The body of a deceased man in Letterkenny was being treated for 'ebola like symptoms'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Lapin wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, I'm not claiming to be Frankie de Fucking Dory here on any horse.

All I'm saying is - its a bit sick to be having a laugh at this poor lads expense.

Ireland is a tiny country and the chances are everyone who posts here knows someone who knows someone in the lads family.

All I'm suggesting is that people here don't be so quick to make light of their grief for the sake of a few quick thanks hits on Boards. (And lets face it - thats all anyone posting here is at).

If I was on some high horse surely I'd have piped up by now over the numbers of people dying in Africa as a result of this shít.

But I didn't. Because the chances of any of us knowing any of the poor victims out there are slim to fuckall, and have no direct impact on my life. Thats not to say they don't deserve equal respect.

But when someone in my own neck of the woods is suspected of dying from the disease - It resanotes a hell of a lot more, for right or for wrong.

As I said, give the man a break. Ireland is far too small for this personal dancing on other's misfortune shít.

As for this gem you came out with - "Anyway, didn't he go to Africa and then come back?, he is putting us all at risk really. Think about that."

Will people ever fuk off with that crap.

Those are the words of a person who never ventured outside their own parish in their lifetime.

whos Frankie de ****ing Dory when his at home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Whenever government agencies tell you everything is low risk, that's the time to worry. RIP to the man and it must be a terrible time for his family. If it is the virus, his movements over the past three weeks are important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

evo2000 wrote: »

I don't know but he's fcuking Dory whoever she is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Blay wrote: »
    Your da could kill his da too, don't forget that.

Ok Son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

"Ireland is a tiny country and the chances are everyone who posts here knows someone who knows someone in the lads family."

Exaggeration much?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

People die every day, should we huddle around and grieve over each one of them?

We live in a world where we hear so much about death we're desensitised. 100 people could die tomorrow and it'd stir the same reaction as if 1000 had died. They're just numbers at this stage, so making the odd light hearted comment is not out of malice, because they're not even thinking about the depth of the situation. They can't because it's not personally affecting them, and it's hard to when you get bombarded daily by news of death, it just becomes white noise.

If I died tomorrow, I honestly couldn't give a feck if some strangers were making some harmless, lighthearted jokes or comments, because most often it's done without malice and caused by being so desensitised from situations like this they're subconsciously unaware of their 'lack of respect'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/tests-under-way-for-ebola-following-donegal-death-1.1904073

:eek::eek:

Time to crack open each others skulls and feast on the goo inside.

Edit: Already a thread on page 2, godammit AH you fast.
    Lapin wrote: »
    A man is dead here lads.

Have a bit of respect.
    policarp wrote: »
    This is After Hours.
    Folks going home after a belly full
    of stimulants.
    Not Funny but allow for the extras. . . :D

What did I say wrong?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

anna080 wrote: »
    "Ireland is a tiny country and the chances are everyone who posts here knows someone who knows someone in the lads family."

Exaggeration much?!

Its actually very true Anna.

There is truth in the fact that anything posted on boards will be read by familiy members of the unfortunate man who lost his life here.

Why do people assume there wouldn't be?

The victim here, Dessie Quinn - a father - from Donegal didn't ask for this.

Anytime there is a serious car crash involving multiple fatalaties, (as Donegal knows all too much about), people rush to offer their sympathy here, and many queue up to let it be known that they knew one of the deceased.

I guarentee lots of people reading this know Dessie Quinn too. And his child, And his child's mother.

Yet you lot think he is fair game, because there is an suspicion that he the first person in Ireland to endure an agonising death from a disease that has entire nations in terror.

"Exaggeration much?" My hole.

Classy bunch. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Wulfie

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/tests-under-way-for-ebola-following-donegal-death-1.1904073

Edit: Already a thread on page 2, godammit AH you fast.

Media are pushing the Kill the infected Quick as you can Ask no questions .

Our children are desensitized , through video games .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Wulfie wrote: »
    Media are pushing the Kill the infected Quick as you can Ask no questions .

Our children are desensitized , through video games .

Africa is now in possession of a highly dangerous disease of mass destruction! Ireland must invade and stop them at the source!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

It's not that crazy, no harm at all in doing tests. It's unlikely to be ebola but no harm to make sure. And handling dead bodies is a known weak point for transmission so I think it's prudent to be sure before sending his body off to be embalmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

evo2000 wrote: »

Hunky's cousin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭woppi

Tarzana wrote: »
    It's not that crazy, no harm at all in doing tests. It's unlikely to be ebola but no harm to make sure. And handling dead bodies is a known weak point for transmission so I think it's prudent to be sure before sending his body off to be embalmed.

Out of curiosity, what infection control procedures would generally be in place at a mortuary, even if there was no suspicion of a transmittable disease?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

woppi wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, what infection control procedures would generally be in place at a mortuary, even if there was no suspicion of a transmittable disease?

Wearing sealed suits for anyone interacting with the body id say is the first obvious one as even if hes dead i assume interacting with the corpse still leads to a chance of infection.

Then stepping up to another level probably some kind of seal around the door to the mortuary so nothing can escape even if ebola isn't airborne yet risks cant be taken. Im guessing it looks kinda like what you would expect to see in an movie right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

And now it seems the family themselves only found out the man's death is being investigated from hearing it on the news.
    Talk about the HSE dropping the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,080 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

P_1 wrote: »
    Feck I hope the funeral director and the priest took proper precautions when removing the man's body/giving the last rites.

THE WHO have been praising the HSE for following the recommended infection control protocals so I presume all involved were protected from infection

Ban billionaires

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

So is this when we're supposed to take our iodine tablets ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

i give it until the year 2050 until the fierce bearded Ulidians march to the midlands for a battle with the free staters, just like in the 5th century we will tear leinster asunder and claim the lands as our own, I am referring to the the ancient southern ui neill kingdom when I say that, we breaded our way into your society back then, I love thinking about that so i do.

This man's taking no chances with the Ebola!

He's clearly self-medicated heavily already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I thought I had ebola once but it turned out I had actually fallen down the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Donegal people have very annoying accents and I am sick of reading Dun na nGall car license plates in N.Ireland, yes we know you are from 'the fort of the foreigner' why the need for the arrogant license plates? It pisses me off so it does as does their broad brogues. Any chance you could move a few thousand southerners up there to change their brogues?

Yerrah! Ye all sound the same to us here in the southern half of the island, whether ye're from Donegal or Norn Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Míshásta wrote: »
    Yerrah! Ye all sound the same to us here in the southern half of the island, whether ye're from Donegal or Norn Ireland.
    The only way to really tell us apart up here is to look at our shoulders. Doesn't even have to be a close examination as the Norn Iron chip can apparently be viewed from space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

Local priest Fr Adrian Gavigan, of Mountcharles, confirmed that he had visited Mr Quinn before his death.

So they call in the local witch doctor in Donegal too? Not so different from Sierra Leone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

gjc wrote: »
    There being quite positive about the whole thing over in the Donegal thread

aye, I think theyre a bit confused about the sort of publicity this is going to generate. Folks, this isnt what is meant by 'going viral'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Ben D Bus wrote: »
    So they call in the local witch doctor in Donegal too? Not so different from Sierra Leone.

Not a witch doctor, a priest. Who are you to mock the last wishes of a dying man?

You know, having a go at the church for no good reason isn't edgy or brave anymore. It's easy, lazy and cliched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭pawdee

I had ebola soup for lunch in Letterkenny yesterday and I have to say I felt a little peaky afterwards.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

VinLieger wrote: »
    Wearing sealed suits for anyone interacting with the body id say is the first obvious one as even if hes dead i assume interacting with the corpse still leads to a chance of infection.

A large amount of the new cases in Africa are created because of funeral rituals there. Some involve draining the body of food and fluids without and gloves or safety equipment whatsoever. Recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

P_1 wrote: »
    Feck I hope the funeral director and the priest took proper precautions when removing the man's body/giving the last rites.

Jeyes Fluid and holy water, they'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I wouldn't panic and stock up on tinned goods and a firearm just yet. Ebola seems to be contained whenever a sufferer leaves Africa.

Then again, given the state of our health service...

Jasus yeah can you imagine. They probably had him on a trolley for 3 days haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's not ebola! We can all go back to licking each other's faces now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

pawdee wrote: »
    I had ebola soup for lunch in Letterkenny yesterday and I have to say I felt a little peaky afterwards.

Just the one bola soup?