The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

People who constantly put themselves down, celebrate mediocrity, don't want to improve and constantly sneer on those who are trying to improve themselves.

I was reading a magazine article recently about pacing yourself in racing/training and it advised a training session starting off slow then progressing through the paces (M. HM, 10k, 5k etc). Queue comments :
    'I only have one pace slowwwww lol' = 1Million likes :mad:

FFS are you telling me your 5k pace and your marathon pace are the same thing??? OK your 5k pace might be 12 min/mile which in the grand scheme of things is slow but surely your Marathon pace is slower again? In which case do you not get the point of the article; i.e to improve pacing start off at 15 min/mile and progress up to 12 min/mile????
    The general point I am making is that even if you are slow (in the grand scheme of things) proper training principles still apply to you if you want to improve.
    I hate this 'lol I am always slow therefore training advice does not apply to me' attitude. Obviously if you stick to that mentality you will never improve. Or maybe you don't want to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

echancrure wrote: »
    Oh no!

Hope it is not too serious.

Thanks for the concern echancrure! I don't think it's too bad. I've done a little bit since but have stopped since last tuesday because the achilles was going mental! I think the injury gods are conspiring against me!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

#1People not ranting on a ranting thread..use txts if ye wanna chat
    #2 unreasonable people
    #3.Miller...1 bottle and was fecked this morning
    #4 lightweights.
    #5..Will do # 5 later ,the day is young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

ultraman1 wrote: »
    #1People not ranting on a ranting thread..use txts if ye wanna chat
    #2 unreasonable people
    #3.Miller...1 bottle and was fecked this morning
    #4 lightweights.

If you drink chemical rich beer then what do you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

rom wrote: »

Sanctimonious, pretentious, craft beer drinking wannabes :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

People in deli's that fold a wrap, it's called a wrap for a reason.

rom wrote: »
    See rant#1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,705 ✭✭✭✭walshb

If someone offers you something or offers to help you out in some way either accept it with thanks and appreciation or decline with thanks. Don't spend 5 minutes looking for reassurance that they want to do you a good deed, or that "are they sure." Takes the good out of it, and it's unnecessarily awkward for the good Samaritan....

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Dogs on beaches...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Tampon and constipation ads, what the **** do they think they are selling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

It may be a response to straitened times, but it seems that aspirational advertising is, more and more, giving way to designing new insecurities for us to persuade us to buy.

Like the shampoo ad that declaims how "Thin hair makes you feel invisible". These always existed of course, particularly in the beauty industry, but more and more advertisers are going this route.

As a general rule of thumb, if you try and sell me something by attempting to make me feel **** about
    myself, I will give a hollow laugh and buy your rivals products!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Facebook: like if you hate cancer, like if your against animal cruelty.
    Just fcuk off, like.

gerard_65 wrote: »
    Just fcuk off, like.

Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    Tampon and constipation ads, what the **** do they think they are selling?

Tampons and laxitives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

Ice Bucket Challenge

50/60 year old something guy doing efforts with a 10 year old girl (who clearly hates doing it). Way to turn her off the sport for life. Same happened to me when I was 14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,110 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

gerard_65 wrote: »
    Just fcuk off, like.

_like_butonpng23.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    _like_butonpng23.png

George Hamiltion /\ /\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

People talking **** on here about posters with closed accounts who walked away cause there was too much drama, not enough running. Last I checked this is meant to be a running forum, not a soap opera...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

dukeraoul wrote: »
    People talking **** on here about posters with closed accounts who walked away cause there was too much drama, not enough running. Last I checked this is meant to be a running forum, not a soap opera...

Welcome back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

adrian522 wrote: »
    Welcome back.

Damn straight. If any of them wanna back it up with their running, fire away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Last I checked this is meant to be a running forum, not a soap opera...

What, no award for Best Resurrected Character?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Fianna Fowl

2.5 ranters for every 1 raver

We were always a bunch of negative fu%$£rs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

walshb wrote: »
    We were always a bunch of negative fu%$£rs!

If it means negative splits then I'm all for it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Using the soap opera analogy some characters are just never killed off. The character remains but the actor changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

South Dublin County Council, constantly digging up perfectly runnable tarmac footpaths and replacing them with thick concrete monstrosities.

Why are you using my taxes to close the roads for months in order to ultimately make things worse for pedestrians/runners? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

menoscemo wrote: »
    South Dublin County Council, constantly digging up perfectly runnable tarmac footpaths and replacing them with thick concrete monstrosities.

At least they dig 'em up and replace them - over here on the north side they just let the tarmac wear off until you're tripping over it. Then maybe, if they have to dig it up for something else, they might go with the concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,363 ✭✭✭✭event

f*cking ankle, its been bothering me since the start of august and I havent been able to train at all. Have the longford HM this sunday, gonna attempt it as a training run.

pain in the hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

menoscemo wrote: »

Why are you using my taxes to close the roads for months in order to ultimately make things worse for pedestrians/runners? :mad:

Do your taxes not go to the Inland Revenue ;)

Some of the traininlogs here are ridiculiculous

Am not sayin mine is great either