Abducted/Missing 15 year old Wexford boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I saw that on FB too and didn't pay close attention because I wrongly assumed that he was "abducted" by a disgruntled non custodial parents.

He's actually been abducted by 2 men in ski masks who bundled him into a car. That's horrifying. I hope he's found safe, and soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I saw that on FB too and didn't pay close attention because I wrongly assumed that he was "abducted" by a disgruntled non custodial parents.

He's actually been abducted by 2 men in ski masks who bundled him into a car. That's horrifying. I hope he's found safe, and soon.

That's what caught my eye about it. Really hope he's ok :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It's getting coverage on Sky News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Fiolina

Poor lad, hope he'll be okay. I know people give out about the likes of Facebook but I think it's important that people share the status, you just never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Being 'abducted by a disgruntled non custodial parent' can be just as serious as this, do you not remember the two little boys who were killed by their father who were also the centre of a CRI Alert?

I hope this lad is found safe and sound. How terrifying.

Fiolina wrote: »
    Poor lad, hope he'll be okay. I know people give out about the likes of Facebook but I think it's important that people share the status, you just never know.

I've shared it on my Facebook page too.

January wrote: »
    Being 'abducted by a disgruntled non custodial parent' can be just as serious as this, do you not remember the two little boys who were killed by their father who were also the centre of a CRI Alert?

I'm afraid not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I'm afraid not.

The two little lads from Bagenalstown.

Pretty memorable event tbh.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/two-missing-children-found-dead-in-mayo-in-boot-of-car-29456572.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭EmilyHoward

This probably makes me racist bla bla etc, but from past events like this when foreign national children are abducted, generally the family are involved. I would find it extremely difficult to believe this was a random abduction by crazy men in ski masks.

I had to look it up, I live in the Netherlands and was have been in rural France when that happened.

It's still a pretty flippant remark to make. I'd hate to be the parent worried about their child when they were missing and knowing people don't even bother looking at these things because they reckon they'll be grand 'cos they're with a parent'.

Yes, it is a flippant remark to make, and it was a flippant thing to think, which is why I posted my regret at not paying attention to the story when I first saw it, and added some details from the linked article in the hope that others wouldn't make the mistake I did.

This probably makes me racist bla bla etc, but from past events like this when foreign national children are abducted, generally the family are involved. I would find it extremely difficult to believe this was a random abduction by crazy men in ski masks.

Regardless of nationality this is a young boy who I really hope is not being hurt in anyway shape or form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭if832uspx4eogt

This is terrifying.
    Please god he's found safe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 JimBobPlayer

I suspect something which would not be appropriate to mention.

Hopefully our alert system finds him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Bacon and Cabbage

I suspect something which would not be appropriate to mention.

What was the purpose of this sentence? Spit it out or stay quiet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Thread stickied

-KERSPLAT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

hopefully it was a jackass type prank and he is is safe

Sorry, I just made another thread about this. Hope he is found safe and well.

I'm wondering what time the CRI was issued. Could they have got on a boat from Rosslare and possibly docked in South Wales before it was raised?

hopefully it was a jackass type prank and he is is safe

Sorry, I just made another thread about this. Hope he is found safe and well.

I'm wondering what time the CRI was issued. Could they have got on a boat from Rosslare and possibly docked in South Wales before it was raised?

It happened after 1 o clock today but I didn't actually hear anything about it til minutes before I started this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

What was the purpose of this sentence? Spit it out or stay quiet

Presumably implying that it could be some kind of punishment adduction/beating given the age of the lad.

Not suggesting that myself obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

It could be friends acting the mick, is what I think the poster is implying. I suppose it's plausible but unlikely IMO.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    It could be friends acting the mick, is what I think the poster is implying. I suppose it's plausible but unlikely IMO.

I'd say it's safe enough to rule that out , at this stage.

To the previous poster suggesting punishment abduction/beating, are you implying this is somehow linked to Islamic beliefs? 99% of Turkish people are Muslim, I'm not trying to antagonize but any extra information would be helpful to the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭kevovek

If it was friends acting the mick I'd imagine they would have come forward after the media ****storm they have created

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

What nationality is he?

fryup wrote: »
    What nationality is he?

My mistake, I thought I read on the OP's link that he was Turkish, the surname certainly sounds like it's from that part of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭LovelySpuds

Absolutely horrible to hear. Hope he's found safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭rosedream

Has been any indication that there was an actual struggle to get him into the car or that he was threatened in anyway?
    I mean I know the guy were wearing balaclavas or ski masks, but could be a case of the parental abduction where the young guy actually wanted to go with the other parent and the people who got him covered their identities from the public and CCTV cameras just in case?
    I know they say abduction, but it could apply to him, since he is underage.