Lets all up sticks to waterford city....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭The Adversary

I spent last summer in waterford.Way to many junkies and pikeys wandering around,looking for people to mug,its dog rough,and this comes from somebody who spent my formative years in summerhill in the north inner city and later finglas south.Its does have redeeming features though to be fair,every second week during the summer there is something happening in the centre of town,it has some great boozers,and no end of women of easy persuasion.

What a crock of ****e.

That's my home your talking about. Waterford is a lovely place with plenty of lovely people. I don't know what town your talking about, I've lived in Waterford my whole life and have never been mugged.

I can never understand the close mindedness of some Irish people. Waterford is like any place in Ireland with both good and bad in the mix.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

What a crock of ****e.

That's my home your talking about. Waterford is a lovely place with plenty of lovely people. I don't know what town your talking about, I've lived in Waterford my whole life and have never been mugged.

I can never understand the close mindedness of some Irish people. Waterford is like any place in Ireland with both good and bad in the mix.

Nah, it's a kip and the centre of the city looks horribly run down now.

Also, full of scobes.

Don't get all het up just because you are stuck living there and anyway you can take solace in the fact that Carlow will always be slightly worse.

Also, full of scobes.

Don't get all het up just because you are stuck living there and anyway you can take solace in the fact that Carlow will always be slightly worse.

Recession has hit the city hard, just like anywhere in Ireland. A couple of shops have closed down it's hardly skidrow. No need for the exaggeration :rolleyes:

I'm not stuck here by any stretch of the imagination, I could emigrate or move to the big smoke, but why bother? I have everything I could possibly need here. Friends, family, a job. Waterford has it's rough patches but nothing compared to the likes of Dublin or Limerick. Despite the assertions of some, Waterford is a quiet city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Also, full of scobes.

Not sure when you were last in the city, but it's without a doubt one of the better looking city centres I've been to (the others being Galway and Kilkenny...ok, Kilkenny's not a city centre as such, but close enough) and it's much cleaner and more litter free than most. Hanging baskets of flowers everywhere, plenty of nice shops (not just soulless big name chains everywhere) and the more historic parts have been been beautifully restored and revitalised. The mall is lovely, the plaza's lovely and down by the viking triangle is lovely.

I honestly haven't a clue where this run down kip reputation comes from. I suppose it depends what parts of the city you go to. Like any city it has it's good parts and bad parts, but as a whole, it's far from the nasty picture you're painting of it.
    However, you seem to have made up your mind about the place, so no use trying to change your mind. Must be some utopia you're living in yourself!

Not sure when you were last in the city, but it's without a doubt one of the better looking city centres I've been to (the others being Galway and Kilkenny...ok, Kilkenny's not a city centre as such, but close enough) and it's much cleaner and more litter free than most. Hanging baskets of flowers everywhere, plenty of nice shops (not just soulless big name chains everywhere) and the more historic parts have been been beautifully restored and revitalised. The mall is lovely, the plaza's lovely and down by the viking triangle is lovely.

I honestly haven't a clue where this run down kip reputation comes from. I suppose it depends what parts of the city you go to. Like any city it has it's good parts and bad parts, but as a whole, it's far from the nasty picture you're painting of it.
    However, you seem to have made up your mind about the place, so no use trying to change your mind. Must be some utopia you're living in yourself!

Waterford is actually Ireland's cleanest city.

It's only when you come back from visiting certain other cities in Ireland, you realise just how clean it is compared to them! Something we tend to take for granted a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If yere all moving to Waterford..would ye bring a few jobs as well :D

God after hours people would literally blow up with dole/travellers/black taxi drivers...if what is posted/started here weekly is anything to go on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Also, full of scobes.

It sounds a grand spot,unless you're attached to your Dog.....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057269183

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

So are we moving or not..im confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Waterford does have a Hillbillies Chicken shop.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

All the snobs live out the Dunmore Road. The city centre is dead and most shops have closed. Full of people who got factory jobs straight out of school but after a decade or two working are now mostly unemployed. Most of the smarter people left after the Leaving Cert and never went back. There's nothing to do in Waterford except bad mouth people you're jealous of!

fiachr_a wrote: »
    All the snobs live out the Dunmore Road. The city centre is dead and most shops have closed. Full of people who got factory jobs straight out of school but after a decade or two working are now mostly unemployed. Most of the smarter people left after the Leaving Cert and never went back. There's nothing to do in Waterford except bad mouth people you're jealous of!

Badmouthing people you say? Clearly not exclusively a Waterford trait if this thread is anything to go by.

Although I must congratulate you on packing in so many lazy, misinformed generalisations into one post. That's quite the feat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

DO Not move to Waterford City its a kip. I live in County Waterford and its Ok.

I mean Kilkenny City is quite near Waterford and that's lovely.

So are we moving or not..im confused

Sure, you'd be safer in downtown Beirut, experience prettier scenery in a Calcutta rubbish dump, you'd only have a handful of half boarded up shops to wander in and out of and be surrounded by dumb unemployed yokels who were too stupid to emigrate after they left school.

I wouldn't chance it if I were you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I have a spare room, I could put a couple of ye up for a while.

Have I told any of you about naked Thursdays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

Not a bad town. Different pace to Dublin. Public transport is ****e though.
    Stick to the old men's pubs and you are grand.

I liked the reg, the theatre and phil grimes.
    Nightclubs can range from decent to dead. Take the foundry it's jazzed up for hype and high energy but there only rare nights when there is a big enough crowd for that. I hated Harvey's. I think it's changed though ...it's probably all changed. I got into cycling down there it's huge.

They moan a lot about the city under-performing but they tend to think the govt should do everything.

Nice people , cheaper to live. It's different when you are student though.

You gotta try a blaa.....if you go ...blaas are yum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

FTA69 wrote: »
    It's in the city the same way Kilkenny, Newry and Armagh are "cities". To most people, a city is a large urban area with a certain metropolitan dynamic. While places like Waterford or Newry may have a historical charter etc, they're just big towns in effect.

Germany classifies the minimum population of a City as 100,000 inhabitants. That's a Country with 80 million people.

France is about 75,000.

The Netherlands broadly 30-50,000.

Does Galway really have a more 'metropolitan dynamic'. Maybe I've been hanging around the wrong areas, but I don't see it. Never heard anyone question whether it's a City or not.

It's been a City longer than Dublin has, but then it's inhabitants apparently have 'a chip on their shoulder' for continuing to rightfully claim it is a City.

Not from Waterford City, but there are no more skobes there than there are in Cork and Dublin City centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Apparantly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Waterford seems to much fewer obvious "scobes" than Dublin or Limerick. Not that either of those cities are too bad either. It's city centre is nice. Shopping seems ok. The accent is relatively mild. Great countryside ( but that's true of most Irish cities).

Would probably seem a little dull though. That's the only thing. However if the OP's plan to repopulate it worked that would be solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Was in waterford recently, more of a big town feel to it. Very run down looking.

Co Waterford, impressive, fantastic scenery there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

The place is an absolute dump. Don't even think of going there. You will find a better alternative anywhere in Ireland. Waterford = Kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Waterford is not a city

Waterford is Ireland's oldest city!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

The place is an absolute dump. Don't even think of going there. You will find a better alternative anywhere in Ireland. Waterford = Kip
    It's a complete sh-thole, full of people with factory-worker mentalities with a them and us attitude. For years Gilbert O'Sullivan refused to play a gig there and he's from Waterford! If Michael O'Leary grew up in that city he'd now be working as a charity shop manager!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

It's a complete sh-thole, full of people with factory-worker mentalities with a them and us attitude. For years Gilbert O'Sullivan refused to play a gig there and he's from Waterford! If Michael O'Leary grew up in that city he'd now be working as a charity shop manager!

Where the **** are you from? Neverland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

If Michael O'Leary grew up in that city he'd now be working as a charity shop manager!
    JJ Kavanagh would spot him as a apt "PR " person. Any complaints - talk to Michael.Heck, then Michael would buy up a large stake in Bus Eireann. Then he would try to take it over. But as usual the unions would prevent this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Theres a park in Fenor and theres one by the church in Tramore. And I dunno where you're getting the idea that Waterford is built on the side of the hill, theres about 3 hills in the City.

"Waterford is all f*cking hills especially around the Quays. A horrid hoor of a city with neither arse nor elbow to it." Oscar Wilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Waterford is not a city and is not very pretty to look at but it has some pleasant qualities. The surrounding areas such as Dunmore East, Woodstown and the many other coastal areas are gorgeous.

Not a city?? Not only is it a city, it's Irelands oldest city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

thelad95 wrote: »
    "Waterford is all f*cking hills especially around the Quays. A horrid hoor of a city with neither arse nor elbow to it." Oscar Wilde

Eh, the quays are completely flat???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,109 ✭✭✭✭josip

thelad95 wrote: »

I doubt if Waterford City ever figured sufficiently highly on Oscar Wilde's radar for him to make such a quote about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Not a city?? Not only is it a city, it's Irelands oldest city.
    What are you on about Waterford is only a village, and a horrible scobe of a village at that.