Best Irish Slang Phrase You've Ever Heard?

• 11-09-2014 02:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭

What's the craic?

ask the back of me sack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,181 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

JrdanB wrote: »
    What's the craic?

ask the back of me sack!
    Not that anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Up on blocks

*for "period".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I will in me f**k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

A whores melt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Just watch the committments & and the snapper. the films are littered with great one liners that only the irish would get

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

When hungry:

"I would eat the boll*x off a low flying duck"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Get Real

Catnipped- drunk, inerbriated.

Catnippery- the act of engaging in boisterous behaviour on a night out. "some catnippery last night lads"

Ballbagged- see catnipped.

I admit they're not that common, but makes me smile every time I hear them used :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Be the love of the lord lamp lighting jaysus that was some feed.

The best compliment one can give to a particularly tasty meal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

'Mup outa that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Langer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Only heard this one recently..... when the missus is 'out of action'....

"Munster are playing at home".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

How's she cutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

I had a mate once that met this girl in a nightclub.

"Just lob it in there, boss"
    entire story may be fabricated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

"A handy hurler" - all the character reference you need to get a job in some parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭paulpd

I'll beat you like a red-headed stepchild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I had a mate once that met this girl in a nightclub.

"Just lob it in there, boss"
    entire story may be fabricated

Buddy of mine spotted a cracking girl one day and says to me

"I'd swim through a mile of sh1te to suck the c0ck of the last guy who fu€ked her".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Mere I wan cha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

"That day is so cold it would freeze the balls off a brass monkey."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

"the tide wouldn't take 'er out"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Go and bite the butt end of me bollix"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

I will in me hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭TheJackAttack

"A boy the kidddddddddd!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

''They'd make a tinker out of ye....'' (referring to bold children) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Half of these aren't exclusively Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

And the other half are shite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

That legendary Irish wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Hoop66 wrote: »

well, lets have your donation....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

my tongue's as dry as a Zulu's flip-flop.

[o.k. o.k. not technically Irish, Captain Buzzkill]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

When I asked my da about a forty something woman trying to conceive...

"I think the nest has fallen out of that tree".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Hoop66 wrote: »

And the third half are euphemisms.