Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

franksm wrote: »
    Hi lads

Anyone help manipulate the imagery on this to ID the registration plate ? I think I need to call it in to the Trafficwatch number

Also, the front camera seems to always pick up glare from the sun. It's a Blackvue, I wonder if there are settings I can play with. I don't want to start adding filters to the lens (the might work in daylight, but the render it useless in the dark)

:eek: WTF:confused:

My laptop can barely handle SD videos on youtube unfortunately. This driver does not belong to our roads. What was the reason he got there, he was on the other side if I see correctly:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,798 ✭✭✭✭josip

franksm wrote: »
    Hi lads

Anyone help manipulate the imagery on this to ID the registration plate ? I think I need to call it in to the Trafficwatch number

Also, the front camera seems to always pick up glare from the sun. It's a Blackvue, I wonder if there are settings I can play with. I don't want to start adding filters to the lens (the might work in daylight, but the render it useless in the dark)

Here's the best I can get watching it on youtube at 1080p.
    If I had to take a "punt" I'd say 02 - D - something something something something 4
    Should be enough for the blue heelers to go on

2hn17v7.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Cheers, these are the best that I could "snip" off the stills. These thumbs link to bigger pics. I think the reg might be 02-D-xx264

Rang Trafficwatch with the info I had, they were happy enough to record the complaint anyway.

th_punto_zps8ddf4e55.jpg th_punto1_zps75f06e97.jpg th_punto2_zpsa50c87e4.jpg
    th_punto0_zps51f75a29.jpg th_puntof1_zpsf124c9d8.jpg th_puntof2_zps97ae0c92.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭rameire

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

rameire wrote: »

The blue punto matches the reg. Well done so far.

And carsireland says its blue!!!! :eek:

How did you??? :confused::confused:

And carsireland says its blue!!!! :eek:

How did you??? :confused::confused:

64 was easy to guess, the rest though:eek:

Well done rameire - there is a chance we have it wrong, but I doubt it.

rameire wrote: »

Way to go rameire!
    How did you make out the numbers after the D?
    Do you have CSI software that can turn 2 pixels into a 4 digit number?
    Or did you try all 1000 combinations on the website?
    Or something else?

One thing's for sure, Punto driver had better get him/herself a good solicitor.

josip wrote: »
    Way to go rameire!
    Or something else?

I thought all males were good at looking at small pixelated images and being able to make out things.

it was the first one I tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Colovelictis

Unfortunately, it appears as though that this has become an absolute necessity in this day and age. Once people see that they are being recorded they instantly act a little different as well. I am going to pick one up next month (praying for no incidents until) just for insurance purposes.

Way to go rameire!
    Or something else?

One thing's for sure, Punto driver had better get him/herself a good solicitor.

also my screen was set up so it is good with photo's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Jeez, Rameire, like a BOSS !

Although this was a horrendous piece of driving by the Punto, does anyone have an opinion on whether any action will be taken against them?

A defending solicitor could argue that the reg can't be clearly made out.
    What then?
    Would it be enough for the prosecution to say that it's the only Blue Punto with a 02-D***64 reg?
    What happens if the owner claims they weren't the one driving? Do they have to identify who was?
    Would a prosecutor look at this and say, nah too many places where a defending solicitor could get them off, and decide not to bother taking a case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Leaving identifying and prosecuting punto driver aside, does anyone actually have an idea what what this manouver about? Why did he actually do it?
    Because I can't think of any reasons to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭bladespin

Although this was a horrendous piece of driving by the Punto, does anyone have an opinion on whether any action will be taken against them?

A defending solicitor could argue that the reg can't be clearly made out.
    What then?
    Would it be enough for the prosecution to say that it's the only Blue Punto with a 02-D***64 reg?
    What happens if the owner claims they weren't the one driving? Do they have to identify who was?
    Would a prosecutor look at this and say, nah too many places where a defending solicitor could get them off, and decide not to bother taking a case?

I doubt it, never really heard trafficwatch having many (if any) prosecutions but something like the Punto Dip**** video would definitely put the driver on Garda radar.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

CiniO wrote: »
    Leaving identifying and prosecuting punto driver aside, does anyone actually have an idea what what this manouver about? Why did he actually do it?
    Because I can't think of any reasons to do it.
    I don't know the road, but maybe he was exiting a junction and decided to use the hard shoulder (or was it a bus lane) as an acceleration lane before jumping over to the correct side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

My opinion is punto went to overtake the black car and seen Frank approaching and couldn't pull back in so dived for the lane and passed Frank on the inside.

I don't know the road, but maybe he was exiting a junction and decided to use the hard shoulder (or was it a bus lane) as an acceleration lane before jumping over to the correct side.
    ken wrote: »
    My opinion is punto went to overtake the black car and seen Frank approaching and couldn't pull back in so dived for the lane and passed Frank on the inside.

The 2 of you should either watch the video again, or stay away from the rest of us.

Looking again, He appears to jump across the road behind the black car and go straight into the left lane and try to overtake regardless.

wonski wrote: »
    The 2 of you should either watch the video again, or stay away from the rest of us.

Watch from the start where the punto jumps out from behind the car approaching Frank.

Looking again, He appears to jump across the road behind the black car and go straight into the left lane and try to overtake regardless.
    Watch from the start where the punto jumps out from behind the car approaching Frank.

OK what do YOU see!

OK what drugs did YOU take:confused:

I am sober btw, are you?

OK what drugs did YOU take:confused:

I am sober btw, are you?

But seriously - tell us what do you see then?

OK what do YOU see!
    CiniO wrote: »
    But seriously - tell us what do you see then?

I give up.

He did well.

Wonski-Proud owner of a blue 2002 Punto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

With all due respect wonski, I think you should watch the video again. The Punto attempts to overtake a Vectra, heading for the OPs car. It then enters the bus lane on the wrong side of the road passing the OPs car on his inside, then returns to the correct side of the road.
    The patethic thing about it all is that he didn't even manage to overtake the Vectra in the end!

pablo128 wrote: »
    With all due respect wonski, I think you should watch the video again. The Punto attempts to overtake a Vectra, heading for the OPs car. It then enters the bus lane on the wrong side of the road passing the OPs car on his inside, then returns to the correct side of the road.
    The patethic thing about it all is that he didn't even manage to overtake the Vectra in the end!

But was it really it?
    For me it doesn't really look like punto is trying to overtake vectra.
    It just changed to opposite side (towards the op) and then changed it even further into bus lane, to return to it's own driving lane in the end.

This manouver doesn't really make sense at all.

For me it looks like that punto driver was either drunk, under some heavy drugs or just mentally insane or sick.

I think I (mistakenly) took some of the posts as an excuse to what the little Punto did.

The worst part is I did the mistake twice:o

Needless to say I do not own a Punto, and the actions of this idiot should have been reported.

Let's move on, the best Irish dashcam so far so let's not ruin it.

I hate being sober on Sat evening, you lose a sense of humour...

I think I (mistakenly) took some of the posts as an excuse to what the little Punto did.

The worst part is I did the mistake twice:o

Needless to say I do not own a Punto, and the actions of this idiot should have been reported.

Let's move on, the best Irish dashcam so far so let's not ruin it.

I hate being sober on Sat evening, you lose a sense of humour...

It's Friday evening.