Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off the Fence....and looking to go sub 3 hrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Monday 18/08/14:
    11.08m @ 07:25 avg pace (VO2 Max w/6x1000 RI 120)

I kicked off with a nice easy wu 3.56m @ 08:01 avg pace. I started my intervals out past the Causeway and heading towards Sutton direction. Did 4 reps on way out then 2 back into a slight headwind (but nothing compared to last week) before heading up to me Mammy’s for dinner - no pavlova this week:(.....2.39m cd @ 08:28avg pace. Target pace for the intervals was 05:45 but missed that on all but one. This was down to setting the watch up wrong more than anything else. I had to revert back to old software to get the workout to upload to the watch and in my haste to get it done I obviously miscalculated the setting. Even at the pace I was running the watch was telling me to slow down but I ignored it as I knew from my effort levels that I wasn't that far off. I deliberately kept the effort level lower than last week as I was conscious of not getting drawn into a race against the clock with these intervals rather than doing the session that was prescribed....big picture and all that. These were all very controlled and didn't need any walk recoveries this week;)

1 | 03:38 (05:52 pace)
    2 | 03:36 (05:48 pace)
    3 | 03:37 (05:50 pace)
    4 | 03:36 (05:48 pace)
    5 | 03:36 (05:48 pace)
    6 | 03:32 (05:42 pace)

Tuesday 19/08/2014
    1hr Pilates
    15m @ 7.32 avg pace (Med-Long Progression)

Felt surprising fresh as I headed out for another evening tour of DNS. Took in parts of Eastwall, Fairview, Marino, Donnycarney, Artane, Coolock and Darndale before turning and coming back via Baldoyle, Sutton and along the coast. Job done nothing major to report.

Segments broke out as follows:
    5m | 07:52 avg pace
    5m | 07:37 avg pace
    5m | 07:06 avg pace

Followed this run with an hour of sports massage on the legs. To say I was hopping off the table when she went to work on my calves and foot arches is an understatement. This was only surpassed by the pure torture when she started on the ITB:eek::eek::eek:......I think a little more stretching and foam rolling may be needed.

Wednesday 20/08/2014
    6.80m @ 08:49 avg pace (Recovery w/6x100m)

Nice easy lunchtime recovery run. Nothing major to report. Tide was out so took in Dollymount as part of this one. Just let the body run at it own pace other than the strides. As has become the norm in this cycle I ran the strides on St Anne's main avenue using the benches as distance markers. Legs felt grand after yesterday's massage. More of the same tomorrow and Friday before Frank Duffy on Saturday.

Thursday 21/08/2014
    5.95m @ 08:31 avg pace (Recovery w/6x100m)

Another nice easy lunchtime recovery run. Nothing major to report. Job done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck in the morning, no doubt another PB race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Enjoy tomorrow.
    Do it for the Berlin crew :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I'm going to post tomorrow's post tonight:

Congrats on the PB Statler, savage running, quit sandbagging in future :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,794 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

All the best in the PP.

Murph_D wrote: »
    All the best in the PP.

Cheers Murph. Now go to bed you need to be well rested for the morn:D

tang1 wrote: »
    Best of luck in the morning, no doubt another PB race.

Cheers Tang, plan to give it a lash and see where that gets me:)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Enjoy tomorrow.
    Do it for the Berlin crew :)

Cheers P.

I'm going to post tomorrow's post tonight:

Congrats on the PB Statler, savage running, quit sandbagging in future :)

TbL

Cheers TbL....speaking of sandbagging what's the plan for Sunday :D

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Cheers TbL....speaking of sandbagging what's the plan for Sunday :D

1 hour 15 mins!

What's the opposite of sandbagging :)

Seriously, I'm expecting something around 6.45 pace.

Hope you have a great run today, you're in super shape.

TbL

Fantastic run this morning.
    Well done!

^^ + 1

See last nights post :)

Keep yourself healthy and you'll have a super result from Berlin

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done, as always superb running sir.

Cheers Folks. Chip time 1:02:06. Happy out with a good day at the office.....off to the day's main event now - U15's Girls Championship match - so report later:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Were you cycling? That's fast! Nice one.

1 hour 15 mins!

What's the opposite of sandbagging :)

Seriously, I'm expecting something around 6.35 pace.

Hope you have a great run today, you're in super shape.

TbL

Nice target. Have a good one. I will be watching the results with interest.

Tnx M,

Don't see that time happening at all, ran 8k around 6.20 pace so that's too big an ask. You're just auld, I'm auld and fat :)

Great running today!

TbL

Tnx M,

Don't see that time happening at all, ran 8k around 6.20 pace so that's too big an ask. You're just auld, I'm auld and fat :)

Great running today!

TbL

Cheers TbL. You have put together a nice run of weeks over the last while so go out and enjoy it and go with the flow;)

Frank Duffy 10 Mile
    Official Chip Time 1:02:06

Plan for today was straight forward 10m @ 06:15 avg pace giving me a new 10 mile PB of 1:02:30…..as always that was easier typed than done.

Prerace
    Had early brekie and headed into the PP for 8:30/8:40. I prefer to get in early and get parking well up the Avenue rather than have miles to walk back after the race if you have had a bad day or weather turns nasty like at the 5mile in June. I was joined for the trip in by my BH and a couple of friends and was kept amused by the Venus and Mars of prerace nerves…..race for them was all about getting in and out of the toilets before the major queues after that running time was a bonus:) I joke ladies but there was a lot of toilet talk that kept my mind at rest.

Headed up towards the race area about 9. I left the ladies queuing for the bog while I took a walk down towards the finish before putting my gear in the bag drop and heading up the North Road for a warm-up. 9:50 and I toddled over to the start and jumped into wave 1. Bumped into a couple of bods that I knew and chatted away until the start. Saw RR from a distance and he looked happy enough. Was a pity to hear afterwards that the hammer knock his race on the head early.

Mile 1-2 (6:11/6:16)

Started a little back in the wave to avoid any temptation to leg it down the Avenue 1st time around. Started nice and steady and tried to scope out some people that might be travelling at similar pace to hitch a ride. Tooked in behind a couple of Donore Runners hoping they would keep the pace they were at. Legs didn’t feel all that great but reckoned they would work their way into it after a couple of miles.

Miles 3-4 (6:17/6:17)

Heading up the North Road I knew we would be into a head wind so I decided that sitting in behind the Donore Boys would save me some energy even if it meant losing a second or two. However, they slowed pretty quickly so I jumped onto the next group. I had to do this twice during this section but got through it only a couple of second down without having to work as hard as I might have if I had ploughed my own furrow.

Miles 5-6 (6:12/6:09)

As we were coming up the North Road I caught a glimpse of a Raheny Runner in the distance that I knew from St Anne’s parkrun and who I saw cross the line in the RnR in 1:25:xx. I decided that he would be my target for later in the race but for now the plan was just not to let him get too far ahead. Picked up the pace a little when we turned back down the Avenue but was still running within myself and hadn’t yet found a grove. At 5 mile marker I was about 5 secs behind and was happy enough with where I was. However, when we went turned right off the Avenue before starting the footpath section I couldn’t see my Raheny Runner up ahead. I decided I better get my sh*t together.

Miles 7-8 (6:04/5:58)

I had in my head from early on that the 1st 10K was about keeping things on track and if that was done successfully I could start racing for home. The 6 mile marker was the last time that I looked at the watch until after I crossed the line. Now it was all about fishing. Similar to last year I motored down the footpath section and then allowed myself to go with the hill coming down to the Islandbridge Gate. As I came out onto the road section I caught sight of my Raheny guy again. I was gaining with every step and passing people consistently. I chose to run on the road rather than the footpath and this gave me a free run as nobody else in front of me had made the same choice. I may have cost myself some time here as the road was a little more exposed to the breeze and I had nobody to draft off. But I am happy enough with my choice.

Miles 9-10 (6:26/6:03)

Came back into the park and hit the hill I was now on the shoulder of my Raheny Guy and instead of pushing on by I stayed there for a minute before refocusing on a couple of Bros Pearse singlets and getting going again. This hesitation lead to my slowest mile of the day and probably made the difference between 1:01:xx and my actual time of 1:02:06. I got a nice grove on for the last mile and finished strongly.

Happy out with my days work I went back to cheer Mrs FBOT and our friends home. All were happy with their day’s efforts. Bumped into Murph_D and Mrs M both with PB in the bag. Well done again Murph, just keep it between the ditches from now until Berlin and hopefully you can reap the benefits of an excellent training block

I would agree with Murph_D's view of this race and for some I love it….actually I think it is the 10mile distance that I love. It is long enough to keep you honest but short enough that you can give it a lash. I would certainly plan to be back for more in years to come.

Thanks to all the volunteers on the day and everyone else who helped make it happen. Fair play to you folks.

That’s it for the tune up races now. From here on in it is about keeping on doing the basics right, staying healthy and getting the head in the game for Berlin.

Sunday 24/08/2014
    17m @ 07:38 avg pace (Long Run - Progression)

Headed out pre-breakfast for this one and decided to just run it like any other long run and readjust along the way if yesterdays efforts came back to bite me.

If the goal for today was to run on tired legs then I had that one in the bag before I started. I had an urge for some reason this morning to run down O'Connell St so that's where I headed first, then on up Grafton St out through Ballsbridge to the Merrion Gates before heading for DNS again and home. All went well apart from mile 9 when my left calf tighten up considerably. Decided to try to run through it and thankfully by the middle of mile 10 it had settled. For the rest of the way home, I was conscious of it but it didn't impact significantly on pace or effort levels. Spent about 15mins stretching and rolling when I got home....will take it handy for the rest of the day and all should be good. Only another niggle is in my right ankle and that has been there on and off since mid-week so will hit that with some ice and elevation today and hopefully, that should see it sorted.

Segment breakdown for today's run were:
    6m | 07:57 avg pace
    6m | 07:37 avg pace
    5m | 07:19 avg pace

Nice run on a lovely morning to finish off a solid weeks work. Another couple of those and we can start planning for Berlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great running yesterday FBOT01 - and again this morning, you're being modest when you call that a solid week's work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Frank Duffy 10 Mile
    Official Chip Time 1:02:06

Plan for today was straight forward 10m @ 06:15 avg pace giving me a new 10 mile PB of 1:02:30…..as always that was easier typed than done.

Bumped into a couple of BODS that I knew and chatted away until the start.

Obviously meeting your hero (& his identical twin) at the start line, put you in the right frame of mind for an excellent race. Well done again.

Duanington wrote: »
    Great running yesterday FBOT01 - and again this morning, you're being modest when you call that a solid week's work!

Actually D I thought when I was leaving the house this morning "I am great here getting out and doing this after yesterday's efforts" but after passing the Raheny Guy from yesterday tipping along nicely along the coast and passing a few others out in the FD T-Shirts I put myself back in my box and accepted that I am only doing what I am supposed to be doing according to the plan hence the solid description:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

a couple of Bros Pearse singlets

I was the short one :) Great run!

RayCun wrote: »
    I was the short one :) Great run!

Cheers Ray. Nice to meet you:) Next time, I will have more manners and say Hello!

You looked to be moving well so hopefully it was a good day for you too?

Edit: just read your report and I see it was a good day at the office for you too. Well done.

Great report.
    Your time was to be expected since you were taking it easy down in Mullingar ;).
    I'm a bit envious that you've already got that 17 miler out of the way though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,794 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Think you're being hard on yourself over the few seconds lost on the hill, considering your final mile split (not to mention mile 8). Great stuff!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Think you're being hard on yourself over the few seconds lost on the hill, considering your final mile split (not to mention mile 8). Great stuff!

Don't get me wrong D I am delighted with the weekends results. Got something's wrong but got plenty right so no complaints here....just sharing the wisdom of lesson learnt (I hope:))