He's had enough - So he's coming out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Assaunge released sensitive documents but is a journalist and owes America nothing. Snowden was working for the government so its a trickier situation. He would have agreed to nondisclosuer agreements so is liable for treason. He probably should get jail time.

Working for government and having to sign non-disclosure agreements?!

Something seems off.....

When you have a government that needs to keep secrets from the very people it claims to represent then it's quite obvious that that government is no longer a legitimate government and must be overthrown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Ranchu wrote: »
    If he is convicted of that in Sweden I'm assuming he would serve any jail time there. He seems to think he's going to be extradited to America by the Swedes which seems a bit daft to me.

He may not even make it to Sweden. If the UK decides to pursue charges against Assange for evading arrest, assange may find himself sent straight to the US with assurances by the US he will face charges in Sweden after they are 'done' with him...20 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

He probably has loads of juicy info he can use to help this whole process, maybe that's why he stayed there for 2 years(putting a plan in place)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Assaunge released sensitive documents but is a journalist and owes America nothing. Snowden was working for the government so its a trickier situation. He would have agreed to nondisclosuer agreements so is liable for treason. He probably should get jail time.

You could easily argue that the obligation to uphold the US constitution supersedes any non-disclosure agreement that Snowden signed. The bulk collection of data belonging to US citizens by the NSA was infringing their constitutional right to privacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Dayum wrote: »

Something seems off.....

When you have a government that needs to keep secrets from the very people it claims to represent then it's quite obvious that that government is no longer a legitimate government and must be overthrown.
    Every civil servant in Ireland works under the official secrets act. It would be impossible to conduct the business of government of everything was public, particularly in relation to security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Xennon

Every civil servant in Ireland works under the official secrets act. It would be impossible to conduct the business of government of everything was public, particularly in relation to security.

Might be a better country if everything was out in the open for public scrutiny no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

You could easily argue that the obligation to uphold the US constitution supersedes any non-disclosure agreement that Snowden signed. The bulk collection of data belonging to US citizens by the NSA was infringing their constitutional right to privacy.

Releasing government secrets even though it exposes their shady actions will always get a response. Snowden was always going to be in hot water if he was found out. It was a good thing for the rest of the world but he put himself in a very bad position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Lapin wrote: »
    Threatening to extradite someone for sex offence charges ?

Strange carry on all right.
    dubious charges in fairness, if there was no chance of him ending up in a cangaroo court in murika he'd probably have gone long ago, TBH i'd say the only way he's coming out is in a box but you never know i suppose

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Don't know why anyone would be a whistleblower.
    Take Assaunge and Snowden... But Snowdon is probably the better example because the information he revealed had it's 15 minutes everywhere, then it was over. Sure no-one gave a toss about him during those 15 minutes let alone now.

All it did was sell newspapers and make money for media outlets. Same as the information by Assaunge. It's didnt change anything... people read the stories then went back to eating their corn flakes.

But yet you, the whistleblower, will face charges from Governments and in the case on Snowdon... his own. All for what? Reading material at the breakfast table for some git?

EyeSight wrote: »
    Not really. I think people give orgs like the CIA too much credit, probably from movies. History has shown that their plans f**k up a lot or leaks(ironically enough) always get out.

I believe you read that, but i can never believe figures like these. Lets say they have 2 cops monitoring at all times, in 8 hour shifts. That's 6 cops who would be on a salary of over 1 million pounds per year. Maybe they're including the price of the cop cars, uniforms, training them etc. :confused:
    doubt it, the figures are made up i'd say, a while back it was 6 million

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Jester252 wrote: »
    About time he faces the music and stops hiding from his sexual assault charges.
    not at all, its all about getting him to the cangaroo court in murika where he will be found guilty on made up charges, unless he can get a deal he's best off living his days out where he is

You don't think he'll be facing bigger charges in the US? I heard some of the Fox News pundits suggest him and Snowden should face the death penalty if they are ever charged in the US. Could the US execute a non US citizen?
    probably, its america, they do what they like and make it up as they go along, they love their death penalty the US government, cheering afterwords also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Take Assaunge and Snowden... But Snowdon is probably the better example because the information he revealed had it's 15 minutes everywhere, then it was over. Sure no-one gave a toss about him during those 15 minutes let alone now.

Only if you haven't been paying attention to the US news. Hes been in it again and again. Fox news has really never let him go off air.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

All it did was sell newspapers and make money for media outlets. Same as the information by Assaunge. It's didnt change anything... people read the stories then went back to eating their corn flakes.

But yet you, the whistleblower, will face charges from Governments and in the case on Snowdon... his own. All for what? Reading material at the breakfast table for some git?

assange still makes regular leaks in the embassy toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

Lapin wrote: »
    Threatening to extradite someone for sex offence charges ?

Strange carry on all right.

Strange that they invented the charges? No not at all, such antics are commonplace when you don't tow the line.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

he should dye his hair red.

Nobody would expect a Ginger Leak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

It's a bloody disgrace what people like Assange and Snowden have had to go through. They are the present time historians, telling the story as it happens, rather than waiting for the Victors to present their skewed version of the ''truth''. Without people like them we would have little clue about the shenanigans the so-called democratic governments of the world get up to. But because of the hounding they have received i reckon there will be alot fewer of such people in the future. so we will go back to government sponsored propaganda ''news'' versus the whacky conspiracytards version of things which can always be easily laughed off. What a world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Do we need to send a member of the Iona institute there to tell everyone they're against him coming out? I can hear them typing up a complaint to BAI already. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm disappointed this isn't a thread about Tom Cruise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

It's a bloody disgrace what people like Assange and Snowden have had to go through. They are the present time historians, telling the story as it happens, rather than waiting for the Victors to present their skewed version of the ''truth''. Without people like them we would have little clue about the shenanigans the so-called democratic governments of the world get up to. But because of the hounding they have received i reckon there will be alot fewer of such people in the future. so we will go back to government sponsored propaganda ''news'' versus the whacky conspiracytards version of things which can always be easily laughed off. What a world.

Tying Assange up with fake charges is peanuts

Nobody at the top cares

Sure weren't we complicit in this stuff providing stopovers at shannon

So extradition can be done for questioning without charges pending? Well that's a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

it can't be good for his mental health being stuck in the doors all that time.....i wonder did he sneak out the back door at night for a bit of jiggy jiggy at the local brothel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Dayum wrote: »

Something seems off.....

Yeah. They should just let all their employees turn over any sensitive information that suits them.

I'm sure if you were an agent on the ground in a war zone you'd applaud Snowden for blowing your cover and getting you killed. Great Craic altogether.

Getting a **** ton of information and dumping it all online is not the calculated good deeds of someone wanting to make the world a.better place. Why not just disclose carefully selected bad deeds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

I always thought Assange was a bit of a knob. Very few of the people who worked with him during the early days of WikiLeaks have a good word to say about him.

The way he used Bradley Manning was utterly shameful. He exploited a very vulnerable young man then left him to face the music on his own.

Edward Snowden is in a different league. He knew what the consequences of his actions would be yet he did it any way. Fair play to him.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Augmerson wrote: »
    I think in the Swedish legal system you are innocent until proven guilty.

The charges relate to non-consensual behaviour within consensual sexual encounters. That is, sex without using a condom, which can be considered rape in Sweden.

The charge in Sweden is actually less than it would be in most countries, as they have basically degrees of rape. Countries which have no such graduated scale consider non consensual penetration to be rape, period.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Augmerson wrote: »
    I think in the Swedish legal system you are innocent until proven guilty.

The charges relate to non-consensual behaviour within consensual sexual encounters. That is, sex without using a condom, which can be considered rape in Sweden.

The charge in Sweden is actually less than it would be in most countries, as they have basically degrees of rape. Countries which have no such graduated scale consider non consensual penetration to be rape, period.

I'm sure if you were an agent on the ground in a war zone you'd applaud Snowden for blowing your cover and getting you killed. Great Craic altogether.

thats the risk you take by going into a war zone
    Getting a **** ton of information and dumping it all online is not the calculated good deeds of someone wanting to make the world a.better place.

yes it is, anyone who does as such is a hero.
    Why not just disclose carefully selected bad deeds?

why not disclose every bad deed. the people have a right to know everything their government does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

So extradition can be done for questioning without charges pending? Well that's a new one.

It's a European arrest warrent issued by Sweden. Every European country is obliged to arrest him and hand him over to the Swedish police. Under Swedish law, he can only be charged in person. So when he arrives in Sweden, he will then be charged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

When I saw the title, I thought it was going to be about Robbie Williams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

No. He just got a tip off that Mick Wallace and Claire Daly are calling to visit him again this year. Once is enough to meet those clowns.