The body of a deceased man in Letterkenny was being treated for 'ebola like symptoms'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No trains in Donegal. Good forward planning on Irish Rail's part for once.
    McGinley's Bus will be landing in Parnell Square at about 9PM.

You're fecked then, Dubliners.

Are you a doctor ?

A pharmacist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭MuchoLoco

If true that is pretty shocking there should be zero flights to and from affected parts of Africa period ******* joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I know medical workers are going out to help the people there but when they risk bringing a potentially lethal disease back to their family you'd think they'd give it a skip.

Should've let the Brits have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Meglamonia wrote: »
    Close this thread there's already one.
    There's already at least three!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,365 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

First thing is first in the containment. Cancel the Donegal v Dublin match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Tenner on this death being nothing to do with ebola.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,365 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Standman wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I love how the thread titles for this story has gone from 'body of a deceased man in Letterkenny was being treated for 'ebola like symptoms' to 'Ebola in Donegal' in the space of ten minutes.

The Herald will be reporting that millions are feared dead in Milford within the hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Standman wrote: »

Well we will all be looking for our tenner if you're wrong.

Three threads about it.

Never knew yous cared so much about us folks.

I was just about to send a SWAT team to Donegal to make sure The Backwards Man survives the threat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

It strikes me as selfish and idiotic that people who have been working in the places where the outbreak occurred are allowed to freely come and go from those countries and bring the disease with them.

There was a similar story of a Spanish priest who came back to Spain after catching the virus over there.

I mean a bit of common sense. Why risk it? If people are in an area where there's an outbreak, then they should stay there until they've got the all-clear. They should not be let into places where the virus hasn't hit yet. It's ridiculously risky.

What is the islamic jihadists in Donegal get Ebola? What will the government do now?

Candie wrote: »
    I was just about to send a SWAT team to Donegal to make sure The Backwards Man survives the threat!
    I'll be grand, sheds are full of turf, garden is full of spuds.

Don't start panicking until I change my username to The Omega Man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Really hope this is not true. Ebola in Irish hospitals would be apocalyptic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

It strikes me as selfish and idiotic that people who have been working in the places where the outbreak occurred are allowed to freely come and go from those countries and bring the disease with them.

There was a similar story of a Spanish priest who came back to Spain after catching the virus over there.

I mean a bit of common sense. Why risk it? If people are in an area where there's an outbreak, then they should stay there until they've got the all-clear. They should not be let into places where the virus hasn't hit yet. It's ridiculously risky.

And yet I've heard a health worker (possibly with MSF, can't be sure though) say that she'd be FAR more worried about flu and other airborne diseases than Ebola - it's a horrible, horrible illness once you've caught it but you have to have actual bodily contact as far as I know, so it's not as contagious as people think.

She reckoned the panic over it was misplaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Ground zero is Mountcharles, co. Donegal. Suspected carrier was in Sierra Leone for the last few months, has been unwell for a number of days. it's probably all over the place by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Due to the raging hard on people seem to get in Donegal by living as far away as possible from other people at least we won't have to worry about it spreading.

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Really hope this is not true. Ebola in Irish hospitals would be apocalyptic
    The resident viruses in Irish hospitals will probably kill off Ebola themselves.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Anyone else thinking, "HA! I bet RTE didn't feck this one up, eh The Journal?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Ugh. I've not been back up home since Christmas and now I finally book flights for the weekend and this happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Many of these people are doctors, aid workers, and missionaries devoting themselves to helping others in poverty. We owe it to them to give them the best possible care if they do get infected. It's not an influenza like virus. We should be easily able to relatively contain it. As long as we don't become ignorant or succumb to fear mongering by the media. This isn't an influenza like virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Clearly the best thing to do is drop a bomb on letterkenny... Just to be safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

what is the screening process for Irish people does anyone know for people returning from countries that are infected? because if this guy recently returned from Sierra Leone, and some of his colleagues had contracted the virus, why wasnt he quarantined for the 21 day incubation period of the virus? why was he just allowed back in to mix with the population. and if the authorities arent taking control, this guy knowing what he did should have come forward and volunteered himself into isolation. or am I being unfair?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Due to the raging hard on people seem to get in Donegal by living as far away as possible from other people at least we won't have to worry about it spreading.

Could be all sorts of new life forms up there nobody's ever heard of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

smash wrote: »
    Clearly the best thing to do is drop a bomb on letterkenny... Just to be safe.

Even if it turns out not to be ebola. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭EIRE1922

Lets build a wall around old Donegal!
    The north and south to keep them out, my god I´d build it tall
    Casinos, chicken ranches, I´d legalize them all
    We´d have our own Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal
    Yeah!! Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal

Ivy being ignorant aren't you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

WakeUp wrote: »
    what is the screening process for Irish people does anyone know for people returning from countries that are infected? because if this guy recently returned from Sierra Leone, and some of his colleagues had contracted the virus, why wasnt he quarantined for the 21 day incubation period of the virus? why was he just allowed back in to mix with the population. and if the authorities arent taking control, this guy knowing what he did should have come forward and volunteered himself into isolation. or am I being unfair?.

I don't think the idea of a 21 day quarantine is unreasonable,in fact it seems the only sensible approach. Certainly anyone showing signs of illness during that period should get the very best of treatment and care,as already pointed out aid workers are risking their lives for others and in essence they're protecting the world from Ebola by being responsible for control of the illness in affected areas. However we are doing no one any favours by letting the illness spread throughout the world. Small measures like a quarantine would make a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭Delta2113

Merkin wrote: »
    Donegal isn't actually in Norn Iron

Hence why Northern Ireland should close it's border.