Blue bull on BBx cow

• 24-08-2014 01:03PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

Hi
    I was thinking of putting a blue bull DBZ on my BBx cow, I know some people think I'm mad but if I control her diet and leave her on hay for last 5 week would she be ok. DBZ is 9.1 calving difficulty, what do ye think cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

If shes wide enough and calved a couple of times already it may be worth trying. Ive seen blue cows calve down that i wouldnt even let near a bull but everyone to there own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

+1 on what Miname said above. If she's calved down a few she ought to have matured enough to try something different on her.
    That being said, I don't know what you have used on her before! It would be a big step up from an AA to a BB:eek:

What's the x part of her, as in what cross is she? Is she heavy framed or rangy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Donnelly24

Yes she's a blue fresian cross she had limousins calves with no bother before Ai man said Dbz is easiest blue they have, so will see what happens

Who's your AI man with? 'm sure there are a lot easier blues out there, SFL for one! What LM were on her before? The only difference is that blues could come out very muscley as they'd be doubling up on the blue.

He is with progressive that bull was the easiest bull they have but ai man thinks 90% it's up to diet so hopefully it will be ok.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Personally I wouldn't. You could end up with nothing. If she calved herself every time before to lim, then you know best. It's the narrow pelvis in blues that cause the problems, not the calf. Have a few cows here with a bit of blue in the background and they are the only ones we have to watch at calving.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Has any one ever giving a blue to a bluex cow that calved naturally, she's a big cow she slipped out her previous calves

Donnelly24 wrote: »
    Has any one ever giving a blue to a bluex cow that calved naturally, she's a big cow she slipped out her previous calves

Plenty of times! It really does depend on the cow though. I wouldn't be too sure of your ai man thinking that 90% of it is up to diet. It's definitely a factor, but definitely not 90%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

Would you try an easy calving part bull if it's muscle you're after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

We use dbz here on our dairy cows no bother calving as of yet, he has a short gestation as well so that helps I find. Have no experience of calving him from blue crosses tho

Cheers What is his calves like ?? Are they small and lively when born ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Cheers What is his calves like ?? Are they small and lively when born ?

They're grand ya calved unassisted and drank away from the bottle. Only had 4 this year they averaged 250 in bandon at 4 weeks old given calf prices this spring was ok I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Personally I wouldn't but if you really want to go with it ask your AI man to get some SRI. Give him a bit of notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Midlandsman80

Richi2012 or something like that on here used to give big AI BB bulls to BBX fr cows with great success, you will find pics on here. He got top price weanling bull in big show sale last year from blue x fresian cow with Maserati AI bb, saw on here and on ifj I think.
    Look at the jalex herd up north, big fans of the BBX lim crossed back to lim and bb depending on how extreme they are...leg wax on here used stq lots and says easy calving and great quality

Richi2012 used to say when it worked it was great but didn't always work...but he did produce a €1430 weanling using a BBX,
    to say its standard practice may be a bit strong but prob increase your % of sections.
    Give 10 BBX in claf to to 1 careful man and may have 1 section and give to another and may have 5 sections and a dead cow...

Richi2012 used to say when it worked it was great but didn't always work...but he did produce a €1430 weanling using a BBX,
    to say its standard practice may be a bit strong but prob increase your % of sections.
    Give 10 BBX in claf to to 1 careful man and may have 1 section and give to another and may have 5 sections and a dead cow...
    Tried looking for that post on here but can't find it !!

Page 336 on the farming pics thread, he has ones since then on the Maserati bull after power hosing him for sale and was a brute.,,I'll see if I can find em... But he was/is major fan of BBX fr cow

Never say I don't do anything for ye:p

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=84475927&postcount=4023
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86762323&postcount=6051

Sorta thing you could expect with the bb/fr cross
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80884308&postcount=2639

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

STQ is aeasy calving blue bull great calves and weanings.

Not easy enough for that game. You need a blue that's being used on the dairy herd

I used Dbz on my bbx, he is used on dairy cattle so time will see what happens , if she holds and calves down next year I'll post a pic cheers for discussion 😊

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭Deano7

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Who's your AI man with? 'm sure there are a lot easier blues out there, SFL for one! What LM were on her before? The only difference is that blues could come out very muscley as they'd be doubling up on the blue.

If you to easy of calving you won't get real shape

That's a nonsense. DBZ has one of the highest muscle scores in Belgium.

If you don't go for easy calving with a blue cow you get dead calves.
    A small live one is always better than a big dead one!

Easy now, we've not seen the cow. She may be as wide as a double bus. A good eye and alarm clock will hopefully see her right.

Good man! EKB is an easy calving BB however adds very little shape, however HDX provides excellent shape with hard calving. I'm not actually a fan of BB as they are iffy, give me a good LM or CH bull anyday of the week, so pop that into your pipe and smoke it!!

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Easy now, we've not seen the cow. She may be as wide as a double bus. A good eye and alarm clock will hopefully see her right.

Very true, however I find their legs can be very deceiving when predicting calf size.

Deano7 wrote: »
    Good man! EKB is an easy calving BB however adds very little shape, however HDX provides excellent shape with hard calving. I'm not actually a fan of BB as they are iffy, give me a good LM or CH bull anyday of the week, so pop that into your pipe and smoke it!!

and? one is a bad bull and one isnt. It's because HDX is a good bull not because he's hard calved.

I could reem off a list of good bulls that are also easy calved and absolute monsters that leave very poor stock behind them

and? one is a bad bull and one isnt. It's because HDX is a good bull not because he's hard calved.

I could reem off a list of good bulls that are also easy calved and absolute monsters that leave very poor stock behind them

Generally the dairy BB dosent have as much shape.

Ok I'll agree with you there.

My point though is that calving ease and calf quality don't always have to be linked.

And the OP was talking about BBx which a special case with calving