Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Barts bodyshop in Fermoy were the cheapest for me getting them on the Astra. And seeing the quality of his work I'd have no hesitation in going there. Quoted me €150 to paint and fit.

I got it done already from a reputable place in Cork, my good friends Dad owns it, he told me it'd be about 100 to spray them and 120/30 inc fitting, so I said grand can he weld the bracket back onto the exhaust and now he came back today saying its all done and its €250 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I got it done already from a reputable place in Cork, my good friends Dad owns it, he told me it'd be about 100 to spray them and 120/30 inc fitting, so I said grand can he weld the bracket back onto the exhaust and now he came back today saying its all done and its €250 :confused:

Obviously the welding was expensive;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I saw a Rolls Royce Wraith today for the first time. While still a huge motor, it's the first one of he current crop of RRs that I thought didn't look like it was extracted from a Thunderbirds still. Thankfully it had been spec'd up as black/black meaning that it didn't have all the silver bonnet and roof that you see on others. Also no spirit of ecstasy. Not sure I could justify £235k all the same....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

pred racer wrote: »
    Obviously the welding was expensive;)

Well yes but I don't understand how it was literally two quick straight welds in lots of space

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Marcusm wrote: »
    I saw a Rolls Royce Wraith today for the first time. While still a huge motor, it's the first one of he current crop of RRs that I thought didn't look like it was extracted from a Thunderbirds still. Thankfully it had been spec'd up as black/black meaning that it didn't have all the silver bonnet and roof that you see on others. Also no spirit of ecstasy. Not sure I could justify £235k all the same....

Was watching a touch of cloth. Best police car evar :D
    7414322680_eb89ab999d_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Well yes but I don't understand how it was literally two quick straight welds in lots of space

Disconnecting the battery and possible diagnostics afterwards, sometimes something can throw a code or eml after terminal removal.

Possibly had to drop the exhaust too, if in proximity to the tank etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

dgt wrote: »
    Was watching a touch of cloth. Best police car evar :D

I guess whichever dealership they sourced it from refused permission to add roof lights etc. You'd almost cause some trouble to have a trip in the back....

Without resorting to using my Mirouku with Alphamax number 4's, what's the best way of keeping pigeons off my car?

The feckers love waddling over the roof, then using the rear windscreen as a slide. Yes, a fun slide :mad: I've even put a decoy pigeon in a nearby decoy car but nope, still go for the Merc.... I wouldn't mind but they must land in muck first, claw prints all over the roof!!!! :(

I have nowhere else to park the car either due to.... Lack of room :rolleyes:

14804707668_90665621d0_h.jpg

Didn't slide down my rear window today you fat grain eating sod

Waddling feckers :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

They are drawn to the Cooooooooooo off her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Didn't slide down my rear window today you fat grain eating sod

Waddling feckers :mad::mad::mad:

They destroy our cars and van weekly. Jerks.

With poop? Funnily they don't defecate on the car, they just like to strut about, twiddle round in circles then slide down the window like it were a slide.... A truly bizarre lot round here :confused:
    166 V6 timing belt. An involved process but not overly difficult.

Until you find that one of the guide roller bolts is completely rounded.

Whoever did this I want to find them and kick the sh*te out of them. There is no excuse to sheer sloppiness with such an important part of the engine and the room available (strangely).

Now I have to waste my f*cking time trying to remove this very tight bolt

I never showed you's the bolt
    14797808088_f10ff2065f_h.jpg

You can see there is naff all room to play with. Tried a few bits and bobs. Gave up, tried again this evening
    14992625112_192b47b598_h.jpg

Much better :) hipster ales all round :cool:

Very convenient I have multiple bolts to replace this one with. At least I can continue on with my belt fitting tomorrow, after I replace the water pump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

How did you get the bolt out?

bgi_394001_5setpk_4c_hz.jpg

14992608472_a4fbf82556_b.jpg

It just fitted in nicely, the biggest one in the set was all that would fit. Getting it to bite was fairly tedious as it's hard to judge if it's on the bolt right with the power steering pipes in the way and the cobbered edges of the bolt, but once it gripped it just screwed on and got tighter till it eventually began to loosen the bolt.

I thought I was going to have to buy the expansion set, I only got 5 extractors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

With poop? Funnily they don't defecate on the car, they just like to strut about, twiddle round in circles then slide down the window like it were a slide.... A truly bizarre lot round here :confused:

Yup, it only seems to be ours too :P

They never sat on the 520, GTV, 406 etc.... Only the Merc. Thinking it was a black car thing I placed another shiny black car nearby but nope, still go for the Merc!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

They never sat on the 520, GTV, 406 etc.... Only the Merc. Thinking it was a black car thing I placed another shiny black car nearby but nope, still go for the Merc!!!

Same with the astra here, both saabs, untouched, astra, birds all over it :o i should get it going again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Same with the astra here, both saabs, untouched, astra, birds all over it :o i should get it going again

I remember asking you this before, but is there anything major that's wrong with it to get it up again? Did you say something about plugs before?

Nope! It needs, a coil pack, wiper motor, new timing belt/waterpump, an aux belt and a general service and it's be as good as new :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

wNTs6rx.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Nope! It needs, a coil pack, wiper motor, new timing belt/waterpump, an aux belt and a general service and it's be as good as new :)

That car definitely owes you nothing with the amount of mileage you put up on it in a short space of time. Never seemed to cause any real trouble either iirc.

Bpmull wrote: »
    That car definitely owes you nothing with the amount of mileage you put up on it in a short space of time. Never seemed to cause any real trouble either iirc.

Power steering pump went on it, that's the only "serious" thing it had wrong, love that car, many many memories in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Just passing through town there, coming out the far side of it, it's a 50 zone, there's me booting it at nigh 100 - small town, no one around, no cars, wide road, only a few scattered houses, speed limit is too low for too long of a stretch, then bam the gardai are outside a house, just standing one side of their car. It was the local gardaí so they weren't checking for speed, a domestic issue I'd say, nonetheless the dirty look one of them gave me as I passed by... Had to pass back a few minutes after and I was crawling at 45, like a good little motorist, and they were still there.... and they looked at me again, not that they could see much in the dark.

319311.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Anyone used Michelin Pilot Sport 3's or Kumho (how is this pronounced?!) Ecsta KU31 tyres? Supposed to be very good.

I've Mohawk M105 tyres (brand new) on my new car, but I don't know anything about them. Seem to be cheap tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Renault 1.5dci engines do not like suddenly being surprised with 6000rpm+

Whoopsie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Got the Michelins on the 5er recently. Very happy with them and got a decent price for them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Daniel S wrote: »
    Anyone used Michelin Pilot Sport 3's or Kumho (how is this pronounced?!) Ecsta KU31 tyres? Supposed to be very good.

I've Mohawk M105 tyres (brand new) on my new car, but I don't know anything about them. Seem to be cheap tyres.

I had Kumho Ecsta SPT's on my last car. Grip was excellent and wear wasn't bad on a 4 wheel drive car. Very well priced too!

I had the top of the kumho range, ecsta supra I think they were called. On my old car, the grip was amazing. Always recommend kumho's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Got the Michelins on the 5er recently. Very happy with them and got a decent price for them too.

I had Kumho Ecsta SPT's on my last car. Grip was excellent and wear wasn't bad on a 4 wheel drive car. Very well priced too!

Where did you get them?

The much anticipated boards major interface update has arrived :cool:

319342.png

Screenshot from 2014-08-22 14:53:08.png