Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

GRAND THEFT AUTO ONLINE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Max Mafioso

I love the Survival Games :D

I was thinking, I am rubbish at racing games as you can see when you check peoples scores, does that mean that if I somehow come first at a race, whoever bet on me gets a c**p ton of money?

Maybe we should arrange some races and everyone bet on me then let me win ;)
    I could do with some more wins to unlock more stuff in the Mod Shop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

The trick I found with races (I'm not great at them but not terrible) is to start a race and invite people, then pray someone on a rating under 20 or so joins, with a low driving level, and start it asap with just the two of you.Save up for a Zentorno and buy any performance mods than come available as they do as well, it's the best car for racing.

Also if you do a mission/survival with someone who is really low on these, especially if you notice they're not very good at the game, click to do any race you can asap after... they'll likely follow. Don't invite anyone else, just start it up asap. Keep doing this and you can pick up 3 or 4 wins before they quit (if they quot migrate you still get the win).

And pick 2 or 3 races that you like to keep doing, so you get used to them. The main one I use is OBSTACLE WHAT!? because it's fun and quick. A lot of new people also try to power over the ramps which screws them over. The key in that race is to take your foot off the acceleration and make sure you are going perfectly straight coming up to every ramp, then just use your time in the air to keep the car level as you land facing perfectly forward and hit the accelerator the exact moment you hit the ground. Take the hairpin turn slowly too, crashing there can take ages to recover from... and figure out which ramps you can skip, especially on the second part/home straight.

Also, get your driving stats to 100% in freemode before bothering, it makes a big difference. Get a quick car and fly around the motorway that looks the north part of the map, make loads of handbrakes, etc too (you can do these in the middle of an open/empty motorway if it's easier, doesn't seem to matter if it's an actual turn or not).

There's a bit of grinding involved but I got to the point where I could use turbo in only 2 or 3 weeks of a few races a day doing this. I do the very odd race otherwise but not a huge fan of them, so that's all I REALLY wanted to unlock.

Cheers Billy.

I've kinda been doing that for Deathmatches too. I go to the option that lets you select players around your level and pick the low level players. They see it like I am doing them a favour cause they mission might not be available at their level yet, little do they know its all part of my ploy to destroy them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

keano25 wrote: »
    Lately I've been coming across these clowns that start mission and then do **** all other then stand there for the whole mission.

Anyone else coming across this?
    I think sometimes it might be the person has a problem connecting to the mission, but yeah definitely some are taking the piss as you can see their blip moving around on the map.

Some dopes on missions, thankfully only the odd time. There's the obvious ones like the trolls who drive over you or destroy the documents or whatever to fail the mission. Then there's people who for some reason really want to collect the document in Rooftop Rumble, or just complete idiots who drive a truck & trailer over mountains so the trailer inevitably falls off, stupid stuff like that. Also hate when people start a mission half the map away.

Another annoying thing I only came across recently but is going on a good while, is those stupid 1000000000RP user created deathmatches that are specifically set up so that the host can get outside the main area and access weapons to kill everyone else who are unarmed. Unfortunately nearly all the random deathmatch lobbies are like that lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

Starting to get back into deathmatches and the like again, a bit sick of races, flying about and random freemode stuff :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Anyone have any problems hosting/calling for a job, when I go to host a rockstar created mission I see "No jobs available" and when I call a contact I get something like sorry I don't have anything.

Edit: Google didn't reveal anything earlier but it does now, https://support.rockstargames.com/hc/communities/public/questions/203000376-no-jobs-online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Hingo

Got an email from playstation about needing to make sure you have over 12Gig of space free for the latest update (ie if you have the flash drive ps3 super skinny version you'll need to get a HDD)

I wonder what's so big coming in the next update,
    heists...? Cross platform compatability ?(ps3-ps4) (Xbox 360 - Xbox one)

As the world of Grand Theft Auto V and Grand Theft Auto Online continues to expand and evolve through ongoing updates, storage limitations of the PlayStation®3 12GB hardware will require owners to purchase additional storage to accommodate future GTAV Title Updates after 01/09/2014.

In order to maintain compatibility for all players within Grand Theft Auto Online, the latest Title Update must be installed on the system. If not enough space is available on the system, hardware limitations will prevent players from accessing Grand Theft Auto Online. Grand Theft Auto V Story Mode will still be accessible by playing the game without being connected to PlayStation®Network, and proceeding without additional updates.

For details on how to upgrade the hardware storage on your PlayStation®3 12GB System, visit:

http://eu.playstation.com/ps3/support/general/detail/item571461/Replacing-the-hard-disk-%2812GB-500GB%29/ [/QOUTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,901 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Someone on the official forums made up all the updates and file space available on the 12gb. There are 100mb's left and the flight school was 103mb's so could be just a regular update but surely heists (hahahahaha) will be more than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Rgb.ie

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Someone on the official forums made up all the updates and file space available on the 12gb. There are 100mb's left and the flight school was 103mb's so could be just a regular update but surely heists (hahahahaha) will be more than that.

When is the next update due out?

Rgb.ie wrote: »
    When is the next update due out?

No date yet but a playstation mag is out tomorrow with a zombie special section and lists zombie games and then gta v with a ? after it. So we might hear about zombie dlc tomorrow. Sept 17th is the 1 year anniversary so would be a good excuse to release heists.

Would it have anything to do with the guy dressed like a Zombie in the story mode?
    Just came across him today. $10 to get your pic taken with a zombie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

No date yet but a playstation mag is out tomorrow with a zombie special section and lists zombie games and then gta v with a ? after it. So we might hear about zombie dlc tomorrow. Sept 17th is the 1 year anniversary so would be a good excuse to release heists.

have a quick read of the link I posted on previous page sheehy

djflawless wrote: »
    have a quick read of the link I posted on previous page sheehy

Yeah leaks and rumours flying round all over the shop and r* loving every second of it.

I for 1 don't want fekin zombies!!helluva lot more could be added instead :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm real tired of the whole zombie fad myself, but I think it could be a lot of fun if implemented well in GTA

Hopefully it's not just a load of random zombies wandering around the place. Something similar to World War Z would be intense though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

This! Zombies are meh..

I'm real tired of the whole zombie fad myself, but I think it could be a lot of fun if implemented well in GTA

Hopefully it's not just a load of random zombies wandering around the place. Something similar to World War Z would be intense though.

maybe a survival in a deadrising style or something fun that can be ignored if wanted

Kesh catching major air. Sound for the BMX tips man, best 800 quid I spent.

0_0.jpg

0_0.jpg

Just checking out the Rockstar Newswire and checked the downloads section. The main pic at the top is this. Anyone see this before? Dunno how knew it is and if it is hinting at zombies??

EDIT: Never mind, think that's been there ages.

http://www.rockstargames.com/downloads

zombie.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭C.M_jc

Using Google Image Search it's to do with RDR Undead Nightmare.

C.M_jc wrote: »
    Using Google image search its to do with RDR Undead Redemption.

Yeah figured as much, thought I cam across some leaked info :o

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Farty88

Bring on Casino dlc ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Farty88

Farty88 wrote: »
    Bring on Casino dlc ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

Damn I cant do smiley faces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I'm Savant brilliant at Survival with the sole exception of my crippling inability to deal with helicopters during it. It breaks my groove or something. It's really weird, because I've actually gotten worse at it over time, so it must just be an incredibly specific psychological block or something.

Surely the First Worldiest Problem ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 markhogan

Still love playing this game online never gets old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭TacoMan

Ian Beale wrote: »
    Anyone have any problems hosting/calling for a job, when I go to host a rockstar created mission I see "No jobs available" and when I call a contact I get something like sorry I don't have anything.

Edit: Google didn't reveal anything earlier but it does now, https://support.rockstargames.com/hc/communities/public/questions/203000376-no-jobs-online

Had the same thing last night, all missions were being texted as "New". In the menu screen it said I haven't unlocked jobs :confused: Can't get onto the R* site in work, is there a solution? I wouldn't really mind going through all the online missions again if needs be. Once my money and awesome race win/loss stats are untouched I'm happy.

Well the update just released from r* is a 2nd flight themed playlist with a couple new flying missions.

http://www.rockstargames.com/newswire

Did the new flying playlist just come out today?

TacoMan wrote: »
    Did the new flying playlist just come out today?

Yupp live since this morning for some people but officially announced 10 mins ago. Actually sounds like a laugh, I will be on tonight if anyone wants to give it a go.

Deadly, should be on later too.

I'm just after popping on now and going to give it a go

Sorry proco, was just on for a small bit, did 3 missions in the new playlist. Wow what boring crap, definitely not going through it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Sorry proco, was just on for a small bit, did 3 missions in the new playlist. Wow what boring crap, definitely not going through it again.

Give us the jist of it, good sir...

Well, you either protect a helicopter or plane, try to destroy one or try land a huge jet. Either way there are just explosions everywhere and not the fun kind, more the spawn get destroyed repeat annoying kind. Impossible to finish missions. Id say they'd be better playing with crew but not enough of a payout to keep at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Well, you either protect a helicopter or plane, try to destroy one or try land a huge jet. Either way there are just explosions everywhere and not the fun kind, more the spawn get destroyed repeat annoying kind. Impossible to finish missions. Id say they'd be better playing with crew but not enough of a payout to keep at it.

Tried to do playlist last night but could never get a decent lobby.
    Got put into one with 6 'Coveted'. Host +1 didnt move for the whole first mission, i killed 90% of enemys, then the remaining player got the chopper and container, who then thought it would be a good idea to take out the attacking chopper by dropping the container on it:mad:
    At this point the mision ended and i left the playlist:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

Had good craic with Niall and Proco down by the airport and then doing missions last night, that cargobob steal didn't quite go to plan :P

Then Phobos showed up and I couldn't connect to anyone anymore :D

I can't connect now, R* game services unavailable. Tried switching off router and ps3 but same thing when I restarted. Will try a few more times. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭keano25

Working fine here

Same here. Had no problem getting on, just switched it off now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

There's PSN maintenance going on.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Been on all night with no problems. Woot!

*victory dance*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

TherapyBoy wrote: »
    Been on all night with no problems. Woot!

*victory dance*

gta_4f28b8_2159413.gif

Online at last!

TacoMan wrote: »
    I can't connect now, R* game services unavailable. Tried switching off router and ps3 but same thing when I restarted. Will try a few more times. :mad:

Had maintenance screen twice today.has to be my Xbox...10 times the past week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭keano25

I've got a dilemma. I'm finally go spend my communion and hard earned money.

Do I buy a tank or buzzard heli??

Sorry for going well off topic lads but I don't want to be the only fool playing GTA Online on PS4 :(

Argos are selling a PS4 500gb for the next 4 days for €385 plus a free game.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/1222540.htm#sohdr1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Sorry for going well off topic lads but I don't want to be the only fool playing GTA Online on PS4 :(

Argos are selling a PS4 500gb for the next 4 days for €385 plus a free game.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/1222540.htm#sohdr1

*reported to mods for off topic* :P

That's actually great value and there's plenty of stock nationwide too:
    http://www.checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=1222540

For fools like me who bought both new consoles, do you think the character migrate function will be one time only?
    I.E. if I migrate it from ps3 to xbox1 is it stuck there, or can I move it over to ps4 also?

marcbrophy wrote: »
    *reported to mods for off topic* :P

That's actually great value and there's plenty of stock nationwide too:
    http://www.checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=1222540

For fools like me who bought both new consoles, do you think the character migrate function will be one time only?
    I.E. if I migrate it from ps3 to xbox1 is it stuck there, or can I move it over to ps4 also?

marcbrophy banned for pure cheek!

That's actually a really good question. It would be great to be able to keep your character updated and live between old and new gen machines but not sure how. If you could do that then you would in theory be able to use your character on either ps3 or 360 so maybe it's more complicated than that.

keano25 wrote: »
    I've got a dilemma. I'm finally go spend my communion and hard earned money.

Do I buy a tank or buzzard heli??

1 vote for the Buzzard. I bought both before christmas, during the money glitchers' era, and I have used the tank less than 10 times since. The Buzzard is excellent in both freemode and missions. It's missiles auto lock to enemies so missions like Crystal Clearout where you have to wipe out several gangs are a doddle.

The tank seems kind of useless unless you are a tank griefer, and even they are not as omnipresent as they once were. Most people know how to deal with tanks now, so even if you go on a rampage you will most likely be blown up in around 2 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Just started playing gta V online again after a 6 month hiatus. Anything changed that I should know about?

And is the zentorno worth buying seeing as I already have an entity maxed out?