home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Northern Ireland - **** painting kerbs red white and blue and flying more Union flags than the whole of the rest of Britain itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Tzardine wrote: »
    Where you can fail your driving test and drive home.

I love this line, always fails to mention the full licensed driver as required by law though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

Reoil wrote: »
    Northern Ireland - **** painting kerbs red white and blue and flying more Union flags than the whole of the rest of Britain itself.

The correct term is Flegs ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭glynf

Politicians/senior civil servants in positions of power that are not even remotely qualified to do their jobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Reoil wrote: »

Which begs the inevitable response we know you were waiting for - What about the **** painting kerbs green white and orange and flying more tricolour flegs than the rest of Ireland itself? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

glynf wrote: »
    Politicians/senior civil servants in positions of power that are not even remotely qualified to do their jobs.

Doesn't necessarily mean that if a politician is qualified for their post in question that they'll do a good job - James Reilly anyone???

Lapin wrote: »
    What about

What about, what about?

I expect much posts about stuff that happens everywhere, not just Ireland.

And you were spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

its ok to get ****faced drunk and act the knacker
    but if you are caught puffin the erb you are a social outcast

wazky wrote: »
    What about, what about?

What ?

What ?

Just glad to see you're towing the usual line of "whataboutery", never ceases to amaze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Big-eared boys on farms don Stetsons and grow up to be influential local politicians

its ok to get shifted drunk and act the knacker
    but if you are caught puffin the erb you are a social outcast

N.U.T.T.I.

Not Uniquie To The Irish.

Big-eared boys on farms don Stetsons and grow up to be influential local politicians

N.U.T.T.I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

N.U.T.T.I.

Wow how did you think of that 'acronym'?

Old men ****ting in drains outside pubs

N.U.T.T.I.

See France and the bit of the UK north of England.